Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hilo Bay Hostel

  • 101 Waianuenue Avenue, Hilo Hawaii, Hilo, USA

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 369 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 369 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 7.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th May 2017
8.9

We really enjoyed the nice atmosphere, due to the big common room in the middle of the hostel!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th May 2017
9.4

The location was convenient for me especially since there was a parking lot across the street... having a car on the big island is essential. The staff was really helpful!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
29th Apr 2017
9.7

This place was great!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th Mar 2017
9.1

I did a sidetrip from Oahu and it was an amazing experience. The vibe in the hostel is awesome. So many different guests and they're all kind and adventures. Everything is clean and relaxed. The staff is the best, they're taking such good care for you even if you forgot to bring a sweater and plan to go up the volcano in the night. It's the third hostel I stayed in so far and the best of them! I highly recommend it and I would stay there anytime again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • nickholloway
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
27th Feb 2017
7.4

Secure hostel in the heart of Hilo. Staff were so friendly and helpful. Bathrooms are not very private and are quite run down and there were a lot of people there when we were staying. Common area is decent, but Wifi does not work in the bedroom which is a bit annoying.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
14th Feb 2017
2.0

Kicked out on the street the moment you check-out at 11am. Doesn't matter if you have a later flight. According to the front desk guy (~35 years old, buzzcut, sourpuss attitude), they will not store your luggage and you must immediately vacate the premises. You can not sit in the lobby. You must get entirely off the property. I've never come across such an inhospitable policy. A very poor way to end an otherwise nice stay. Hopefully this review will inspire a change of policy.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
31st Jan 2017
8.6

Helpful and friendly staff! Nice kitchen facility, coin operated laundry onsite, wi-fi, communal area and close to plenty of shops and restaurants.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
31st Jan 2017
9.4

Very friendly and helpful staff and great location.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
28th Jan 2017
8.6

A lot more of an older vibe at this hostel - also a quite hostel as it's not in the busy tourist part of the Big Island.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • siomareli3339864
  • New Zealand, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
17th Jan 2017
8.0

Convenient location, very clean, good kitchen but can be very noisy as on a main intersection. Security generally good, free lockers and free coffee in the morning. No real atmosphere and just one long table in the main lounge to eat at and socialise. Close to several cafés, reasonable restaurants and Hilo Tavern with pool tables and nightly music. Hilo does have a few hidden spots like a chocolate shop, bakery, some good Mexican places and Thai. Farmer's Market is the best in all the islands.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.