X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Home at The Mansion Reviews

66-90 Victoria Parade, Melbourne, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
1555 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

Good hostel in a good location.It is a shame that this hostel still charge for wi-fi as now most of hostels around the world do not charge for this service


91%

I really liked staying in this hostel. Its just a 3 min. walk to the free tram zone. The rooms were big enough. The staff was great. I really liked the private bathrooms. There was even a PlayStation available with Fifa!! I highly recommend staying here.


60%

Cool from the outside but not kept well inside.

  • 28th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Great place to stay if you're coming to Melbourne! The staff are awesome, the place itself is one of the cleanest hostels I've stayed at and I met a great group of people while I was here. The place itself is right by the free tram zone to the CBD, and its a short walk to Bruswick street which has some pretty good bars. There's also a bar/cafe attached to the hostel which does $5 pints and spirits on Sundays, it's a good place to meet other guests. Internet is pretty cheap, $5 for the day.

  • 26th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


34%

The kitchen was filthy and common areas not inviting. Guests are expected to make their own beds which was a hassle arriving late in a dorm room and the beds/linen did not look clean. I expected a bit more from the reviews but will not be staying here again.


71%

Great staff, very helpful and very supportive. there is only one kitchen and it is too small for such a big hostel. there is no common area in a sense that you sit down with other travellers, although there is a small TV area and a small dining table, It's fairly clean and organised. however the toilets are not the cleanest by the end of the day. there is too much noise in most of the rooms as they are facing the Victoria Parade. the rooms have small windows and can get hot.


60%

The website and impression from the outside were great. Was disappointed inside - a 'run down' feeling, basic facilities, too many long, long term stayers.

  • 16th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

We stayed in a 4 bed dorm for 7 nights over the F1 Grand Prix weekend. Prices were a bit high because of this but I guess it's the same everywhere. The beds were comfy and there are lockers in the room for valuables too. The shared bathrooms are good with decent showers. The kitchen is ok, probably a little small for the size of the hostel. On site laundry is handy too. Its an old building so floors are creaky. It's also on a main road so it's noisy in rooms at the front of the building.


60%

It's a long term stay flophouse. Don't expect much as a backpacker.

  • 4th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Great hostel, very sociable with comfortable/clean beds/bathrooms. Well equipped kitchen which staff keep on top of. Wi-Fi is a little pricey, but being our first Australian hostel think it may be pretty standard, but frustrating that it is so intermittent at best. Staff are lovely and always happy to help.


100%

Couldn't have been a better place to stay for the 9 nights! Thanks a lot for being helpful when we needed to know close locations or transport and running a great Hostel overall. We really enjoyed our holiday and the down time was a lot better than we could expect, with good size rooms and places to eat.

  • 28th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

It's an ok place in melbourne. Place looks better from the outside than in. If you stay in the double room as we did it's TINY. Plus there is a lot of noise from the traffic outside. The staff are brilliant though, and really friendly.


100%

Awesome hostel, great location and very friendly staff! Englishmen on the counter was a legend, very welcoming and even helpful! Highly recommend this place!!

  • 25th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Definitely the best hostel I've stayed in so far. Really clean, great atmosphere and the staff are especially helpful.

  • 19th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

It was a nice hostel but not really nice for travellers. Everyone was either working or looking for work which made it hard to meet people. If you wanna look for work this is a nice place. Very clean, nice staff!


83%

Very big but comfortable hostel. The staff are really friendly and helpful. The bathroom facilities and showers are great. Best hostel in melbourne and I think I've stayed at most of them.


86%

Party Hostel


86%

perfect for a group like ours!

  • 14th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

Very clean hostel. A bit quiet for a fully booked hostel though. Very nice location close to the city.

  • 12th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Great friendly mix of travellers with plenty of opportunities to socialise in the relaxing bar out front. Good deals for guests ($7 pints and good coffee) and fun competitions to entertain everyone without being too overbearing or loud (the bar closes at 11). Easy walk into the CBD and local tram takes you into St Kilda. Clean and comfortable facilities (especially the spotless showers) topped off with friendly, knowledgeable staff. Very happy I chose the mansion!


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(64 results)


View all Melbourne Hostels

Please give us your feedback