X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Home at The Mansion Reviews

66-90 Victoria Parade, Melbourne, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
1386 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

The staff are quite helpful to me...:)


91%

Really relaxed and friendly atmosphere which was really helped by the fantastic staff.


80%

Impressive building, but there is not much room in the dorms for backpacks. No breakfast, but you get one free coffee.


91%

I really like this hostel, it is clean and the atmosphere is excellent :) BUT! I think it is not goot that the wifi is so expensive. I would understand if the wifi would cost maybe 15 ct per hour or a bit more. But to pay 3-4 $ per hour for a very slow wifi sucks. But thats the only negative point for me for hostel :)


94%

Beautiful building

  • 4th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

Could not fault the Home at The Mansion, as it was close to the hospital, which was my main reason in staying there , I would highly recommend the Mansion for anyone that was in Melbourne and required this type of accommodation, it was as its name stated and felt like Home. With kind regards from & highly satisfied customer, Mrs Christine Coulls

  • 2nd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

Website didn't specify what was provided linen-wise which would have been helpful My daughter's mattress was very lumpy but my bed was comfy. (room 8 top bunk on right) Floorboards creaking could have been annoying. Showers are great. I liked that the windows open & can get fresh air. Wonderful location & wish I'd known about it earlier. We will return!!

  • 30th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Lovely jubbly


69%

I stayed in a 6 mixed dorm for several nights. Location is quite good. There is TV and heater at room. Washrooms are clean except that some ppl shaved and left their hair on the sink which was disgusting. No free wifi/internet usage. I strongly recommend to allow free usage of computers. I didn't really see ppl using them so it'd be better to make good use of them. Also, many long stay ppl there which made you hard to meet friends. Smell was kinda strong when ppl cooked.


94%

Very good place to stay. Respectful and well run.

  • 13th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Very nice hostel. Close to CBD, short walk to free city circle tram. Clean common toilets with private common bathrooms. The only downside is that there is no elevator and no free wifi. Overall, We enjoyed our stay.


100%

very good hostel..Beautiful,clean,friendly and warm.i will chosse this hostel if i travel malbourne again!

  • 6th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Facilities are well-maintained, clean room, clean toilet, clean laundary room and close to the town! Staff is friendly and helpful. Worth for your $$$

  • 30th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Great stay, excellent location!!!

  • 26th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Very clean and the staff do a great job pointing out places to go and things to do around Melbourne


94%

Loved the outside bar nextdoor, was a real bonus. Lovely old building, great location and friendly staff


89%

A clean and comfortable hostel. Good value dorms. Surprisingly warm in the winter cold! Would stay here again


94%

Would definitely recommend, great location close to everything, good facilities!

  • 19th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

Very clean shower facilities. Great staff, great location. Shame the bar closes at 11pm though.

  • 14th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

The wifi is very expensive and should be free. But very nice place :)

  • 13th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(57 results)


View all Melbourne Hostels

Please give us your feedback