Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hilltop Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 684 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 684 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 8.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Mar 2017
8.3

Like staying at a friend's house! It wasn't perfectly clean and the windows were drafty, but it was pretty much what I expected from a hostel and the staff was friendly. I felt totally welcome and the atmosphere was warm and colorful. Great location right next to the metro and many nearby locations for food and drinks.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Mar 2017
8.9

very good location, very friendly staff, very nice facilities. I like here~

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Mar 2017
5.1

I picked the hostel because no other hostel was vacant at that time and this hostel had a pretty good reviews and a good location. In the end the location and the price were the only good things of the hostel. The neighborhood seemed pretty save as well. But otherwise it was the worst hostel I've ever stayed in. The house is very old including all the furniture. This fact would be no problem if it was clean. But it wasn't! I'm even sure that I saw a mouse in the food storage space!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Jan 2017
6.0

Not bad. Didn't like that when I asked for a blanket because I had been cold the night before, they acted like I was lying for some reason. And one of the guys that worked there in the mornings was often really rude to guests. It was right on the metro line, so that was the big plus for me. Tacoma is A cute little community as well, I enjoyed exploring.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Jan 2017
10.0

I almost hesitate to say how great this place is, since I want to be sure i can stay here again in Spring! Loved it. The staff was gracious, accommodating, and knowledgeable. The chocolate cookies were a delightful treat. The bunk was comfy, the sheets a little scratchy, but not bad. The building itself is beautiful. The shared spaces were warm and inviting. The back yard has a hammock I can't wait to claim when I'm back in better weather. lovely place to be for the Women's March!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
19th Jan 2017
8.9

Great location! People were very welcoming and well informed. The mattresses could be improved that's my only negative comments. I would definitely stay there again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jan 2017
9.4

Warm welcome, given all the info and help needed to make an easy stay. Accorr ffrom the Metro station so perfect location to come and go to downtown DC. This was very first stay in a histel and i am inpressed. Had an upper bunk which was a bit of a challenge for this 71 year old and a softer mattres would have been nice, but I was warm, safe and treated with kindness. I will go there again. Also goid restaurants within a few blocks.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • mischegoss9727
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
19th Jan 2017
10.0

I loved my stay here. It was inviting, relaxing and very close to the Metro (and a 7-11 for cheap snacks). The bed was not the best (a bit thin) and it was a hostel so there was noise, but for the price and laid back atmosphere, it was perfect. I will gladly come back next time I am in town to cover a protest or event.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Nov 2016
10.0

Wonderful experience

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Oct 2016
10.0

Location is convenience. The room is clean and the staff is friendly.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.