Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

High Street Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 4,088 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 4,088 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.5
High Street Hostel Located at 8 Blackfriars Street, , Edinburgh.
High Street Hostel
Scotland
Edinburgh EH1 1NE 8 Blackfriars Street
89% 4088
55.9499447 -3.1862282
High Street Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
21st Aug 2016
6.6

The location is great (right on the Royal Mile), the WiFi worked in my room, and there were lockers/charging points right by my bed. The showers are communal so you have to change in the stalls. The staff do minimal work except check people in, and sit at the computer talking to eachother, making sure everyone has a paper before they're allowed in the hostel. You might want to ask them about making sure your bed isn't by the door/lockers, otherwise be prepared for a horrible sleep.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • florence1995
  • New Zealand, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
21st Aug 2016
9.1

Amazing location, very clean and tidy. Best hostel I have stayed in so far in terms of location, facilities and cleanliness. Despite this being a huge hostel I found the atmosphere a bit lacking. The staff were nice and friendly.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
19th Aug 2016
7.1

Beds were good, with sockets next to every bed. Showers were good but almost impossible to change in as they were so small. Location was amazing. Overall good hostel, would recomend.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Macau, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
18th Aug 2016
8.0

there is some strange smell in the room

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Aug 2016
6.9

Everything was ok. I have no huge complaints but I think the best thing about the Hostel is its location. I had a perfectly nice stay but I will probably just stay at a cheaper Hostel next time and just walk to the Royal Mile.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
15th Aug 2016
10.0

Everything you could possibly want in a hostel with phenomenal location as well.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • santiagobd
  • Colombia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
15th Aug 2016
9.7

Great hostel, location and stuff

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Aug 2016
9.7

We had a brilliant stay here during the Fringe festival. Staff were super helpful and very patient when we were getting confused over payments (we were a group of 12!). Showers a little cold and some safes in the lockers were broken but that is literally the only issue we had. Great space downstairs to cook and eat (and predrink if that's your thing!), lovely rooms and comfy beds. What more could you want! Would have been nice to have separate boys and girls loos as the boys made a mess...

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
12th Aug 2016
10.0

Great Kitchen and Common Room! Loved the free Chocolate milk and affordable breakfast.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th Aug 2016
10.0

Excellent, friendly and right in he middle of the fringe.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.