Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Holland House

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.7
Very Good 275 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 7.5
  • Atmosphere 6.6
  • Cleanliness 6.5
  • Facilities 7.1
BOOK NOW
7.7
Very Good 275 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 7.5
  • Atmosphere 6.6
  • Cleanliness 6.5
  • Facilities 7.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Jun 2017
3.4

The room was an absolute mess when we arrived and the standard of cleanliness was awful. The staff were rude and abrupt and quite abusive. They tried to offer us free meals but there was no chance we were eating here. We expected low standards for a hostel as between us we have stayed in many worldwide but this was just awful.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Customer , thank you for your feed back Upon arrival your room was not up to the very high standards of cleanliness we keep at Holland House.OUr night porter did clean the room as soos as you raised the issue . When you raised this issue with me,the next morning , I personally organised my team to deep clean the room and offered you free dinner vouchers as a gesture of goodwill. My 2 assistants reported later to me that you threated to stay all the 5 nights without paying and declining our offer of free meals ,hence the reason why they said you could not stay here longer if you didn't want to pay Eventually , not mentioned in your review, we refunded you the first night , and you thanked me for that . I'm sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us but would love to welcome you back again in the future to see if we can make up for your experience. If you have any further comments, please send them to customerservices@lhalondon.com for further investigation/clarification. Kindest Regards, Lenny House Manager ,

  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st May 2017
8.9

Great location, in the central london 5 minutes walk to the station, great neighbourhood also. The staff are helpfull, you can leave ur lugage before check in and after check out for a gew hours in case you want to scroll around london. The room a lil bit messy but clean, no mix gender in bedroom. Bathroom and shower are clean theres always someone there to clean up or repair if something broken. Overall its a very good hostel with good price!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th May 2017
2.9

Waited about an hour for someone to show up at the front desk to check us in. The staff was not friendly. The room wasn't clean, the bedding felt dirty. And I could barely stand the bathrooms and showers because they were so dirty

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest ,Following your recent stay here at Holland House , I would like to thank you for having taken the time to post your comments. Did you report reception the room was not clean ?We could have sent one of our staff to clean it right away if it wasn't done properly as it should have .Also we could have give you an other bedding if you had told us you were unhappy with the one you had . we do also have many showers and toilets in every floor ,all cleaned daily , we could have redirect you to an other toilet/shower if you had asked .Please do not hesitate to contact me directly on customerservices@lhalondon.com to expand on exactly what was the issue with the staff so we can investigate the matter in the best way possible Regards Lenny Stella House Manager

  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
1st May 2017
8.0

The hostel is nice, nothing fancy but has everything you need. I didn't like that there is no kitchen nor cutlery.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest, Following your recent stay here at Holland House , I would like to thank you for having taken the time to post your comments. It is our philosophy to ensure that we provide our guests with good standards of product and service at all times. I am delighted to know that you enjoyed your visit and I have shared your feedback with all my team. I've taken all your suggestions on board too With kindest regards Regards Lenny Stella House Manager

26th Apr 2017
4.6

AWFUL STAY. NOT SAFE FOR SOLO FEMALE TRAVELERS. I am a 20 year old solo female traveler and I have never had a worse experience in a hostel. I stayed in an all female dorm room, and one of my roommates, who was over 50 years old, had been living in the hostel for 2 months. I felt like an intruder. The lady also rambled to herself, and would shout at guests in the middle of the night. I would wake up in terror to her yelling about the lights or a window. NOT SAFE AT ALL

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest ,Following your recent stay here at Holland House , I would like to thank you for having taken the time to post your comments. I'm sorry to hear you had a bad experience ,we didn't have any previous problem with your roommate ,I understood (upon investigation)that she and an other of your roommate were arguing about a window (which one wanted open , the other one shut) . This is not mentioned in your review but when you did tell us you were unhappy sleeping in that room , we did offered you a private twin at no cost , and you did accept . Regards Lenny

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
25th Apr 2017
6.9

Great location. 10 min from Victoria Station. 2-bed private room had lots of storage. Beds were small w flat pillow. Room had a sink and mirror, but pipes gurgled regularly. Bathrooms weren't very clean. Showers were awful. Tried to shower at 830pm and in morning. NO hot water! Staff that checked me in was nice and let me check in 2 hours early. Breakfast ended at 830, too early! But was free at least. Wifi worked well in the room. On our second night somebody was vacuuming at 10pm. OK hostel.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest ,Following your recent stay here at Holland House , I would like to thank you for having taken the time to post your comments. For external reasons we did experience cold water on Tuesday evening , the issue was fixed the morning after on Wednesday, I do apologies for that . we have many toilet in every floor , cleaned every morning ,if you had asked maybe we could have redirect you to an other toilet , or I could have given you a new pillow if you had asked . Regards Lenny Stella House Manager

21st Apr 2017
6.6

My stay at Holland House was fine, nothing more. The location and price were two very good things about this place, however I would not recommend it or go back for a few reasons: first, it was not very clean. The bathrooms and showers were pretty gross and the room I stayed in smelled musty and was always humid. Another thing was what they considered "breakfast". We were offered bread and cereal, not really anything of substance. Would not go back.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest ,Following your recent stay here at Holland House , I would like to thank you for having taken the time to post your comments. It is our philosophy to ensure that we provide our guests with good standards of product and service at all times. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly on customerservices@lhalondon.com to expand on exactly what was the issue with the bathrooms and shower , (they are cleaned daily in the morning ) and the room being humid (did you report reception on both cases ? as we could have maybe helped right away) so we can investigate the matter in the best way possible. We do provide English breakfast on weekend Saturday and croissant Sunday.Monday to Friday we offer 4 type of cereal (muesli , porridge , cornflakes , Kellogg's rice krispies ) , 2 choices milk, tea, coffee, marmalade, jams brown/white bread With kindest regards Regards Lenny Stella House Manager

  • camilasantos
  • Brazil, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th Apr 2017
9.1

The best is the localisation because you can walk to coach station or underground and there is bus stop near as well. I stayed in a 3 bed room and it was ok, comfortable, warm and with a big locker. Bathrooms and toilets were a little old and some them were not very clean. Simple but good breakfast. I would stay there again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest ,Many thanks for your review of your recent stay at the Holland House. We are very pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay, and appreciate you taking the time to let us know. We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Holland House in the near future.Yours sincerely, Lenny House Manager

  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
2nd Apr 2017
8.9

The hostel and staff are amazing. Staff are friendly and always willing to help. The hostel in general is perfect (there's not a common area for socialization, but it is not a problem), the only tips that I have are: 1 - Breakfast time could last until 9:30 or 10:00 in the morning (during the week) 2 - Bathroom with more hangers I loved the place and I recommend it!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest, Following your recent stay here at Holland House , I would like to thank you for having taken the time to post your comments. It is our philosophy to ensure that we provide our guests with good standards of product and service at all times. I am delighted to know that you enjoyed your visit and I have shared your feedback with all my team. I've taken all your suggestions on board too With kindest regards Regards Lenny Stella House Manager

  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
21st Feb 2017
9.4

The receptionist who checked us in was really nice. The twin private room is awesome. This hostel is also very clean compared to the others. Free breakfast and cheap dinner indeed saved us a lot of money. The only drawback was that there were no shampoo or body wash provided in the shower; other than this, everything was amazing. If I ever return to London, this will be my top choice for sure.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest, Following your recent stay here at Holland House , I would like to thank you for having taken the time to post your comments. It is our philosophy to ensure that we provide our guests with good standards of product and service at all times. I am delighted to know that you enjoyed your visit and I have shared your feedback with all my team. With kindest regards Regards Lenny Stella House Manager

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.