Hostelworld.com

Hlemmur Square

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 1,280 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 7.6
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 1,280 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 7.6
Hlemmur Square Located at Laugavegur 105, , Reykjavik.
Hlemmur Square
Iceland
Reykjavik 105 Laugavegur 105
83% 1280
64.1432112 -21.9139051
Hlemmur Square
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Apr 2016
9.7

Great hostel in a great location! I stayed in the 12-bed all-women dorm room, which was clean and fairly spacious. The bunk beds are also customized not to make noise and the top bunks are built so things don't fall through the gaps when you sleep (I've lost many an earplug this way). The staff is friendly, helpful, and knowledegable about the city. The kitchen is adequate and is cleaned regularly by the staff. I was on a budget and didn't get a chance to check out the bar/restaurant though.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Apr 2016
9.1

Had the best time here. Everything was clean, people were lovely and the location is walking distance from everything we wanted to do.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Apr 2016
8.0

Great location, super convenient with the bus station next door and is right in the center of Reykjavik! The whole place could have been a bit cleaner especially the showers and kitchen but otherwise it's the perfect place for the amount you pay!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
19th Apr 2016
9.4

Prettty nice. Not right in downtown, but right at the edge, and it only takes 15 minutes walk to get to downtown proper. The room was nice, and the receptionist I mostly dealt with was an absolute pleasure.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • kirstiesmith
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
19th Apr 2016
6.9

This hostel is great because it's a bit cheaper than the alternatives and really only a 15 minute walk to downtown, and super close to the Sun Voyager (and penus museum, if you're into that - super unique!!). It could have used a better cleaning everyday, but it wasn't terrible. The hostel is also a hotel, and so if you're looking for a great hostel atmosphere, look elsewhere! Kitchen lacks a toaster (!) and I think there was a grand total of 3 spoons. I probably would stay here again, thoug

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Apr 2016
6.6

Great check in. Toilets need cleaning more often, they're fine once just cleaned but rather old so need more attention. The kitchen is rubbish, poorly stocked, small and grubby. The beds are very comfortable.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
17th Apr 2016
6.3

First good things: EXTREMLY nice personal. Specialy "dark", black hair, sofisticated guy. So kind and polite, respect! Kitchen is disaster, with lack of equipment, and terrible hygiene. Maybe thats olso problem of guests, but you need to have someone to take care of that when guests dont. We did not get lock for security. You need to go all the way to the other hall to bathroom.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Apr 2016
8.3

Overall stay was great! The beds were amazing and the atmosphere was very social. A lot of the facilities seemed very new and "hip". The cleanliness could use some work. The kitchen was a mess and the fridge was packed with food. Most of which belonged to people who had probably already checked out. Besides that it was a good experience.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Apr 2016
9.7

Loved this hostel!! Comfortable rooms and very spacious. This was my first solo trip and the staff was so helpful and friendly, and the location was perfect. The restaurant was also excellent!! And the bar was fun. Iceland is one of the most amazing places I've been, with incredibly friendly people and so much to do. I will definitely return and return to Hlemmur Square.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Apr 2016
7.7

Friendly staff, bathrooms got dirty and some had plumbing issues.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.