X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hilo Bay Hostel Reviews

101 Waianuenue Avenue, Hilo Hawaii, Hilo, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
175 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 77%Security
  • 84%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 79%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

The manager was very welcoming, really going far beyond duty to make us feel at home. The other guest were a mixed type of young and not-so-young, with various interests, we got along together well. The building is a historical one, with many artifacts, nice and providing a unique atmosphere. I would definitely go back to this place if I'm again in town.

  • 14th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

two thumbs up

  • 12th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

The floors were never cleaned and it wasn't uncommon to see cockroaches around. They provided nothing in the kitchen by way of paper towels, oil or anything that is impractical for one person to purchase. Plus they closed the kitchen at 9:45 which is just too early sometimes. But the location and staff were great, quiet hours were respected.


60%

The staff were great. I stayed in the men's dorm. A couple of drawbacks were 1: No freezer, and the one fridge was way too full, 2: Noise from the street below was loud, especially with the trash trucks each the morning, and worst of all, do NOT get an upper bunk. They are much smaller than the lower bunks, and climbing down from them at night, in the dark, if you need use the bathroom is scary, as they only have the small diameter, built-in pipe ladder.

  • 9th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


77%

Generally the hostel was clean and inviting. There was blood on the shower curtain, and some dodgy looking stains on my bed sheets, which was why I put down cleanliness as average. The kitchen was kept very clean, as well as the dishes. I wasn't shown around the premises on arrival so I had to kind of work out the layout of the place. It was central to Hilo so nothing was too far away.

  • 5th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

I stayed at this hostel twice. The staff were knowledgeable about the local area and very helpful. Thanks!


94%

Home feeling, great people

  • 4th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

It's one if the most cleanest hostels I've ever been to! Not really a party hostel (cause there are many older people), but really nice.


94%

take your self back in time to the large one bldg open unit, shared kit i like the showers and bath area clean,more air movement would be good in afternoon to keep from to warm..nice people to me .lots of visitors from around the globe.internet is good.theres antiques,with the old world feel.down town is out side and all needs are close by.freedom is nice come and go able to lock room and with lockers to lock up computers and valuebles.parking is no problem 4pm to 8am its free on street.

  • 21st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


20%

Never went, we had a hurricane for the dates I was to be in Hilo.

  • 8th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


49%

The hostel was good in a nice location, however Larry one of staff was. So rude to myself and other guest that would not recommend anyone staying there.

  • 19th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
This individual and others in their party were being loud during quiet hours and had to be reminded of this several times. They had no respect for other guests staying in the hostel and where smart mouthed in response when reminded of the rules of the hostel that they were informed of upon their arrival but quickly forgot. I myself being the night security and the staff hard to make all our guest's stay here at Hilo Bay Hostel an enjoyable experience. Our reviews clearly show our dedication. ;-)

97%

The staff was extremely friendly. The hostel has a mellow and cool vibe to it. The kitchen and other facilities are well maintained. Overall a pleasant experience. Make sure to bring $10 for a key deposit!




View all Hilo Hostels

Please give us your feedback