Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hlemmur Square

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 1968 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 1968 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 8.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
25th Jun 2017
7.1

If staying here bring a padlock or be prepared to buy one as drawers for your valuables can only be locked with one and they're not provided by the hostel. Otherwise, good hostel in a great location, with spacious rooms, friendly staff & a good atmosphere. Showers leave a lot to be desired however.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Jun 2017
8.0

No steam room, but overall a good hostel!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jun 2017
9.1

My favorite part--the staff is fantastic. Ready to help you on your adventure. Loved it.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Jun 2017
9.7

This was my first stay in a hostel and after hearing horror stories in some countries, I was very happy with Hlemmur Square. The bar was a good time in the evening and the barkeeps were quite friendly. Cleanliness was a big deal for me and I was not disappointed. The staff cleans the facilities everyday, and switch the bedding out when a new person comes to stay. The value was amazing, as i spent about $100 for two nights. Definitely would recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
16th Jun 2017
7.1

Good location to downtown Reykjavik. Clean showers and bathrooms. Not much of an atmosphere, though you probably aren't traveling to Iceland for the party scene.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th Jun 2017
10.0

Best hostel you can think of. Good for Iceland prices. Front desk was very helpful. Kept forgetting things in my room after checkout but they were friendly enough to help to problem. Guy with the beard at front desk even googled information for me to answer my questions.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Jun 2017
9.4

Right in the middle of main tourist spot in Reykjavik. Had great accommodations! Clean beds, showers, kitchen, etc. Nice big drawers for luggage. If your flight arrives early in the morning you will have to wait around to get to your dorm. They have a few couches spread around you can take a nap on till check in time. Will miss it!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
8th Jun 2017
8.0

In principle it's a good hostel. Locker boxes are good. Principle stuff like a notice board on the ground floor would be very helpful. The stuff could be more friendly (if you ask for tours or stuff to do, they just send you to the brochure shelf).

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Jun 2017
10.0

Had a great stay at Hlemmer! Room had everything I needed, large under bed lockers, blackout curtains. Great location and the required all night reception! It was a great place to stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Jun 2017
9.7

I had a wonderful stay! The beds were the best I've stayed at during my 10 day ireland/Iceland trip. The staff was super helpful, I emailed them prior asking the best way to get to and from the airport and I got timeliness responses and they booked both transfers for me and added it to what I owed. My only gripe was the kitchen. There was barely enough utinsuls, plates/bowls, cups for everyone that was using them. Not sure if people were coming from other floors to grab things or not.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.