X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hi 5 Hostel Reviews

Nagymezo utca 27, Budapest, Hungary

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
544 Total Reviews
  • 88%Value For Money
  • 80%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 91%Atmosphere
  • 73%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

I was recommended to stay at Hi 5 from a fellow traveller I met in another hostel and they were so right. I heard Budapest was the place to have a good time and that Hi 5 was in the ideal location to take advantage of this and it truly was. The staff were very helpful and the hostel itself has a lovely at home feel which is exactly what I look for in a hostel.

  • 10th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

so niceeeeee :D

  • 6th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Fun party hostel. The staff are a riot and up for anything. There was some renovations going on, and you have to walk outside to get to your room, so it wasn't that clean, but I suppose it adds to the atmosphere!


94%

Perfect location, friendly staff, fun environment, and so so worth the price!

  • 21st Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

Pros: Great location - tram & metro is within walking distance Good place to meet fellow travellers Reasonably clean Cons: Wifi was not working Located next to bars - can get noisy at night


100%

Awesome staff and great location!

  • 4th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Definitely would come back to Hi 5 again! Hopefully the wifi and the heating in the other building will be working by then, that would be ideal! Great vibes from staff and the place itself, real chill place to hang in.


60%

The hostel is in a fantastic location, however the place has a strange layout and the quality of the rooms and toilets are sub-par. There seemed to be more volunteer-staff than actual guests, which created a strange 'cliquey' atmosphere. The hostel would do well to create a more social atmosphere, and put an effort into more events at night.


66%

You get what you pay for here. Cheap hostel in good location, but currently going through renovations and bathrooms were in pretty rough shape.No free dinner, unlike how its advertised. Staff ok, seemed as if they were more focused on doing their own thing. I would stay there again, because of its value.


100%

Awesome hostel, Awesome staff and really well located!


20%

the worst

  • 17th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Gun, I'm sorry you were not satisfied with your stay with us. Would you please be able to elaborate on your review so as we are better able to understand where we have gone wrong. Our aim is make everyone's stay the best possible.If there is anything we could do to remedy this please let us know. Looking forward to your timely response. Kindest Regards, The Hi 5 Team

100%

Everyone is absolutely fantastic :) what a great time!!


91%

Everything is great about the place. Just the location is slightly out of the way. But great staff and overall stay experience more than make up for it. Very happening hostel to stay in. Could choose to be part of a very happening program that the hostel itself sets up or can explore the city more leisurely independently. Overall, would definitely recommend.


100%

Thanks for all the help take care and stay safe

  • 2nd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Awesome and homely hostel. The staff are amazing and know how to show you a good time (the nightly events are fun), and they also direct you to local places of interest. Location is great, close to bars, clubs and shops!! STAY HERE!!

  • 19th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Democratic Rep. of Congo
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Great location! The best staff in the world :). See you next year. Osijek Waterpolo team!

  • 19th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Croatia
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Really awesome hostel! The staff absolutely make it. They also sort out the spa party ticket on Saturday nights for you. Just remember to bring a minimum of 6000 for your tab. Location is also great. You certainly made 4 Irish boys fall in love with Budapest.


54%

This is a party hostel which was great for the atmosphere - but it was pretty dirty, there were no locks on some of the bathroom doors, no soap etc. Staff were not very knowledgable about the local area - I asked about buses to the main station and nobody knew! I think they were more interested in going out - which is fine but even the bar crawl wasn't great - only two bars?! It could be good if staff were better trained and someone cleaned! I also noticed a huge rat in the courtyard.


100%

Seriously don't write reviews often but Hi 5 deserves one. Coolest staff I encountered traveling. Super helpful and knowledgable. Literally gave me the best map drawing I've ever gotten (thanks again Kari and Kitty). Awesome vibe, great for partying and meeting people but also able to get sleep if needed (everyone leaves at 10pm). Location is prime. Awesome clubs and bars all down the street, 24hr kebab shop down the road (huge plus) and a liquor store around the corner. Don't look any further

  • 4th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

One of the best hostels I've stayed in!! The staff and the friendly environment was amazing!!


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(58 results)


View all Budapest Hostels

Please give us your feedback