X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Home at The Mansion Reviews

66-90 Victoria Parade, Melbourne, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
1480 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

71%

Waaaaaaay overpriced double room - little bed with worn sheets and no locker. Bunks looked ok for average price. Bathrooms clean and nice.


60%

There was a lot I liked about this hostel. The atmosphere beat the hell out of the other one I tried in Melbourne. The bar, though not great, is a good place to meet people (their coffee in the morning sucks though). However, I cannot recommend the Mansion because of their RIDICULOUS internet policy. It costs $3 per HOUR! Even $3 per day is a bit steep, but per hour is unacceptable. If the internet setup was changed, I would definitely stay there again, but it's a deal breaker.


86%

Spacious hostel in a unique, old mansion between the CBD and Fitzroy. Laidback atmosphere with a nice bar. The outside patio is great common area, although the indoor common areas are a bit awkward. Virtually no power outlets or working spaces outside of rooms. The occasional events seem like a complete afterthought.


91%

this is a great hostel, right in a perfect location to explore Melbourne, though the block it actually sits on doesn't have much, its easy to access a few excellent parts of town. the staff and other patrons were really down to earth and easygoing. also, the building is amazing - huge plus to be able to stay in that sort of historic structure! very clean - love the private bathrooms available and the kitchen. the only downfall is that you have to pay for internet, but if that's the only thing...

  • 27th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

A great place to stay feels very homely unlike other hostels. Saskia is very friendly and helpful! Highly recommended! :)

  • 21st Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

Good location, clean rooms. All good.


91%

Really nice and clean hostel close to the center of Melbourne. You can easily reach all the hot spots of the city by foot. The hostel itself is in a very good shape. The bathrooms are single ones but so big other hostels would put two or three in it. And as bonus, like everything else in the hostel, they are very clean. I can totally recommend everybody to stay here when visiting Melbourne!

  • 16th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Staff was knowledgeable, great location. Would highly recommend.


100%

One of the best hostel i ever been, If I will have the opportunity to be in Melbourne I will definitly come back!


91%

Very nice place-the private rooms are tiny but clean and comfy, the location is perfect. Stayed just for one night, but i definitely will come back-highly recommeded.


97%

Probably the best location for a hostel in Melbourne, right on the edge of CBD and Fitzroy. Great Atmosphere, not too crowded. And a couple of beautiful girls working reception!

  • 2nd Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

The place could do with a bit of a facelift and our private room felt like a pay by the hour kinda place, which surprised us given the great reviews. But the bathrooms were spacious and there seemed to be a good atmosphere for those who were looking for that. We appreciated the peace and quiet on the top floor. The bar downstairs is great and really makes the place.


97%

The staff was great, clean toilets and showers. Great location.


77%

It's on Victoria Parade and all rooms face it, so loud, and not much by the way of common lounge/TV room other than 2 very small areas and the bar but otherwise clean, comfortable and for Melbourne well priced.


86%

Really great hostel. The thing that really makes it are the awesome staff - always very helpful and willing help with any problems you may have as well as just generally being really nice. The rooms are fairly standard and the kitchen is okay. There is a bar attached to it which is both a good and bad thing. Good as it brings a great atmosphere and a place to hang out but bad because you can't drink your own alcohol inside when the bar is open. Free movies and playstation (yay) but no free wifi.

  • 24th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

There was no activities :(

  • 20th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Nice place, right on the edge of CBD; staff are friendly and helpful, rooms and toilets are ever clean. One of the best hostels I've ever stayed in.

  • 19th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Great experience for the money and such a short stay!

  • 15th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

One of the best hostels i've stayed at in AUS. Staff was really good without seeming pushy about tours and everything. The only thing to point out is that the wifi is expensive..


100%

One of the best hostels! Great location. Friendly and helpful staff who will make you feel at home and also throw in some great banter. Would definitely recommend and stay here again. Big up Rich n Saskia xxx


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(57 results)


View all Melbourne Hostels

Please give us your feedback