X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hello Chengdu International Youth Hostel Reviews

No.211, Section 4, First Ring Road North, Chengdu, China

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
1473 Total Reviews
  • 87%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 82%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 85%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

Staff was very helpful with directions to/from various sites. The one employee went beyond helpful by mailing an item I left on the registration table so he deserves a special kudos! Thank you! I hope to visit again after the remodeling is finished and the weather is warmer!

  • 29th Jan 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

The staff was very knowleable and helpful. I felt very safe at this location. The food tasted good . Overall a great experience.

  • 25th Jan 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

The hostel was good and full of character, and the staff were helpful. However, when I was there, the bar area was undergoing major renovations and was rather cold and unwelcoming. The outside areas of the hostel would be very good when it is full of people and when the weather is good, but in January these were dark, deserted and cold, and not pleasant.


86%

Always a pleasure. Staff are friendly, beds are comfortable, great bar with good choice of food and drink, easy access to various forms of transport to the centre of town. I always stay here when I'm in Chengdu.


100%

Sim's is the best hostel we have stayed in! The staff are very helpful and friendly, they did so much to help us. They were refurbishing the restaurant and bar when we stayed but this did not really affect our stay. The food is great and they have a great DVD collection! The location is not central but is great for getting to the north train station and also easy on the bus to the main bus station. And the bus links are good.


80%

Terrific hostel. Every part of our stay at the hostel went smooth. Personel at the hostel spoke some of the best english we have encountered during our trip through China. One minus though, even tho there was non-smoking areas, both personnel and gusts occasionally smoked at in the bar.

  • 17th Jan 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Most of staffs can speak English,it's special in China.Their hospitality is very warm. Facilities are PERFECT.Bar,bicycle,free Wi-Fi,DVD,books,laundry,and so on.Nothing is nothing. Location is still good. Sim's Cozy is a basement for every traveler of west China.


89%

This is hands down the best hostel I've ever stayed at over two years of two continents and multiple countries! The most friendly, hard working and enjoyable staff. The atmosphere is contagious, we met people from all over who were just as happy as we were. Food excellent! Best burgers in China, hands down.


97%

Great place! Staff are extremely nice with great English. They were never bothered by our questions and were always helpful. The free map they give you is awesome. The tours were reasonably priced. Great environment. Nothing bad to say about Sims.


94%

The hostel has an awesome vibe and the staff are awesome! Incredibly helpful and so friendly! I had a great Christmas away fom home becauses of the hostel.


94%

Sim's Cozy had the best atmosphere of any place I've stayed at. The staff was warm, helpful, and chock full of English speakers. The hostel bar/restaurant seems to be a hub for expats in the area, so you can find not only good food but also good company. You will feel completely at home, surrounded by: a garden, a selection of books and movies, internet, and did I mention they have puppies and bunnies? Yes. Cute animals, too. However, the best aspect of the Sim's remains the wonderful staff.


100%

I stay at this hostel regularly and love it. The staff are really friendly, as are all of the guests. The rooms are comfortable and the food and drinks are reasonably priced


91%

Great location with bus stops right outside to take you to main bus station or other areas. Facilities were good and we stayed in both a dorm and private room. Both were extremely clean. The curtains across the dorm beds are a nice touch. Food and drink in cafe/restaurant were good value. Staff were really helpful and when I left my sunglasses in the dorm room they found them and returned them to me so very trustworthy too. Would definitely recommend staying here.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thank you so much for your nice reviews. We hope to see you next time. Wish you a wonderful journey in China!

86%

Really nice hostel. Close to the bus station and the metro. Nice bar with good variety of drinks and food (both western and Chinese). Helpful staff and comfortable beds. I'll be back.


100%

Best guesthouse in the world!!! It got everything

  • 15th Nov 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Israel
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Nice & cozy place to stay. Helpful with organizing tours. We had problems with our aircondition and the staff was very helpful to fix it as soon as possible. Bar/Restaurant is a nice place to get breakfast and have a drink after a long day of sightseeing. Rooms are cozy with enough electricity plugins, space to put your personal belongings,... The curtains for each bed is a really good idea, love it! Room is very clean for chinese standards. Negative: The Wifi didn't work 2 out of 3 days.

  • 15th Nov 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guests, Thank you for staying with us and we really appreciate your feedback. We are updating all the WIFI in Sim's so it is always unable to connect. We should have let u know the inconvenience in advance. We are so sorry for the WIFI trouble. Hope you have a wonderful trip and see u next time! :) Sim's

69%

Sims Cozy Garden needs a good scrub, clean and face lift. Staff were great and always helpful when it came to organising tours. The WiFi remained mythical, it existed in name only. Poorest connection we experienced during our time in China.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for staying with us and we really appreciate your feedback. Sim's has been few years. It is indeed necessary to renovate. we've got started to update our rooms,wifi and so on since Nov.18th.We are so sorry for all the inconvenience. We hope you have a wonderful trip and if you would come back in the future, you are deeply welcome to explore a new Sim's!:)

89%

Highly recommended hostel for backpackers! Very friendly and helpful staff, with great atmosphere that makes it a great stay. Definitely will stay in Sim's Cozy again if step in to Chengdu in future.

  • 9th Nov 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Very pleasant helpful English-speaking staff clean rooms, good food, reasonable prices. organized transfers, tours, visits

  • 7th Nov 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Estonia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

Very friendly, English speaking, honest and helpful staff. You can trust them in each matter.

  • 6th Nov 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


(1117 results)


View all Chengdu Hostels

Please give us your feedback