Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hlemmur Square

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 1,536 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 1,536 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.9
Hlemmur Square Located at Laugavegur 105, , Reykjavik.
Hlemmur Square
Iceland
Reykjavik 105 Laugavegur 105
84% 1536
64.1432112 -21.9139051
Hlemmur Square
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
24th Sep 2016
9.4

great location and friendly staff. Rooms were spacious and bathrooms seemed clean. The showers are separated by curtains but the curtains form a full cubicle with separate changing area so no need to worry about privacy. I didn't use the kitchens but they seemed to have all the cooking facilities you would need. The only negative things I can think of was that the top bunks are quite high and the luggage storage under the bunk below was a bit inconvenient.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Sep 2016
8.6

Stayed there for 2 nights and had a pleasant stay, don't really have much to compare to as this was my first stay at a hostel. Everything was nice though, staff was friendly and helpful and the place was nice and clean

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Sep 2016
7.7

Kitchen was poorly stocked. Great location and considering the prices in Iceland it was great value for money.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Sep 2016
9.7

I highly recommend Hlemmur Square. It's located on the near the center, so you can walk wherever you need to go. There's a 24hr grocery store just across the street which is convenient as well.The staff are excellent and the beds very comfortable. There's large lockers under the beds, so you could fit a normal size suitcase in them.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Sep 2016
9.1

Really enjoyed my stay. The staff were really great, Gary and Paolo especially! Its about a 10 min walk from downtown. We walked everywhere. Pretty decent value considering Icelandic prices! Would definitely stay there again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
19th Sep 2016
4.0

Don't be fooled by the nice lobby. Toilets were gross. Kitchen was dirty, no kettle or toaster and about 3 cups. £11 for a continental breakfast cause you cant toast your own toast or make a cup of coffee.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
18th Sep 2016
10.0

Awesome cosy place

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
17th Sep 2016
9.7

This is like a 5 star hostel. Clean, good facilities and every single bed has a plug and a light. Each floor has a kitchen and lobby area. It was a bit pricey but everything in Iceland is expensive

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
14th Sep 2016
8.9

The hostel has a superb location being right across from the bus station and super close to all the city's offerings. The room I had was a little loud due to its proximity to the street, but it's a hostel in a city....that's to be expected. Bathrooms were clean, sink in the room was convenient. My biggest gripe was the kitchen. Both fridges were a little out of control and it could have been a bit cleaner. More cabinet space and a few more bowls would have been nice. Id return, no doubt.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th Sep 2016
8.3

Nice hostel with a good breakfast. Bathrooms were a little gross, but the staff were friendly and helpful.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.