X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Heart Of Amsterdam Reviews

Oudezijds Achterburgwal 120, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

73%

Rating
1522 Total Reviews
  • 69%Value For Money
  • 74%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 73%Staff
  • 66%Atmosphere
  • 69%Cleanliness
  • 66%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

The guy who works on reception in the afternoon was extremely helpful, the only issue we had was our bathroom door handle came off

  • 2nd Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

The hostel was really nice, for amsterdam the price was good, but I still felt like it could have been lowered. Staff was very helpful, and facilities were almost top notch.


86%

Excellent extaff. Just hostelword didn't give us the total price and we paid more in the reception

  • 21st Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


51%

The location was perfect right in the middle of the red light district but the place was DIRTY! We had mice in our room and it was very dirty. We told the front desk and he pretty much said deal with it about the mice. Also, there was no common areas either


77%

For the price, the hostel was very good. Friendly and helpful staff. Hostelworld state that all taxes are included in the price, but upon arrival we was charged for local tax. Not really sure what the story behind that was, but we just decided to pay it and get on with the trip. The place was clean and towels, bedding etc were provided daily. The hostel itself isnt as brand new as appears in the pictures and a few pieces of furniture were slightly damaged but functional.

  • 12th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

Right in middle of red light district so in the centre of the action and 5 minutes from Dam Square, staff weren't great at advice for things to do and didn't really seen too interested in helping us out with tours etc. Grand place for a few nights with the lads but pretty average spot overall


77%

We were a little worried after reading some of the reviews for this hostel, but ended up being pleasantly surprised. Our room had plenty of space, there wasn't too much noise at night and it was kept really clean. Staff were friendly and helpful. I wouldn't recommend it for families or couples looking for peace and quiet, but for groups and solo travellers it's a good choice. Excellent location too, a short walk or cycle away from everything.


89%

very good hostel, and very central, everything was good, i'll come back!


100%

The location was great! It was a short walk to the central train station. The staff was also very informative and helpful during my stay.


86%

Perfect place


83%

I stayed in a shared 8 bedroom. Added bonus as it is an ensuite. Nice rooms - secure lockers (refundable deposit). Much better than another hostel I stayed at in Amsterdam. Loved the location - Breakfast was ok for $3 - just not for everyday. ended up meeting up with some friends and staying a couple more days but in a 3 bedroom ensuite - alot nicer when it is a private room (book the whole room).

  • 16th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Samoa
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Really pleased with hostel, friendly staff and cool designed rooms. Comfy beds, clean and perfect location will stay here again. Stayed here for Amsterdam Dance Events with 2 mates all recommend


89%

Had a great time. Would come back again. And would recommend to others if your looking to make new friends. Awsome

  • 14th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


77%

Average hostel. Clean rooms (good sized), interesting location (heart of the red light district), okay staff


46%

Not clean room and bathroom, private room door cant lock, there was not pressure then it was difficult to have shower. The location is good, but very loud 24h.

  • 8th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary
  • All Male Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

we loved heart of amsterdam. Everyone was very nice. the rooms were always clean. and we will defenitly go there again. kiss from Portugal

  • 6th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


54%

if you dont party to hard dont stay here. oh and if you dont want people to have a orgy in your room till 5am dont stay here either. kappa


66%

A guy lost his bag when i was there i dont know if he find it.Location was really hearth of amsterdam.i was in 8 people dorm and it was ok.But i wouldnt go there again.Not a good place for a solo traveller.

  • 6th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

Great location. Great hostel. Very clean and secure.


97%

We stayed in 3 hostels in Amsterdam, this one was the best out of all! As soon as we arrived we felt comfortable with the kindness and happy energy from the staff. Perfect location for people that want to really get amongst it all (bam smack in the middle of red light district). The cleaners were so friendly too, it was the staff vibes that also complimented the place. The beds were comfortable and clean. We looooooved our stay!


(57 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback