Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hilo Bay Hostel

  • 101 Waianuenue Avenue, Hilo Hawaii, Hilo, USA

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 311 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.6
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 311 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.6
Hilo Bay Hostel Located at 101 Waianuenue Avenue, Hilo Hawaii, Hilo.
Hilo Bay Hostel
USA
Hilo Hawaii 96720 101 Waianuenue Avenue, Hilo Hawaii
82% 311
19.7258888 -155.0879702
Hilo Bay Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
15th Sep 2016
8.3

Not many choices in hilo but my stay was comfortable enough.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
15th Sep 2016
6.9

Only stayed here one night, and it was ok but I wouldn't have wanted stay longer. Over all cleanliness could be better. They only have one toilet for the girls... Staff was really friendly and helpful though!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
7th Sep 2016
10.0

Scott and his staff are friendly and helpful. I felt very comfortable & enjoyed meeting fellow travelers from all parts of the world.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
7th Sep 2016
6.6

The hostel its old ( like most everything in hilo) The beds are not very confortable

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
5th Sep 2016
9.7

Good location if you're looking at visiting the volcano national park and lava flow. Downtown feels a bit less touristy than kona which was nice. The Hilo tavern around the corner from the hostel has good food and had a good atmosphere for open mic on Monday night. The hostel has a decent kitchen, beds are comfy. The common room has a big single table which allows for meeting new people

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
2nd Sep 2016
10.0

Terry is a great host. He guided me for my travel in big island and gave great insider trips. He gave me free towels and bandages and make sure my stay was great. Totally recommended.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
2nd Sep 2016
7.4

This hostel is fine and definitely the best you'll find in Hilo (which is not a very interesting town). The vibe was a bit odd because there were a lot of guests who were sort of living there for months and lots of older people doing that too. The kitchen and communal areas close at 10-ish then there's no vibe at all. The rooms are nice and there are lockers and staff were very helpful and friendly. It's fine but don't bother staying in Hilo very long.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Sep 2016
8.9

The staff was friendly and helpful. The location is easy to locate and is a great value for my money.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Aug 2016
8.9

Its little odd that there are two female showers but only one door. So usually only one person can shower at a time

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
27th Aug 2016
7.1

A good location for a hostel in Hilo with good facilities and quite clean. The rooms are spacious and lockers are available. Around the hostel are many options to eat with a supermarket down the road. There is plenty of parking around the street - ignore the 2 hour time limit as no one really checks. However, there really isn't much socialising so the atmosphere is a bit dull. Also, the kitchen closes at 9:30pm so if you are returning from a long day, be prepared! Overall, a good stay.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.