X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hluhluwe Backpackers Reviews

Hluhluwe Kwazulu-Natal, P.O. Box 659, Hluhluwe, South Africa

Reviews & Ratings Explained

65%

Rating
17 Total Reviews
  • 47%Value For Money
  • 73%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 80%Staff
  • 60%Atmosphere
  • 53%Cleanliness
  • 53%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

We loved our stay at Dave and Jennae's place. It's a fantastic backpackers hostel, very close to the Hluhluwe Imfolozi park, where you can enjoy an unforgettable full day game drive with Dave, getting very close to the Big Five. Dave is a caracter, you need to meet him and go to a game drive with him! He is a great guide. The hostel have 6 double rooms, shared bathroom et kitchen, very comfy. The atmosphere is terrific! I truly recommend this place.

  • 14th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

It is very close to the park entrance. Owner was friendly, the room ok and linen good. But kitchen, bathrooms, showers seem to need total revamp. Kitchen facilities in poor condition. Too pricey. Not worth to stay longer

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and to clarify. Bathrooms in fact has recently been repainted so not sure what is meant by complete revamp needed? Apologizes the kettle took long to heat and has been replaced. The rate you paid @ R200 p/p is far lower then anywhere else in our region for a comfortable private double room including all bedding. It appears by your other reviews of backpackers basic budget accommodation is not what you are looking for. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your travel

The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
37%

They didn't know that we are coming even though we had booked it here with hostel world. They were unfriendly and wanted 180R instead of 120R like it was confirmed. There is no real shower and only dirty pots to cook. Last time I was there there were no lights and no electricity to cook. To be serious it is stupid to go there. Only good thing is that it is really close to the park entrance.

  • 10th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
A) We apologise for any inconvenience caused by the mix up.B) We have two showers in the main house and a bathroom block outside with 4 showers. Your comment` there is no real shower` is therefore completely untruthful. Our kitchen is kept spotlessly clean and we ask all travelers to be considerate of others as it is shared.d) As an backpacker you must surely know about `loadshredding` (powercuts) which is out of our control, is countrywide therefore we have gas stoves for guests convenience.

74%

Very nice hostel and very close to the park. Clean and i enjoeyd to stay here! Bit of back top the roots feeling!! recommended


89%

a nice place to stay if you're going to the park. there are no other htings to see or do close to the hostel. Dave made us dinner and went with us to a rugby-game. we didn't see much of the room due to an overbooking problem with hostelwworld but we got the house (read floor) of dave to sleep on


69%

On our way to Hluhluwe we were informed by friends staying at the same establishment we were not booked in. I phoned Dave, and he told me they were full and Hostel World had NOT informed him we were coming. I told him I had a booking reference and confirmation and he said he was sorry. I was then put in a caravan. Dave is lucky he has friendly, competent staff that made us feel welcome!

  • 30th Apr 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Mixed Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

This was the start of our holiday and made the whole trip worth while!!! very freindly staff who where very very helpfull! would definately go back just for this place


93%

It seems the owner had lost track of our booking, so we got there without any room available. He finally found us some space in a nice caravan.


67%

The manager didn't have our reservations and we payed more than the price indicated on the mail. On 2 days, the first day, we didn't have water and the second day we didn't have electricity.




View all Hluhluwe Hostels

Please give us your feedback