Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Home at The Mansion

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 1,932 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 1,932 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.2
Home at The Mansion Located at 66-90 Victoria Parade, , Melbourne.
Home at The Mansion
Australia
Melbourne Victoria 3002 66-90 Victoria Parade
86% 1932
-37.8083344 144.9736332
Home at The Mansion
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
15th Jan 2017
9.1

Home at the Mansion is a beautiful building, with friendly, accommodating, and helpful staff. It is located less than 100 meters from the Melbourne Circle tram so it is very well located. It is also a few blocks away from Fitzroy Park. The facilities are well maintained. Free long term luggage storage is available if you spend a night there upon your return from a tour. The only negatives are no available parking, no a/c, (fans are provi ded), and no free breakfast/coffee/tea. Recommended.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
13th Jan 2017
7.1

Great location and staff. Rooms were hot but had good storage. Lacked a large common area, but the smaller ones were good. 500mb free per day of wifi. Would stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jan 2017
10.0

The most fantastic staff, and supreme location! What made this hostel special to me was the service we received after check-out, where we were allowed to store our luggage for free for the whole day until our very late flight, and even have an extra shower!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
28th Dec 2016
6.9

Very surprised that this place won best hostel in Melbourne a couple times. I thought for sure a hostel in a place that gets this hot in the summer would have an air conditioner, but nope, it was boiling hot on the top floor. A fan would be nice probably. Was pretty mad when someone came into the room vaccuming when literally 6/6 people were asleep in the room. You get 500MB of wifi per day, and mine didn't really work upstairs either. Not really any good common area either, except the bar.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Thank you for your feedback! We would love to have air-con in the Hostel, but as we are a Heritage building I'm afraid we are not allowed - However we do provide fans for all rooms, we apologize if the one from the room you stayed in was missing :) We do have to clean the rooms everyday to keep the Hostel looking great and while we would don't want to wake people up - sometimes we have to get into rooms to clean or we would run out of time! We hope you enjoy your adventures in Australia and we look forward to seeing you again soon

28th Dec 2016
8.0

Good place and location.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
26th Dec 2016
8.6

V good overall hostel although rooms on main road become v hot at night

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
5th Dec 2016
6.9

Good location, friendly staff and clean bedrooms/bathrooms. But there are mice in the kitchen.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, thanks for your comments! We do our absolute best to keep the Hostel as clean as possible - however at this time of year a mouse might make its way in from the garden. Rest assured we take every precaution to stop this happening and have preventative measures in place! We hope you enjoyed your stay with us and we will see you next time :)

1st Dec 2016
7.1

I got a particularly bad situation in this hostel, so read my review accordingly. I was placed in a seven-bed dorm with six other working holiday people who had their stuff sprawled out all over the room. They were nice enough people, but they were utterly inconsiderate of me in the room, talking at normal voice at 1 a.m. and then at 9 a.m. The room also had a very squeaky floorboard right by the door that should've been replaced a long time ago. That said, it's clean. Location is just alright.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
29th Nov 2016
8.9

The staff are welcoming and very helpful with any information you need. The hostel is very big and you do get a fair amount of room in the dorms. The shower rooms are clean and quite big too. I was travelling alone and I think I may have been unlucky with the other people in the room either not wanting to talk or being too tired to talk from being there to work. The jobs board is great and the kitchen is ok but can be a bit of a squeeze at busy times.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
25th Nov 2016
8.3

A good place, away from the chaos of some hostels in the centre. A lot of long term guests in here.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.