Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hlemmur Square

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 1885 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 1885 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 8.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Apr 2017
7.4

I would recommend Hlemmur to anyone looking for a place to stay in Reyjavik.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
21st Apr 2017
5.7

The hostel booked a large group of students, over 30, that dominated use of the bathrooms and kitchen. Fortunately, they were not in our room, but still could be heard running up and down the halls. I had to use the facilities on a different floor. There was not the space to change floors, as they were completely booked. When I found alternate lodging, the front desk would not give me a refund. Though I was technically a couple hours past the refund time--they still had a day to book it.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
16th Apr 2017
9.4

I had a great stay at Hlemmur Square. The room & beds were great- a night light & outlet for personal charging for each bed. The bar downstairs had a dinner special that I took advantage of- great food, and how convenient that a bar/restaurant is right downstairs. It's a bit of a walk to the downtown attractions- but very doable, and there's free street parking close by i you're renting a car. Overall great hostel!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
15th Apr 2017
8.3

Location is perfect but that's just it. Booked 5 days and in the middle of my stay they say I have to move to a different room, for I don't know what reason. Service was just ok.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Apr 2017
9.7

Great location, Great restaurant. Great service. Easy to book stuff. My 12 bunk girl dorm was quite good. I was on a bottom bunk so I didn't experience this issue, however the top bunks have a bulk head and are close to the ceiling so if you sat up in bed quickly at night forgetting you were in a bunk bed, you could bump your head. Also even though the drawers in the bunks are spacious, they are quite loud as you open and close it. The view was facing the mountains. All facilities quite good.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
14th Apr 2017
8.3

Great location - it's right by Hallgrímskirkja and that great vista over Reykjavik/the surrounding bay, while lots of the major day trips and tours pick up from right outside the hostel. The bar had a long happy hour, which is always good in Iceland! Rooms were a bit stark but would still stay there again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
14th Apr 2017
5.1

The hostel was close to the town centre and was the only one in Reykjavik which had a 24hr reception and had linen included for my stay. It was very expensive though and everything was fairly untidy.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
14th Apr 2017
9.7

Great hostel

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Apr 2017
7.7

Overall good, and accommodating of a late arrival and check-in. However, our group of 8 was was given a room with only 7 beds left. The receptionist on duty was very helpful in getting us a new bed in an upgraded room (as there were no more available). But, at 8 in the morning the next day, another guest was given a valid key card for the upgraded room before our group member had even woken up. Clearly there is an issue with bookings and room management that needs to be addressed.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Apr 2017
9.4

Great location, had everything we needed and really great atmosphere. Beds were comfortable.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.