Hostelworld.com

Hilo Bay Hostel

  • 101 Waianuenue Avenue, Hilo Hawaii, Hilo, USA
Prices
map
reviews
7.8
Very Good 280 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 7.2
BOOK NOW
7.8
Very Good 280 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 7.2
Hilo Bay Hostel Located at 101 Waianuenue Avenue, Hilo Hawaii, Hilo.
Hilo Bay Hostel
USA
Hilo Hawaii 96720 101 Waianuenue Avenue, Hilo Hawaii
78% 280
19.7258888 -155.0879702
Hilo Bay Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th May 2016
8.9

Good clean hostel in downtown Hilo. Stayed in the double room, plenty of space for two. High ceilings, old Hawaii style- great place! Highly recommend for anyone spending a night in Hilo.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Apr 2016
7.4

Perfectly nice hostel. Lots of temporary to permanent tenants stay there as well. Downtown location is extremely convenient.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Apr 2016
2.0

It sucked for a variety of reasons: It goes w/o saying that one gets a lot of undesirable trash staying at these low-brow places, but this one was particularly disturbing! The facts show that the owner is a fag & greedy pig, but also- quite weird....! Stay there for a night & half a day, and surely: You Will SEE!!!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
24th Mar 2016
6.6

Our Window from the bedroom to the common room had no glass - so no privacy. Also bottom sheet was just a plain sheet, with no elastic, so constantly having to re-make the bed. Showers could use some mold control. However the staff were very nice and the location was great.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
13th Mar 2016
10.0

Awesome place and very helpful staff. Clean and comfortable!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
11th Mar 2016
9.7

Good atmoshere with all the rooms around one large communal area in an interesting old building. Bed was comfy. Kitchen was well equipped. 2 showers for all the girls to share was tricky... But overall a great hostel

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Mar 2016
2.9

The owner should hire new staff and pay them legally instead of hiring the tennants and paying with free rent. This place reminds me of a nursing/retirement/assisted living home. It's not a good deal for the money I would recommend the city park on the opposite side of the block ( behind hostel). If you feel not safe there I recommend reeds bay hotel. The staff is amazingly helpful and for the price of two people at the hostel you can get a huge room with 2/large beds and a kithenette on water

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
22nd Feb 2016
8.0

Good hostel, but need some improvements in the shower mostly, beds are comfy and kitchen is good, but they should've been more neat in this area.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Feb 2016
9.1

we definitely enjoyed the stay there, everyone was very friendly

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
19th Feb 2016
9.7

This place is pretty much everything a hostel should be about. Terry was such a good host. I had a bad experience at the kona pineapple hostel and he was the exact opposite. He was relaxed, polite, thoughtful...and you could just feel that he cared. He even offered to have coffee with me in the morning to give me tips on things to do. My only qualm with the place was that it was a bit of an older crowd in the midst of extended stays, but everyone was cool. Location was great. Good vibes. Mahalo!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.