X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Home Travellers Motel- St Kilda Reviews

32 Carlisle Street, St Kilda, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

77%

Rating
775 Total Reviews
  • 72%Value For Money
  • 77%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 67%Cleanliness
  • 70%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Good time Good things: location, easy to meet people, staff were multi-lingual Bad things: kick out at 11pm (although i appreciated it when i had to get up early), no lockers in rooms


77%

Best hostel in the world to make friends... Always attracts awesome people. Really comfortable beds and all dorms are ensuite. Could not recommend this hostel more. Only downside is that they close it down at 11pm, including the kitchen and living room.


54%

The carpet and therefore the room smelled disgusting, so it was hard to sleep without a open window. If the window was opened though, it was quite loud because the outside common area was just beneath the window and nobody (neither staff nor other tenants) seemend to care about being quiet after 10pm. Apart from that, on the first morning of our stay the receptionist told us that somebody needs to see our room at 11am to measure the windows. Good things: free brekkie, the area

  • 27th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Really amazing hostel. The location is probably the best in St Kilda and the staff are brilliant. The rooms and bathrooms are cleaned every day, the kitchen is good, plenty of fridge and shelf space and it's normally easy to find a time to cook. This is the most social hostel I've ever stayed in, there's always something happening but it always ends at 11pm which means you can get to sleep if you want! Anyone coming to Melbourne, long or short term should definitely stay here! Rob


86%

I am afraid of St. Kilda but i stay here anyway because the area is many fun people. At this hostel i find great friends and the staff were friends too! There is very secure, safe and many cleaning, very close to beach and fun place. It is cheap but sometimes there is a dirt in my room but it is always soon gone with the noise at late! Had many fun here and will love it here again!

  • 26th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

I really liked this hostel. It was certainly the best hostel I have been in Melbourne. Great people, close location to the beach and other attractions and a very friendly staff as well. If I get back to Melbourne I will book for this hostel again.

  • 21st Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Great joint, easy to make friends to travel or hang out with, and the staff have set up the place with a great vibe. It's nothing too fancy, but the mattresses are hella comfy and it's quiet enough to get a few hours sleep at night.

  • 19th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


51%

This place is a complete dirt hole. Stayed in 8 bed dorm and apparently that wasn't enough because there was a person sleeping on the filthy floor. Didn't notice him until until a phone turned on and woke me up. It was my phone plugged in and his hands were right close to it maybe guessing my password. IDK. But I didn't leave it like that. The kitchen closes at 10pm and the internet costs money. The air quality was unbearable I couldn't sleep. Just stay away!

  • 15th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
So sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay. However I'm very disappointed that you've mentioned things that are not totally true. Our staff, actually our manager spoke to you in reception when you mentioned that someone was sleeping on the floor of your room, it was later found out that it was actually someone who was checked into that room and decided to use the floor rather than their bed, a little less comfortable I think! As for the air, it was 35'c so I guess your right, unbearable to some

66%

Mixed opinion... staff were all really friendly


94%

Had a great stay. One of the best hostels I have stayed in. Had a private room which was big and clean. Only complaint is I found the mattress uncomfortable but my partner didn't and if I really wanted to be picky I would say it is a bit tired and needs a lick of paint. Would recommend it to anyone.


86%

We were so lucky to get this place for our week in St Kilda, Melbourne, not 5 star but it had everything we needed in a great location at a very reasonable price.

  • 10th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

This place is a clean and nice hostel but do not expect to make friends here. It is super cliquey and not welcoming of newcomers. I did not feel comfortable going to the kitchen alone so just avoided it all together.


69%

Nice people and good location - close to st kilda beach and easy to have a nice chat in the kitchen, even if you're just there for one night. Nevertheless, sharing one bathroom with only one shower and toilet with all the others in your room isn't great fun if you're in a big dorm.


74%

The staff were friendly and informative. Good location by Luna Park and an easy tram journey to the centre of town. The room want the cleanest but overall it was ok. Wouldn't necessarily recommend the place or stay there again.


71%

The staff at this hostel were friendly and helpful. I liked how they enforced their policy of no loud noise after 11 p.m. It is close to shops and cafes on Acland St. and to the night markets and it's a quick tram ride into Melbourne. What I didn't like was that the kitchen didn't seem to have enough utensils and it seemed run down and it could have been cleaner.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for reviewing! I'm glad you enjoyed what St Kilda/Melbourne has to offer! We now have replenished ALL kitchenware (mugs, glasses, pots and pans, cutlery and sharp knives. You're right about the kitchen being a bit old and run down. There are plans to give it longer life once winter comes in and its a bit quieter (thus less guests to disrupt from their cooking).

66%

Bed was uncomfortable... time for new mattresses You guys need more kitchen supplies, there was never a coffee mug or much of anything

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry to hear about the discomfort caused by your mattress, you must have had an older mattress. None of our reception staff sleep here so we rely on feedback from our guests regarding this. Actually we have 10 brand new mattresses in storage for this reason. Thanks for the feedback regarding the kitchen, we have replenished ALL kitchen utensils (mugs, glasses, pots and pans, cutlery and sharp knives).

60%

We stayed in a double room, which was lovely. En-suite and had a fridge/microwave/tv in it. The kitchen is disgusting and never clean. The hostel is full of long-termers and we felt it was a bit cliquey. Maybe we felt this as we were in a double room though. The hostel has a party atmosphere in the evenings, but the staff are good at moving people on after 11pm. The location is good in st. kilda and easy enough to get into Melbourne's CBD.

Owner Comment (Hide)
That's great that you enjoyed the facilities of your room but it's a shame you saw the Kitchen in such a state. We try very hard to keep it looking presentable (staff cleaning it 4 or 5 times daily) but despite the kitchen being of relative size to the hostel- with108 people using it- we can only hope for the best but expect the worst of the slim few who refuse to do their dishes leaving it a mess for the next person in line.

74%

I can honestly say the staff were really friendly and helpful, it is a really friendly atmosphere i think because of the staff plus maybe good backpackers lol, the only thing i think is it's a little strict music has to stop at five pm

  • 30th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

There was a long stay person in our room each time we visited which was on 3 occasions over 2 weeks and they had no cupboard, shelf or underfed storage therefore there luggage was all over the floor reducing everyone in the rooms space and enjoyment. Lockers in the rooms I think are a must for a hostel when you are sharing rooms as you need security for your belongings. I did like the WiFi arrangements and the staff were fantastic, I also liked that the gates shut at ten.


100%

This hostel is awesome. Great location and atmosphere :) The staff have amazing knowledge of the area and Melbourne in general, they are very friendly and helpful. I would definitely recommend it, and will be staying here again when I return to Melbourne.

  • 17th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks! Stay any time. Looking forward to having you here again :D

« first « Prev 1 2
(34 results)


View all Melbourne Hostels

Please give us your feedback