Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Hilltop Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.0
Fabulous 646 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.0
Fabulous 646 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.8
Hilltop Hostel Located at 300 Carroll St, 20012, NW, Washington DC.
Hilltop Hostel
USA
Washington DC DC DC 20012 300 Carroll St, 20012, NW
80% 646
38.9748577 -77.0163273
Hilltop Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jul 2016
7.7

Overall it is an average Hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jul 2016
10.0

The staff and facilities, the room (private) and the location were all excellent. Easily worth twice the rate! Very classy, friendly staff - lots of space to chill. Great restaurants and bars within walking distance.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
4th Jul 2016
6.0

Hostel was a little out of the way but as expected , right next to metro stop so was no trouble. Check in was a little disjointed as there was no reception to go too and relied on calling the owners ( which difficult if you don't have an American number). But over all the hostel had a nice friendly feel too it, despite being a little grubby in parts. Would stay again :-)

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Jul 2016
8.6

The staff were so friendly- very keen to give advice on the best things to do! They also did a BBQ for 4th July ! The hostel is also full of charm - a hidden gem!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
2nd Jul 2016
10.0

I really enjoyed my stay here. Ron and Lori are very cool people as well as JC and John. It reminded me of the laid back Southern California vibe which made me feel right at home. The location is almost perfect. There's a metro and bus stop across the street, as well as some restaurants and a 7-Eleven. DC used to be a swamp so I would suggest bringing some mosquito repellent. I was there during the 4th of July week and I highly recommend it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
25th Jun 2016
2.0

Staying at this hostel was extremely degrading. The owner's wife and owner yelled at me in front of hostel guests about turning off the AC at night in my shared room. When in fact, I hadn't been going to bed until 1-2 a.m. How can I turn off the ac when I'm not there? Moreover, the owner's wife crudely asked me--in front of guests-- if I knew how to use a blanket and that if I didn't I should learn to use one. I felt so embarrassed and angry. This is not how you treat customers or people

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Jun 2016
9.7

Spotlessly clean, beautiful setting, would definitely come back. Only complaint; one of the staff was shooting at squirrels in the early morning with a BB gun. This is in the middle of Tacoma Park, and detracted from the atmosphere of safety and friendliness.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Rebecca_Durkin
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
10th Jun 2016
8.0

Really nice hostel in a beautiful building. It's a bit outside the centre but literally seconds from a metro station so it's very accessible, and the neighbourhood it's situated in is lovely. The rooms are comfortable and clean, and there are some great areas in which to sit and relax. Only negative is that there's sometimes a bit of a queue for the bathrooms, as there are only two. But other than that it's a great place to stay!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th May 2016
5.4

This was one of the worst hostels I ever stayed in... but I guess you get what you pay for, right? Security: a woman staying nearby my room woke up with an authorized person in her room. (They should really change those passwords on the front door!) Location: right next to the red metro line and bus station which was awesome and totally unexpected. Staff: not very friendly, seems like they felt bothered showing me around. Cleanliness: bathrooms were gross, bugs everywhere, rooms were atrocious.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th May 2016
9.1

Would stay here again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.