X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Home at The Mansion Reviews

66-90 Victoria Parade, Melbourne, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
1538 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

34%

The kitchen was filthy and common areas not inviting. Guests are expected to make their own beds which was a hassle arriving late in a dorm room and the beds/linen did not look clean. I expected a bit more from the reviews but will not be staying here again.


60%

The website and impression from the outside were great. Was disappointed inside - a 'run down' feeling, basic facilities, too many long, long term stayers.

  • 16th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

It's a long term stay flophouse. Don't expect much as a backpacker.

  • 4th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Great hostel, very sociable with comfortable/clean beds/bathrooms. Well equipped kitchen which staff keep on top of. Wi-Fi is a little pricey, but being our first Australian hostel think it may be pretty standard, but frustrating that it is so intermittent at best. Staff are lovely and always happy to help.


100%

Couldn't have been a better place to stay for the 9 nights! Thanks a lot for being helpful when we needed to know close locations or transport and running a great Hostel overall. We really enjoyed our holiday and the down time was a lot better than we could expect, with good size rooms and places to eat.

  • 28th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

It's an ok place in melbourne. Place looks better from the outside than in. If you stay in the double room as we did it's TINY. Plus there is a lot of noise from the traffic outside. The staff are brilliant though, and really friendly.


100%

Awesome hostel, great location and very friendly staff! Englishmen on the counter was a legend, very welcoming and even helpful! Highly recommend this place!!

  • 25th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Definitely the best hostel I've stayed in so far. Really clean, great atmosphere and the staff are especially helpful.

  • 19th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

It was a nice hostel but not really nice for travellers. Everyone was either working or looking for work which made it hard to meet people. If you wanna look for work this is a nice place. Very clean, nice staff!


83%

Very big but comfortable hostel. The staff are really friendly and helpful. The bathroom facilities and showers are great. Best hostel in melbourne and I think I've stayed at most of them.


86%

Party Hostel


86%

perfect for a group like ours!

  • 14th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

Very clean hostel. A bit quiet for a fully booked hostel though. Very nice location close to the city.

  • 12th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Great friendly mix of travellers with plenty of opportunities to socialise in the relaxing bar out front. Good deals for guests ($7 pints and good coffee) and fun competitions to entertain everyone without being too overbearing or loud (the bar closes at 11). Easy walk into the CBD and local tram takes you into St Kilda. Clean and comfortable facilities (especially the spotless showers) topped off with friendly, knowledgeable staff. Very happy I chose the mansion!


77%

Very nice hostel and a great experience being in an old building! Common areas are not that appealing, I understand this is partly due to the architecture but traveling on my own I wanted to meet other people and this hostel is one of the few I didn't manage to meet anyone. Apart from that, a had a rental car and it's absolutely IMPOSSIBLE to park it a bit cheep close to the hostel, this was very stressful. For these 2 reasons I did book a different hostel when returning to Melbourne later on.

  • 6th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

The rooms are small, no real social scene.


83%

People are really friendly and the bar next door made morning coffee and late night drinks really easy (especially with the discount received for staying at the hostel). Made a lot of friends and was sad to leave at the end of the week.

  • 2nd Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Very unique place to stay, helpful staff, private washrooms with showers, coupons for a free drink per person and good location. Downside is that there is no elevator if you are on the top floor and have a lot of luggage. Building is older, but well kept. No A/C, but fans in the rooms. Blinds didn't go down all the way but not a big deal. Private room came with mounted TV which was a nice extra.


100%

The staff was extremely hospital and knowledgeable about the area. When I was alone in the bar outside one of the staff members, richard, introduced me to his friends and made me feel welcomed. All around great hostel! Check it out!

  • 27th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

Nothing special with this hostel. It's a nice big building outside.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(69 results)


View all Melbourne Hostels

Please give us your feedback