X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Home Made Hostel Reviews

Teréz krt. 22. 1/7 (Oktogon), Budapest, Hungary

Reviews & Ratings Explained

93%

Rating
1622 Total Reviews
  • 94%Value For Money
  • 93%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 93%Staff
  • 93%Atmosphere
  • 94%Cleanliness
  • 90%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Super friendly and helpful staff. A true little gem. Home from home, but with funkier people and surroundings. Epic stay!

  • 22nd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

woooo! loved it! really friendly place and very homely :)


97%

Very good location and good value fot money. Nice staff and good atmosphere!


89%

Great location in Oktogon with lots of shops on the street. Metro station only a few minutes away and Nyugati station is not too far away either. Beds were nice, staff were friendly and kind to answer all my questions. The 4 bed dorm room was spacious, free wifi in the rooms and plug outlets for each bed. The outside of the building (beyond the big door) was dark and kind of scary for me (as a young female) at night. But it wasn't a big deal. Overall I would highly recommend.

  • 9th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Excellent staff! Really felt like home. Very good location.

  • 6th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Peru
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

I stayed at this hostel several times and it is a wonderful hostel. There are no bunk beds and the kitchen is well equipped. Pub crawl is a nice idea to meet other travelers.


97%

Our stay was pleasant: the staff was very helpful and congenial, the beds were very comfortable, location was excellent so we almost didn't have to use public transport.. All in all, we are looking forward to our next stay! :)

  • 2nd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

so cozy, really! staff was very kind location is not bad


100%

I loved this hostel, I felt very comfortable and at home during my entire stay.

  • 28th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

It is a very stylish hostel with extremely helpful staff. One thing to mention is that this place is actually quite small so if you are looking for a really lively atmosphere, this is not quite the place.


100%

It's the best hostel we've ever stayed! The receptions are very kind, they explained everything we need to know and even they taught us how to speak Hungarian, thank you guys, Chris and Vivien!!! And once Vivien asked me to go back to Budapest once again, we said, why not?

  • 26th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

So so lovely!!! Coolest rooms and nicest staff would definitely stay here again!! Walking distance to just about everywhere and right outside the oktogon metro :)

  • 19th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Really cute little hostel ideally located right near Oktogon. Security is really great, there is a code both for the building and the hostel itself and there is someone at the front desk 24/7. The staff were all super friendly and helpful, gave me maps and recommended a few free walking tours as well as pointing out grocery stores nearby. Although I didn't use it much, the kitchen looked fully stocked and they had free coffee and tea available for everybody. The 8-bed dorm was cute and cozy.


100%

The perfect place is if you want to escape from the big hostel chains that seem to dominate most of Europe. The staff were extremely friendly, and you even get a proper bed (no bunks!). There are great kitchen facilities and the bathrooms are separate and the showers are great. Very central to everything, and walking distance to all major attractions. I couldn't rate this place high enough for people to go and stay!


83%

No doubt one of the most beautiful hostels I've stayed in. A bit cramped in the large dorms. Good wifi throughout hostel. Lots of opportunities to talk to staff and perhaps make friends with them. Not much space for keeping to yourself. Good washrooms, decent kitchen.


89%

Recommended from a friend, and was even better than expected! Large room and helpful staff. Great place to stay for the weekend.

  • 13th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Hostel is VERY small as stated in other reviews. Interesting dorm set up but strange the place allows families with children to hang out in dorm spaces. Even though the hostel is small, it was weird connecting to other guests. It felt as though you were obligated to say hello only because you were literally brushing elbows. Staff are young and cliquey. Don't offer much to create a fun space in the hostel...they chat amongst themselves. VERY clean.


100%

Amazing little gem of a hostel, highly recommend it!!


100%

One of the nicest hostels i've visited. Feels like home. People are very welcoming and eager to help. Absolutely recommendable

  • 3rd Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Home Made Hostel is lovely and so unique! The staff are great and the atmostphere there is fab. Plus comfy beds and the place is spotless. Only drawbacks - it is small so can feel cramped and there probably aren't enough bathrooms if the place is full. Still, I loved my stay!


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(44 results)


View all Budapest Hostels

Please give us your feedback