Hostelworld.com

Home Backpackers

Prices
map
reviews
6.6
Good 432 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.4
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 5.6
  • Cleanliness 4.9
  • Facilities 5.4
BOOK NOW
6.6
Good 432 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.4
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 5.6
  • Cleanliness 4.9
  • Facilities 5.4
Home Backpackers Located at 238 Elizabeth St, , Sydney.
Home Backpackers
Australia
Sydney New South Wales NSW 238 Elizabeth St
66% 432
-33.8809799 151.2088894
Home Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Mar 2016
4.6

Dirty, noisy and not a pleasant place to stay! A shame as not all hostels are like this one! I would find somewhere else next time

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
10th Mar 2016
5.4

One of the worst hostels I've stayed in so far. Although bath, kitchen and linen provided was clean, it felt as the hostel was dirty due to battered walls and floors. Very tight corridors and really small rooms. There was nowhere to sit, so I had to stand in the kitchen, eating my breakfast. The mattress was really uncomfortable because the bed springs were poking in my back. Barely met people as well. One of the cheaper hostels in Sydney, but better pay a bit more money than staying there!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
7th Mar 2016
8.0

Bedrooms had lockers and the place seemed secure despite being on a busy road. The tv room was a bit limited but I was on b side. Internet was good. There was no air con which sometimes in Sydney you can get away with but it was particularly hot these days. The kitchen was a bit cramped too. Staff were nice and overall a pleasant stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • christynorth16
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
5th Mar 2016
6.0

Room was filthy and very hot. One toilet and one shower to a whole floor. Shower was a trickle of either burning hot or ice cold water. The only thing going for this hostel is itsprice and location. I would not recommend. The worst hostel I have stayed in anywhere in the world.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
1st Mar 2016
6.6

The bed was uncomfortable and the room was dirty and really hot (no windows in a room for 8 people).

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
26th Feb 2016
6.6

Pretty filthy hostel literally watched a cockroach walk down the corridor! Another major fault is at least in the b side of the hostel there was not enough bathrooms/showers. However the staff were really pleasant giving us advice on what to do in Sydney and allowing us to sit in the common area whilst we waited for our coach. In addition to this the location is pretty decent with the station a short walk away Making the centre and bondi beach easily accessible.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
26th Feb 2016
7.1

It is a bit grungy but perhaps it's just old. The shower i used was either hot or cold and a weak spray. But i just needed a bed for one night as I caught an early train.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Feb 2016
5.4

Room was terrible, I thought the bunk above me was going to collapse. It was the hottest room I have ever stayed in and the facilities were awful.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Feb 2016
4.0

I stayed recently and had seen a few mixed reviews so decided to give it a chance.. what a mistake that was! We stayed in a 6 bed dorm in a room that should probably only have 2 beds inside so you can actually move around. It was a complete mess, never got cleaned properly and was so hot you could barely sleep! There was only 3 toilets and showers to at least 35 beds so having a showers etc is a massive problem. The kitchen is absolutely tiny and hot, lots of cockroaches. $33 a night is a joke!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
22nd Jan 2016
8.3

The hostel could provide more bathrooms to customers.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your feedback. I’m sorry that you didn't feel we had enough bathrooms in the hostel. Due to the building not being purpose built we have had to use the facilities previously installed. We have numerous bathrooms ( toilets and showers ) across the two sides of the building, but with all hostels at peak times these can be busy. We appriciate your feedback and hope you enjoy the rest of your travels.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.