Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hokondo Waikiki Beachside Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.0
Fabulous 461 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 7.2
BOOK NOW
8.0
Fabulous 461 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 7.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
10th Aug 2017
6.3

They did not arrange activities for us like many other hostels. Breakfast was poor, the reception staff are nice but the cleaners are rude. Did not feel as social as the beach boutique waikiki hostel and there are some strange oddballs we met at our hostel.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
24th Jul 2017
6.0

Not so clean, you have to pay for everything(towels, luggage room, lockers)

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
18th Jul 2017
4.9

Friendly staff, great location and very close to the beach. The rooms however look nothing like the photos, they are filthy and there are cockroaches running through the poorly equipped 'kitchenette'. There were no knives to cut anything, only forks and spoons! The cleaner during the day swept the floor a little and wiped bathroom surfaces, but didn't do anything else. Slept in a sleeping bag instead of in the sheets provided. No communal areas to meet new people if traveling alone.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jul 2017
7.4

The staff were great, friendly and helpful. David in particular although he was new was very helpful to us. The location is great but we found the amenities to be lacking. Breakfast being 9-10 was very late when you wanted to be leaving in the morning to do things. The cleanliness of the rooms even straight after the cleaners had been in were not very good. The rooms need checking more frequently- lots of gone off & unused food in the fridge. Need more cups and cutlery etc.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
2nd Jul 2017
8.9

This is the first Hostel of my trip and it's been great. Some rooms don't have AC but there are fans so it's not too bad. No planned activities which is not great when you're on you're own but the beach is really close and the staff are helpful. I would recommend staying here

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
23rd Jun 2017
8.3

The location of this hostel is superb! It's just a few steps from waikiki and the staff is super nice and friendly. However, the facilities are really old, broken windows, a/c only in one part of the shared room so too hot to be able to sleep and sheer shades so lots of light. I would recommend you to bring earplugs and a face mask

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
28th May 2017
6.6

Overall OK hostel, great central location close to the beach, diamond head and major bus routes. Rooms weren't very clean, but having stayed at another hostel in Honolulu last year this seems to be a trend. Morning staff my first day checking in were rude but staff from that point forward were super friendly. Communal area is very spaced out and hard to mingle, if you just need 1 or 2 nights this is ok but if you can do Air BnB or elsewhere.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th May 2017
8.3

The location is great, nice breakfast with coffee and pb&j sandwiches, we were only there one night so we didn't experience anything very social. But all in all a good experience. Although they have no screens on windows or doors and there were cockroaches. I killed 2 small ones.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Mar 2017
5.1

Room was infested by bugs / cockroaches . There were lockers but you had to pay for them. Was very quiet. I also had much older (60+) staying my room. Very cheap surf board hire though. I moved to a different hostel on the next road after 2 days.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
9th Mar 2017
8.0

One bathroom for 8 women just didn't cut it...only other facility was in reception area. Breakfast (toast and coffee) was available only 9 until 10. Both the refrigerator and the bathroom could use a really good scrubbing. But it's a trade off and high maintenance gals just aren't going to be staying in a hostel anyway...location was excellent, beds truly comfortable, kitchen is right in your room and you have a balcony! The company was awesome- nuff said.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.