X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hoax Hostel Reviews

Kansas Buildings, 50-54 Stanley Street, Liverpool, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
443 Total Reviews
  • 88%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 97%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 93%Cleanliness
  • 89%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

60%

didn't manage to sleep much, the two days i was there, due to the bar noise and the other d***s in the room. Will try another place if staying in liverpool again.

  • 22nd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

Wasn't very crowded on January, good facilities, and confortable beds. WiFi all over the place, good bathrooms and heaters. Very recommendable.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi thanks for the positive review and recommendation, we hope to see you again soon The Hoax Team

89%

The hostel is very very nice but on January was crowded. I couldn't taste the food and bar (nobody).

  • 12th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

The room and common places were very comfy. The light in the kitchen kept switching off so we had to stand up while having dinner to turn it back on. The bar really cool. But we had to open like 5 doors with our key to get to the room. Saturday night was terribly noisy, but the other nights were ok.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Thanks for the positive review. The lights are eco-friendly so do go off if they do not sense movement in the area after a while. We are very security concious here at Hoax so key controlled doors are throughout. We hope to see you again soon The Hoax Team

86%

Easy to find. Close to shopping district and many places to eat and drink. Small kitchen available to use downstairs. Limited space in the room but under bed lockers are provided. Lift to all levels was convenient. Close to water front, about 5-10 minute walk to the 'Three Graces' and ferry terminal. free luggage storage available before/after check in/out.


100%

Great location, in middle of town. Really friendly and helpful staff! Clean room! All good!!!!

  • 5th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Thanks for the great review, our helpful friendly staff are the best in town! Hope to see you again soon The Hoax Team

100%

Actually, i can not understand how they can supply these service, facilities, value to this price. i really, really recommend you to stay here and get a rest in here. Price, Accessibility, Atmosphere, Cleanness, Service, All of the factors to choose are THE BEST in all of hostels in the world.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Thanks for such a great review, were very proud of what we offer at Hoax :) hope to see you again soon The Hoax Team

91%

They served breakfast, but in the days we stayed it was not served as it was christmas.

  • 24th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Thanks for the review, we are sorry that breakfast was not available during your stay. All guests were advised that we were operating a limited service on Christmas day and offered alternative options. Hope to see you again soon The Hoax Team

91%

the location is perfect, however it near a bar and it's very noisy at night, I couldn't sleep until 1am

  • 23rd Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi thanks for taking time to leave a review. We are lucky to be surrounded by such great bars but appreciate this can sometimes be noisy so we do provide ear plugs at reception to help our guests who are not here to party get some sleep We hope you enjoyed Liverpool

94%

The location is really great, it's clean, everything is great. But at the night, the noise from bar near by is annoying. Apart from that, I really enjoyed my stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Thanks for the review, great to hear you enjoyed your stay. We are lucky to be surrounded by such great bars the only down side to this can bei the noise. We hope to see you again so on your next visit please request a quiet room and help yourself to the free ear plugs at reception The Hoax Team

86%

Very nice hostel, good facilities, very accommodating when we asked to switch rooms for personal reasons. Really easy to find from train station, good location in the city centre. Only complaint was that the club downstairs played their music very loudly and so it was hard to sleep even with earplugs in until about 3 am.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi thanks for taking time to leave a review, we are very sorry that the neighbouring noise disturbed you. Next time please request a quiet room. We hope to see you again soon The Hoax Team

91%

Very nice and modern hostel, but very loud at night so it could be difficult to sleep.


91%

Had a cosy stay and the staff were helpful and friendly. Great job and thanks for the hospitality! (:

  • 9th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Couldn't fall asleep as the music was too loud downstairs :-(

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Tobias I am so sorry to hear that you weren't able to sleep. We do offer complimentary ear plugs at reception. Alternatively, did you check with reception if there were other beds available? Rooms in the basement are a lot quieter, than the rooms overlooking the very famous Mathew Street...home of the Beatles. Kind Regards Team HOAX

20%

Shakedown!!!Hoax insisted on me presenting a passport even though I'm british and refused to allow me to stay in my room. However, if I paid them an extra £64 suddenly the problem went away. My other photographic proof of identity (2 of) wasn't enough. I had to spend the night in a 24hr cafe and buy new tickets home, and they also refused to refund me the deposit I paid. They said it was criminal to let me in without passport, which is a lie. They are crooks who will steal your money. Avoid!!!!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thanks for taking the time to leave your review. I am sorry that you were unable to check into the shared dorm without the relevant required photo ID. This is a security measure for all guests sharing dorms, we do offer private rooms without ID required as you'd not be sharing with other members of the public. At the time of booking, Hostelworld takes a 12% deposit, which you paid to them directly which is why we could not refund the deposit. I do hope this clarifies the ID policy.

97%

best hostel ever! The location is the best of best near Mattew street! Moreover it is in shopping center It is not to far from Albert dock, Liverpool cathedral. Every facility was awesome and perfect. You will not be disappointed just you will satisfied with Hoax hostel!

  • 1st Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for your great review. We can't agree with you anymore! We weren't'nt named Best Youth Accommodation 2014 at the Global Youth Awards for nothing! Thank you again and we hope you come back to explore our fantastic city in the near future and stay in our award winning Hostel. Kind Regards Team HOAX

80%

Really nice place, but weird atmosphere. If you're looking for the traditional hostel feel don't go for it. Super clean safe and beautiful though!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Amy I'm thinking you must have missed the HATCH? The HATCH is our "hang out" wreck room situated in the basement where guests can meet like minded travelers, chat, play pool or just chill out in-front of the large plasmas. There is a bar down there too! We hope you come back and stay with us again soon so you can experience this great space we have. Kind Regards Team HOAX

94%

Nothing too bad, just turn down the speaker in the lift!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Jesse Thank you for your feed back. We are already onto this! Sometimes it sounds like she is shouting at you!!...we can't agree with you any more! Hope you stay with us again Kind Regards Team HOAX

89%

friendly staff when you asked a question but not exactly going out of their way to help you, but still i cant complain, standard was very good. lockers in the room but no locks provided for guests, at least i wasnt informed if there was. everything else was perfect. HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS PLACE!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Austin Thank you for your review. Padlocks can be purchased at Reception for just £4.50. We hope you stay with us again in the near future. Kind Regards Team HOAX

97%

Hoax is a very nice hostel right in the city center, located where there are a lot of things to do. The staff is amazing. Everyone was so helpful and nice! The room we stayed was very beautiful and clean. I would definitely stay there again.

  • 13th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Natalia Thank you for your great review! We couldn't agree anymore with you! Hope to see you soon. Kind Regards Team HOAX

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(69 results)


View all Liverpool Hostels

Please give us your feedback