X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Heart Of Amsterdam Reviews

Oudezijds Achterburgwal 120, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

75%

Rating
1226 Total Reviews
  • 72%Value For Money
  • 77%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 75%Staff
  • 66%Atmosphere
  • 73%Cleanliness
  • 71%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

63%

Great location, very clean. not a very good atmosphere, rude and unhelpful staff at front desk.

  • 23rd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Major attractions within walking distance. Breakfast (3.00 €) very good (could have a fruit). Kleenex in the bathroom. Bedroom doors with movie names. Map and detailed city itself. I liked it!


89%

Great hostel!! It's really smack in the middle of the Red light so that makes it a magnet for groups of stoned guys. The rooms are great I was in an 8 bed room, clean, great beding and the nightlight is a good touch. The Staff is friendly and very helpfull specially Sherief. Excelente hostal, es justo en medio de el distrito rojo lo que hace que a veces hayan grupos de hombres trabados pero no es gran cosa. Los cuartos son excelentes yo me quede en uno de 8 camas, es muy limpio.

  • 9th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Only bad thing I found here was there are no electrical plugs in the bathroom!! If ur worried about noise at night this maybe isn't the spot for u as lots of people walking down street partying but hey that's what we were there 4!!


60%

I was kind of put off at first because the lobby is small, dirty, and looks like its falling apart and while this holds true to most of the establishment, I surprisingly had a nice stay. Bed was comfortable and showers were nice. There are lockers in the room that are available for 5 Euro (BS) but the luggage room is free. Didn't take part in the 3 Euro breakfast. Not the nicest, but for what I paid for and the location, It was ok.

  • 7th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

Nice location. Very dirt bathroom


74%

Love the location. Many eateries nearby and attractions are within a walkable distance. Privacy boards were nice. There was a complimentary use of the safety deposit boxes that were electronically operated. Free towels given even though my towel was slightly dirty when I received it. Toilets had free soap and shampoo and there was good heating around the room. However, the atmosphere isn't all that good and the rooms are too dark and the female receptionists sounded kinda snarky.


63%

You should have told us if the room were to be cleaned. It is a little bit of privacy invasion

  • 23rd Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

It was in a great location, right on the Red Light District. friendly staff, pretty decent rooms, and totally worth the low price :)


80%

Good hostel, no atmosphere but in a great location with tonnes of atmosphere!


91%

I loved it, the only issue was (not sure whether it was only our bedroom or all of them) that the main light didn't really light up the room much - it wasn't really a massive hinderence, more of a small annoyance. Other than that it was amazing.

  • 15th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Very good location. In the center of red light district. It was 30 euros per night for each person. You get what you paid! Very good heating and water. Really nothing much to say, since there are not many facilities. Excellent wifi. Beds are decent but they could be better.

  • 9th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Cyprus
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Thank you) very cool hostel

  • 8th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Russia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Staff was pretty nice and helpful. Also the location was in the center. Every bed has its shelf, lamp and socket but bathroom has no socket in it(ensuite). They cleaned the room every day and changed the towels and linens. I'd definitely recommend it. Have fun and ignore the street dealers :)


54%

The beds aren't comfortable, there was a lack of symphatie from the staff members. And it's a very noisy building.

  • 29th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

This hostel as great location in the middle of the redlight district if you want to experience it. Except if you are a non smoker I would highly discourage you to go there because the main attraction seems to be smoking weed in the streets or in the backyard of the hostel.


63%

Pretty well located, but not so much things to do inside the facilities. Bathroom cleanliness is not very good.


94%

What a great place to stay on a budget. Right in the heart of the red light district. If felt really safe and the staff were lovely.i have stayed in many hostels in the dam over the years and this was definitely one of the better ones. Will stay there again definitely. The lockers were good and I liked the shelf and light next to each bed.


66%

Stay was fine, no issues. Minimal going on at the hostel. Location ideal if you want to experience the red light district. We got a lock box to store valuables.


66%

Great beds so comfy!!! The beds have a locker/nightstand and light which is cool. Bathrooms where pretty good, GREAT location. Only bad things really was there's no atmosphere and the staff wasn't the friendliest. I'd stay there again


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(50 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback