Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Heart Of Amsterdam

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.5
Very Good 1,796 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.1
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 6.7
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 6.8
BOOK NOW
7.5
Very Good 1,796 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.1
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 6.7
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 6.8
Heart Of Amsterdam Located at Oudezijds Achterburgwal 120, , Amsterdam.
Heart Of Amsterdam
Netherlands
Amsterdam 1012dt Oudezijds Achterburgwal 120
75% 1796
52.3719049 4.8970270
Heart Of Amsterdam
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • jessstaum
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
30th Nov 2016
6.9

Heart of Amsterdam is in an amazing location, so central and easy to find. There were safety deposit lockers you can hire, but they're small so you can't even put your whole bag in there, unless you want to unpack everything. We dealt with one guy in particular who was so lovely, friendly and helpful, unfortunately, the other two people we dealt with were quite cold and straight to the point. Over all, it was nice, just not for how much you pay.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Egypt, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Nov 2016
7.1

Nice Location, really in the heart of Amsterdam, My only issue was that I wanted to have a floor bunk bed, since I was set with a top bed, and I wasn't able to do so, other than that other aspects were fine.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Nov 2016
7.7

Just came back from a stay here with my two friends in a private three bed room. The hostel is pretty basic but the rooms are clean! We were in the Matrix room which needs to have some maintenance work as most of the bed lights were broken and it's pretty dark! The location is great and i never felt insecure here either. Overall rating I'd say it's decent

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Nov 2016
6.0

The location was literally right in the red light district which was great for walking to other places. There is a weird system for leaving your key card at the front desk and getting it when you come back but the staff isn't always there. Wifi sucks. Very loud from the street if on that side. Storage lockers in room are super small and the movie rooms aren't even themed like they make them out to be.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Israel, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Nov 2016
9.4

Great place, near to the Dam and Central station. Very clean and the staff very kind...

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
10th Nov 2016
7.4

The beds were comfortable enough and the place was kept pretty clean (they make your bed and provide you with clean towels each day). The atmosphere was poor though. There is no real common room for hanging out and meeting people and the hostel did not put on any events (dinners, pub crawls, etc.). It was also quite expensive, however, I think this may be the case with most hostels in the city.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
10th Nov 2016
3.1

Do not stay at this property. I have stayed in over 20 hostels. This is by far the worst hostel i have stayed in. After the first night i moved to Hotel Manufa (Is a hostel) cheaper, and better. Be careful of the staff.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Nov 2016
7.7

Group of girls stayed here, felt very safe here. Rooms are basic, no issues doh. Staff were very nice and helpful. No problems at all 😊

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
2nd Nov 2016
6.9

Super dirty. Great location but I couldn't be here for more than two nights. The staff is great but is seriously minimized by the consequences of a globalized economy.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Nov 2016
10.0

I would definitely stay here again! Really lovely staff! I stayed in the 007 themed room and it was great. Nice and bright and the bathroom was nice and clean too- also had fresh towels each day. Really good value for money. Location is also perfect... at the corner of the red light district with dam square literally around the corner so very easy to get everywhere. I would 100% recommend to anyone.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.