Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

High Street Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 4462 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 4462 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
21st May 2017
9.1

Pretty excellent hostel overall! Great location, wonderful staff, reasonable price for breakfast in the morning. Beds weren't the most comfortable, but the whole hostel was very clean. Would stay again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
18th May 2017
10.0

I Love everything about it

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • charlotte2315
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th May 2017
10.0

Amazing everything is what you would expect from a good hostel, friendly people at a fun hostel,

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • sydneyakaleah5867
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
18th May 2017
9.7

Great location! The building itself was really neat, and I loved the names for the dorms and beds, very nice touch.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
17th May 2017
10.0

Wow this is definitely the place to stay in Edinburgh. Value for money is really up there. The place is clean, beds are comfortable, staff is friendly, big social and kitchen area, and even the 7th floor gets wifi. Lockers are provided in the room and towel rent is cheap. Location is right in the middle of Edinburgh. Don't stay anywhere else.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
15th May 2017
9.1

This hostel is perfectly situated just off High Street and it's totally adorable. It's got a great atmosphere - lots of folks socializing - and the breakfast was cheap and pretty good. The bathroom was far too small for so many people - but it's an old building it's understandable. This was my favorite hostel, out of six that we stayed in. Be prepared to climb some steps - but they're not too bad, really. I loved being so close to all the attractions, plus the cozy lobby and fun dining area.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
15th May 2017
9.7

One of the best hostel that i've ever been. Its near from everything, that includes all the sightseeings and one of the main train stations (waterloo if I'm not wrong). The staff are really helpful and the atmosphere is really great. They have a common space, which includes Netflix and guitars to play.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
15th May 2017
6.3

Very average hostel. However, it's 2017, bad wifi is now completely unacceptable. Also, many other hostels around the world have now caught on to having privacy curtains, even just a simple having linen or something, this place has not. Theres a bare bones value for sure, if you go in with VERY low expectations, this place is great. If you go in thinking this will be like other high rated hostels you've been to, prepare to be extremely let down.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
13th May 2017
8.9

Good location very clean and quiet at night,

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th May 2017
7.1

The showers should be cleaned in the morning and evening. The kitchen is closed for cleaning during lunch hours, maybe move that to mid afternoon. The other problem I had was that I was in a 18 room mixed dorm. However, I was one girl out of 17 guys. This was highly inappropriate. They kept coming over to my bed in the middle of the night flashing flashlights on me, cat calling me every time I got up, and they kept saying, "let's get her!" While I was trying to sleep. I didn't sleep for 2 days.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry about your experience in the 18-bed mixed dorm that you booked. As soon as you mentioned it to a member of staff we put you into a smaller female dorm (for no extra charge) The kitchen is available from 12.30pm, which works fine for the vast majority of our guests. Sorry about the inconvenience.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.