Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Heart Of Amsterdam Reviews

Oudezijds Achterburgwal 120, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained


1154 Total Reviews
  • 70%Value For Money
  • 79%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 75%Staff
  • 69%Atmosphere
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 71%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:


The only two good thing about this place is the location and the locker, no more. They have to improve the cleanest, environment, etc


We really did not like the black paint and very dimly lit rooms. Impossible to do makeup, hard to find your stuff, just generally really gloomy and depressing.


hostel Wifi not working and the staff do not give a F!@#!@. There is no compensation, e.g free breakfast would be a nice gesture. Wifi is the most essential for travelers!. Hostel is so hot! No ventilation!!!! staff cant do anything about it. Price totally do not justifies the hostel. I will not stay or recommend heart of amsterdam. There are other hotels and hostel beside heart of amsterdam, so the location isnt a great deal! Very disappointed stay!!!!!!

  • 25th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are sorry for the inconvenience. Wifi was out of order on Sunday ( company closes) and we had it fixed on Monday morning. All rooms have fans since the beginning of July already. Thank you very much.


Good for one or two nights. Not very bright or airy.


The name certainly lives upto it, we were bang in the middle of the red light area! The is nice, easy to find and close to the central station. The rooms are themed on movies. However, the rooms could def use more light.. atleast mine could. We were on the 4th floor and there was no elevator and narrow stairs, so that sucked, we had a tough time taking our luggage up and then back down. Over all, an average stay but good for the price we paid..


I could not sleep because of noise.


Had a great stay except for no air conditioning. It was really hot and we stayed there for nights and the guy bought up a fan on our last night. also the rooms don't have that much of a theme... only a painting on the wall.


Great hostel, awesome location, maybe lacking a common room where can meet and mingle.


SIgnificantly more expensive than other hostels, which is not justified by the mediocre levels of cleanliness and fairly unhelpful staff. The lack of facilities and the absence of a proper lounge area creates a very flat atmosphere, which is out of keeping with the rest of Amsterdam.


The only really good thing is this hostel is the location, it's right in the middle of the red district. We had a private room for two people, the first day, all our stuff have been stolen because the door was weak and someone came into our room and stole our phones and Ipads... Besides, it's VERY noisy (specially the rooms n°1 and 2). The staff is nice and the atmosphere is good. Anyway, way too expensive for the service!

Owner Comment (Hide)
The door was not closed properly to make it locked, so actually guests just left their room door opened. We are sorry about the noise during the day time ( controlled after 10pm) but that is the downside for the really central location.


Beds and rooms are so great. You get a small shelf next to your bed where you have your own outlet, towel, and light. One of the nicest hostel rooms I've ever been in. It is in the middle of the red light district though. I was unaware of that until I got there but it was fine! We were definitely on one of the better streets over there!


Inconvinient that you only get one room key per booking( not per guest). Thats not service that you have to share the key with friends...


Fantastic location. Staff were good, all you need. Room was clean and beds not uncomfortable. Had your own safe with 5 Euro deposit which was good. A bit pricey but you really are paying for the location and experience. Would recommend for the traveller looking for action!

  • 5th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


Everything about this hostel was stellar, The people, they cleaned your room and bedsheets every day, only thing i'd have to say bad was the wifi was constantly not working but other than that would recommend to anyone.

  • 3rd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


Good location, price is decent relative to other places, clean, lockers are good


Heart of Amsterdam is located right in the middle of the Red Light District (which is right in the middle of downtown Amsterdam) and is very close to the Centraal Station. Many people have complained about the steep stairs but I did not find them problematic nor steep.


Right in the red light district. Not an issue. Wifi wouldn't work well in rooms, but great in lobby. They have a computer to use. Rooms were kept clean but breakfast is not free.


Great location, central to everything, would stay here again for sure!


From the beginning the staff were very rude and one of them miscalculated the amount we had left to pay (notice that they charge a week before the stay an additional sum). Besides that they would not give us an extra key even though we wished to split up during the day, we were told that had we checked in separately we would have got separate keys. The rooms are very dark and there is WIFI ONLY IN THE ENTRANCE TO THE HOSTEL!!! The breakfast is not included and cost a few more euros.


Pretty bad place to stay at...had no choice cause it was last minutes

(66 results)

View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback