X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Home at The Mansion Reviews

66-90 Victoria Parade, Melbourne, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
1425 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

Great experience for the money and such a short stay!

  • 15th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

The staff were all extremely friendly ans welcoming and a fantastic place to meet people in a safe environment. Would definitely stay again.

  • 7th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Really good hostel especially compared to what australia has to offer! We had no problems and the additional activities put on are very good, I.e free drink etc.

  • 6th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

Hostel was great! Such an unique building. The inside was very clean. No deposits required for keys or blankets. Very clean rooms and cleanest bathrooms I've seen in Australia.

  • 5th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

The hostel is close to the tram, to the art part of Melbourne and really nice. You get one drink for free in the bar downstairs (no worries the bar close at ten). You have to pay for the internet ;(


74%

Very good hostel for location and staff are really helpful and friendly. Atmosphere was just not there, no communal area making it difficult to socialise with new people. Overall stay ok if you a just wanting a quick stay in the city and a good location.

  • 26th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Although I occupied a room above the downstairs cafe/bar (where there was lively music) I was pleasantly relieved when the place closed at 11. Very reasonable time to allow those who needed to to sleep.Clean, safe, friendly. Liked having an opening window, fan and tv supplied too.Thank you

  • 23rd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

Really awesome hostel! Staff are all super friendly and the bar downstairs is great. Really good showers and rooms and daily activities. The only down side is the expensive wifi.


91%

The best hostel I've ever stayed in! The staff is soooo friendly, and incredibly helpful, location is good, bathrooms are amazing. Clean and quiet. Not a party hostel at all. If you are looking for a good night sleep, Home at the mansion is the best!

  • 19th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

would go back there anytime, beats some sterile hotel room for 3x the price staff went out of their way to be nice and helpful, wish i had known about it earlier


71%

I actually didn't like this hostel, even though it's clean, has good facilities, and is in a good location, because it has very little personality. I thought a mansion would be more glamorous or funky or have some sort of hook, but the walls were practically all bare (and chipping), and the place felt uncared for and impersonal. It's also too big to really bring solo travelers together; I would only recommend this place if you're already travelling with others and just want a clean, close place.


100%

Really good hostel, one of the best in Melbourne!


69%

First Hostel where had to pay for wifi. Disappointing.


83%

I stayed at this hostel for 2 weeks. I was in a 4 bed dorm, the bed were very clean and comfortable and there was a very big window in the room, so it was well ventilated. Bathrooms were very good! Individual shower rooms, with shower door, hanging hooks, stool and mirror. The kitchen was quite big and full furnished! The staff was great, really helpful and friendly!!

  • 15th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

I really liked the hostel and people there but some things came up to my mind which I missed here. Free wifi would have been nice. I found it quite expensive to pay $ 4 per hour for using the computer. There is a possibility to do laundry and there are drying machines but I still wish there were clotheslines somewhere. There is a very good atmosphere and even people who have lived there before come to visit because they have met so nice people there. You always feel welcome to go there. :)

  • 15th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

Good atmosphere and nice location. A bit noisy at night with the traffic and wii fii a bit expencive for an hostel 3$/h.

  • 12th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

I had the most amazing experience here at Home At The Hostel. Wicked place, best location, amazing staff. It has such a fantastic atmosphere and very good facilities to use. Hot water and showers were reliable! The help I got on my first day by Sarskia was priceless and I was very very thankful. Will recommend to as many people as I know :-)

  • 7th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Atmosphere and location are good - i really enjoyed the whole mansion thing with lots of rooms and stuff. bedroom was great - comfy bed and a warm blanket. i only wish the bedrooms were a bit more quiet - i ended up sleeping at a room that had a window to the street and it was really loud, with lots of sirens and the life.


86%

10 Min walk to the pedestrian street, bars, clubs, restaurant. The bathrooms are clean and the staff is nice. One of the reception girls is almoust shouting, but you can deal with that :) The kitchen is not huge but big enough and there's a nice diningroom enclosed. There are bar-deals each night incl. free stuff, but as off the alcohol you are not allowed to bringing your own alcohol in the hostel. There's no free wifi but that makes the people talking to each other - so real good atmosphere.


77%

The staff are quite helpful to me...:)


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(52 results)


View all Melbourne Hostels

Please give us your feedback