Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hilltop Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.9
Very Good 671 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
7.9
Very Good 671 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.8
Hilltop Hostel Located at 300 Carroll St, 20012, NW, Washington DC.
Hilltop Hostel
USA
Washington DC DC DC 20012 300 Carroll St, 20012, NW
79% 671
38.9748577 -77.0163273
Hilltop Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Nov 2016
10.0

Wonderful experience

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Oct 2016
10.0

Location is convenience. The room is clean and the staff is friendly.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Oct 2016
10.0

I love this place, John (owner) is very kind and helpful, he was explained everything about the hostel and surrounding, will stay here again when I visit Washington DC,

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Sep 2016
6.0

The room was quiet with air conditioning and there was a nice balcony area at the back of the house. The staff were friendly and approachable, the location was great next to the metro and the area seemed nice. The main issue with this hostel is that it is simply not clean and this was particularly the case in the bedroom and shared bathroom. The hostel needs an overhaul of the mattresses and bedding including the mattress protectors and pillows which were pretty disgusting as they were discoloured with stai

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Aug 2016
8.6

I stayed at the Hilltop Hostel in the Spring of 2015 - and intentionally returned there for my visit to DC this fall. (In my mind, my return visit to the hostel is in itself is a wonderful endorsement for the establishment.) The atmosphere of the hostel is one of independence (happily, for me), but if one is looking to develop and create new friendships with the other patrons, look elsewhere. There are no roaches or bedbugs. And more importantly, I plan to return there next Spring.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
15th Aug 2016
8.9

Lovely hostel with great character. Staff were really friendly funny and helpful. Had such a chilled out relaxing vibe that made you feel welcoming and like you were at home! Would definitely stay there again and reccomend

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Aug 2016
7.4

Lovely hammock in the garden out the back :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Aug 2016
7.4

By and large, the stay was nice. Felt a little misled about payment (cash only, and unfortunately our foreign cards didn't work in the ATMs nearby) and parking (website said there was a lot nearby, but the only was a Metro lot which had inconvenient parking bans in the afternoon). The staff who met us first greeted us by asking if we had the money and seemed in a large rush to get rid of us. Otherwise, the rooms are nice and kept clean, if the mattress and pillows were quite old.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
25th Jul 2016
7.1

Super conveniently located next to the train like which you can take right into Union Station. The rooms got a little hot in the middle of summer though despite blasting the little air con unit..!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
22nd Jul 2016
8.9

Great and unique place in a great area only a 15 minute commute to central DC. We unfortunately had a laptop stolen but it seemed like a real outlier - security doesn't seem to be bad in general.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.