Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Home at The Mansion

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 1,837 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 7.6
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 1,837 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 7.6
Home at The Mansion Located at 66-90 Victoria Parade, , Melbourne.
Home at The Mansion
Australia
Melbourne Victoria 3002 66-90 Victoria Parade
82% 1837
-37.8083344 144.9736332
Home at The Mansion
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Jul 2016
9.4

Total chill place close to downtown and Fitzroy- staff was dope and it was clean

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
3rd Jun 2016
6.6

Like many people said, it felt like a lot of long-termers here--or it least verged on one of the more antisocial hostels I've stayed in. The location is fantastic, close to Chinatown and a good jumping off point for many cool spots. The facilities felt a little outdated and grungy, though they seemed to make it a point to keep everything clean and secure. Room was on the small side. I probably wouldn't stay here again, but I can see why people might choose it.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
2nd Jun 2016
8.3

Hype for this hostel was high, but it seemed pretty average. Decently clean but felt a bit cramped, especially in rooms.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
28th May 2016
5.7

Windows didn't shut properly which meant the room was freezing cold and you could also hear the traffic from the noisy road the whole night. The room was also really messy from long stayers and the whole place creaked. Can't comment on other variables as wasn't there more than one night.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
26th May 2016
7.7

The wifi doesn't work very well, so it was annoying. Especially when you need it to book your tours or communicate with family and friends

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your feedback! We were experiencing some difficulties with our old WiFi setup, we have now installed a whole new WiFi system which we hope will provide everyone with quick and reliable internet use while staying with us. Safe Travels!

25th May 2016
8.9

Very good hostel. Clean and nice bathrooms everywhere, big kitchen with many staff, nice discounts for the bar. Located near a park and close to the CBD. Only bad things : the wifi, which is very slow and disconnected every 5 mins, and the free computer you have to pay 1 dollar for 15 mins...

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your nice comments :) - We have recently upgraded our WiFi system to solve the speed and reliability issues, so we hope you stay with us again and enjoy our new WiFi setup! Safe Travels!

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th May 2016
6.9

The "no drinking or you get kicked out" thing was a bit extreme...if they have had that many problems, then maybe better security and harsh punishment for being too drunk would be better. Felt like the old creaky stairs were about to fall from under me.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
13th May 2016
7.1

I have stayed in many different hostels around Canada / US / Europe, and this Melbourne hostel is nothing special. Fairly average in most respects, the standout for me would be cleanliness, and the worst part was the"free wifi" which was extremely slow if you could get it to work at all, luckily the large state library is fairly close and has excellent wifi for when you need to plan the next part of your trip. (or just send an email!)

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your feedback - We have recently updated our WiFi system to provide faster and more reliable internet for all our guests! Should you ever be visiting Melbourne again, we hope our new WiFi will be much better for use :)

  • Anonymous
  • Chile, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
10th May 2016
7.1

What I liked: perfect location...if you go to Melb stay at the CBD. Hostel is next to last tram station where tram is free so very good. For australia the price is ok...wont find another place cheaper. Security and cleanliness very good. What I didnt like: no breakfast included. Very big building, not familiar atmosphere, in common areas I mostly saw kids (early 20s) wanting to party, not good if you are older and want to chill and meet interesting people. Recommend it just to sleep.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
7th May 2016
9.4

Great location and hostel, the staff were lovely. My only advice is to get the long term stays to be a bit more neat, they seemed to be exempt from the keep belongings in backpacks or trays rule.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.