Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hlemmur Square

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 1,477 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 1,477 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.9
Hlemmur Square Located at Laugavegur 105, , Reykjavik.
Hlemmur Square
Iceland
Reykjavik 105 Laugavegur 105
83% 1477
64.1432112 -21.9139051
Hlemmur Square
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • kvetacekjebozi
  • Czech Republic, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Aug 2016
8.6

I absolutely loved the place and I can with no doubt that it was the best hostel I have ever stayed in. It has one of the best prices in Reykjavik City Centre, the staff is super nice and always helping. I met some great people while staying in Hlemmur. I could not recommend this more.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
20th Aug 2016
10.0

10 person rooms are very spacious. Ours had a great view :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Aug 2016
10.0

I thought it was the perfect place! The staff was so helpful for directions and recommendations on where to eat and go out! They were also so friendly just like the other people who where staying there! I would definitely stay again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Aug 2016
8.0

Stayed in this hostel just steps away from the heart of Reykjavik, on the main street, for one night. Pullout drawers below bunkbeds, with the ability to lock them with locks you bring yourself, offered decent security; the bar restaurant was good albeit expensive (though perhaps not more expensive than the rest of this extremely pricey city!); the beds were comfortable enough and clean. The bathrooms left something to be desired, but you get what you pay for, and it does represent good value!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Aug 2016
8.9

pretty chill and sick my dude. Highly recommended, good value for the cost

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th Aug 2016
8.9

Great place, clean & friendly, free luggage storage. some good events happening in the bar, and a decent happy hour price.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
10th Aug 2016
4.6

It was an OK hostel for Iceland. Pros: friendly staff, good food (free first beer), free coffee Cons: very poor security in the rooms, bathrooms were very dirty and quite gross, rooms were poorly lit and also dirty, atmosphere was bad to meet fellow travelers, kitchen was very small and (you guessed it) dirty. I stayed at Oddsson hostel previous to this and it was significantly better in all the categories, plus it was located on the beach! Would easily recommend Oddsson over Hlemmur.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
8th Aug 2016
7.7

It is not the best hostel you will stay but it's pretty clean and in a good place, although the city is pretty small. How assign beds could be improved you have to find one that is free which is not ideal if get there late aT night. The storage doesn't feel very safe and with all the beds you end up being on the way of someone.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Aug 2016
8.9

Dirty and really smelly bathrooms

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Costa Rica, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 20 reviews
4th Aug 2016
8.9

Very good hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.