Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Heart Of Amsterdam

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.5
Very Good 1866 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.2
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 6.7
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 6.6
BOOK NOW
7.5
Very Good 1866 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.2
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 6.7
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 6.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
15th Feb 2017
6.0

We stayed there mid-week. It's in the heart of the red light district so there was quite a few lone creepy older men. I'm sure they were there for the ladies services. If you are a lone female you may feel uncomfortable. On the weekend there was more groups of people so it was fine. If you want to meet people then don't stay here. No one talks to each other; not a great atmosphere.They have a light & power socket by each bed & an oddly sized locker you have to put a deposit for.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • educaval
  • Brazil, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Feb 2017
9.7

The place is amazing, the staff is amazing, the location is amazing, is a good place to go, i will be back soon.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Feb 2017
7.7

Us boys had an away weekend here the location was brilliant 2 min walk to the peep, 5 min walk the red light district just in case the missus isn't doing for you at home or you just want to put a bit of spice in your life. The hostel beds/rooms was okay wasn't expecting anything above and beyond but once we passed the puff along it the felt like the dream. Cafe next day open till late for once you're all puffed out which was a god send! Showers were okay as well, this is ideal for the away days

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
29th Jan 2017
6.9

Rooms were very dark, hard to tell if they were clean. Beds were quite comfortable though! Excellent location, easy walking distance to almost anywhere. Unfortunate batch of roommates one of which both smoked in the room and pissed in the garbage can...

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Jan 2017
10.0

Location for this hostel is key. It is located on one of the main Red Light strips. One of the best hostels for value in Amsterdam. The staff are friendly, rooms are clean and safe each bed has an individual safe I've read a lot of bad reviews on this hostel about people complaining about prostitutes and weed; If you don't want to see prostitutes or smell weed probably best off staying outside the city.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jan 2017
8.9

The perfect location in the red light district. So many restuarants, bars, coffee shops, bike rentals; all the beautiful Amsterdam surroundings at your doorstep!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Jan 2017
8.0

If you want somewhere cheap in the literal "Heart of Amsterdam" then this is the best place. It's not overly clean or nice but for an 8 bed dorm I paid €17 a night and it was great value for money. In the centre of everything and all of our belongings were safe the whole time Lovely staff that were very helpful giving tourist information and the way you could leave bags at the hostel even after you checked out was brilliant. I would definitely stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Jan 2017
4.9

I never got to stay at the house of Amsterdam because they didn't have the availability I was looking for. The front desk agent was very bland and wasn't helpful at. Also they charged my credit card when I never stay at the property

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
30th Dec 2016
8.3

We have a really great time in the hostel, lovely staff always helping with anything we need. I met a lot of good people in this place. I'm gonna return for sure.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
29th Dec 2016
3.7

Good location and security for your luggage however there is no elevator, no common room or lounge or social aspect in this place. It's not clean they never change your sheets and toilets and showers are dirty! For breakfast they give you damn coco pops! Also staff are useless they don't tell you Anything

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.