X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Hollywood Youth Hostel Reviews

6820 Hollywood Blvd, Los angeles, Los Angeles, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
1015 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 74%Security
  • 97%Location
  • 82%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 76%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

I don't know why this place has so many bad reviews we stayed here for 3 nights and if we hadn't already booked our onward travel would have liked to stay longer. The staff were friendly and helpful. The coffee and common room with wifi were very handy and the location is unbeatable. I read a lot about the lockers being unreliable which is very untrue they were safe and big enough to fit my entire luggage in. And no I did not get bitten by bed bugs. Would definitely stay again

  • 14th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

좀시끄러워요. 위치는짱!!!


74%

good location. Staff was really kind and helpful. but rooms are little bit smelly... Overall, it was good. but one this that i disappointed is someone stole my stuff which is in frige. Do not stay ur stuff in it. There is no security camera in the kichen.


69%

Hollywood youth hostel is perfect if you want to party, have fun and meet a lot of other travelers like yourself. Facilities are not top, but it matches the price range for the stay. Location is perfect as it is placed in central Hollywood at the Dolby Theater, so it's nearby shopping, grocerystores, bars, discos and sights.


77%

Nice location but fairly poor conditions. Weak Wifi and no towels and shampoo for bathroom.

  • 7th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Goed verblijf midden in Hollywood, jammer dat de Wi-Fi het niet altijd heeft gedaan

  • 6th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

the manager and volunteer staff were all awesome ppl, definitely the best hostel ive ever stayed. felt like home


80%

We stayed here for 6 nights and it was right in the middle of Hollywood blvd which was really cool. The building was really cool, but the way they painted the walls was a little weird. The people were nice, and the bathrooms were communal and big (gender separated of course), and the showers were pretty good. The only thing that sucked was the wifi wasn't reliable and the lockers were 25 cents to lock again every time you opened them. We enjoyed out time here and the price was right!


74%

The mattress is just a piece of foam not comfortable at all.... I had a terribly sore back after sleeping on them. For most my stay there was no wifi! It just never worked I know there is a lot of people using it but maybe invest in better connection status and more modems . The staff where all nice although whilst staying I witnessed a manager yelling at an employee or volunteer at the front desk which I found to be rather un proffessional.


91%

Everything was excellent!!!!!!Staff, rooms, bathrooms, kitchen, hangout are, activities, everything!!!

  • 4th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Nice place


86%

Really good location and good public transport around the area. Would stay there again.

  • 2nd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

The location is good (just in the middle of Walk Of Fame). The place is rather clean. If you want to go to Universal Studios (which I strongly recommend), this is the place that you should stay!

  • 1st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

While the location is clearly the best part of this place, there are lots of amazing elements at play. The place is very clean for a hostel, in fact the cleanest hostel I have ever stayed at. The staff is beyond knowledgeable, especially Aaron and Ari who work the front desk (ask for them). And the party environment is PERFECT, everyone loves going out, and we all get close like family.


100%

The Hollywood Youth Hostel is a great value for your money! The location is flat out the BEST in Hollywood in the middle of everything!! A fun atmosphere with event nights and incredible tours of Hollywood... and a friendly staff help make it a great time. I'd definitely recommend this hostel if you're visiting LA, on a budget, and looking to get the biggest bang for your buck!

  • 30th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


77%

Decent place, not a great location as its pretty noisy at night (clubs and police sirens)


83%

我住的是六人房.只有一條延長電線.只有兩床下鋪的人才使用方便.全部的人都要到這個位置才能充電.而且電扇只有一台.太熱了.

  • 24th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • All Female Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Absolutely the best hostel experience ever. Staff was amazing!


100%

Fantastic!! That was amazing. Nice staffs. Best location there is center at the Hollywood!! I recommend 100%


69%

Has the potential to be much better. The staff let the place down by being unknowledgeable and generally unhelpful, especially in regards to tourism advice. Group activities were also poorly executed and the atmosphere in the common area wasn't great when I was there. My room got extremely hot (summer) and there was no air conditioning (granted, that might be asking too much for a hostel). On the plus, excellent location, good facilities (showers, laundry, rooms, pool table).


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(96 results)


View all Los Angeles Hostels

Please give us your feedback