X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

High Street Hostel Reviews

8 Blackfriars Street, Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
3012 Total Reviews
  • 87%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 97%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

57%

They don't have plugs in the rooms, so if you have an iPhone, you're screwed.

  • 11th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

The staff were second to none in friendliness and helpfulness. There is a really cozy, homely environment and considering it was so close.to.the centre there was barely any noise at night. Will definitely be coming here again!

  • 10th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

It is a nice hostel. Good value for the price.


100%

Lovely place in the old town of Edinburgh, close to all major attractions such as the wee green hill that gives you a lovely view of Edinburgh, several charity shops, Royal Mile, High Street (surprise!), free walking tour, train station, Castle, and Bobby. Friendly staff, nice vibe and well-equipped kitchen, common area etc. They have a piano that sounds like a harpsichord and if you cannot finish your fried Mars bar staff will help you. Nothing's going to waste - you have to love this attitude.


83%

I thought in general is great, they are very clear about the checking in and out, yes are very friendly with the facilities even if you´re nowt in a room anymore. Tho i think they should definitively imprve their internet, so some areas doesnt get too crowed. And also the should work in specific places where you can charge your phone, securly, just pugs in general so you can charge any can or device or phone you are using.

  • 8th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

The mould in the window blinds of our room was disgusting and you should get rid of the mould in the bathrooms.


91%

Great location just off the royal mile and amazing friendly staff!!!

  • 6th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

It was a lovely location- the beds were comfortable and the staff were all lovely. good shower facilities- what else can I say, wonderful place to stay!

  • 4th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Everything was good, only comment would be about the wifi as it only works in the main lobby and it was always very crowded. Kitchen was great and showers and rooms were spacious and clean!


77%

The room was really nice and ordered, just a little dusty. The kitchen was quite small and dirty but the other common spaces where to linger and eat were good and comfy.

  • 29th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

I want to thank all the staff, everything was ok and they were all very friendly. I would just suggest to change the beds, which are a little hard for a good sleeping. Kisses, Lucia


74%

The reception area gets really crowded, and it may be worth adding a second internet source maybe in the kitchen area? You have people sitting there all day in the front area.


94%

It's a very relaxing stay; great for resting in between hectic travels, and a great base to see the rest of Edinburgh


66%

My main issue with this Hostel was my rooming situation. The key to my room Didn't work very well and the lock on my locker was broken. I could make my stuff look like it was securely locked up, bit if you turned the lock itself, you could open the locker. Luckily nothing was stolen, but it was a frustrating experience. None of my other travel companions didn't have these issues though. For the price and the location, this isn't a bad hostel to stay at.

  • 14th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Central location and good value


80%

The padlock of the lockers in our room was broken, so we could not close the lockers and let our bags safety. Without this disadvantage the stay was perfect!

  • 7th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Pity the wifi could only be accessed in the entrance lounge as during the evening it was very busy and no where to sit. The staff were friendly but didn't know much about the city- I have been to Edinburgh before and could tell people more about attractions and locations then they could which is a pity for first time visitors who want advice on sites to see But over all good hostel and the location is fantastic - really is right in the centre


71%

Lounge and kitchen are nice...but the bedroom was awfully smelly and the smell stuck on our clothes...:(. Very good location.


91%

It was the best choice to stay at this hostel. Its a very cool, medieval ambient, with common room, kitchen and cool places to stay and hang out. The room is very clean, bathrooms also. Absolutely recommended!

  • 25th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

A fairly easy to get to hostel with a decen atmosphere despite not offering much else that's spectacular. The showers/restrooms were ordinary, the rooms were just large enough not to feel cramped. The rooms do offer wall lockers instead of under-the-bed, so that's a plus. Also, at 20 pence, the towel rentals here are the cheapest I've seen yet, and I bumped up my facilities rating just because of that :) Also, I went downstairs VERY briefely, and I think the common area down looked fun.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(64 results)


View all Edinburgh Hostels

Please give us your feedback