Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Home at The Mansion

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 1,858 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 1,858 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 7.7
Home at The Mansion Located at 66-90 Victoria Parade, , Melbourne.
Home at The Mansion
Australia
Melbourne Victoria 3002 66-90 Victoria Parade
83% 1858
-37.8083344 144.9736332
Home at The Mansion
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
21st Aug 2016
9.7

Dorms given to me were clean with very comfortable beds though the rooms are fully occupied by long term boarders. Toilets were clean and showers were perfect and excellent wifi with the luxury of Mansion and wonderful customer service. Location is very good as you can use all the trams for free to explore the attractions of city. This is one of the best hostels I have travelled this year.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
17th Aug 2016
7.7

Wasn't as nice as I expected based on the reviews but has everything you need.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
11th Aug 2016
9.4

Really friendly staff. Brilliant location. Lockers only big enough for valuables, but drawers under the bed big enough to fit everything else in. Small but cosy communal areas. Cafe and bar outside is really good and really handy! Bathrooms and communal areas are always very clean. If you have a bicycle I'd recommend not parking it in front of hostel as it is a hotspot for theft and damage (this isn't the hostels fault, just a tip). Would thoroughly recommend staying here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Aug 2016
8.6

Nice location next to free tram and Parliament metro, but not too many places to eat/stores adjacent to the hostel. Lockers in rooms are nice but small. Individual bathrooms are also nice; water temp in showers in the bigger bathroom varied. Music from the bar can be heard in rooms until at least 11pm. One little heater in the room makes it hard to regulate temp. Most annoyed that internet was not advertised as limited, as it was one of the main reasons I booked here during my move/flat hunt.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
6th Aug 2016
8.9

I just stayed one night and chose here cos I had a party to attend nearby and the location was perfect. Didn't really use the facilities but it all looked very nice.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Aug 2016
9.1

Have stayed here loads. Great place in central location. No hassle and super clean.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
1st Aug 2016
7.7

Friendly helpful staff - lockers in room and door always locked which is good. Guys in my room were a little odd but I know you can't judge a place on that. Didn't use kitchen that much but people friendly and chatty in there. Showers & toilet clean although sometimes shower would be luke warm. Beautiful old building but could probably do with a refurb soon. Location really good I thought - 15 min walk into CBD with tram stops and stations all near by.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
31st Jul 2016
9.7

The atmosphere here was great!! I don't know if it was just because I got lucky or not but all of the people there were great, very welcoming and I felt at ease right from the start. My room was nice and there were lockers which was great. The showers are on every floor, really powerful and very warm. The kitchen area is well stocked and clean, there are plenty of fridges and a nice big table for every one to sit around. The wifi is a bit dodgy in some of the rooms but good generally.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Jul 2016
10.0

Probably one of the best hostels I have ever stayed in. Location is ideal (right next to the free tram service), the building is incredible and it's probably one the few hostels where you can have a good nights sleep. It has a much more chilled out atmosphere but remains just as sociable with a dining area, two small lounge areas and a bar next door. Also has various break-out areas dotted around if you wish to work/read/phone in peace. Rooms and kitchen were very clean and well maintained.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Jul 2016
8.9

Awesome atmosphere! pretty cool with a bar attached to the front of it, and it had a lot of character, in a good way! will definitely stay again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.