X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Home Backpackers Reviews

238 Elizabeth St, Sydney, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

62%

Rating
390 Total Reviews
  • 56%Value For Money
  • 64%Security
  • 79%Location
  • 76%Staff
  • 51%Atmosphere
  • 50%Cleanliness
  • 56%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

Cheery, helpful staff and really handy location next to central station. They really need to provide duvets in winter - the thin blanket I got was not much help! Filthy kitchen when I arrived in the evening but staff obviously cleaned it well as it was spotless in the morning, shame people can't clean up after themselves.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review. Sydney is extremely cold at the moment and we have recently purchased more blankets to try and rememdy this issue. If you had of let the staff know we could have moved you to another room or provided some extra blankets. I am sorry that the kitchen was messy on your arrival. We have cleans through the day and evening to try and stem this issue, but on occasion the messy guests win! We hope that you enjoy the rest of your travels!

23%

we have problems with this accommodation; the room wasn't as showed in your website fotos, it was cold and unclean (there were insects) . The only positive aspect is the central position of the ostel.

  • 18th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

the hostel is overall alright. nothing is too bad. the location is just perfect. it has wifi. Staff was generally polite and nice. However I found the place a bit dirty and atmosphere is poor. Nothing is done for the customers to get together or to have fun. Mostly working visa guys are staying there for a while.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your feedback with regards to the hostel and your stay. I am concerned that you found the hostel dirty. We have a cleaning team that work in the morning, the kitchen and shared facilities are checked through the day and we have evening cleans of the communal areas. We have events through the week and i am sorry that you weren't informed about these. Highlights are the free pizza on a thurs and the pancakes on sat and sunday morning! always gets everyone together!

71%

The staff was good, however the do not keep the bags of people that check out late and the security for those bags that are leave in there is really por.


66%

Certainly not a flash-packers but what I expected really. Often untidy and unvacuumed in the hallways but no problem. Some hand soap in the first floor toilet would be nice.... The upstairs toilets did and so did the shower so not sure why it didn't even have a dispenser.


69%

Great staff. Great location. Kitchen too small. They need to organise a room with tables and chairs to eat and chat...

  • 5th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


66%

The location is awesome. Other than that, everything was just average. Don't really wanna stay there again though.




View all Sydney Hostels

Please give us your feedback