X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Highlander Hostel Reviews

23A High Street, Inverness, Scotland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

65%

Rating
277 Total Reviews
  • 64%Value For Money
  • 62%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 68%Staff
  • 61%Atmosphere
  • 55%Cleanliness
  • 59%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

57%

Rooms are small, with foul smell. And there's no hot water in the bathroom.


83%

My room is beside pub or bar, so it was noisy until 4 am. A drunk man came to the toom after party finished, and woke up somebody in my room and claimed that bed.

  • 30th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

too few facilities


46%

All my clothes were completely wet and the dry machine was occuped the whole day. You have to pay for everything in the hostel (towels, dry machine, maps, hair dryer, etc). The shower was cold and very very weak, horrible.


94%

The staff is very friendly and helpful. When we arrived and asked to use the internet, there was some issue with the hostel computers, and so the staff member offered to use his personal laptop. Although it is a very big hostel, it still felt homely due to the communal space and the big comfy couches.. If you are staying during the weekend, then it might be hard to get some sleep though as the it is centrally located with pubs underneath it (bring earplugs). All in all, good value for the money

  • 24th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Estonia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

It was a nice experience. I definitely recommend it for group of friends.

  • 24th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

It was a great place to stay, very central, the common spaces were friendly. Some of the shower room were just completely inundated, which is not particularly pleasant when you want to keep your stuff dry. But all the showers were private, which is good for some persons who are body shy. My dorm was spacious, clean, odour free. Thanks !


54%

In the 2nd floor are 4 bathrooms. They are not clean. One door can not be closed. The other door is very, very hard to open. And two of four showers were damaged and the water stays in the shower. Most of the time there was no toilet paper. The kitchen was also really dirty and the pillow, too.


74%

Many showers were broken...

  • 22nd Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

A Hostel for people who want to use there days - walking around Inverness, driving to Loch Ness or go wandering in the Highlands. The Toilets and showers are clean ( - enough), the beds looks a bit creepy in the first moment but with the sheets on it is ok. We did not try the breakfast but its looks not too bad. Were are lookers in the Room (looking like lobster traps) - Ok. The Guy on the Reception was actually the worst thing! Unfriendly, unorganized and not helpful - bad for a Hostel!


37%

Awful beds, dirty and extremely small room, no shades on the windows and noisy at night. Would not recommend.


31%

Where to start? Beaves

  • 17th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


60%

A cheap place to stay. The staff were friendly. The hostel is in the centre of town. If you're a fuss pot you might have trouble with some of the facilities.

  • 16th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


51%

Facillities dirty and chaotic Kitchen very dirty I have seen much nicer / cleaner places for less Money per night!

  • 15th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


43%

there are no lockers in the rooms and bathrooms are not clean.


46%

The Wrost bed Ever

  • 14th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


54%

For the low price we did not expect much and the situation in the city centre was really good. Unfortunately our rooms windows went out into the main shopping street where there were many loud people and also vehicles stopping being unloaded or loaded during night so that it was very noisy. There were not enough showers and toilets for all the guests. I had to wait for half an hour to take a shower. The kitchen was big, but was not opened before 8 am, so that early leavers can't have breakfast.


83%

Just in the middle of the city, good security and young people. Good to stay a night like us in your trip around Scotland


94%

Perfect location, good kitchen, nice common room close by. The showers were nice as we're the rooms, although the beds were too short to sit up in and the wifi was very spotty sometimes. Still a great place and worth stopping in at. I'd go back any time I return to inverness, no doubt about it.


26%

We were very bad welcomed at the reception desk. The rooms were awful and very small. The bathrooms were as dirty as in the hostels of London and Amsterdam. The smell was horrible. Honestly, we've been in many hostels around the world but this one is in the top 3 of the worst ever seen!!

  • 12th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(53 results)


View all Inverness Hostels

Please give us your feedback