X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Home Hostel Reviews

No. 21, Che Niandian Hutong, An Dingmen nei Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing, China

Reviews & Ratings Explained

76%

Rating
236 Total Reviews
  • 75%Value For Money
  • 80%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 78%Staff
  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 67%Cleanliness
  • 68%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

49%

Never have we ever experienced something like Home Hostel - In China.... We arrived 2 hours after expected - which isn't unusual as a backpacker - only to find out that they had cancelled our reservation. Instead they lodged us in the staff's room. It was packed with stuff and smelled like a hamster cage. Altogether we had to switch rooms three times and our air conditioner didn't work. Also there are cats EVERYWHERE, and the staff isn't all that polite. Hmmmmmmm.....


94%

It was a little hard to find at first, a little off the beaten path, but that's what we liked! It was in the middle of everything, but not noisy.Great amenities, always willing to help.


57%

While the location was excellent and the staff was very helpful, the hostel itself was extremely dirty. The rooms were filled with garbage, and even when we nicely asked for the room to be cleaned, they picked up the garbage but did not empty the trash cans or acceptably clean the bathrooms, etc.

  • 19th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Very friendly staff, recommended place for young people (generally student-aged guests and staff). Location in a lively Hutong area, lots of small restaurants nearby. Close to the popular Gulou area.


69%

I thought that this place was definitely worth the price I paid: $10/night. And thus it was quite average, tending towards not that good. The air conditioner in my room was either broken or had no remote, so it was 40 degrees at night, which made it horrible for sleeping. Also, there seems to only be one bathroom for the whole hostel, which wasn't that big a deal, but it was rather far away from my dorm. I did think that the common area/lobby was really nice, and the location is also very cool.


100%

The staff at this hostel was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were simple and a great value for our money. We were very comfortable and felt safe.The hostel is on a very narrow side street so there was no traffic noise.

  • 17th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

great location: in hutongs, close to the subway station (5min) and city attractions - big room with comfortable bed, tv and air-conditioner

  • 17th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Iceland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Once you find the hostel, the location ist great for travelers who visit Beijing for the first time since it is very near to the typical sightseeing attractions like 南锣鼓巷. The staff is really caring and helping.

  • 17th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

room clean and quiet enough, no trick and hidden fees, there was direction of main attraction on the wall along the stairs, staff speak english

  • 17th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

I seldom give feedback on a hotel, but this place is remarcable on both service and cleanliness! I really recommend it and definitely will come back again!

  • 17th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Relatively close to subway In a traditional hutong alley way Clean room

  • 17th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

the best hostel in beijing.

  • 17th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

The staff were always so friendly, always easy to find someone to help and give good suggestions of itineraries

  • 17th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Convenient location. Very close to all the big sites, and great tours to sites further away. Great for making friends. Staff was very friendly and spoke good english

  • 17th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Simon, the manager, is very helpful in explaining where and how to go.

  • 17th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


43%

When I booked the room via hostelworld, they charged me 17% of the value (which is expected), but the hostel charged me full price again when I arrived, even though I tried to explain that I have already paid 17% during booking. The staff could not speak English well to understand what I was saying. When I left, I asked the staff o call a cab for me, he refused and told me get one myself, I end up going to the street and waving to get a cab and using google translator to communicate.


60%

pros: lobby/bar looks great; close to alot of small and nice restaurants con: beds were dirty; facilities smelled horrible (had to buy additional room spray), but this might be a general problem in beijing; only one staff member spoke any english (very little) at all


57%

The staff was nice, but their English was very poor. You have to pay extra fee for a towel and the bathroom was not good at all.


49%

This hostel is very dirty. There are cockroach in the room, the bathroom stinks and there are no paper. I definitively don't recommend the Home Hostel.


63%

Mixed experiences here. First and last stop on the trip. First time was great! Friendly staff were really nice! Second time wasn't so good and ended up cancelling our booking. Grumpy staff and they had changed the layout of the hostel so that the mixed en suite dorms were in the worst room. Really grubby. Brilliant location though! Right in a load of "off the beaten track" Hutongs


« first « Prev 1 2
(31 results)


View all Beijing Hostels

Please give us your feedback