Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Heart Of Amsterdam

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.6
Very Good 1924 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 6.9
BOOK NOW
7.6
Very Good 1924 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 6.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
18th Apr 2017
6.9

The room was ok, after the first impression that getting there was a labyrinth (that we got used to with time). The bathroom seemed dirty, no floor mat, and the ceiling seemed like it was going to fall apart. Too expensive for this kind of "quality". There was a random door next to my bed that led to this little room full of construction material. Also, there wasn't some sort of a comfortable lounge where people would hang out like in many hostels. I definitely wouldn't stay here again

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • baileywickliffe
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
17th Apr 2017
9.1

The most comfortable bed I've ever slept in. They saved me really last minute when I missed my flight. Staying in Amsterdam is pretty expensive as it is, but this hostel is located right in the Red light district so I did not have to use any public transportation at all. They were very strict here, like I was not allowed in another room that was not mine even though I had made friends. And my friend who was also in Ams was not allowed to hangout with me while I was getting ready, so VERY secure.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Apr 2017
10.0

The only point for improvement in my opinion would be to put a ladder on the bunk beds as they aren't the easiest to quietly climb onto it you have someone sleeping below. Other than that I can't fault the place. Great location, secure lockers at the end of the bed. Friendly guests and friendly staff. Housekeeping are great too, they provide you with fresh towel every day and clean the bathroom. Would stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Apr 2017
7.4

It's a great location, not rowdy, and it was clean. Honestly, it's a good bed to sleep in but if you like hostels that offer more things (bar, hang out areas, events) then this isn't for you. Amsterdam has so much to offer, I only found myself here to sleep and was totally okay with that. Wifi works very well. The room I stayed in had one shared bathroom for all 8 beds and there was no light in the shower, which I found odd.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
3rd Apr 2017
5.7

not that clean, bathrooms smelt like sewers, comfy enough beds and spacious rooms, could do with renovating. got put in a bed next to a door with rat droppings, and a ton of cigarette buts inside, it had old cement falling from the walls and was pretty gross. wouldn't stay again unless not many other options. staff were ok, lack of atmosphere. good location at least.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
2nd Apr 2017
8.0

The whole place kinda seemed poorly lit and the rooms were a little tight especially the lockers which we barely could fit our bags in. Good location as far as being central but a little loud since it is in the red light district. Overall a decent stay just be aware the stairs are steep and narrow but I think that is all of Amsterdam.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
28th Mar 2017
7.7

The Hostel Heart of Amsterdam is a really cool hostel. The staff was super friendly and the hostel is really located in the heart of Amsterdam: The Red Light District. The rooms are big and have a own bathroom. It was clean and the atmosphere was really relaxed there. A negative ponit is that the lockers didn't work and that there is no kitchen in the hostel. But for Low-Budget Traveller I can fully recommend that hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
27th Mar 2017
7.1

Not very clean, good location, and cool theme

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
26th Mar 2017
6.9

The location is excellent, but if you are an especial person or you're looking for a good atmosphere and a nice looking hostel, this is definitely not the option. Perfect if you're there just to sleep and leave.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Mar 2017
5.1

The location of this hostel was perfect but that was the only positive thing. The place was pretty dirty all over and we had mice in our room at night .....

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.