Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hlemmur Square

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 1,738 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 1,738 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.8
Hlemmur Square Located at Laugavegur 105, , Reykjavik.
Hlemmur Square
Iceland
Reykjavik 105 Laugavegur 105
83% 1738
64.1432112 -21.9139051
Hlemmur Square
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jan 2017
8.9

Everything about this hostel was good. It was in the perfect location, the staff were helpful, it was a good place to book activities and excursions, the beds are pretty comfy and the price is great for what you get. We stayed in a 12 person female dorm. There isn't much of a social area or aspect but the bar and restaurant are nice and well priced. There's a working kitchin that was used a lot, the oven doesn't work in the one we used but there's hobs and microwaves etc. Definitely recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
9th Jan 2017
6.9

Great location. Strong wifi. Staff very helpful with everything you need. Bedrooms great but the bathroom and kitchen need a revamp are a bit grotty. But still useable.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Jan 2017
4.9

(I can only speak for the third floor since I never went to the fourth) The kitchen was not very well maintained and I don't want to think about when the fridge was last cleaned. The bathrooms are kind of sketchy and also not the cleanest. The beds are comfortable, but I felt there was less of a social vibe than I would have liked.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
7th Jan 2017
9.1

Please clean the fridge freezer so it closes and get some better pans and utensils for cooking...other than that a great place to stay in iceland

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Jan 2017
8.3

Hlemmur square was great. Wonderful location, great vibe, warm rooms with super well built bunks and very comfy beds. I will stay here again if I return to Iceland. Something has to be mentioned on the cleanness of the place though, because the toilet, showers and kitchen were just in a state. I get that it's a backpackers and it's hard, but it was very off putting to want to cook when half the hobs don't work and there is is oven and it's filthy. More regular cleaning would be nice.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
3rd Jan 2017
9.7

One of the best hostels I have ever been to! The general vibe created by the ammenities is awesome. The restaurant serves very good food amd lovely music is played all day long. I would definitely go back to Hlemmur Square in the future.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
2nd Jan 2017
8.6

Well located in the city center, the bathrooms and showers should be renovated. The kitchen is too small for such a large hostel. Excellent staff,they really make an effort to help the guests. Overall,this place is good value for money and I would stay here again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Jan 2017
8.3

Although we had some issues with our roommates that negatively impacted our stay, I would say overall the hostel was very nice. The staff were super helpful with our issues, which was nice. The bathrooms could have been kept up with better, as there was rarely any toilet paper in the stalls. Beds were nice and comfortable as well.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
1st Jan 2017
8.3

The hostel was very central and convienent - it's right opposite a main bus station and a 24 hour convienent store and a 5 mins walk to a cheap supermarket, restaurants and shops. Easy for tour pick ups. The staff we're very helpful. Definitely recommend.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
31st Dec 2016
8.0

First off the hostel was clean and the location was central. Right next to the Hlemmur Square bus terminal and walking distance to all downtown sites. There were multiple well rated hostels to choose from and we ended up with this one since it was the only one to respond back about transportation options of getting to the hostel. The staff was just ok- not very friendly or helpful. We were disappointed in the lack of lounge areas. It was nice but didn't have that friendly "hostel feel"

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.