Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hello Marseille Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 1948 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.4
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 1948 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Jul 2017
9.4

Kindest staff!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 20 reviews
7th Jul 2017
4.6

Only one toilet for all of hostel. 2 showers and one was broken. No locks on the doors. Was woken up 7 times from 11pm to 3am when the night guard turned on the light to let new guests in or guests turned on light.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
4th Jul 2017
3.7

Probably the most unstable bunk beds I've ever slept in. Was concerned it would collapse half way through the night. Felt the need to go to the doctors for a tetanus shot after using the showers and the 1 toilet that they provide. Overpriced. Would not recommend.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Jun 2017
4.6

The security was average as rooms didn't lock and anyone could walk in to the hostel. Staff were unprofessional when we arrived and didn't seem to know what they were doing and weren't too helpful in explaining the hostel, however one female staff member was able to give us really good advice of what to do in Marseille. Also having one toilet for the whole hostel wasn't ideal... was no laundry as stated and breakfast consisted of a baguette.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • pattomczak
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
19th Jun 2017
4.0

Awful hostel. Bed was ridiculously wobbly. Even the people in my room thought it was going to fall over. No air-conditioning. Everyone was drenched with sweat. No lockers or security. Anyone could walk into the hostel without a problem. Hostel was really dirty as well. For what you're paying this hostel is not worth it. At least the WiFi and location was good.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
16th Jun 2017
4.0

The place really need a restoration. The room smell like mold, there is no air conditioner, so you melt in the summer and the worst is that to go up to the hostel you need to climb a 3 floor star without light, in the night is horrible... The only positive was the Brazilian receptions that was very warm and helpful.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Jun 2017
8.9

Excellent place if you are on a budget. The staffs from all over the world volunteer to run the hostel, so it is great just to have a chat with them.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Jun 2017
8.6

It was one of the best places we stayed in Europe! We stayed in the Quiet Room. The hostel is very safe and has storage under the bunks for your bags, but you need to bring your own lock. The staff is very laid back and helpful. We arrived late in the evening, but the owner took time the next morning to give us a brief overview of Marseille's history and went over sightseeing spots and activities. The hostel is in a great location, very close to the Vieux-Port and the Ferris wheel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
24th May 2017
6.9

+ Central location + Met some really cool people - One toilet for 15 guests and 5 volunteers - Breakfast is sliced baguette with butter and jam - In my room the one blinds would not close so you got woken up at sunrise - Because of above my room was really warm and not the best when you have to climb up all them stairs.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
23rd May 2017
8.0

Great location and great staff. The atmosphere was very homely so that was really nice. They also have all kitchen facilities. Biggest downside are the beds. Pretty tattered bedding/linen.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.