X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Helmers-Inn Reviews

Eerste Helmersstraat 69, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

91%

Rating
75 Total Reviews
  • 96%Value For Money
  • 100%Security
  • 84%Location
  • 96%Staff
  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 88%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

It is more like an apartment with 2 rooms. We spent 5 nights at Helmers and for the first 2 nights there was no neighbors so it seemed we rent a whole apartment:) It is quite a long distance from central station but anyway it is possible to reach it by foot. Kitchen is small but equipped with all necessary stuff.


97%

Great place to stay, will be back soon. Thanks!

  • 26th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Very nice spacy room with a terrace, comfortable bed, close to shops, coffee bar, parks. There is very well equipped kitchen with all you need:) I do recommend!

  • 7th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • All Female Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
89%

We really loved staying at the Helmers. It is essentially a home with three different rooms. The management was great to work with and gave us some excellent tips for exploring the city. Only downside was the noise on the first night. We stayed on the bottom floor, and the people staying above us were very loud, and the sound carried throughout the house. Other than that, I would highly recommend staying here.


91%

A fine place to stay in Amsterdam, terrace was great to relax on and the room was clean and tidy on arrival. Greg was friendly and helpful, totally recommend renting bikes, then you can really explore... shared bathroom was beautiful and spotless. I would definitely stay there again.


77%

you have to share the bathroom with other guests, so it depends on other people how clean the facilities are ... but Greg was keen to do some cleaning, the rooms are clean and neat.

  • 30th Oct 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

Our room was nice, staff was friendly and the location was good too. We enjoyed our stay in that hostel, which more looked like an appartment. Thumbs up! (:

  • 26th Oct 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

The Helmers Inn is a wonderful place to stay during your visit to Amsterdam. The place is incredibly clean and well maintained and quiet. Greg was very friendly and helpful and greeted us with a smile and helped us with our bags after a long tiring journey. We stayed in the front tiny quaint apartment and it is just right for 2 people. The place is well situated to public transportation.The beautiful Vondelpark is just a 5minute walk and and the major museums are easy to access.


63%

the apartment is very near the tram station (tram no. 1), lots of restaurants nearby, a coffee shop and grocery store at the corner . I didn't like the room so much.

  • 12th Sep 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

Good location. freindly staff. beautiful apartment with good facilities. defo recommend to all going to amsterdam. and make sure you rent bikes from Greg or another company


100%

Helmers Inn and Greg made our stay in Amsterdam absolutely amazing. Greg was so helpful with everything and the Inn was in walking distance to anything important in the city. We are definetely coming back :)

  • 20th Aug 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Great hostel, clean, lots of space, very well decorated


100%

Excellent.


77%

Had a good stay. Transport very close. Room was nice and big and clean. We shared a bathroom but only with another couple. Bathroom very big with shower and bath and also washing machine. Just remember to ring Greg before you get to the hostel as he doesn't live at the hostel.


100%

Its a great place to stay. A wide apartament, where you can cook, and relax with your friends... I strongly reccommend it!

  • 3rd Jul 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

We very much enjoyed the terrace which came with our room, it's huge and very relaxing


100%

Absolutely fantastic apartment and helpful, friendly owner. There was 3 of us, we had an open plan apartment on the 2nd floor with 2 rooms, 2 balconies, a kitchen, shower and separate toilet. The apartment was well decorated, extremely clean and spacious. I would not change a thing, and will definitely be coming back here and recommending it to friends. Compared to a hostel, this place is fantastic value and we did not share our room with anybody. Thanks to the owner (Greg)for a fantastic stay.

  • 18th Mar 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Cannot fault the place! The owner is lovely - very helpful. The facilities are excellent - kettle,microwave,balcony,chairs in the room,table,tea bags etc.,double-headed shower & bath. The cleanliness of the place was exceptionally high - lovely duvets and pillows. The location is in a lovely district of Amsterdam not very far from the centre and close to places like House of Bols, Van Gogh museum, Heineken experience and Vondelpark. We will definitely use this place again the next time we go!!


100%

Clean, comfortable, safe, such a nice manager, great location.

  • 24th Feb 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Was a bit noisy I think because there were kids staying upstairs running around. However we had a great stay and would definately stay there again

  • 18th Feb 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(48 results)


View all Amsterdam Bed and Breakfasts

Please give us your feedback