Hostelworld.com

High Street Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 3,950 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 3,950 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.2
High Street Hostel Located at 8 Blackfriars Street, , Edinburgh.
High Street Hostel
Scotland
Edinburgh EH1 1NE 8 Blackfriars Street
87% 3950
55.9499447 -3.1862282
High Street Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th May 2016
8.6

We only stayed there for one night. The location is great and on arrival the staff was very friendly and helpful. The shared bathroom was visibly clean even if a bit small. The room, however, was small and not so clean. There were crumbs on the floor and and it was generally not that clean. Good for a one night stay, though. Specially if you want to visit the beautiful city.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
18th May 2016
9.1

This hostel has a great location in the old city, close to everything. Very friendly and helpful staff. Really nice atmosphere. Cheap continental breakfast (£1.90). The only drawback I might find to this hostel is that mattresses are simple foam carpets.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
17th May 2016
8.3

My friend and I stayed here for a couple nights, and we enjoyed our stay. The staff were friendly and accommodating, and the facilities were clean. Good location in the old town. Would recommend if you are heading to Edinburgh.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
16th May 2016
9.1

Hostel was in an awesome location. Definitely a good value for your money. The atmosphere is awesome. Lounge was spacious and had lots of anmedites. The staff was kind and helpful. The rooms are a bit small but it was nice because the toilets and shower rooms were separate. Overall great place to stay

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your great feedback. Hopefully see you again some day. All the best. Cheers.

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
9th May 2016
10.0

A very nice and tidy hostel, the mattresses were a tad thin but otherwise everything was fine.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
6th May 2016
7.1

This place was fun, but be aware that it is a party hostel. The drawback was that there wasn't a quiet place in the hostel to chill or make a phone call. When I was there, there were literally people playing guitars in every common area and even in the stairwell! A designated quiet space would helpful. The bathrooms were ok, but the kitchen was quite dirty when I was there, which was a factor in me leaving early and moving elsewhere. It would have been good if it was cleaned more often by staff.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
4th May 2016
9.7

Everything was great! Can not complain!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Apr 2016
10.0

Incredible stuff, very friendly and kind. Warm atmosphere and good position.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
30th Apr 2016
7.4

Stayed for two nights. Very good value for money, they have big lockers on each room for each bed, to use them you just need £10 deposit. Shower room and toilet are for men and women and were clean. I didn't like that check out is at 10.30am and they don't have a room to put your stuff, you just leave your belongings right next to the reception which would be okay if they check every person id to make sure they're staying in the hostel, but they just don't.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your feedback. I understand your concern and we do take security very seriously. We do offer guests secure luggage storage behind reception, our reception is always manned and we do check for the hostel passes for every person entering the building. All the best on your onward journey.

  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Apr 2016
8.0

A great place to stay for a short while, good atmosphere, great staff and diverse cultures

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.