X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Holiday in Dubrovnik Reviews

Budvanska 4, Dubrovnik, Croatia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

73%

Rating
133 Total Reviews
  • 72%Value For Money
  • 80%Security
  • 60%Location
  • 76%Staff
  • 69%Atmosphere
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 75%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

Extremely nice people that own the house and extremely rude woman that takes your money when you check in. Those people are too good to work with her. Also, less of a hostel than a stay in somebody's house but a very nice place if you don't mind the walk up the hill which is tough but not impossible.


80%

The elderly lady in whose house we stayed was very kind. She even did our dishes for us and gave us all kinds of fruit and veg from her garden. However, the receptionist was most unfriendly, unwelcoming and not at all helpful. If you are coming by car beware of extremely narrow streets and the most challenging parking spot you've seen in a long time.


37%

First of all the place is not a hostel, it's a horribly planed home stay. They are not prepared to receive clients. There is no costumer service at all (lack of correct English speaking personnel makes it even more difficult). The room pictures are clearly from the Internet, not from the real place. We booked a room for a week and we didn't even get a regular room with beds. Apparently they ran out of rooms on the "hostel" and we had to stay in the living room of a house adjacent to it! We got t

  • 19th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

The room was in an apartment with one other rented room and a lady who lived there permanently. She was really friendly and offered us a drink and biscuits when we arrived and then fruit from her garden during our stay. The room is at the top of the hill above Dubrovnik but only 20 minutes from the old town so good value for money. The room was basic but clean with a shared bathroom, wifi and a kitchen if we had wanted to use it.


69%

This is a good place to stay if you know what you are getting into- it's not a hostel rather a private room in a private house. Great value for money and I experienced lovely staff who continuously offered cold drinks or coffee and even have me medicine when I was sick. Room was clean and nice- large bed and lots of space. To get there take bus 3 and keep on it until it gets to top of hill (even if you feel it's going wrong way) it does a lot of "switchbacks" to get up hill.


66%

Quite nice, but maybe too expensive for the offert itself.

  • 13th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

The location is not far from the Old Town but you must be ready to climb a lot if you don't have any car. One of the bed was not confortable. In general I can recomend this hotel but just for a few nights


20%

We had the room booked months in advance, arrived in Dubrovnik after a long bus ride took taxi to the hostel to only find out upon arrival they did not have a room for us! We were not informed prior via phone by anyone at the hostel! Lady working there said she had informed us by email but we were unable to get emails at the time and when we received the email it was only 30 mins prior to us arriving! They could not offer us a room nor did they help us find another room in th area...

  • 8th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

Good view from the balcony.

  • 8th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

The location is difficult to find and the walk to the old city is demanding.


89%

It's been a pleasure staying there, very kind people, good view!

  • 3rd Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

More of a house with rooms rented out but with common terrace and kitchen outside. Very clean and super friendly family running it. Amazing view from terrace. Great hosts!


34%

Upon arrival we were sent to a room in a nearby house that looked nothing like the ones in the pictures. Old, terrible bed, no AC, and full of stuff (drawers and closets full of clothes and things). We later found out it was the cousin´s house, who was sleeping with her husband in the living room during our stay. Again, really weird and awkward when you think you have booked a hostel, not a home stay. Old bathroom also full of stuff everywhere. It felt like we were invading someone´s house.

  • 23rd Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest we have fan in the room no a/c than is room more cheaper, and clothes in a bathroom is from other guests whose need wash clothes, we are tryng to help all our guests. My dinning room is private and my parentd can do in his dining room that is not place where you can stay, that is private and why you go there?

69%

Upon arrival we felt unwanted because we asked where an ATM would be however we were frowned at then told to drive back down to town to find one. After finally returning she quickly asked us for money and our passports without even welcoming us. Also, we were informed that there would be free parking, however this meant finding a spot on the street a few blocks away from the hostel. Upon checking out we were repeatedly told the time although we were not running late. Clean facilities however.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guests here is pay in arrival in cash and no room without money because we dont accept credit card. Here is free parking in the street and only this street in Dubrovnik is not for pay parking and everywhere else you must pay

89%

Family were pleasant and very helpful with any requirements we had.The location might be an issue for older travellers as its at the top of the city hills, which could be a struggle in the summer heat. Its about 18mins walk downhill to the old town and 22 mins walk up.


51%

It is located quite far up the hill from the old town about a 25-30min walk which is difficult a heavy bed. More like a home stay than a hostel. Didn't have much of an atmosphere (if any! ) Facilities quite dated and not the cleanest. I wouldn't stay here again

Owner Comment (Hide)
They lady i dont want that you come here again after alcohol party and destroyed bed and problem what we have with you, please dear dont come here again.

51%

First of all don't get deceived by the pictures you see, they are untrue. Chambers are old and they don't clean them after every stay. Hostel is at the top of the town/city, location coudn't be worse. You need to take all the stairs down if you want to go tothe city. Better can take a hostel in lapad, close to the sea so you can take a swim and busses can get you to the old town. Showers were bad, need to hold the showerhead when you want to take a shower and internet isn't fast.

  • 14th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest here is everything new and very clean. We are not in a centar old town we are near 15 minutes by walking and all Dubrovnik is created in a steps, but why you dont book room in the other place and pay more expensive. We are here more cheaper and we are in the now town near the Old Town 15 minutes. I am sorry but nex time prepare more money and make booking in the Old Town or in place near the beach. And please writte thruth everything is here clean and new.

60%

The place was like a home stay, not exactly a hostel. Amazing view on Dubrovnik city, but not so good room. The bed was very noisy and plenty of stairs before getting to the city, but that is all around Dubrovnik.


83%

The hostel was nice! It is okay to walk from the bus station. But to the Old town it is a bit far. It is okay to walk there but way back: there is a huge hill the whole way back. The price is very reasonable when thinking the location and the rooms. Staff was friendly and they even gave us a small welcome snack. It is place to be if you want to stay in a quiet place with your own friends.


74%

Great staff and cleanliness, but is far from the old town, 15-20 minutes walk, but still good value for money

Owner Comment (Hide)
We Are near the Old Town 15 minutes bi walk but we are more cheaper than accomodation In Old Town

« first « Prev 1 2
(28 results)


View all Dubrovnik Hostels

Please give us your feedback