Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hluhluwe Backpackers Reviews

Hluhluwe Kwazulu-Natal, P.O. Box 659, Hluhluwe, South Africa

Reviews & Ratings Explained


17 Total Reviews
  • 47%Value For Money
  • 73%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 80%Staff
  • 60%Atmosphere
  • 53%Cleanliness
  • 53%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:


We loved our stay at Dave and Jennae's place. It's a fantastic backpackers hostel, very close to the Hluhluwe Imfolozi park, where you can enjoy an unforgettable full day game drive with Dave, getting very close to the Big Five. Dave is a caracter, you need to meet him and go to a game drive with him! He is a great guide. The hostel have 6 double rooms, shared bathroom et kitchen, very comfy. The atmosphere is terrific! I truly recommend this place.

  • 14th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


It is very close to the park entrance. Owner was friendly, the room ok and linen good. But kitchen, bathrooms, showers seem to need total revamp. Kitchen facilities in poor condition. Too pricey. Not worth to stay longer

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and to clarify. Bathrooms in fact has recently been repainted so not sure what is meant by complete revamp needed? Apologizes the kettle took long to heat and has been replaced. The rate you paid @ R200 p/p is far lower then anywhere else in our region for a comfortable private double room including all bedding. It appears by your other reviews of backpackers basic budget accommodation is not what you are looking for. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your travel

View all Hluhluwe Hostels

Please give us your feedback