Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Home Travelers - Athinaikon

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.3
Very Good 353 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.0
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 6.3
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 6.7
BOOK NOW
7.3
Very Good 353 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.0
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 6.3
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 6.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
11th Jul 2017
3.4

On arriving to this place we were told that our booking had been cancelled due to a credit card that was invalid ( deposit was taken from my account), even though we had received a confirmation email. They also tried to tell us that they sent us a email to notify us of the cancelation, after checking my emails I could not find anything of this nature. We wended up with a worst room for more money that had a terrible odour! DEFINITELY WOULD AVOID THIS PLACE ITS A PEICE OF SH*T.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Jun 2017
3.1

Sketchy hotel and location.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jun 2017
4.0

Only a little worse than expected for the price

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, All Female Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
9th Jun 2017
8.3

Adequate good stay for a few nights. Friendly and helpful receptionist Peter. Location is great, walking distance to all interesting places like Monasteraki square, Ermou shopping street, Plaka neighborhood and the Acropolis. The room is a bit small but kept clean. The bed is comfy. Air-con works but has a bit of moldy smell. Great WiFi. They keep your luggage, which is nice. The negative thing is that the bathroom has no enclosed shower wall/curtain so water will run everywhere.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Jun 2017
7.7

It's inexpensive but good for the money.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
6th Jun 2017
6.6

Fine for a place to sleep, but the rooms are very small and the bathroom just had a shower head attached to the wall, no real shower. It is more like a hotel than a hostel, so don't expect any atmosphere or anything. It is just a place to stay, nothing special about it

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
6th Jun 2017
9.7

Friendly staff. Nice rooms, although a little small. Decent location--within walking distance of everything. We had a nice stay here!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
5th Jun 2017
6.3

Good location, close to all the important points, even though the street of the hotel is kind of ugly. But the room is very small anf simple and at the toilet the "shower" was conected to the sink. Very disapointed specially because of the high reviews. For this price you can find much better places.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest, thank you for your feedback and stay. The price paid was less than 30e per night for room with private bathroom., from tracking prices and from what i know there is no price like this in the area so please allow me to disagree. Evripidou street is unique for its shops with spices back from the early 1900s popular to locals. Thank you again Athinaikon Hotel

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
29th May 2017
6.0

Location was excellent but rooms were too small and airless. I found myself claustrophobic and anxious and asked for a change of room which was not forthcoming until the last night. Probably would be OK for a 2 night stay but not for 7 nights.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
25th May 2017
9.4

Amazing location, lovely staff. Very easy to get to on the train from the port of you're getting the ferry and easy to navigate to and from the airport again via train. Walking distance from acropolis and very close to some great restaurants.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks again for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback hopw to see you again!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.