Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Home Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.6
Good 463 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.6
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 7.4
  • Atmosphere 5.7
  • Cleanliness 5.2
  • Facilities 5.7
BOOK NOW
6.6
Good 463 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.6
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 7.4
  • Atmosphere 5.7
  • Cleanliness 5.2
  • Facilities 5.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
20th Apr 2017
6.9

Good location, easy walk to the Opera House and Harbour. Lots of workers staying here so not much atmosphere, lots of people had early nights so you had to creep around from early on.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
10th Apr 2017
8.6

Had a really nice stay there. The location is awesome neat central and the people in the hostel are very nice. Free Unlimited wifi which works really good. Only problem was the small kitchen and maybe that the showers weren't too good. Overall a really nice stay!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
1st Apr 2017
5.7

stayed with some very loud and crazy people who brought their friend back to the room and was so drunk even took off clothes to show people around.. they seemed like they were staying long term in this hostel. made the room completely dirty and noisy. the beds were awful always made loud sounds whenever someone move. you have to go to different floor to use the bathroom and toilet was a big inconvenient for me. would only recommend people who are on very tight budget and don't mind the details.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
1st Apr 2017
7.1

Wifi doesn't work unless you're in the hallway, the mattresses are a bit uncomfortable (you can feel the springs). Small kitchen (it is a hallway), however, it is a nice place to stay with a good TV room that plays good movies. It's nothing fancy but it does the trick, man. I wouldn't say it's worth 30 a night, but it's alright.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Mar 2017
6.0

I wouldn' stay here stay again. There was loud music playing, I went to reception the next morning to as to move, the women who was friendly the whole time i was there and was the only member of staff who was so. The music continued until 2 am one night. Some of the staff were so rude, went down to reception to say internet wasn't working and needed a new code and the women was so rude to me telling me it was working fine and continued to be rude the rest of my stay. Cockroaches in the room too

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Feb 2017
8.3

It's good location and staff are fentastic

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to leave us review. Great to hear you enjoyed your stay and the staff treated you well. We hope to see you again in the future and hope you enjoy the rest of your travels. Home Backpackers Team

22nd Feb 2017
4.6

Sucks, but thanks for pizza.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi,Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Great to hear you got to enjoy the Free Pizza Wednesday, Home also offers Pancakes Saturday and Sundays from 8am-10am. Sorry your experience has a review of "Sucks" I read your folio and found no complaints or interaction with reception. Reception is open 8am-8pm and night manager to help with any issues and try and make all guests have a comfortable stay. Thank you safe travels. Home Backpackers Team

  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Feb 2017
4.3

Stayed in a private room for a week, wouldn't recommend staying here. Rooms were ridiculously hot and the only thing in the room was a loud fan blowing around the hot air. The kitchen facilities were very outdated, found multiple cockroaches in the toilets and the whole place just felt really old. The only thing going for this place is the location.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Feb 2017
7.4

My room window outside is an aircon outlet from another building which create high pitch noise 24 hrs a day.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • saraho_malley1429
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Dec 2016
10.0

Staff were super lovely and made sure no question was left unanswered when providing keys. Stayed in a private room, with a double bunk bed (single bunk on top). Only downside is no air con in the room, fan and window but otherwise an amazing room and awesome place to stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

HI, Thank you for your taking the time and leaving us a review. Hope you enjoy the rest of your holidays and we hope to see you again soon. Home Backpackers Team

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.