Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hokondo Waikiki Beachside Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 443 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 7.6
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 443 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 7.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
23rd Jun 2017
8.3

The location of this hostel is superb! It's just a few steps from waikiki and the staff is super nice and friendly. However, the facilities are really old, broken windows, a/c only in one part of the shared room so too hot to be able to sleep and sheer shades so lots of light. I would recommend you to bring earplugs and a face mask

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
28th May 2017
6.6

Overall OK hostel, great central location close to the beach, diamond head and major bus routes. Rooms weren't very clean, but having stayed at another hostel in Honolulu last year this seems to be a trend. Morning staff my first day checking in were rude but staff from that point forward were super friendly. Communal area is very spaced out and hard to mingle, if you just need 1 or 2 nights this is ok but if you can do Air BnB or elsewhere.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th May 2017
8.3

The location is great, nice breakfast with coffee and pb&j sandwiches, we were only there one night so we didn't experience anything very social. But all in all a good experience. Although they have no screens on windows or doors and there were cockroaches. I killed 2 small ones.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Mar 2017
5.1

Room was infested by bugs / cockroaches . There were lockers but you had to pay for them. Was very quiet. I also had much older (60+) staying my room. Very cheap surf board hire though. I moved to a different hostel on the next road after 2 days.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
9th Mar 2017
8.0

One bathroom for 8 women just didn't cut it...only other facility was in reception area. Breakfast (toast and coffee) was available only 9 until 10. Both the refrigerator and the bathroom could use a really good scrubbing. But it's a trade off and high maintenance gals just aren't going to be staying in a hostel anyway...location was excellent, beds truly comfortable, kitchen is right in your room and you have a balcony! The company was awesome- nuff said.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
6th Mar 2017
8.9

My room was really clean and comfortable. There was quite a bit of street noise but I just wore ear plugs and slept fine. Breakfast was just a toast bar, but the rooms were cleaned daily and it was really nice to just leave my stuff on my bed/dresser and not worry about locking it up. Other rooms I saw looked different, and dirtier but I was really happy with the 4 bed female only dorm.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
4th Mar 2017
8.3

I spend 10 days at this hostel and we had so much fun. The hostel is only 2 minutes from the beach and 15 minutes from Diamond head. The common room is big and we met so many people, but it close at 10pm every night. We had a great time

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
27th Feb 2017
9.7

There is an awesome common area, (not sure what some reviews are on about) there is a handy sheet with bus routes and day trips at reception. Staff are nice and rooms are clean. Wifi is good and walking distance to beach and many restaurants. Would come back for sure.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
19th Feb 2017
10.0

ferrific place to stay well organised the staff were great

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
14th Feb 2017
10.0

This place was everything you could ask for out of a Hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.