Hostelworld.com

Hlemmur Square

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 1,326 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 1,326 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.8
Hlemmur Square Located at Laugavegur 105, , Reykjavik.
Hlemmur Square
Iceland
Reykjavik 105 Laugavegur 105
84% 1326
64.1432112 -21.9139051
Hlemmur Square
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
22nd May 2016
9.7

Great facilities, location and staff. Rooms were comfortable and clean. Wifi didn't work very well in the dorm I was in. Would highly recommend!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
22nd May 2016
6.3

Great location. Bathrooms were always disgusting, but I'd heard they were better on other floors. Kitchen was generally disgusting too. Staff were very helpful, I opted to use the toilets in the lobby which made it nicer. Great bar down stairs, good coffee. I would stay again for the location - so close to the main strip and shopping and everything. Apparently the 4th floor has been renovated and is really nice and clean.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd May 2016
10.0

Hlemmur Square was just simply amazing! Everyone was so helpful in making sure j was comfortable got everything I needed. I highly recommend this Hostel and hope to one day stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th May 2016
9.7

Had a great time, would definitely recommend to others!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
20th May 2016
6.6

The kitchen was disgusting, nobody cleaned after themselves. Several people were in there late into the night being loud. The common room on our floor had a random guy sleeping in it all night. The beds were comfortable but the top bunk is very high. Would make things easier if beds were assigned.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
19th May 2016
8.3

Stayed three nights in a 14-bed mixed dorm. Beds were comfy and had lots of headroom. Kitchen facilities were big and fully stocked but the refrigerators smelled horrible. The staff were friendly and helpful as far as travel tips and booking tours/transport etc. A bit of a party hostel I suppose but a great location and a great place to meet other solo travelers from the world over. Would recommend Hlemmur Square to others.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th May 2016
10.0

My traveling companion and I had a great experience here and it very centrally located! The only issue we had was with a night host that seemed to be new and not know very much. He gave us some wrong information and we unfortunately missed a tour we had booked. That being said Andres the manager was EXTREMELY helpful and offered us free drinks for the mistake. We were not at all upset and would definitely return! I suggest a trip to Iceland and using this hostel for a affordable experience.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th May 2016
10.0

The rooms are spacious and clean. We stayed four nights in a dorm (six share). The receptionists were very good about booking activities in Iceland (walking tours and snow mobile tours).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
15th May 2016
7.1

Good location and rooms are clean. The washroom needs to be cleaned up more frequently.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th May 2016
9.1

This hostel is amazing! The staff members are helpful, personable, and friendly. The location is really great and the building as well as the amenities are ultra modern chic. The only downside was that the showers were a bit of a mess and not so clean but that is something that can easily be overlooked.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.