Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

High Street Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 4,253 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 4,253 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.4
High Street Hostel Located at 8 Blackfriars Street, , Edinburgh.
High Street Hostel
Scotland
Edinburgh EH1 1NE 8 Blackfriars Street
89% 4253
55.9499447 -3.1862282
High Street Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
6th Dec 2016
6.9

Nice location for a hostel. Nasty smell throughout the building, and not many toilets/showers for the amount of people staying there. Was put in a room with men significantly older than me, which isn't something i usually expect or am comfortable with at a hostel. Compared to other hostels I've stayed at, the atmosphere isn't as lively. I found it much easier to meet people at other hostels. Good price for the location though.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
2nd Dec 2016
8.9

Very nice hostel, big kitchen, guitars, wifi everywhere and two pillows!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Dec 2016
9.7

The location is perfect, right in the center of old town, within easy walking distance of the castle and shops. Good facilities, huge kitchen and common room, the wifi was good, I recommend

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Nov 2016
10.0

Fantastic hostel Lovely area of Edinburgh, great staff, excellent breakfast and perfect rooms.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
20th Nov 2016
10.0

Great place to stay :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
17th Nov 2016
8.3

Excellent location, nice and clean place, and really appreciated the free hot drinks and cheap breakfast buffet - from this I would strongly recommend this hostel. Only big downside is that the building was extremely draughty and the heating wasn't on during the night leaving my dorm room temperature similar to the chilly Edinburgh November outdoors! Staff eventually partially rectified this by giving me a spare blanket and portable radiator.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi. Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your recommendation. I am sorry to hear about your experience regarding the heating. We have had a boiler fault that has since been fixed. As you pointed out we have tried our best to find a quick fix for the time being. All the best for your onward journey.

  • maddipetro
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Nov 2016
8.9

My main issue was that many of the shower's curtains were broken. The breakfast is not worth the money, just buy your own juice and bread for the week and save the money. Other than that, the hostel was nice, people were nice, and the location was nice.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Nov 2016
9.7

Quiet, convenient location. Not as convivial as other hostels I've stayed in, but very nice.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th Nov 2016
7.4

High street hostel was in a great location. The room I stayed in was very small and the top bunk had no railing so that was pretty scary all through the night.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
6th Nov 2016
10.0

There's nothing I can really fault about it. Huge amazing and very clean showers with room to hang your clothes. Pretty good sized dorms with well built beds, better mattress than most and your own wall socket. Nice common areas, cosy and cool decorations, always love a pool table too. Good kitchen. Very central and very cheap.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.