Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Heart Of Amsterdam

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.6
Very Good 2101 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.2
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 6.8
BOOK NOW
7.6
Very Good 2101 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.2
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 6.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Aug 2017
6.6

Great location, but old facilities and not extremely friendly staff. The lockers in the rooms could all be opened by anyone with a locker key making the lockers pretty useless.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Aug 2017
4.0

The place is totally dirty, I wouldn't recommend

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
9th Aug 2017
7.1

You're right in the middle of the red light district downtown, so it's a super fun area. The facilities aren't terrible and dirty, but the rooms are dark and the toilet/shower rooms quite small. There's not really a common room or kitchen, so it's hard to meet people and you have to eat out for every meal, which gets quite expensive.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
7th Aug 2017
6.9

In my experience the standard of hostels in Amsterdam are pretty poor however this hostel was ok. The location is great for being close to the central station but right in the heart of the red light district so expect a crowded noisy street next to the hostel. Clean room, toilet and bedding which is my main requirement for a hostel! A friend who stayed in my dorm was robbed. He hadn't used the safes in the room and he left his money in his bag which was his mistake not the hostels. Be cautious

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Aug 2017
6.0

Had to cancel due to medical reasons the day before my arrival was charged for full night in the room. Since i called very early and advised it wont be able to make it, i expected them to maybe work with me more rather than just take the full amount.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Aug 2017
6.6

I stayed there for a week and there are some points that I didn't like: - The housekeepers sing and talk loud while they are cleaning and you can hear then from other rooms. That's annoying, maybe because they speak Spanish they think we can not hear them. - The beds have uncomfortable stairs. If you come late and you have to climb the stairs to your bed, is really hard not to wake up the mate who is sleeping down. - I have no characters left to explain more things.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
7th Aug 2017
5.7

Rooms were unbearably hot and the bathrooms were dark and dirty.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Aug 2017
6.3

Stayed here for two nights. The overall stay was fine, the lockers were secure - definitely worth the €5 deposit that they gave back (think you are meant to keep the receipt but they still gave the deposit without). The hotel is RIGHT in the red light district, we didn't realise until it got dark just where it really was. Despite this the hotel seemed pretty safe as the rooms are all locked individually. However our window was bolted open and on the ground floor so was VERY noisy.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
4th Aug 2017
4.9

This is the HEART -of the red light district. As a young solo female traveler I felt very uncomfortable here - I was in a mixed dorm with all men over the age of 40 years old... clearly staying their for one reason... I got in and I got out and moved hostels. It was within walking distance to EVERYTHING, that was nice. Only one tiny luggage closet and if your stuff can't fit, it's left in the lobby unprotected. No common area expect for a small backyard.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • jarrydfoster4066
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
2nd Aug 2017
8.9

Good hostel clean and beds were comfortable

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.