X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hilltop Reviews

Marjanski Put 13, Split, Croatia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
107 Total Reviews
  • 91%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 93%Cleanliness
  • 89%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Hilltop was very nice and it does justice to its name. It's at the top of a steep hill so be aware if you are carrying heavy bags. Peter was so friendly and easy going. He really looked after us and even let us checkout an hour late as we accidentally forgot the checkout time. The only complaint was that the pillows were lumpy and the fold out bed was very uncomfortable.


77%

The location is in a residential area, but still only a short walk to the touristy bits. Our flight was delayed and so we arrived late, we were given the keys but not checked in and we were waiting around, which was a bit frustrating. But when we were given a map for Split, the information was really good - especially about the restaurant Fife. Overall, it was an excellent stay and for what we paid, you couldn't really complain and I would stay again

  • 9th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Peter is a very helpful and super host..


40%

Our room was not secure and the owner was rude and aggressive when we explained to him that his directions to the hostel were confusing and inaccurate. The owner also insulted us as we entered our room by asking us to 'keep it tidy' because it was a newly refurbished room! Furthermore, the door at the back of our room which opened on to the balcony did not have a lock and therefore offered us no security. We would not recommend Hilltop.

  • 6th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry but definitely it is not true! We give to you perfectly and comfortable room with balcony and I'm very suprised with this comment after thousands of guests this summer......

97%

Best hostel ever!


94%

Our stay at the hilltop guesthouse was excellent. Our host made sure we had everything we needed and when we got lost, he sent someone to look for us, which was really cool. The room - actually, the small apartment - was very clean and comfy. The view from our balcony was amazing. The guesthouse is the perfect for those who want some peace and quiet but still want to be close to the city and go out. We warmly recommend it!


100%

We had an excellent stay at the Hilltop! Peter was a great host and was very friendly and welcoming. These apartments provide a tranquil oasis from the bustling streets of Split. Thank you for a great stay! 100 %.

  • 18th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Peter is a very nice guy and takes care of his guests.

  • 13th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Big rooms, clean kitchen and close to the city center!


69%

We never saw the owner, everything was treated by its cousins, and it clearly wasn't their job, so we felt quite uneasy. Some stuffs of daily life were missing, like a trash can, big towels, items for cooking... But globaly, it was ok, and we had a beautiful terrace with a really nice view of Split, and everything was really clean.


89%

Our room was very clean and comfortable, hostel owner was very friendly and helpful! Hostel is about a 5min walk down to the Split port


91%

A great apartment with a very helpful owner! Not a hostel though, so don't be expecting the social vibe. Kitchen and bathroom were of a good standard, as was the room itself. It had a fan and a wee balcony so plenty of air flow. Only thing is the '300m' up the hill to get there is actually well over 1km... so just be prepared for a hike with packs on!


97%

Peter made our stay even better. Great hospitality and friendliness. Walk was quite tough initially (with heavy bags) but only 8 minutes or so from central square after that. Beautifully quiet hostel with lovt views over Split. Would 100% recommend!


80%

Peter was a great host, he very kindly waited up for us despite the fact we arrived very late. Good location about 5-10 mins walk from main town and port. Would happily stay there again.

  • 24th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Peter is wonderful, we stayed there initially one night then went to Plitvice for a night (he let us leave our big bag at the hostel which was extremely helpful) we then decided to go back to split and stay an additional two nights, despite having no available rooms in the actual hostel he found us a room just as close to the centre and drove us there even carrying our bag for us. Went above and beyond to ensure our stay was as comfortable as possible, lovely room, great facilities 100%

  • 22nd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Short walk from city centre and to a park with other beaches, very friendly and accommodating staff who are willing to help with anything. Room had a nice balcony with sofa on it which is good for relaxing in the evening. Had a good kitchen area with hobs and oven and plenty of kitchenware. Would highly recommend and gladly stay again.

  • 21st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Nice hostel with a very friendly owner. The location is very good. I just think there should be some more facilities. We had to share one bathroom (= 1 sink, 1 shower, 1 toilet) with 2 or 3 other rooms. Otherwise really good hostel.


100%

This was the nicest hostel I stayed in while traveling through Europe - it felt like a hotel, but much less expensive! Located in a perfect location, on top of a hill with a beautiful view of the entire city. Very close proximity to the beach and the main square. Staff is very friendly! Everything is clean and very new. I highly recommend this place!


83%

A bit of a way out from the centre by foot with luggage but easy to get a taxi. Really nice little place, clean with a cute balcony and Peter was really nice. We were just there one night but enjoyed it.


100%

Peter, the owner was so nice!! Made us feel very welcomed and when we left our charger he tracked us down on his scooter to return it! Great location and the beds were very comfy

  • 4th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(28 results)


View all Split Bed and Breakfasts

Please give us your feedback