X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hlemmur Square Reviews

Laugavegur 105, Reykjavik, Iceland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
1051 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

With this being my hostel after a few days of camping, I was overjoyed. I would not recommend the 12 person dorm, you deal with too many people on too many different schedules. With that being said, the rooms are large and you don't feel as if you are on top of each other. The showers were clean and had soap in them which is a great touch. The bar has a great happy hour that I can't recommend enough. Also, it is right across from the bus station and the local bus system in Iceland is a dream.


63%

The photos provided do not provide an accurate representation of the dormitory rooms, they are rather run down and doesn't look like a cleaner has touched it for a while, same for the bathrooms. The majority of the under-bed draws could not be locked as they were broke and the WiFi is very poor. 3 bed private was overpriced and lacked the basics: kettle, coffee/free tea, it wasn't a pleasant place to stay. The sofabed was VERY uncomfortable and staff seem uninterested in why we were complaining.


89%

The Wi-Fi connection was fairly weak and nearly impossible to connect to from my 4th floor dorm.

  • 23rd Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

After booking, we received a personal email that led to HS booking a roundtrip shuttle from the airport directly to the Hostel. At arrival, staff were helpful & friendly, especially Edmund & Klaus. They stored our bags in a locked room & for 500kr, rented towels that were replaced for free during our stay. Our spacious12-women room was comfy w/one storage drawer per person. We had top bunks w/little head room, so my friend hit her head once in the middle of the night. Also, live music Thursdays!

  • 19th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


77%

Overall good hostel with a nice feel to it and friendly people. One big problem in the large dorms however: impossible to know which beds are already taken when you arrive! Hostel should provide a system to resolve this, either assigning beds to each guest or giving stickers/markers for guests to place on beds when they choose one.


83%

The bar and restaurant downstairs gave this hostel a cool vibe. Lots of locals of all ages come to the happy hour there. Our room was good - a fourteen bed dorm but not too loud or crowded. The kitchen did not have an oven. The location was a 15 minute walk to the city centre, and right beside a major bus station.


97%

Wonderful place! Staff very helpful and professional. Rooms are clean there is plenty of bathroom and shower facilities. Thanks for the great job and people you are!

  • 16th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

The hostel was good overall considering the good price and convenient location. I stayed in the 12 bed female dorm and it was spacious and clean. However, the female shower room and bathroom didn't seem to have much privacy. The 4th floor had the lounge area, so a lot of people were around and guys sometimes just went into the women's bathroom. The female shower room wasn't locked and each stall was only separated by curtains, so it didn't seem that secure.

  • 16th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Loved my stay. I was in the 12 bed female dorm. Hostel doesn't look exactly like the pictures, it has definitely aged. Also the top bunks were a bit too high trying to get up and down from. But it's clean, everything is within a reasonable walk, and the staff is great. Would stay again.


89%

Everything is good.


89%

This place was amazing! Exceptionally clean, really friendly staff. I loved my stay! Although "but the toilet paper guy is on holiday for a month" isn't the best excuse for having no toilet paper on an entire floor...

  • 12th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

The staff was very helpful in accommodating our short stay & shuttle to the airport!

  • 12th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Great dorms: huge beds, sturdy-no noise bunks with drawers for bags. Great location. The only downside was the 3rd floor kitchen seriously needed a clean and the shower heads weren't connected to the wall which makes it quite difficult to shower with one arm


80%

I arrived very late and front desk was quick and friendly getting me registered and off to bed.staff also arranged bus pickup for next day so I had nothing to worry about but a good nights sleep, which I had. Bunks are very high but comfortable with nice warm duvets. Day staff were great as well. I would definitely recommend staying here.


91%

Very hood hostel in a convenient loation for exploring Reykjavik. The beds were very comfortable, and quiet! Briliant staf that were willing to help with any queries! My only minor complaints are that the kitchen is a litle under equipped in terms of cutlery and cooking pans, and there was no soap in the men's bathroom the whole time I was there... All in all a very good stay!

  • 10th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Complimentry ooffee should be available to all guests at all time. there was no security guard spoted on sight. nor were there instructions as to what to do in case of an emergency during the check. In.

  • 9th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Israel
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Awesome location and great atmosphere. Good happy hour prices and helpful front desk staff High quality beds with individual charging ports and locker drawers. blackout curtains are really handy with that summer iceland sunlight!. Multiple kitchens and plenty of bathrooms/showers. Bathrooms and showers could have been cleaner. Expensive hostel and no free breakfast but that seems standard in Iceland.


100%

Hlemmur Square hostel is perfect for a visit to Reykjavik. It's located at the very top of Laugevegur - the main street in Reykjavik and has an awesome vibe with a happy hour going from 4pm to 8pm! The staff are all very friendly and very eager to help you out and tell you what's on in the city plus they can help plan an EPIC road trip through Iceland. Wifi, showers & cleanliness of the hostel was all excellent. HIGHLY recommend.


100%

Nice atmosphere, good location and very helpful staff. Also a nice place to just hang out with good music, beer and food.


89%

I really enjoyed Hlmmeur Square. The staff was friendly and helped with lots of questions. The facilities were clean. The location was in the heart of central Reykjavik. The free breakfast was nice and wifi was good. I would highly recommend this hostel if you are visiting Iceland.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(171 results)


View all Reykjavik Hostels

Please give us your feedback