Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hilo Bay Hostel

  • 101 Waianuenue Avenue, Hilo Hawaii, Hilo, USA

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 391 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 391 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
2nd Aug 2017
9.1

This place was good but it needs lockers in the room and air conditioning. It was also painful trying to sleep at night with all the traffic noise. But the staff is good, location is good, and I met several cool people. If you need a place in Hilo this is a good one. Otherwise just stay at My Hawaii Hostel over in Kona. It's the best one you'll find on the island.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
25th Jul 2017
10.0

I loved this place. The staff, location, facilities. It's everything you need. You can walk to great restaurants, farmers market, bus station etc. The owners were so pleasant, friendly, informative and extremely helpful. I ended up extending my stay twice! It makes a difference when you stay at a hostel where the hosts actually care!! When I come back to this island, I will for sure be at Hilo Bay Hostel again!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
15th Jul 2017
4.9

Due to unforeseen circumstances I had to alter my booking here before I arrived. I called them directly and they didn't answer. I called back the next day, and the receptionist told me I must be lying because she always has a phone on her. She then told me I would be charged for two days because I gave them late notice (when I had called earlier) and seemed to think she was doing me a favor. Stay at My Hawaii Hostel on the other side of the island, location not worth dealing with rude staff.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jul 2017
10.0

Perfect little gem hidden in the central hilo area. Close to the airport, good clean facilities and super friendly staff. Would definitely recommend

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Jun 2017
9.7

Loved it. Scott is a true gentleman. Thanks. I'll be back.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Jun 2017
7.7

I'm new to the hostel world, but I'm guessing this might be pretty standard. Pay to rent a shower towel. Showers were not very clean plus missing shower heads and one shower ran cold. Kitchen closes overnight so no access to my food (had to leave behind when checked out early). Make your own bed. Very laid back atmosphere but kinda felt like just anyone could walk in off the streets. Good location for Hilo. 'Free parking' aka max 2-hour lot across the street during week.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th May 2017
8.9

We really enjoyed the nice atmosphere, due to the big common room in the middle of the hostel!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th May 2017
9.4

The location was convenient for me especially since there was a parking lot across the street... having a car on the big island is essential. The staff was really helpful!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
29th Apr 2017
9.7

This place was great!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×