X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hatters on Newton Street Reviews

50 Newton Street, Manchester, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

79%

Rating
3789 Total Reviews
  • 78%Value For Money
  • 77%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 82%Staff
  • 79%Atmosphere
  • 71%Cleanliness
  • 73%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

Great place to stay - Center City. lovely staff and nice rooms

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for taking the time to leave a review :)

100%

Very enjoyable Hostel, the staff was very helpful and they offer great activities to meet new people and discover Manchesters nightlife.

  • 11th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks so much for leaving a review and letting everyone else know how WONDERFUL Hatters is!!!!! Our common room is a prime spot for spontaneous rendezvouzing and we'll help you to explore Manchester as best we can. PS. We have some mail for you ;)

94%

Satisfied as always whenever stays here.


83%

Great location and a reasonably well maintained hostel. Price seemed a little steep for what you pay for. But overall I would recommend.

  • 8th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We keep ourselves as well maintained as possible, in fact we just got a shiny new green paint job and are looking SLICK, if we do say so ourselves. Unfortunately at some times of the year for example football games etc we do raise our prices but we make up for it with our PASSION.

100%

My room was clean and the reception staff were very helpful

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are beaming, absolutely beaming!

89%

I stayed here for 2 weeks and enjoyed every minute. The staff were very friendly and helpful, hostel was kept rather clean, free breakfast was very good, game facilities available including a pool table, prime location, rooms were fully heated, awesome relaxing atmosphere and met people from all around the world. I would recommend this Hostel to all my friends and I would stay there again and again

  • 1st Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
AWWW HONEYBUNCH!!!!! Thanks for leaving us a detailed review so everyone knows what's up - we like all our guests to feel like they're in rainbow town. DO recommend us to all your mates, bring the whole lot over ;)

80%

Very nice hostel. You should have free internet in the bedrooms.

Owner Comment (Hide)
And risk never, ever seeing another soul again, EVER? No.

63%

the good great location nice music and chillout area staff are helpful the bad terrible showers (cant change heat settings and weak) dusty, especially under the bed, could use a proper vacume too many "DO NOT DO..." this and that signs everywhere! kinda off putting

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the compliments on the music, our manager needs to be careful that we all don't set off to become DJ's, no?! Unfortunately during busy times when everyone is taking showers it can be a bit too much pressure for our pipes, but we will look into improving that!! Concerning our signs...people STILL misbehave sometimes (often), so we hate to imagine the chaos if we didn't have them up!

89%

Very nice hostel that is located perfectly for exploring Manchester. Just about 5 minutes away from Manchester Piccadilly. The staff is helpful and friendly and the rooms (at least mine; mixed 4 dorm) were clean and spacious. The hostel itself also was clean and in good condition. I have already been to the Hatter-hostels in Birmingham and Liverpool and again I was not disappointed by the hostel. WIFI is only available in the common room. Breakfast is okay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks!!!! We're so glad you hit all our hostels and enjoyed yourself - we hope you took advantage of the 10% discount that you receive off our hostels when you book directly with us!!!

100%

Great facilities and atmosphere. Great location as well. Totally recommend it!

Owner Comment (Hide)
100%! Thas wut am talkin abou'. Thanks so much for the review, glad to hear you were happy with everything - although how could you not be with free tea and coffee and such brilliant guests to keep you company :p

86%

A really spacious room and good breakie however there is no lift so you might be disappointed when you're on the 5th floor and have to go up and down everyday


86%

overall a pretty cool place. Loved the chilled out morning receptionist who was super friendly and gave us lots of advice. Pretty sure one of our roomates was a small time drug dealer who stole our toiletries though.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Those damn drug-dealing theives!! Maybe even a toiletrie dealer?!!? No but really, let us know if anything shifty is going on, so we can scope it out!! Was it South America you were going to next??? Either way I hope you both have a brilliant time, you are our favourite type of guests :) See yous across the waaaay!

83%

great location but a bit noisy! staff were great helpful with tourist info

Owner Comment (Hide)
The great location does equals noisy we're afraid!!! We do have earplugs at reception though, never hesitate to ask :) Thank you so much for your review, you are welcome back anytime!!!!

71%

We booked Hatters at the last minute so that may be why it was really expensive. Pros - great location to see the sites and go out at night; convenient breakfast (which was well stocked even though we didn't get there until 9.30). Cons - 22 pounds for a ten person dorm that doesn't have power points or lockers wasn't value for money; the dorm was up a massive flight of stairs; shared bathroom is freezing cold and there were only two girls toilets for the floor; no real communal space.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi guys!! The most likely reason that your stay was expensive may have been due to the fact that it was New Year's Eve...we try to keep cheap but our prices can go up in high demand times! Our dorms do have power points and there are also some in our 24/7 common rooms, just ask us if you can't find them :) We apologise for the stairs, we can't let go of our beloved antique lift!!

89%

I enjoyed my stay. The place is just next to the centre. The showers where a bit cold... but still OK. I would stay there again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you!! Let us know if you ever have any issues like that - we'll see what we can do :)

74%

Lockers in the room would be nice. Conveniently close to main bus station. Breakfast was decent. Rooms and bathrooms were a bit old but ok.


77%

Rooms were pretty dusty and the washroom was quite cold. No outlets in the room that I could see! It would also be nice if the elevator could be used by guests; however, I recognize that this would require a new elevator as the existing one is quite rickety! Staff was helpful and allowed me to store my luggage until check in, and the location was perfect for catching trains, coaches or local buses. A decent stay, though could be better.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Heya! Thanks so much for leaving a review - our lift is of sentimental value and so beautiful we would hate to get rid of it, but of course we don't mind bringing your luggage up and down when needs be :) We do have outlets in the rooms and also in the communal areas which are open 24/7. We hope we can indeed make your stay better if you happen to come again though!!!!

63%

Well located for nightlife, shopping and culture with all major transport connections nearby. Unfortunately, another English hostel below standards with what European counterparts offer. Was a crash pad for clubbing for our stay.


100%

good place

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks!!!!!

86%

clean room, very nice female shower room, perfect location. But be prepared to do stairs

  • 24th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
*Be prepared to EXERCISE. We're helping you work off all your holiday booze and ready-made meals ;)

(2343 results)


View all Manchester Hostels

Please give us your feedback