Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hilltop Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.9
Very Good 656 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
7.9
Very Good 656 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.7
Hilltop Hostel Located at 300 Carroll St, 20012, NW, Washington DC.
Hilltop Hostel
USA
Washington DC DC DC 20012 300 Carroll St, 20012, NW
79% 656
38.9748577 -77.0163273
Hilltop Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
15th Aug 2016
8.9

Lovely hostel with great character. Staff were really friendly funny and helpful. Had such a chilled out relaxing vibe that made you feel welcoming and like you were at home! Would definitely stay there again and reccomend

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Aug 2016
7.4

Lovely hammock in the garden out the back :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Aug 2016
7.4

By and large, the stay was nice. Felt a little misled about payment (cash only, and unfortunately our foreign cards didn't work in the ATMs nearby) and parking (website said there was a lot nearby, but the only was a Metro lot which had inconvenient parking bans in the afternoon). The staff who met us first greeted us by asking if we had the money and seemed in a large rush to get rid of us. Otherwise, the rooms are nice and kept clean, if the mattress and pillows were quite old.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
25th Jul 2016
7.1

Super conveniently located next to the train like which you can take right into Union Station. The rooms got a little hot in the middle of summer though despite blasting the little air con unit..!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
22nd Jul 2016
8.9

Great and unique place in a great area only a 15 minute commute to central DC. We unfortunately had a laptop stolen but it seemed like a real outlier - security doesn't seem to be bad in general.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jul 2016
3.7

The men who run the Hilltop Hostel are rude and extremely unprofessional. We were demanded cash upon arrival for our stay, and this stipulation wasn't mentioned when booking or in our confirmation. We were rudely asked if we "even looked at their website" and told that they "were too tired for this" when questioned. The bed was terribly uncomfortable, the place was in poor condition, security lacking, and hospitality at an extreme low. There are much better places for comparable prices i

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jul 2016
7.7

Overall it is an average Hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jul 2016
10.0

The staff and facilities, the room (private) and the location were all excellent. Easily worth twice the rate! Very classy, friendly staff - lots of space to chill. Great restaurants and bars within walking distance.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
4th Jul 2016
6.0

Hostel was a little out of the way but as expected , right next to metro stop so was no trouble. Check in was a little disjointed as there was no reception to go too and relied on calling the owners ( which difficult if you don't have an American number). But over all the hostel had a nice friendly feel too it, despite being a little grubby in parts. Would stay again :-)

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Jul 2016
8.6

The staff were so friendly- very keen to give advice on the best things to do! They also did a BBQ for 4th July ! The hostel is also full of charm - a hidden gem!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.