Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Heart Of Amsterdam

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.7
Very Good 1964 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 6.9
BOOK NOW
7.7
Very Good 1964 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 6.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
19th May 2017
4.3

Right in the middle of the red light district which has it's pros and cons. Very expensive, we paid 250 euro each for three nights.. Rooms are ok size, but all are painted black so they are so dark. The rooms are also really warm, and at night it's too loud to leave the windows open - rubbish collectors at 6 am every morning are super loud. If you're over 5'9 you're going to struggle getting your head under the shower. Anyone can walk in the front door, no security apart from the room key.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Namibia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
14th May 2017
5.7

Toilets are very very small, rooms are very dark and it didn't smell very nice. Security not very good. But it's in the heart of Amsterdam.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
10th May 2017
7.4

Very good location in the red light district but it's not a good place to socialize or meet new people. Not good for solo travellers.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th May 2017
3.4

Whilst the hostel is in a good location it felt completely insecure. Literally anyone can walk in and out the staff simply don't care, even when possessions went missing from the room. The rooms were boiling and the bathrooms black and dingy so you couldn't even see inside of the shower with the light on. Also they requested a 5% city tax despite hostelworld saying final amount. Don't bother with the breakfast, it's a slice of toast and a disgusting selection of additions. Buy/rent elsewhere

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
8th May 2017
7.7

This place is right in the heart of the Red Light District. Great location in terms of being centrally located in the city. The room was a little dark, even with the lights on, so it was hard to see at times even during the day. They had personal lockers for your belongings in the rooms! Not much of a common room/bar area, and also did not have organized events for the hostel as a whole. I recommend this place for groups of travelers but not solo travelers who are looking to meet new people.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th May 2017
7.7

Clean, they change bed sheets everyday which is great. Small lockers, had a hard time fitting my bag. Its ON the redlight, lots of action at night. No vibe, avoid if you travel alone.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th May 2017
6.9

The hostel is cleaned daily by the staff. However, I was in a room with 4 guys and 2 girls. My roommates were slobs. Clothes, alcohol, and candy were spread out all over the floor. It was pretty nasty. I am a bit older than my roommates. I have a wife and two kids. I guess I left that carefree lifestyle about 15 years ago. To the staff's credit, every afternoon, they would clean up the mess - only to have the mess return that evening. I have pics of the mess to prove.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
3rd May 2017
6.0

Right in the middle of the red light district which was very loud and kinda grimy the facilities weren't the cleanest.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • omikeyg
  • USA, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd May 2017
8.6

Oliver was extremely prompt to answer our questions, very very friendly, and went above and beyond to help us including giving us maps, and information for the area. Oliver even walked us to the store. The biggest dissapointing attributes are the bed, which is a pull out futon. It's a tight space but it serves all your basic needs and it's a great price for the location.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd May 2017
6.0

No security, the location is in the heart of the red light district and anybody can simply walk into the hostel unchecked

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.