Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hlemmur Square

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 2049 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 2049 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Aug 2017
8.9

I had a great stay here. Clean, spacious rooms and comfortable beds.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Aug 2017
10.0

Great place! I did have a little hiccup where the female dorm was somehow overbooked but then they found a private room for me and my friend. It worked out in the end but was quite stressful when it happened!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • lobouchard2258
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
11th Aug 2017
9.7

Excellent staff and service! We arrived early, before the check in, and were able to drop our luggage in the storage and our food in the kitchen. We were also told we could hang out in the comfy lobby area and have free coffee. Our night in the 14 beds dorm was pretty quiet for so many people, since I had a bed in the far away corner and everyone gets just enough space to move without disturbing those sleeping. Made our last day and night in Iceland easy and pleasant!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Aug 2017
5.4

They did not update their system to show that we had cancelled a night and subsequently charged us for that night. If we hadn't checked the booking we would have lost out on a considerable amount of money. The room we stayed in was a bit dingy and the bathrooms were wet and overall it looked like the bathrooms had not been cleaned during our stay. The staff were not good at welcoming us to the city.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Aug 2017
10.0

I love this hostel! The staff are so nice and helpful. They let me store my bag there for free while I travelled around different places. It's a short walk from downtown! The only negative remark I have is that they didn't have an oven, so I had to heat up my pizza in the microwave, but all in all I had a wonderful stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th Aug 2017
8.6

The best thing about Hlemmur square is its location. The bus stop for airport transfers and tour pick ups is literally right outside the lobby door. There were a lot of people in our room but the atmosphere was respectful and over all, not nearly as loud as I thought over a dozen people would be. It's expensive but considering that it's Iceland, the price is not unreasonable for the services provided.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Aug 2017
10.0

The restrooms and bathrooms were clean and the sleeping quarters provided enough space to store my things. There are curtains in the room so you don't have to worry about the long summer sunlight shining in through the window while you try to sleep. The staff were friendly and answered any question I had. It is right across the street from a convenience store so it was easy and quick to grab a little something to eat. Up the street is downtown Reykjavik where you find all the neat little shops.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Aug 2017
8.3

Awesome hostal ! Please clean the toilettes more often😀😀

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
2nd Aug 2017
9.7

Hlemmur Square is my favorite hostel ever. I love the layout, the beds are super comfortable, and the people are friendly and helpful. It's also in one of the most recognizable, easy to access locations in Reykjavik.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
2nd Aug 2017
8.6

would stay again 😊

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.