Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hokondo Waikiki Beachside Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 423 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 6.9
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 423 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 6.9
  • Facilities 7.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
9th Mar 2017
8.0

One bathroom for 8 women just didn't cut it...only other facility was in reception area. Breakfast (toast and coffee) was available only 9 until 10. Both the refrigerator and the bathroom could use a really good scrubbing. But it's a trade off and high maintenance gals just aren't going to be staying in a hostel anyway...location was excellent, beds truly comfortable, kitchen is right in your room and you have a balcony! The company was awesome- nuff said.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
6th Mar 2017
8.9

My room was really clean and comfortable. There was quite a bit of street noise but I just wore ear plugs and slept fine. Breakfast was just a toast bar, but the rooms were cleaned daily and it was really nice to just leave my stuff on my bed/dresser and not worry about locking it up. Other rooms I saw looked different, and dirtier but I was really happy with the 4 bed female only dorm.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
4th Mar 2017
8.3

I spend 10 days at this hostel and we had so much fun. The hostel is only 2 minutes from the beach and 15 minutes from Diamond head. The common room is big and we met so many people, but it close at 10pm every night. We had a great time

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
19th Feb 2017
10.0

ferrific place to stay well organised the staff were great

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th Feb 2017
9.4

Good location good friendly staff i like it

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
6th Feb 2017
6.3

As I arrived at 2am it would of been nice not to have to strip the dirty sheets off my bed. Overall cleanliness of the place was not great. Free breakfast was ok but standard in Waikiki hostels. Good location and 24 hour service.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Jan 2017
9.7

I highly recommend this hostel. Perfect location with friendly staff and fellow travellers. They have everything you need on a budget and it is a safe and happy place.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
4th Jan 2017
8.9

Great spot in waikiki that is accessible to everything along the main strip. Great common area at the bottom that was good for meeting other travellers and quite a few big nights started from there.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
27th Dec 2016
5.7

I had an overall bad experience. I was unable to get a parking spot. There is a parking lot at a park a few blocks away and there is parking down the block at the zoo, which I think is $1/hour. The 4 bed female dorm was spacious but very depressing. I know it's a cheap room, but it felt like a prison and the missing window pane was replaced with duct tape. They lend you white sheets, no blanket. Positives: the reception staff, room key and beach

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
25th Dec 2016
6.0

Great staff very friendly and helpful. Sadly this hostel doesn't have any social activities or a decent common area. The common area is an adapted parking lot. The rooms were very dirty felt like they were never cleaned.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.