X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Home Travellers Motel- St Kilda Reviews

32 Carlisle Street, St Kilda, Melbourne, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
843 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 80%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 79%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

69%

If staying in St. Kilda, has a great location close to main roads and the beach. The hostel itself felt more like a squatters house for kids looking to find work than a travelers hostel. No lockers. Everyone's stuff was everywhere (since 7 of my 8 roommates were basically living there at the time). Staff was helpful though and it's a pretty quick tram ride into the city center.


83%

Good hostel, lad called alex was good but the rest of the staff didn't seem bothered to help

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks Joe, I'm honored! But the the other guys are awesome too, I promise...except Dave, he eats babies.

100%

We loved staying here and were so sad to have to leave. Staff are super lovely and friendly and the layout of the hostel makes it extra easy to socialise and get to know everyone. See you again!

  • 6th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Stay here in st kilda for a community feel with real people. Felt so welcomed that you don't want to leave. Love from Ashley


97%

great! Very friendly staff, always willing to help you and a good atmosphere. also a great location. St. kilda is probably one of the best places to stay, near the beach and only 5 minutes walking for watching the pinguins. Had a good time here.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the kind words! Glad you had a good time and got to see the penguins, it's a great little secret location there (plus they don't always come out)!

91%

Spent a total of one night here and I have to say that the whole stay was awesome. Staff were friendly and happy to help out in any way possible, and the rooms were fine. Got what we paid for and more :)

  • 18th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Ey, thanks for the kind words, mate! Do stop by again some time :)

94%

we had the private room and was very happy it was clean and large really great and the staff were very helpful

  • 16th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


74%

Booked a private room, well equiped (freezer, Toaster, microwave, etc). But you could hear everything through the window and door, so it was a bit loud, but at 11pm everyone has to be quiet. The kitchen is very small and chaotic. You get to the city by tram very easy, only 15 minutes and a short walk to the beach.

  • 9th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


40%

Booking cancelled at the last minute (i.e. once we had arrived at the hostel) and the hostel arranged to put us in "Elwood Sands Motel" nearby which was described on the sheet of paper that had been left on the desk as a "sh**ty alternative".Once we found out how bad the alternative they had offered us was we insisted they move us somewhere else. They did this but it was not the same spec room even though we had asked if it was. Suspect they had taken another booking for more than our one night.


91%

Excellent staff. No lockers in the rooms, though. Good location and clean.


74%

Great backpacker in st Kilda, especially if you are looking for a quiet place to stay, no much party going on after 11pm ! Missing a safe box in the room otherwise everything is clean and fine for short or long stay !

  • 1st Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

As an "over 50" couple we were looked after by being roomed away from the communal area and as we were advised the staff made sure the other "younguns" were quietened down by 11 pm. Only downfall was having to park on the street for 2 of the 3 nights we stayed as the parking is limited

  • 13th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

I absolutely loved the open, friendly atmosphere. Everyone was very nice and laid-back. The staff was awesome and didn't mind having a bit of conversation. The kitchen and common rooms were very clean and I loved that there were bowls, and utensils you could use in the kitchen itself without having to give a deposit. The washrooms were alright but I would've liked to see another one in my room as it was a 12person dorm, or more public washrooms with showers. All in all, a wonderful hostel.


89%

All the staff are really nice and help you out if you have any problems. There's a nice atmosphere and it's great they put on a free BBQ every Sunday. Would def stay again!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the kind words! Look forward to your return :)

86%

Very friendly staff, good location in St Kilda, and very nice private room, at a decent price. Towels and fridge/coffee-tea included in the private rooms.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for the kind words. I'm glad you enjoyed the package, hopefully see you again :)

89%

All fine - would stay there again.

  • 19th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Love this place :)

  • 8th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are glad you enjoyed yourself :) :)

46%

When we arrived, we had to knock on the door for 15 minutes for someone to come and open, even though we had clearly stated that we would be arriving during the night. First the staff couldn't find our reservation, and then when we asked him all sorts of questions such as whether the room had security locks etc. he didn't knew. The sheets we got had mold on them and the windows couldn't close. It is cheap and have a great location, but i didn't feel safe at all.

  • 11th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
The confusion occurred because you both unfortunately booked to check in on the 11th July. You'll notice that if you book the 11th, this means the *night* of the 11th. You arrived late on the 10th July, as such the receptionist was not expecting you, and could not initially find your booking. Regardless of this,he checked you in 12hrs early so you could both rest after your long flight. In addition,we did not charge you for this extra night.Please be cautious of which dates you reserve in future

100%

Absolutely fantastic will be staying here again

  • 10th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Please do! The more the merrier :D:D:D

97%

Nice hostel with very friendly staf, willig to help at any time. It is in nice neigborhood, although little far from center, but trams work fine.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the feedback! We're always happy to hear back from people once they have continued on. Hope you both enjoyed the remainder of your Aussie trip :)

« first « Prev 1 2
(27 results)


View all Melbourne Hostels

Please give us your feedback