Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

High Street Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 4755 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 4755 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th Sep 2017
8.6

Nice hostel, rooms are very spacious :-))))))) The location is perfect as it is close to the places of interest ! I definitely recommend it

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
15th Sep 2017
9.1

Only stayed over the weekend so can't say much about atmosphere since I didn't hang out in the hostel but location, staff, beds, kithen were all great!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
13th Sep 2017
9.1

Great hostel very close to everything. Large spacious rooms were kept very clean and the kitchen was amazing! The Wi-Fi was a little patchy and slow on the upper levels but can't really complain because there was free tea, coffee and hot choc. What more could you want :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
11th Sep 2017
2.0

Would not recommend. Not one member of staff even acknowledged me the whole time I was here. I asked someone to help me light a stove top, and you would have thought I asked them to give me their first born. (And yes, I checked to make sure they weren't busy or working first). Felt really uncomfortable the whole time I was here. I kept waiting for the "9 stars" to kick in, but it never came. People on the front desk were rude. I had to find everything out for myself. Really disappointed.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

I am surprised and frankly shocked about the experience you are describing. This doesn't sound like our hostel staff at all (as you can see from the vast majority of our reviews) We will take your feedback very seriously to improve our service. I do think that your verdict is a bit harsh though. All the best on your future travels.

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Sep 2017
9.1

I stayed here when I arrived in Edinburgh after 16+ hours of travelling. The receptionist was very helpful and could not have been friendlier! All I wanted was food, a shower, and a good sleep which was exactly what I got. The bathrooms were clean, the rooms were quiet, and each bed was provided with a secure locker and key. They also serve a very reasonable breakfast for £1.90 (cereal, fruit, toast) and free tea and coffee. Overall great atmosphere!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
8th Sep 2017
9.1

Location was great, plugs at every bed was awesome, bathrooms are a bit tight, fridges in the kitchen are all mini fridges (why?). Decent common areas.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
6th Sep 2017
9.7

My only gripe is that the showers are less than convenient. Otherwise it's a lovely place. I've already booked my second stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • justinlorya
  • China, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Sep 2017
5.1

the door makes big noisy. the insulation is terribly bad. Wake up several times in the night.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your feedback. We have had a look at the door and fixed the issue. It would have been helpful to let us know while you were still here to give us a chance to improve your stay. Best regards.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Sep 2017
10.0

Brilliant Hostel, we loved our time here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • amanda_b105
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
1st Sep 2017
10.0

I loved the place! It has a special charm and I would definitely recommend to others and go back there again in the future! Also a really great value for your money!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×