X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hoax Hostel Reviews

Kansas Buildings, 50-54 Stanley Street, Liverpool, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

90%

Rating
471 Total Reviews
  • 89%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 97%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 93%Cleanliness
  • 89%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

Hostelworld says "towels included", but they are not.

  • 26th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Good location, clean and quiet, would use again.

  • 24th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

Ideal location and price for what we wanted, which was simply a place to rest our heads after a night out in the city. Very clean too.

  • 20th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

One of the best hostels I've ever stayed in. The location is simply great, it is really close to The Cavern. However, regarding the beds, they are very close to the ceiling, I'm a small person yet I had problems while trying to get out of bed haha


86%

There are a few very very loud nightclubs just outside and it is not possible to sleep before 2am. But then again, if you're staying at the Cavern Quarter you're not planning on going to bed before 2am!

  • 19th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Really lovely hostel and great location - thanks Hoax!

  • 19th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for the great review - your very welcome! See you again soon The Hoax Team

89%

Pros: Clean, very good location, Cons: Tiny rooms, Tiny bathroom, loud music around hostel

  • 18th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, thanks for taking time to review, glad you enjoyed our standards of cleanliness and our great location. Apologies if the music disturbed you from the surrounding bars. Next time please request a quiet room. The Hoax Team

100%

One of the best hostels I've ever been, you won't find a better location in Liverpool, the hostel is very cool, with good facilities, staff were very helpful, spacious rooms, everything was very clean, nice atmosphere, good price and very close to Cavern Club. What else could you ask for? I would definitely staying with them again and I won't hesitate in recommending them to some friends of mine.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey thanks for the great review and for the recommendation , look forward to seeing you again The Hoax Team

89%

Muy bueno el hostel, lo mejor que tiene es la ubicación. Mi única crítica es el desayuno muy caro y bastante malo lo que servían. Lo demás todo bien.

  • 8th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

We went to Liverpool for a girly weekend and booked a 4bed private dorm. It was very clean and big enough for us and all our bags!! The location was amongst all the bars and shops so we didn't need to get a taxi anywhere!! For £35 per night per person and taking into account the location etc, it was great value for money! I would definitely recommend this hostel again!

  • 6th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey thanks for the positive review and the recommendation The Hoax Team !

71%

The hostel is right next to a club, which you hear VERY well when you try to sleep. Also didn't get the feeling that the staff did their very best to assist you when there was problems with the room. Facilities of the hostel were very nice and fresh though.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Thanks for the review, sorry to hear the noise affected your stay. We do provide ear plugs to help our guests that are not here to party sleep. The Hoax Team

91%

Great hostel, friendly staff, excellent location, spotlessly clean, highly recommended!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi thanks for the recommendation! Hope to see you again soon The Hoax Team

94%

one of the best hostels I've been to. the 6 bed dorm had its own toilot and shower. and its located just near cavern club for great live music. also a short walk from lime street station and lots of shopping very close by. best value.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey thanks for the great review, we agree we offer the best facilities and value for money! The Hoax Team

60%

didn't manage to sleep much, the two days i was there, due to the bar noise and the other d***s in the room. Will try another place if staying in liverpool again.

  • 22nd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for taking time to write a review. We are very sorry you were disturbed by the noise and other guests. The Hoax Team

94%

I really enjoyed my stay at Hoax Hostel. Liverpool was a great city with so much to do, and the staff was helpful in guiding me to the sights I wanted to see. The room was very clean and beds were nice.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey Thanks for the great review, pleased to read our fab team helped you explore the city The Hoax Team

97%

The Hostel has a great atmosphere. It's excellently located and the staff members are super helpful. We would totally go back there asap. The only thing to bear in mind is that it's on Mathew st (where the Cavern is) and it can get noisy at night but we were not bothered by that :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey thanks for the great review, thrilled to read you will come back asap The Hoax Team

100%

couldn't ask for a better experience, perfect location and polite, friendly and extremely helpful staff. modern clean rooms. would definitely stay again

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey Thanks for the fab review, we agree our team are very helpful :) Hope to see you again soon The Hoax Team

89%

Wasn't very crowded on January, good facilities, and confortable beds. WiFi all over the place, good bathrooms and heaters. Very recommendable.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi thanks for the positive review and recommendation, we hope to see you again soon The Hoax Team

89%

The hostel is very very nice but on January was crowded. I couldn't taste the food and bar (nobody).

  • 12th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

The room and common places were very comfy. The light in the kitchen kept switching off so we had to stand up while having dinner to turn it back on. The bar really cool. But we had to open like 5 doors with our key to get to the room. Saturday night was terribly noisy, but the other nights were ok.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Thanks for the positive review. The lights are eco-friendly so do go off if they do not sense movement in the area after a while. We are very security concious here at Hoax so key controlled doors are throughout. We hope to see you again soon The Hoax Team

« first « Prev 1 2 3
(58 results)


View all Liverpool Hostels

Please give us your feedback