X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Home at The Mansion Reviews

66-90 Victoria Parade, Melbourne, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
1513 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

34%

THE WORST I HAVE STAYED AT. The inside of the building is very poorly kept & far from clean, the only part of the building which was sanitary was the bathrooms. It's quite sad to be able to say the bathroom is the cleanest room in the building. The reception never had anyone at it, and though we tried we were unable to locate a bell or any measure of summoning some help. However, by far i have to say it is the atmosphere which is the worst, i have been in cheerier GRAVEYARDS!

  • 26th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Awesome hostel, great location and very friendly staff! Englishmen on the counter was a legend, very welcoming and even helpful! Highly recommend this place!!

  • 25th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Very big but comfortable hostel. The staff are really friendly and helpful. The bathroom facilities and showers are great. Best hostel in melbourne and I think I've stayed at most of them.


86%

Party Hostel


86%

perfect for a group like ours!

  • 14th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

Very clean hostel. A bit quiet for a fully booked hostel though. Very nice location close to the city.

  • 12th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Great friendly mix of travellers with plenty of opportunities to socialise in the relaxing bar out front. Good deals for guests ($7 pints and good coffee) and fun competitions to entertain everyone without being too overbearing or loud (the bar closes at 11). Easy walk into the CBD and local tram takes you into St Kilda. Clean and comfortable facilities (especially the spotless showers) topped off with friendly, knowledgeable staff. Very happy I chose the mansion!


77%

Very nice hostel and a great experience being in an old building! Common areas are not that appealing, I understand this is partly due to the architecture but traveling on my own I wanted to meet other people and this hostel is one of the few I didn't manage to meet anyone. Apart from that, a had a rental car and it's absolutely IMPOSSIBLE to park it a bit cheep close to the hostel, this was very stressful. For these 2 reasons I did book a different hostel when returning to Melbourne later on.

  • 6th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

The rooms are small, no real social scene.


83%

People are really friendly and the bar next door made morning coffee and late night drinks really easy (especially with the discount received for staying at the hostel). Made a lot of friends and was sad to leave at the end of the week.

  • 2nd Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Very unique place to stay, helpful staff, private washrooms with showers, coupons for a free drink per person and good location. Downside is that there is no elevator if you are on the top floor and have a lot of luggage. Building is older, but well kept. No A/C, but fans in the rooms. Blinds didn't go down all the way but not a big deal. Private room came with mounted TV which was a nice extra.


100%

The staff was extremely hospital and knowledgeable about the area. When I was alone in the bar outside one of the staff members, richard, introduced me to his friends and made me feel welcomed. All around great hostel! Check it out!

  • 27th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

Nothing special with this hostel. It's a nice big building outside.


83%

Overall, a good experience, thanks!

  • 23rd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

fantastic staff, but internet is expensive. would recommend you make use of the numerous wifi hotspots around melbourne for free internet. very clean and spacious bathrooms. laundry, a bar, next to the free tram.


77%

On the edge of the city, still close to the free trams. Staff are nice. Cleanliness is lacking in some areas. No free Wifi. Fan in room but it was still pretty hot.


71%

Waaaaaaay overpriced double room - little bed with worn sheets and no locker. Bunks looked ok for average price. Bathrooms clean and nice.


60%

There was a lot I liked about this hostel. The atmosphere beat the hell out of the other one I tried in Melbourne. The bar, though not great, is a good place to meet people (their coffee in the morning sucks though). However, I cannot recommend the Mansion because of their RIDICULOUS internet policy. It costs $3 per HOUR! Even $3 per day is a bit steep, but per hour is unacceptable. If the internet setup was changed, I would definitely stay there again, but it's a deal breaker.


100%

The best Hostel in Melbourne!!!!! Richard is awesome!

  • 8th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Spacious hostel in a unique, old mansion between the CBD and Fitzroy. Laidback atmosphere with a nice bar. The outside patio is great common area, although the indoor common areas are a bit awkward. Virtually no power outlets or working spaces outside of rooms. The occasional events seem like a complete afterthought.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(67 results)


View all Melbourne Hostels

Please give us your feedback