X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hello Chengdu International Youth Hostel Reviews

No.211, Section 4, First Ring Road North, Chengdu, China

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
1456 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 82%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

all was very good, excepted WIFI access the place is not very close the attractions, but very close the means of transport for everywhere the staff, very nice and competent!


63%

For some reason, I did not enjoy the atmosphere in this place. That said, I came back to stay here and extended my stay here. The hostel literally had everything- nice outside area, ping pong table, free DVDs to watch, nice lounge areas, restaurant with reasonable food, tour desk. I think the problem was the lounge areas were just a bit too small to facilitate groups of travelers to chat with each other. The tour desk is a bit pushy - save some money just taking bus yourself to visit the Pandas


80%

This place has everything but climate. If you want just a place to sleep, a good choice. As a backpacking venue/place to meet people - not so much. However they have really good staff and the travel desk is the best.


100%

This hostel was great, welcoming staff with really helpful travel desk who gave great advice and helped with onward travel.Food was good as id the comfy bar area, The gardens within the center of the courtyard are lovely and so relaxing which is needed after a day into the city.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thanks for your feedback! We are happy that you enjoyed your staying in our hostel. Have a wonderful trip in China and you are always welcome to come back!^^

97%

Easy to find great staff good rooms

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for your reviews. We are very happy that you had a good time in our hostel, hope to see you next time. Wish you a wonderful journey in China!

94%

Outstanding customer service, and staff. Good restaurant food and good choice at reasonable prices. Tour arrangement was excellent. Room sizes and facilities were good, but the building is a little rustic. Would be my first choice to stay here again if I come back to Chengdu

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for your wonderful reviews, it's great that you had a good time in our hostel. Hope to see you next time. Wish you a wonderful journey in China!

89%

We loved this hostel. It really ticked all the boxes. The big plus is the curtains on the dorm bed which give added privacy. If there was any negative it would have to be that i found it to be quite dusty in the dorms rooms. I definatly recommend this place. Try their burgers, there a great change from the Asian cusine and really good.


83%

Everything was ok maybe need an extra blanquet when it start to be cold, but i did not ask one .Good informations for free Nice staff good place

  • 12th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear customer, Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry for this inconvenience as we should have considered of it. But next time please do not hesitate to ask us an extra one!^^ We hope u have a wonderful trip in China and you are always welcome to come back! ^^ Hello Chengdu all.

80%

Great restaurant and bar but food was a bit pricy. The garden area was a nice escape from the city and movie room was a good place to have a low key night. Beds all had own curtain and small cubby. Would stay here again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thanks for your feedback. Hope you have a wonderful trip in China and see you in the future!^^

100%

Hello Chengdu was my favorite hotel in all of China. They excelled in: atmosphere, staff and value. There is a bar, games room, common area for eating and chatting. It is really easy to meet travellers for tips and friendship. There is a desk for hotel services and there is a desk for tourist advice and tours. There was usually 2 people at each desk. Unless you are looking for a 5 star hotel, this should be a great place.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear customer, Thank you for your feedback. We are glad to hear that you had a good time in our hostel.^^ We hope u have a wonderful trip and you are always welcome to come back! ^^ Hello Chengdu all.

80%

We had a double room and had to ask them to clean it because they didn't do it on a daily basis and even then they didn't clean very well. Though the room was very clean when we got it. Overall very nice place, the staff is very helpful specially in the travel desk. They have a nice bar with good food at reasonable prices. One of the nicest hostels I stayed.


60%

-some staff (not all) don't seem to enjoy working there -if people ask a question to staff, don't tell them to read a sign, answer the question -internet almost doesn't work -traffic hostel does all these things better -inconsistent service

  • 1st Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Josh, It's unfortunate that your experience with us was unpleasant and we offer our apoligies to you. It is certain that some of staffs need to make improvements. About our internet, we will make a big update after this holiday. Thanks for your feedback. We hope you have a wonderful trip! Best regards,Sherry

69%

Not a bad hostel, locations not very good. Things are broken everywhere. E.g. no curtain in the toilet, everyone opposite saw my donglings.. Food served is extremely bland. The worst thing is singing in to the place, too many pointless questions wasting time and making people wait.


80%

We enjoyed our stay - good facilities and large common room with computers. Food from bar was good as was hostel panda tour. Bar staff were not that friendly - the staff on reception/people bringing the food were friendlier. Quite open hostel which meant mosquitoes were a pest. DVD player in room was a nice touch. Directions from railway station were a bit confusing and made it more difficult to find the hostel than it should have been. Bathrooms/showers were a bit tired looking but clean.


97%

The hostel was great and the staff very helpful and friendly. The commons area with the bar stile tables make it a bit hard for interaction with other travellers, though.


89%

Great place! Awesome place to meet people, relax and plan trip to many places in the area. I was there with my girlfriend and we've had a really good time.


94%

Had a great time. Well organized, Good staff.


89%

A place with a lot of energy. The building is cool between chinese and modern. Staff is really helpfull. I really enjoy to stay there.


77%

Very nice hostel. Nice staff. The room was fine, but before the third night there we found a cockroach in the room. Since the staff was unable to remove it, we were given another room with private bathroom. There was a tourist desk by the lobby where you can get all the info you need on any place you want to visit. They are very helpful. There are many common rooms where you can meet fellow travellers and have fun.


94%

Very good place with a lot of services


(1109 results)


View all Chengdu Hostels

Please give us your feedback