Hostelworld.com

Hilltop Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 630 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.5
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 630 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.5
Hilltop Hostel Located at 300 Carroll St, 20012, NW, Washington DC.
Hilltop Hostel
USA
Washington DC DC DC 20012 300 Carroll St, 20012, NW
81% 630
38.9748577 -77.0163273
Hilltop Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Apr 2016
10.0

Super chill atmosphere and convenient location!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Apr 2016
9.7

A wonderful hostel run by lovely people! An excellent place to stay while visiting DC, prime location in a relaxed neighborhood and right across from the metro to go downtown. It has a warm, homey vibe, especially because it's a renovated Victorian house, plus it's so creatively and colorfully decorated! A must for DC adventurers!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Apr 2016
2.6

This was by far the worst hostel that I have EVER visited for a stay. First, as I sat in the guests' T.V. room enjoying my favorite T.V. show, an unkempt long haired, long bearded man came in and asked for my room number. When I refused to do so, as I am a female and was sitting there alone, this crazed man snatched the remote, turned off the T.V. and called the police!. I was appalled and will never EVER recommend nor stay at this hostel again. Mrs. C. Turner

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Mar 2016
8.9

Lots of character. Kitchen and bathrooms were spotlessly maintained. No lockers and old windows are the two downsides I found.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
29th Mar 2016
7.1

A good budget hostel. Ron was welcoming and gracious when we checked in at 10 PM. Private room was small and had seen a lot of wear and tear, but it and the linens were clean. The bathroom was newer and quite nice. We didn't use the kitchen, but it looked well-stocked and tidy. Because it's a creaky old house and the rooms are so close together with no sound barrier whatsoever, this could be a hard place to sleep when it's full. We were there during the week so it wasn't a big issue.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Mar 2016
8.9

Lots of couches and community areas throughout the house for either meals, watch TV, or the best part was the balcony where I was able to enjoy the Spring breeze while cruising on the wi-fi. Conveniently located to the Metro Red Line and restaurants/coffee. Restful stay. Loved it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Mar 2016
9.4

Perfect for my stay in DC. Easy access to the metro, close to local shops, ideal facilities for my needs.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
16th Mar 2016
9.1

I love this hostel. It is big, open, comfy and most importantly-clean! It is not in the downtown area, but after staying in the Adams Morgan area for awhile I came to really appreciate this hostel's location. It is right next to the Takona metro and there are lots of great restaurants around. It is a pretty area. The owners seem pretty cool as well. They just leave you alone unless you need anything. It's a good atmosphere. Thanks:)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th Mar 2016
10.0

This was one of the best hostels I've ever used! The staff stayed late to help us check-in, and even let us check in a night early! We ended up getting the room to ourselves for 2 of the 3 nights we stayed there! Right by Metro! The ONE problem was there aren't enough bathrooms when there are a bunch of girls staying there. They took forever! Be sure to visit Busboys and Poets a block away!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
27th Feb 2016
8.9

This was a really nice hostel. The owners, Ron and Laurie were really friendly and helpful and have great knowledge of the local area too. John who works in the hostel was also really helpful and gave us loads of good places to visit. The hostel is comfy and has great facilities like a pool table and a giant TV with loads of available movies to watch. There are also two decent bars and a brilliant café down the road for music/chatting/tasty breakfasts. It's also right next to the rail station

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.