X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hoax Hostel Reviews

Kansas Buildings, 50-54 Stanley Street, Liverpool, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

90%

Rating
404 Total Reviews
  • 89%Value For Money
  • 92%Security
  • 97%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 93%Cleanliness
  • 89%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Nothing too bad, just turn down the speaker in the lift!


89%

friendly staff when you asked a question but not exactly going out of their way to help you, but still i cant complain, standard was very good. lockers in the room but no locks provided for guests, at least i wasnt informed if there was. everything else was perfect. HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS PLACE!


97%

Hoax is a very nice hostel right in the city center, located where there are a lot of things to do. The staff is amazing. Everyone was so helpful and nice! The room we stayed was very beautiful and clean. I would definitely stay there again.

  • 13th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Natalia Thank you for your great review! We couldn't agree anymore with you! Hope to see you soon. Kind Regards Team HOAX

100%

Bathroom is a little weird because the shower and toilet are one, but over all, cool comfortable rooms with plug/reading light at each bed, lockers fit large backpacks, prime location, awesome helpful staff!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Heather Thank you for your great feedback. All our rooms have en-suites. There are two cubicles per room; one cubicle for the toilet and sink, and another cubicle for the shower and sink. We hope you stay with us again in the near future. Kind Regards Team HOAX

86%

Perfect location. Everything was good except from the noise at night because of a club situated right next to the hostel. There was not much interaction with other people that was also staying at this hostel. If that is what you are looking for, it wouldn't be a good place to interact and make friends.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Luiza Thank you for your comments. I'm thinking you must have missed the Hatch? This is our social hub situated in the basement where like minded travelers share their experiences, play pool or simply somewhere to go to chill in front of the large plasma. We are, however, working on signage in the Hostel, focusing on the Hatch so it is not missed by our fellow guests, so do bare with us... Kind Regards Team HOAX

97%

This hostel really was like a hotel. The location and rooms were great. The only comments we have are that a bath mat would be good (or longer shower curtains) because water went everywhere! Also, the coupons don't work for the English breakfast either which was annoying because it said it was only excluding continental breakfast....

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Hannah Thank you so much for your comments and suggestions. We always listen to our guests and try our very best to make the suggested changes. We hope you decide to stay with us again, and who knows...that fluffy bath mat might be waiting for you on arrival ;-) Kind Regards Team HOAX

89%

Great hostel! Great location, helpful staff, comfy beds and a nice little kitchen. Would definitely stay again!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Jessie Thank you for your great feedback :-) We really hope you stick to your word and stay with us again! Kind Regards Team HOAX

94%

The best hostel I ever stayed.


86%

Rooms wers clean and comfortable, with ensuite bathroom. The location is perfect, within walking distance from the major attractions, but it also means it might get a bit noisy in the middle of the night, or early morning :) Overall, a good place to stay, however somehow lacking atmosphere, seems almost sterile.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Aleksandra Thank you for your great review. We do have a fantastic "Wreck Room" called the Hatch based in the basement; maybe you missed this? I will be sure to put up more posters to high light this space for our guests to chill out in and share travelling experiences with one another. We hope you stay with us again. Kind Regards Team HOAX

94%

A fantastic hostel, great facilities, comfy mattress, bunk had reading light and power outlets, room had good sized lockers, and shower and toilet were clean. Wifi worked really well throughout the hostel which is awesome and handy!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Nicky Thanks for taking the time to review us, it really means a lot to us. We are happy to see that you enjoyed our hostel. I Hope our paths cross again in the future. Kind Regards Team HOAX

94%

It was clean and kinda motel like, the guy at the front desk was lovely and the hostel was in a great area! They didn't have any real maps which was a little annoying coz they had run out but Liverpool was easy to walk around anyways. The nightclub downstairs was crazy loud but I has earplugs so it didn't bother me! Room was really lovely too, big clean bathroom!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Jodie Thank you for your great feedback. Apologies we had no maps when you stayed with us, this very rarely happens, so I can't apologise enough. I hope you decide to stay with us again in the near future. Kind Regards Team HOAX

86%

For the most part the hostel is well taken care of and is clean all the time. A bit unlucky there isnt a bar or proper common room but the choices around the area are abundant. Only complaint is that the noise from outside the room can be heard clearly. Namely the lift operated voice notification can be heard all the time, all night. Otherwise, top hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Thank you for your feedback. Due to our great location, being in the heart of the Cavern Quarter, home to the Beatles, noise from the neighboring bars can cause a slight disturbance. I hope you took full advantage of our complimentary ear plugs offered at reception. In the basement we have a fantastic common area where guests can chill, watch sport or play pool - not too sure how you missed this! We hope you stay with us again soon. Kind Regards Team HOAX

83%

Really nice hostel with great conditions, the location is so good that it gets a bit too noisy for being right in the center!


100%

Awesome place, staff very friendly and facilities are top class, one of the best hostels I've been to and is right in the centre of the city.


100%

Very nice hostel in the center. Definitely recommended. Near the cavern club and Matthew street. Not far from sleet street's bars too.

  • 9th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Friendly and helpfully staff, excellent position! Near best attraction of the city.. A little bit noisy cause it's above pubs area

  • 7th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your great feedback. I hope you took full advantage of our complimentary ear plugs offered at reception as this can drown out the noise from our neighboring pubs/clubs. We hope you stay with us again soon. Kind Regards Team HOAX

97%

Amazing Place!! Great People

  • 3rd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We couldn't agree with you any more! Thank you for your honesty :-) Kind Regards Team HOAX

91%

This hostel is more like a boutique hotel. The facilities are immaculate, the wifi is awesome, everything is really clean, and the split on-suite bathrooms are great. The location is literally perfect, it's right off Matthew street, so perfect to see the Cavern Club and get down to the waterfront. But the downside was that there really wasn't any type of social atmosphere. Would be good if you are traveling with friends already, not awesome for solo travelers.


94%

This is a very nice, clean, central hostel. Easy to find, right in the middle of the city with easy access to a lot of pubs and restaurants and shopping. Comfortable beds in clean rooms, with reading lights and outlets in each bunk. A comfortable stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there Thank you for your great review. We really do pride ourselves on our fantastic location where art, music, history, shopping, sport and nightlife are all on our doorstep. We also like to focus on what’s important. Like custom made, super-sized bunk beds with luxury mattresses, steaming hot en-suite showers and clean towels and linen. We hope you stay with us again soon Kind Regards Team HOAX

97%

One of the best hostels I have ever been. Very clean and new, excellent location, very comfortable beds. So good that I don't mind about the noisy street. I highly recommend! :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Tatiana. Thank you for your great review. We hope you come back and stay with us again in the near future :-) Happy travelling! Kind Regards Team HOAX

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(82 results)


View all Liverpool Hostels

Please give us your feedback