Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Home Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.5
Very Good 937 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 6.5
  • Facilities 6.8
BOOK NOW
7.5
Very Good 937 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 6.5
  • Facilities 6.8
Home Backpackers Located at 54-58 Caledonian Road, Kings Cross, London.
Home Backpackers
England
London N1 9DP 54-58 Caledonian Road, Kings Cross
75% 937
51.5323482 -0.1199913
Home Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
20th Aug 2016
6.3

My friend and I stayed here for 2 nights. It was ok, located about 5 mins walk from Kings Cross station. The room we had was an 8 bed mix dorm, there was very little space to put your luggage and the room itself was small so it was rather messy. The breakfast was standard, nice and tasty though. Kitchen was small but sufficient. Bathrooms were OK, enough toilets and showers spread around the hostel, so we didn't have to wait and they were relatively clean.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • China, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
12th Aug 2016
9.7

Good place, close to station, easy to find. People are nice, good experience.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
12th Aug 2016
7.4

Hostel itself was nice with friendly and helpful staff. The other guests were more noisy than Ive ever experienced before at a hostel - the room next to us had a very loud party with booze and techno music that cut through everything, despite the hostels no alcohol policy.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
9th Aug 2016
7.4

Great location is you need to use kings cross and the staff were really helpful. But my issue with the place is that I had no room to sit up in my bed I was on top bunk and found it really hard to get into bed and would be able to sit up as they had 3 bunks piled up instead of the usual two. Also the showers had a shared changing area which was a bit awkward for me. Security was good with a code for main door and dorm room with optional lockers (you have to pay for them) free breakfast good too.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
6th Aug 2016
10.0

The hostel is in a great location with 24hrs transports, very easy to get to the airport or to any other UK City, nice bunch of pubs bars and restaurants nearby, the room and bathrooms were always clean, and staff was helpful and friendly, the atmosphere was nice as if it was all a big family, just felt very welcome from the biginning, and I would love to go back there again. Comparing to other hostels I 've been before this was def a great value for money.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
6th Aug 2016
9.7

Great place and great location. The best thing was the Tess the front desk, she was super nice and helpful. The bunkbeds weren't the most comfortable and it'd have been convenient if both male and female bathrooms were on each floor.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
3rd Aug 2016
7.4

Good hostel but only good thing about it was the location. Rooms are super squishy, don't expect to have any floor space to actually walk on! Also the showers were so small and you couldn't even get dressed in them as they were so small. Had to walk out into the hallway to change! Anyways this is all kind of okay because they have a cat - Charlie - so it makes up for it!!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello there, Sorry that you did not find the space accommodating whilst you were here. We do the best with what space we have in our hostel. There is a spacious common room and a kitchen if you felt you need more space. We will be sure Charlie gets rewarded for his excellent work he does in this hostel. Hope too see you again! Journeys Staff.

  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Jul 2016
2.0

Worst hostel I've ever been in. I requested 4 dorm and got a 15 dorm bit of a difference. The rooms were dirty and smelly. Staff were terrible

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Jul 2016
7.7

If you think you'll be spending a lot of time in your dorm room then I'd book a private room because the 17 bed dorm was very crowded, triple bunks don't have much space and since there are no lockers for big luggage it was all heaped on the floor so you could barely move. However since I really only slept in there it was fine, free breakfast had a good selection and kitchen facilities let's you cut down on eating out. For the location it's great

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello there, Thanks for leaving us a review. We are happy that you enjoyed the breakfast and the kitchen facilities. We do provide a luggage room which is free to use during your stay. Hope to see you again! Journeys Staff.

25th Jul 2016
6.9

The hostel is really cramped but the staff are really good people and are ready to accommodate at your interest! Overall my experience I. This hostel was good with respect to staff receiving, location, transportation But with respect to cleaniness and space the hostel is not upto the mark

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, We are glad you enjoyed your stay at our hostel and we appreciate you leaving a review. Our staff try there best to keep the hostel clean by checking the public rooms every 2 hours. We are here 24/7 at reception so if you ever had any issues with cleanliness our team will always being will to help. Take care, Journeys Staff.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.