Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hilo Bay Hostel

  • 101 Waianuenue Avenue, Hilo Hawaii, Hilo, USA

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 297 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 297 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.7
Hilo Bay Hostel Located at 101 Waianuenue Avenue, Hilo Hawaii, Hilo.
Hilo Bay Hostel
USA
Hilo Hawaii 96720 101 Waianuenue Avenue, Hilo Hawaii
81% 297
19.7258888 -155.0879702
Hilo Bay Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
24th Aug 2016
9.4

Hey! We from Australia had an awesome time at the hostel and the staff are absolutely lovely. In fact, we extended our stay another two nights and are still here. Yippee

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
10th Aug 2016
9.7

Perfect hostel - great location, good price, staff are incredibly friendly and helpful, snorkelling gear available for free along with recommendations on best places to snorkel, free coffee available day long, comfy beds and good wifi. All you can ask for in a hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
8th Aug 2016
9.1

This hostel is super cool. I met a lot of great people to hang out with. It is located right in downtown Hilo, in the center of all of the action. The bottom bunks in the dorms are full-sized beds. Staff is friendly and helpful. However, they should allow alcohol in the lobby past 10:00pm and not make us go elsewhere. I would definitely stay here again

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
14th Jul 2016
9.4

very friendly and helpful staff

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • China, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
6th Jun 2016
9.7

Had a good experience there , made new friends ! Everyone there is nice

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th May 2016
8.9

Good clean hostel in downtown Hilo. Stayed in the double room, plenty of space for two. High ceilings, old Hawaii style- great place! Highly recommend for anyone spending a night in Hilo.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Apr 2016
7.4

Perfectly nice hostel. Lots of temporary to permanent tenants stay there as well. Downtown location is extremely convenient.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Apr 2016
2.0

It sucked for a variety of reasons: It goes w/o saying that one gets a lot of undesirable trash staying at these low-brow places, but this one was particularly disturbing! The facts show that the owner is a fag & greedy pig, but also- quite weird....! Stay there for a night & half a day, and surely: You Will SEE!!!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
24th Mar 2016
6.6

Our Window from the bedroom to the common room had no glass - so no privacy. Also bottom sheet was just a plain sheet, with no elastic, so constantly having to re-make the bed. Showers could use some mold control. However the staff were very nice and the location was great.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
13th Mar 2016
10.0

Awesome place and very helpful staff. Clean and comfortable!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.