X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Home at The Mansion Reviews

66-90 Victoria Parade, Melbourne, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
1510 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

Very big but comfortable hostel. The staff are really friendly and helpful. The bathroom facilities and showers are great. Best hostel in melbourne and I think I've stayed at most of them.


86%

perfect for a group like ours!

  • 14th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

Very clean hostel. A bit quiet for a fully booked hostel though. Very nice location close to the city.

  • 12th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Great friendly mix of travellers with plenty of opportunities to socialise in the relaxing bar out front. Good deals for guests ($7 pints and good coffee) and fun competitions to entertain everyone without being too overbearing or loud (the bar closes at 11). Easy walk into the CBD and local tram takes you into St Kilda. Clean and comfortable facilities (especially the spotless showers) topped off with friendly, knowledgeable staff. Very happy I chose the mansion!


77%

Very nice hostel and a great experience being in an old building! Common areas are not that appealing, I understand this is partly due to the architecture but traveling on my own I wanted to meet other people and this hostel is one of the few I didn't manage to meet anyone. Apart from that, a had a rental car and it's absolutely IMPOSSIBLE to park it a bit cheep close to the hostel, this was very stressful. For these 2 reasons I did book a different hostel when returning to Melbourne later on.

  • 6th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

The rooms are small, no real social scene.


83%

People are really friendly and the bar next door made morning coffee and late night drinks really easy (especially with the discount received for staying at the hostel). Made a lot of friends and was sad to leave at the end of the week.

  • 2nd Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Very unique place to stay, helpful staff, private washrooms with showers, coupons for a free drink per person and good location. Downside is that there is no elevator if you are on the top floor and have a lot of luggage. Building is older, but well kept. No A/C, but fans in the rooms. Blinds didn't go down all the way but not a big deal. Private room came with mounted TV which was a nice extra.


100%

The staff was extremely hospital and knowledgeable about the area. When I was alone in the bar outside one of the staff members, richard, introduced me to his friends and made me feel welcomed. All around great hostel! Check it out!

  • 27th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

Nothing special with this hostel. It's a nice big building outside.


83%

Overall, a good experience, thanks!

  • 23rd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

fantastic staff, but internet is expensive. would recommend you make use of the numerous wifi hotspots around melbourne for free internet. very clean and spacious bathrooms. laundry, a bar, next to the free tram.


77%

On the edge of the city, still close to the free trams. Staff are nice. Cleanliness is lacking in some areas. No free Wifi. Fan in room but it was still pretty hot.


71%

Waaaaaaay overpriced double room - little bed with worn sheets and no locker. Bunks looked ok for average price. Bathrooms clean and nice.


60%

There was a lot I liked about this hostel. The atmosphere beat the hell out of the other one I tried in Melbourne. The bar, though not great, is a good place to meet people (their coffee in the morning sucks though). However, I cannot recommend the Mansion because of their RIDICULOUS internet policy. It costs $3 per HOUR! Even $3 per day is a bit steep, but per hour is unacceptable. If the internet setup was changed, I would definitely stay there again, but it's a deal breaker.


86%

Spacious hostel in a unique, old mansion between the CBD and Fitzroy. Laidback atmosphere with a nice bar. The outside patio is great common area, although the indoor common areas are a bit awkward. Virtually no power outlets or working spaces outside of rooms. The occasional events seem like a complete afterthought.


91%

this is a great hostel, right in a perfect location to explore Melbourne, though the block it actually sits on doesn't have much, its easy to access a few excellent parts of town. the staff and other patrons were really down to earth and easygoing. also, the building is amazing - huge plus to be able to stay in that sort of historic structure! very clean - love the private bathrooms available and the kitchen. the only downfall is that you have to pay for internet, but if that's the only thing...

  • 27th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

A great place to stay feels very homely unlike other hostels. Saskia is very friendly and helpful! Highly recommended! :)

  • 21st Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

Good location, clean rooms. All good.


91%

Really nice and clean hostel close to the center of Melbourne. You can easily reach all the hot spots of the city by foot. The hostel itself is in a very good shape. The bathrooms are single ones but so big other hostels would put two or three in it. And as bonus, like everything else in the hostel, they are very clean. I can totally recommend everybody to stay here when visiting Melbourne!

  • 16th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(65 results)


View all Melbourne Hostels

Please give us your feedback