X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Hilltop Hostel Reviews

300 Carroll St, 20012, NW, Washington DC, District of Columbia, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

56%

Rating
568 Total Reviews
  • 60%Value For Money
  • 75%Security
  • 70%Location
  • 45%Staff
  • 40%Atmosphere
  • 40%Cleanliness
  • 60%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

Just amazing, only problem was the unbearable heat during the morning with only one fan for the whole room 11, but still worthy to go back.


100%

They have a fulsbol table, an outdoor grill for bbqs, awesome staff and a full fledged kitchen - and no one stole from the fridge while I was there!

  • 22nd May 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

The location is good near to metro station.


37%

So awful place to stay.


49%

The security is very bad. We can't lock the door at night. Three public bethrooms for around 40 people in the hostel is so poor.

  • 3rd May 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

the hostel is really well located near the metro station, and small supermarkets. The place is really nice and has a lot of charcter. it has a huge backyard and a nice kitchen with all the comforts you need. Plus they give you free wi-fi and a computer, if you need it!


91%

Good clean hostel. staff were really helpful with telling us where to visit and the best way of getting there. only downside is it took a little while to get to the tourist attractions but it was relatively easy to get there. overall great stay at this hostel we would stay here again!


89%

the storage boxes look insecure that i felt that i'd rather bring the valuable stuffs with me


91%

Very homely place. Location couldn't have been better considering that it is literally a stone's throw from the Takoma subway station.


89%

I really enjoyed my stay. Conveniently located near transit which was very nice. If anything I'd say maybe have quiet hours. One night it got very noisy and was hard to sleep. But overall. I'd go back and would recommend to anyone traveling on a budget.

  • 16th Apr 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

The Hilltop Hostel is lovely! The house has a very old-fashioned, familiar charme with little rooms and stairs. The staff is friendly and helpful and the overall atmosphere is welcoming. They provide wifi and a free computer, a kitchen with full interior, a comfy living room-like lounge and a garden with a little terrace and a hammock. It feels like grandmothers old garden house. Takoma is a little far from the center, yet it's a lovely neighborhood.

  • 12th Apr 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

The place is great value for your money. If you are traveling alone and are a social person, the place is great to meet people and have some interesting conversations and even travel companions. It is very easy to find and easy to reach with public transportation. The staff is very no-nonsense but also helpful. I would recommend it for young backpackers but not for couples or older guests.


89%

Just one bathroom at floor, hard to get in :-) but otherwise exellent.


74%

Over nice place for the money, a little hard to find, make sure you have good directions.


74%

This is a great place to stay if you are visiting D.C. They have a lot of repeat guests, so it is sort of like crashing at your friends ridiculously convenient house (I mean ridiculously convenient, the metro is steps away). I was able to use public transportation to get to and from my meetings downtown, and everyone was friendly and inviting. That said, this is a hostel in all its glory and grime, so bring a towel, expect to share a bathroom, and be respectful of the people and property.


74%

They need a quiet hour which period can keep people NOT talking loud in the lobby or even at door of dorm !!!!!

  • 23rd Mar 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

Enter your phone number here

  • 18th Mar 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

A little dirty, but nothing beyond what you would expect from a hostel. Right next to the metro stop on the red line and a cheap $6 a day parking lot a block down. Cvs and food places near by. Friendly people. All in all excellently connected to the center of DC, easy and cheap parking and affordable price. Def would recommend this place


54%

While a charming old house in a quiet and safe neighborhood, Hilltop Hostel has some significant problems. My first night, a loud group stayed up until 5:30 am, and a disoriented person even wandered into my dorm in the wee hours. Smoking is allowed in the basement and the smoke certainly travels up to the higher levels of the house. Additionally, a manager (I believe) rudely asked me to close my dorm window late one night; I was just trying to get some fresh air in the room. Overall a bad stay.

  • 8th Mar 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

I have been coming to this Hostel for many years and while there may be fancier places out there, I have not found better for the money. This grand Historic Victorian is next tof the Tacoma Park Suburbs; but right across the street from the Subway and Buses to take you anywhere, quickly. The staff has always been accommodating and fun. Plenty to do within walking distance and shops galore: Post office, bank, dry cleaners, drug store, etc. Even bikes to rent. Great place.

  • 7th Feb 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


(502 results)


View all Washington DC Hostels

Please give us your feedback