Hostelworld.com

High Street Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 3,981 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 3,981 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.5
High Street Hostel Located at 8 Blackfriars Street, , Edinburgh.
High Street Hostel
Scotland
Edinburgh EH1 1NE 8 Blackfriars Street
88% 3981
55.9499447 -3.1862282
High Street Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jun 2016
8.9

Great stay! The rooms were pretty clean, facilities were a little dirty but not bad at all and I never had to wait in line for shower or toilet. Lockable room and locker for each bed with a key provided. Location was perfect, within 20 minute walk of so many attractions! Great stay for a great price! I will definitely be back.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
15th Jun 2016
9.1

This hostel had a really cozy vibe to it. Lots of people playing music. Squishy couches, tables and a cool wing back chair in the common room made the place really roomy and laid back. Kitchen area is also really large. Also very nice having free hot drinks available. Showers were hit an miss. My only qualm was my dorm had a really odd smell the entire time I was there. This could have been from someone staying there, but even with the window open it never really went away.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
11th Jun 2016
6.6

Location is best, price is cheap, need to work more on the cleanliness. Room and linen are not good smell.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your feedback. We are surprised to hear you were not satisfied with our rooms as we clean the rooms on a daily basis and provide fresh linen. We will work hard to improve and wish you all the best on your journey.

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
7th Jun 2016
9.4

It's not until later in my travels that I realise what a great hostel High Street was! Great lounge area, huge kitchen and dining room, rooms quite spacious and bathrooms always clean and usually all to yourself. There was always someone else around to chat to in the common areas, and the staff were always present, avaliable and happy to help. Bonus: great cheap breakfast!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • judychanyy
  • Hong Kong, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
7th Jun 2016
8.6

I did enjoy the stay despite it was a 1 night stay. First, the staffs are friendly. Second, I love the kitchen facilities. Lastly, I love the atmosphere of reception. Wish to meet you again in the future

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
6th Jun 2016
9.4

Great hostel, gives you two pillows which is great

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Jun 2016
8.9

We stayed 3 nights and even though the heating was on 24/7 (it was like 26 degree) the hostel was really good. We opened the windows and everything was fine. The location is really good and the staff was friendly and helpful.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
2nd Jun 2016
10.0

Proper backpackers hostel, nice breakfast for £1.90, free tea/coffee/hot chocolate. Showers were hot and wonderful. Reception is always manned and people with guitars playing in corridors etc. Just off the main street with a carpark next door, free parking in the street out of work hours.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Jun 2016
9.7

High Street Hostel had a cool, comfortable atmosphere with lots of vibrant murals and cozy places to sit and relax with a book or coffee. The free tea and coffee was nice, and the breakfast (for an extra fee) had a decent selection. Bathrooms and showers were decent, and there was a good supply of both. I never had to wait for a bathroom or shower. The staff was friendly and helpful, and it was overall a good hostel experience.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
31st May 2016
8.0

Great hostel! Stayed here for two nights with a friend. Large kitchen and common area, clean bathrooms and fantastic location. The staff were super friendly and knowledgeable and the price was fantastic. The only downside is that the kitchen is closed from 10:30 until 12 for cleaning. But other than that best hostel in Edinburgh.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.