Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Home Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.1
Very Good 481 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.0
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 6.4
  • Cleanliness 5.6
  • Facilities 6.2
BOOK NOW
7.1
Very Good 481 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.0
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 6.4
  • Cleanliness 5.6
  • Facilities 6.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Aug 2017
9.1

Friendly staff at receotion, answered any questions I had and even provided a band aid. Easy travel to and from the airport and being close to Central station made getting around the city quite convenient. Reasonably clean and quiet and was happy to learn about pancakes on the weekend. Only concerns would be the kitchen was small and the elements heated up slowly. Otherwise a good stay and value for money. Will definitely stay there again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Aug 2017
7.4

Really a very going value for a big-city hostel----this is a bit of an older facility, narrow stairways, no lift, but the kitchen, shower and restroom areas all very adequate, relatively clean, hot water available. The street (Elizabeth) the hostel is located on is quite commercial and plenty of places to shop, drink, dine, etc. Hyde Park is just North of here, and the train station very close. Thanks to Mgr. Troy and his staff, Ashley, Nicole, Julia and Anton-----you were fantastic! Rich

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Its great to hear your enjoyed your stay with us and the location of the hostel. We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels. From The Home Backpackers Team

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
4th Jul 2017
7.1

Good quiet and peaceful. Friendly staff

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Great to hear you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again. Home Backpackers Team

  • Anonymous
  • India, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th May 2017
4.0

A Big Big "No". This is the worst place ever been to. They don't have blankets for their guests. Single power point in room between 4 guys? Rooms sting bad as staff's behaviour is. If someone has already used shower, wait for 20 mins or put up with cold water. Don't use this hostel please.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We have blankets at reception for a deposit of $20 which will be returned at departure. We use a deposit system due to other guests taking the blankets. I had a look what room you were in and there are 4 power points and a power board. I am sorry if someone else was being greedy during your stay and using them all. Our reception is open 8am-8pm and we have a night manager to handle any issues or discomforts for guests. I seen you were on A side of the building which has two male showers, two female showers and 3 uni sex showers and we also have showers and bathrooms on the B side of the building. We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels. Thank you from the Home Backpackers Team

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
20th Apr 2017
6.9

Good location, easy walk to the Opera House and Harbour. Lots of workers staying here so not much atmosphere, lots of people had early nights so you had to creep around from early on.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

HI, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Home is located 7 minute walk to central station, 15 minutes to paddy markets/china town, 20 minutes to darling Harbor, 45 minutes walk to The Harbor Bridge. We literally have the city on our door step which makes it so easy for our guests to see the City. Hope you enjoy the rest of your travels. Home Backpackers Team

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Apr 2017
6.0

My friend and I went there during the study break for 3 nights. It was okay for 3 nights, but I would not stay there for a longer period. You do not get a ,,real" blanket.. more like a thin scarf or cover, so it can get cold at night. We were in a 8 dorm female room with a own bathroom... but the room itself has no windows! This was horrible, because the room is always dark and you have to leave the bathroom door open to have a bit fresh air. However, location is good and staff is helpful.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
10th Apr 2017
8.6

Had a really nice stay there. The location is awesome neat central and the people in the hostel are very nice. Free Unlimited wifi which works really good. Only problem was the small kitchen and maybe that the showers weren't too good. Overall a really nice stay!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
1st Apr 2017
5.7

stayed with some very loud and crazy people who brought their friend back to the room and was so drunk even took off clothes to show people around.. they seemed like they were staying long term in this hostel. made the room completely dirty and noisy. the beds were awful always made loud sounds whenever someone move. you have to go to different floor to use the bathroom and toilet was a big inconvenient for me. would only recommend people who are on very tight budget and don't mind the details.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
1st Apr 2017
7.1

Wifi doesn't work unless you're in the hallway, the mattresses are a bit uncomfortable (you can feel the springs). Small kitchen (it is a hallway), however, it is a nice place to stay with a good TV room that plays good movies. It's nothing fancy but it does the trick, man. I wouldn't say it's worth 30 a night, but it's alright.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Mar 2017
6.0

I wouldn' stay here stay again. There was loud music playing, I went to reception the next morning to as to move, the women who was friendly the whole time i was there and was the only member of staff who was so. The music continued until 2 am one night. Some of the staff were so rude, went down to reception to say internet wasn't working and needed a new code and the women was so rude to me telling me it was working fine and continued to be rude the rest of my stay. Cockroaches in the room too

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.