X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hluhluwe Backpackers Reviews

Hluhluwe Kwazulu-Natal, P.O. Box 659, Hluhluwe, South Africa

Reviews & Ratings Explained

77%

Rating
19 Total Reviews
  • 67%Value For Money
  • 73%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 80%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 73%Cleanliness
  • 73%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

We had a super time. The owner Dave was really friendly and made us feel very comfortable. The People who worked there were friendly and Helpfull. They made us real South African dinner both nighrs.

  • 25th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


63%

very close to park entrance, but compared with other backpackers expensive and not so nice. we were the only guests, thus there was really no athmosphere and the whole place seemed a bit strange/run down. the owner was not there and the present staff (cleaning lady?) could not give us any information

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and to clarify some points. We are in fact the cheapest in our region of Hluhluwe for a comfortable private room with a double bed, fan, wide windows and bedside lamp. Are you perhaps confusing/comparing our double room rates to dorm rates at other venues? Please do your research carefully. No atmosphere? We are not a party venue. Our place was created with an african, rustic, home away from home feel specifically for our many valued visitors who get up early to explore Hluhluwe Game Reserve close by. We have recently irenovated/expanded the lounge/games room area with new corner lounge suite/fun pillows therefore your statement re run down does not make sense. The cleaning lady you refer to is in fact Nelly and we are surprised to read that she could not give any information since she has been with us many years and is always appreciated by our many visitors. I am sure you will understand that the owner cannot be there 24 hours a day. It does sound as that you prefer a more city feel type of hostel with lots of entertainment and that the nature/bush thing is not for you? We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels. Hluhluwe Backpacker Team.

91%

We loved our stay at Dave and Jennae's place. It's a fantastic backpackers hostel, very close to the Hluhluwe Imfolozi park, where you can enjoy an unforgettable full day game drive with Dave, getting very close to the Big Five. Dave is a caracter, you need to meet him and go to a game drive with him! He is a great guide. The hostel have 6 double rooms, shared bathroom et kitchen, very comfy. The atmosphere is terrific! I truly recommend this place.

  • 14th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
It was wonderful to meet you and remember you clearly as you returned to visit us again a week later. We are pleased that you had a great time with us. Our location for easy access to Hluhluwe Game Reserve is the highlight with getting close to the wildlife in our beautiful region. and it is always great to read that our guests have enjoyed themselves. Hluhluwe Backpacker Team

The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
63%

It is very close to the park entrance. Owner was friendly, the room ok and linen good. But kitchen, bathrooms, showers seem to need total revamp. Kitchen facilities in poor condition. Too pricey. Not worth to stay longer

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and to clarify. Bathrooms in fact has recently been repainted so not sure what is meant by complete revamp needed? Apologizes the kettle took long to heat and has been replaced. The rate you paid @ R200 p/p is far lower then anywhere else in our region for a comfortable private double room including all bedding. It appears by your other reviews of backpackers basic budget accommodation is not what you are looking for. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your travel

37%

They didn't know that we are coming even though we had booked it here with hostel world. They were unfriendly and wanted 180R instead of 120R like it was confirmed. There is no real shower and only dirty pots to cook. Last time I was there there were no lights and no electricity to cook. To be serious it is stupid to go there. Only good thing is that it is really close to the park entrance.

  • 10th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
A) We apologise for any inconvenience caused by the mix up.B) We have two showers in the main house and a bathroom block outside with 4 showers. Your comment` there is no real shower` is therefore completely untruthful. Our kitchen is kept spotlessly clean and we ask all travelers to be considerate of others as it is shared.d) As an backpacker you must surely know about `loadshredding` (powercuts) which is out of our control, is countrywide therefore we have gas stoves for guests convenience.

74%

Very nice hostel and very close to the park. Clean and i enjoeyd to stay here! Bit of back top the roots feeling!! recommended


89%

a nice place to stay if you're going to the park. there are no other htings to see or do close to the hostel. Dave made us dinner and went with us to a rugby-game. we didn't see much of the room due to an overbooking problem with hostelwworld but we got the house (read floor) of dave to sleep on


69%

On our way to Hluhluwe we were informed by friends staying at the same establishment we were not booked in. I phoned Dave, and he told me they were full and Hostel World had NOT informed him we were coming. I told him I had a booking reference and confirmation and he said he was sorry. I was then put in a caravan. Dave is lucky he has friendly, competent staff that made us feel welcome!

  • 30th Apr 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Mixed Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

This was the start of our holiday and made the whole trip worth while!!! very freindly staff who where very very helpfull! would definately go back just for this place


93%

It seems the owner had lost track of our booking, so we got there without any room available. He finally found us some space in a nice caravan.


67%

The manager didn't have our reservations and we payed more than the price indicated on the mail. On 2 days, the first day, we didn't have water and the second day we didn't have electricity.




View all Hluhluwe Hostels

Please give us your feedback