Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hilo Bay Hostel

  • 101 Waianuenue Avenue, Hilo Hawaii, Hilo, USA

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 326 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.6
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 326 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.6
Hilo Bay Hostel Located at 101 Waianuenue Avenue, Hilo Hawaii, Hilo.
Hilo Bay Hostel
USA
Hilo Hawaii 96720 101 Waianuenue Avenue, Hilo Hawaii
81% 326
19.7258888 -155.0879702
Hilo Bay Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
4th Dec 2016
9.1

Fantastic! Would highly recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Nov 2016
8.6

On two occasions on my recent trip to Hawaii the Hilo Bay Hostel was my home away from home. I made a lot of (temporary -Hostels are like living in a bus station) friends and saw some great scenery. Best wishes to all; hopefully I will return soon. John

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Nov 2016
5.4

A nice old/historical type hostel with good location in Hilo. The facilities are a bit too old and not very well kept. The cleanliness was not great, for example, I got some linen that was just too old and stained and had to request some different ones that still had some stains.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
7th Nov 2016
9.1

Located in downtown Hilo. Very close to the airport. You can walk, but its best to rent a car. The hostel is nice and safe. Quiet time is pretty serious, so it's great for sleeping. Lockers are a bit small, but sufficient. Ample outlets to charge phone overnight.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
27th Sep 2016
9.7

Great hostel in old hotel in heart of downtown Hilo.Easy walk to restaurants, shops, and markets. Staff was very friendly and kept facility clean.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
15th Sep 2016
8.3

Not many choices in hilo but my stay was comfortable enough.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
15th Sep 2016
6.9

Only stayed here one night, and it was ok but I wouldn't have wanted stay longer. Over all cleanliness could be better. They only have one toilet for the girls... Staff was really friendly and helpful though!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
7th Sep 2016
10.0

Scott and his staff are friendly and helpful. I felt very comfortable & enjoyed meeting fellow travelers from all parts of the world.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
7th Sep 2016
6.6

The hostel its old ( like most everything in hilo) The beds are not very confortable

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
5th Sep 2016
9.7

Good location if you're looking at visiting the volcano national park and lava flow. Downtown feels a bit less touristy than kona which was nice. The Hilo tavern around the corner from the hostel has good food and had a good atmosphere for open mic on Monday night. The hostel has a decent kitchen, beds are comfy. The common room has a big single table which allows for meeting new people

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.