Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

High Street Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 4605 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 4605 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
19th Jul 2017
9.4

Great staying at the hostel, the best one we had yet. Amazing staff, very nice, kind people. We stayed there after a friend suggested us, and if we come back to Edinburgh, we would love zo stay there again

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th Jul 2017
10.0

I loved this hostel! Excellent location and the staff were fantastic! No physical luggage room, but I felt safe leaving it in the reception area. They also have a place for valuables. Fun hostel to hang out in, lots of things to do including books to read, comfy couches, pool table, and finding the assorted suits of armour around the place. Wifi was decent, good reach and only a little bit slow. Beds were comfy and warm. Excellent kitchen! £1.90 for full breakfast (cereal, toast, juice).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
14th Jul 2017
10.0

This hostel was really nice! Breakfast costs a few pounds, but there's a free food box in the kitchen that had bread and jam in it when I was there, so I got a free breakfast!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th Jul 2017
4.3

This was a very unpleasant stay. The staff was not friendly and the room that we've stayed was reeking! The bedding was not clean and was smelling sweat, the window did not open enough and everything was so stinky. The only good thing about was the location.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to hear about your experience. It would have been helpful to point the issue out to our staff as we could have addressed the problem there and then and found a solution for you. Our general cleanliness ratings prove that we have very high standards and I apologise if you were disappointed. All the best on your future travels.

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
11th Jul 2017
8.9

This review is based strictly on my interaction with the staff, as I inadvertently booked the wrong date for our stay. We walked into this hostel as a group of 6 soaking wet Americans with luggage and the staff helped us SO much to ensure we had a place to sleep. He made calls and checked any and all availability for us. We ended up booking a different hostel but I'd like to rate High Street highly for their help. Thank you!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
9th Jul 2017
10.0

perfect location, cosy & original style, friendly & helpful staff, free tea & coffee 24/7, loads of well-stuffed bookshelves, big kitchen & "hanging-out space"... would definitely recommend it to anyone visiting Edinburgh =)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
9th Jul 2017
8.9

The hostel is an excellent location right off the royal mile. I booked a 10 girl room but was in a room with 8 girls. The rooms are extremely small and a very small locker so you're unable to lock up your backpack. However for the cost and the location it was fine. They also gave 2 pillows which was a definite plus! I had a great group of girls and loved Edinburgh. The bathrooms and showers are co-ed and there were only 3 bathrooms and 3 showers on my floor but was never an issue.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
7th Jul 2017
10.0

LOVELY PLACE TO STAY! Staff was always friendly, facilities were clean, personal locker in the dorms, very very good location, etc etc Just a great place to stay when you go to Edinburgh!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th Jul 2017
10.0

A spacious & gracious hostel indeed. So clean you could almost eat off the floor. Wonderful staff, very approachable, informative, helpful, clearly enjoyed interacting with guests. This really set the tone for guest interaction with one another - other hostels might not be aware of the value here. Loved the colorful rooms, and the serenely colorful guest room, comfortable bed. Nice piano! I'd add two things to the kitchen: cast iron frying pans (marvelous stainless pots) and a sturdy blender.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th Jul 2017
9.4

Big lockers, great location, great staff, can't complain

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.