Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hilo Bay Hostel

  • 101 Waianuenue Avenue, Hilo Hawaii, Hilo, USA

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.0
Fabulous 335 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.5
BOOK NOW
8.0
Fabulous 335 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.5
Hilo Bay Hostel Located at 101 Waianuenue Avenue, Hilo Hawaii, Hilo.
Hilo Bay Hostel
USA
Hilo Hawaii 96720 101 Waianuenue Avenue, Hilo Hawaii
80% 335
19.7258888 -155.0879702
Hilo Bay Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
17th Jan 2017
8.9

Great hostel in the middle of Hilo. Comfortable beds and a nice common area...could use more showers and bathrooms but otherwise a great experience

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
28th Dec 2016
9.1

Nice staff, location in downtown Hilo so a bit far away from a lot of sights. Great for walking around though

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th Dec 2016
9.1

Fantastic! Would highly recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Nov 2016
8.6

On two occasions on my recent trip to Hawaii the Hilo Bay Hostel was my home away from home. I made a lot of (temporary -Hostels are like living in a bus station) friends and saw some great scenery. Best wishes to all; hopefully I will return soon. John

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Nov 2016
5.4

A nice old/historical type hostel with good location in Hilo. The facilities are a bit too old and not very well kept. The cleanliness was not great, for example, I got some linen that was just too old and stained and had to request some different ones that still had some stains.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
7th Nov 2016
9.1

Located in downtown Hilo. Very close to the airport. You can walk, but its best to rent a car. The hostel is nice and safe. Quiet time is pretty serious, so it's great for sleeping. Lockers are a bit small, but sufficient. Ample outlets to charge phone overnight.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
27th Sep 2016
9.7

Great hostel in old hotel in heart of downtown Hilo.Easy walk to restaurants, shops, and markets. Staff was very friendly and kept facility clean.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
15th Sep 2016
8.3

Not many choices in hilo but my stay was comfortable enough.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
15th Sep 2016
6.9

Only stayed here one night, and it was ok but I wouldn't have wanted stay longer. Over all cleanliness could be better. They only have one toilet for the girls... Staff was really friendly and helpful though!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
12th Sep 2016
6.0

The facilities are very run down. The atmosphere is very sad but then again Hilo is probably not the best city in the island to stay; its old and there is nothing really there. The other side of the island must be better. No lockers, the place was barely clean. The staff was friendly and it was cheap but I wouldn't go back.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.