X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

High Street Hostel Reviews

8 Blackfriars Street, Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
3711 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 97%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 81%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

Great facilities, great staff, great location. 10/10 would stay again.


83%

My stay was pleasant, it was exactly the place I needed to stay in for my holidays: good value for money, nice breakfast and various nationalities to practise your foreign languages. The only issue I had was the pong in the dorm (one out of the 10 people had really strong odour) and a mobile phone ringing more than once in the morning.

  • 19th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Great that people can use the kitchen and outside seating area. Great hostel and very much enjoyed my stay.excellent location and even better price to stay during the fringe festival.

  • 18th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

Its biggest selling point is its location. The facilities are adequate: free wifi worked most of the time, toilets and showers were clean (though not a lot of them) and there are power sockets near each bed. Downsides are the high price for what you get (unfortunately in line with the city) and the party crowd its location attracts (bring earplugs and eye shades if you want to sleep).


89%

We stayed ifor two nights, after making a reservation the same day we arrived, and everything was perfect. Thanks for all your politeness and kindness.


83%

It was nice vintage building added a lot to the while experience. My fellow travelers had certain issue with the smell in the room but i am not sure of the same.

  • 13th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

My daughter and I stayed here Edinburgh's Fringe Festival. It is a comfortable, lived-in place to stay. The bunk beds are stable=> do not wobble when a top bunk is accessed by a roommate. There are plugs for charging devices next to the bunk beds. The lockers are spacious and can hold clothes and small packs. The staff was friendly and helpful. It's not a upscale trendy, place (like the West End Ho(s)tel where we stayed later in the week), but we liked it better!


80%

The bedding could be newer and more clean, the pillows were very uncomfortable. The bathrooms were really dirty and I did not shower there.

  • 9th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

I would recommend this hostel to others. The staff are friendly. The beds are clean & comfortable with WiFi that reaches the beds & a double socket by each one. Lockers with keys are provided. The shows are clean & have room in each cubicle to hang items without them getting wet or within reach of others. The only problem is due to location you do get noise off the street practically all night which can be an issue when trying to sleep.


80%

Rooms smell like rabish, really bad! The one I stayed on 6th floor had a really bad smell all over the night.

  • 6th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Located right off the Royal Mile this hostel is in prime location for almost anything you'd want to do within Edinburgh. Staff are incredibly friendly and welcoming, even to the most difficult of guests. Good security plan in place. Lovely atmosphere with 2 common areas and a huge kitchen. Standard breakfast can be had for 1 pound 90p. Worth it if you're in a hurry. Beds were comfortable and personal plugs are a nice touch. Facilities needed a little love. No lifts available is the only drawback


94%

Nice hostel, really good directions to it and convenient to centre city


100%

Loved this hostel. Perfect location right in the middle of all the touristic things to do. Really easy transport to and from the airport on the airlink 100, that stops a 5 minute walk away from the hostel. The hostel to stay at in Edinburgh! Staff super helpful too.


97%

We loved our stay at the hostel. Staff was friendly and made us feel at home. Loved the atmosphere and location is right in the middle of where we wanted to be. Rooms could do with a bit of an upgrade, but would definitely recommend the place...

  • 30th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

High quality hostel full of cool people. It's right on the royal mile so the location is more than prime. I highly recommend it.


91%

High Street Hostel tends away from the sleek and professional in exchange for the cozy and homey. Each room has a theme (ex. Rivers) and each bunk a name (ex. Nile) and reception has a very family room vibe. Because of this, sometimes facilities seem a bit second-hand and lockers feel a bit loose, but overall, I really enjoyed this hostel and trusted it. Positives: cozy atmosphere, nice location, cheap breakfast, kind staff Negatives: small-ish bathrooms, a little shabby


74%

Private room very basic. Just a small double bed. Old facilities. Great staff however. Great breakfast at small cost. Great kitchen. Great location. Expensive for what you pay however all of Edinburgh is expensive.


54%

Very rude and unhelpful staff.

  • 24th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Everything was wonderful except the mattresses. Loved the people and atmosphere, and really appreciated that a rude loud party in the room next door was given the boot! The location couldn't have been better and the big kitchen was great. The beds however were extremely uncomfortable and I woke up with more aches and pains than I went to bed with.

  • 24th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

The location is excellent, and the overall quality average. The room quality changes greatly from one room to another, I slept in two different dorm rooms and the first one was terrible. Over a busy street were you could hear people, cars, the garbage truck, and the bed was squaky. I didn't sleep very well. Also, in that room (pirates) the lockers were tiny, with room enough just for the camera bag and the wallet.

  • 21st Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(128 results)


View all Edinburgh Hostels

Please give us your feedback