Hostelworld.com

Hlemmur Square

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 1777 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 1777 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Feb 2017
9.7

The faculty was great! Very kind and hard working, always there when you needed something no matter if you were in a hostel or hotel room.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
10th Feb 2017
9.7

Great hostel! Only thing that bothered me was the shower room. The doors to our rooms are secured, but the women's shower room didn't have any security. Anyone could go in and that was a bit unnerving. Also, wasn't a big fan of the layout of the showers either; it was so dark inside and the only thing separating you from others were these flimsy curtains. Other than that, I really enjoyed my stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Feb 2017
9.1

Hlemmur Square was in the perfect location in relation to walking distance of things to do. The facilities were very clean and the staff was friendly. A nice environment to stay as well as mingle with friends and other travelers. They were very helpful in setting up transportation to and from the airport. Room, communal bathrooms, common areas, and kitchens were all kept clean. Wifi is also free and works very well.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Feb 2017
7.1

The staff wasn't very helpful, make sure when you ask for the airport transfer they make the right phone call. Cause the staff who attend us mixed up and we almost lost the flight. The location was quiet centrical clean, but don't know why people wasn't very friendly at the dormitorys, there were some drunk and mean people during our stay. Don't buy at 1011 (super expensive), better walk 5 minutes to the BONUS supermarket to stock cheap food.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
7th Feb 2017
8.6

Only stayed here for one night. Super great staff, nice atmosphere. The only thing was the shower I had used had barely any water pressure, but other than that, I enjoyed my stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
3rd Feb 2017
9.1

Clean and cozy. I stayed in a dorm next to the kitchen which was really noisy at late night as somebody were having a party. So better avoid that. Enjoyed the Hlemmur dinner which was in reasonable price compared with other restaurants. Remember to bring a padlock for your locker.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
1st Feb 2017
9.7

Staff were VERY lovely and helpful. Lovely comfy dorms, big clean bathrooms. Super expensive but that is Iceland for you. Would definitely stay again

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
29th Jan 2017
8.9

The location was killer - it was a comfortable walking distance to everything in downtown Reykjavik. The atmosphere was also really fun. The bar downstairs was great, and I spent a lot of time hanging out with my friends in the main lobby.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
28th Jan 2017
8.6

I had a really nice stay at Hlemmur Square! The location was perfect for most of the sights in Reykjavik, and it's only a minute away from the seafront. The staff were always helpful and friendly when I needed something, and the food at the bar was 10/10. I'll definitely stay here next time I'm in the city.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
28th Jan 2017
9.1

An incredible well managed hostel right next to Reykjavik city centre. The staff were all very professional and helpful and knew the area well. The rooms were clean and modern with plenty of storage room for each person. My only criticism is the kitchens, in need of more intensive and frequent cleaning by the staff and desperately in need of appliance updates as many were not working well. Other than this everything was perfect.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.