X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hillview Budget Rooms Reviews

Shore road, Broadford, Isle of Skye, Scotland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
118 Total Reviews
  • 90%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 94%Cleanliness
  • 86%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

Not too impressed by the breakfast in a bag. We enjoyed being the only guest in the hotel.

  • 11th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
thanks for your feedback, we do understand that breakfast bags may not be to every ones taste, please bear in mind that we are an ACCOMMODATION ONLY provider, and so our complimentary breakfast bags are completely OPTIONAL AND FREE.

97%

Brilliant stay! The owner is so friendly & accommodating, the rooms & bathrooms are beautiful- better than most b&b's and without the expense! Would be great if we could have had our own kitchen to cook in but because it was more like a b&b even though it's classed as a hostel I can understand. Great value for money- would stay again.

  • 31st Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Would happily stay here again :)


100%

Everything perfect!! Nice place.

  • 28th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Lithuania
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

It was not made obvious to us that cash only was the required payment method.

  • 28th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your feedback, I am puzzled as to why it was not obvious about cash payment, as our booking page clearly states in the policies section that "credit cards are not accepted," and your booking confirmation under property conditions states "Only Cash payment method accepted on arrival." we also have 2 cash machines within 5 mins walking distance of the house so cash payments should not be an issue.

100%

We had a great time staying in this hostel on the Isle of Skye. The owner Rosalind is very friendly and helpful. We would definately stay here again.

  • 22nd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

Good location on the Isle of Skye. Nicely furnished rooms. Big bathrooms. Continental breakfast bag (crossaint, muffin, yoghurt/porridge, orange juice, fruit, cereal bar) every morning. WiFi. TV. Very good value for the money.


80%

a comfortable and romantic. very very delicious

  • 8th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

The breakfast bag really is a nice thing ! The staff and place are so lovely ! We loved it !


100%

This truly is an exelent place to stay. The attention to detail within the rooms and amenities is outstanding. I could fault nothing. Great location on the way to Skye easy days drive to see the whole island. Surrounded by restaurants, the co op and even a laundromat. Packed breaky serves as morning tea to take with you as well.

  • 6th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

Did not look like much from the outside but absolutely lovely from the inside. Very nice rooms. Lovely breakfast provided. Excellent value for money.


94%

Enjoyed stay, shared bathrooms not a problem, good facilities. Hotel across the road for evening meals.

  • 13th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Great bed and breakfast! Nice bagged breakfast in the am, great location of the place, everything was fantastic. Only comment would be for them to change the parental controls on the wifi! Not being able to use skype or gmail chat is crazy!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for you fantastic comments and feedback, it may seem crazy to have restricted service but its due to bandwith. it makes the difference between being able to offer a FREE wifi service to guests or having to upgrading to a commercial and having guests pay per hour, we have up to 25 devices connecting at anyone time and want everyone to enjoy FREE connection at a reasonable speed, when no restrictions are applied connection is slow or unavailable to some guests.

86%

Good value for money, has 2 bathrooms for 4 rooms which is ok. Good location, main street is in front of the house but it gets quiet at night, so problem at all for us.


80%

Great value for money. A good choice if you're looking for a clean private room on Skye without spending a lot and don't really care about ambiance or extras. We found it inconvenient that there is only hot water for showering during certain times of day in one of the shared bathrooms. Location was good for Broadford and free parking available.

  • 23rd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
thanks for your comments, but both of our showers have ample hot water from 6am to 1am, which is more than convenient for the majority of our guests. as for ambience and extras, we provide more than other local 3 star establishments at half the cost.



View all Isle of Skye Bed and Breakfasts

Please give us your feedback