Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Home at The Mansion

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 2090 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 2090 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
11th Aug 2017
8.3

Facilities only 3/5 bc of pretty shaky bunk beds + super slow WiFi // Rest of the hostel is excellent!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
10th Aug 2017
9.7

The facilities were kept really clean and in great condition, and you can't be the location. The only negative would be if you're looking to meet other people because people mostly keep to themselves, but I saw this as a positive since I was just using it as a place to sleep.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
2nd Aug 2017
9.4

Great place, can't fault much. I'd stay again. Clean, big private bathrooms. Socialising spaces were a bit tight and could be set up better, but not a big deal. good bar next door with good hostel deals.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • katannalee
  • Malaysia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Jul 2017
8.9

I really enjoyed my stay here. It's wonderfully located in the CBD and you can pretty much explore most of the city on foot. Bathrooms were clean and spacious and the rooms were decent. If anything the bunk beds can be a little flimsy - I felt really bad whenever I had to climb onto the top bunk or when I had to move I would end up shaking the person below me! They have a very nice little kitchen and the Victoria's Secret cafe next door is really convenient for quick meals before exploring.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
28th Jul 2017
8.3

We had a nice stay here, the hostel is in a great location right on the edge of the cbd. The staff were friendly and helpful and the hostel was nice and clean. Good value for money too.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th Jul 2017
8.3

Good hostel but wifi is free but not unlimited, you get 500mb every 24h and then have to pay if you want more. Otherwise good atmosphere and friendly staff !

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
13th Jul 2017
7.4

Double room clean with lots of tv channels. Staff was friendly. Good area. (The place was a little worn in general-- walls & carpet)

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jul 2017
10.0

Home at the Mansion is the perfect place to stay just outside Melbourne's CBD and surrounded by parks. Friendly staff who are always helpful and very well maintained shared facilities.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Jul 2017
9.7

Amazing backpackers. 10/10 would stay here again. Rooms, bathrooms were cleaned daily. The kitchen had free for all bread, butter, jam, fruit and cakes :) Location was perfect too. Two minutes walking to the closest tram station which itself is about 1 or 2 stop away from any main street in the city.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
2nd Jul 2017
8.9

Stayed in a 7 bed dorm, very roomy and plenty of storage space & a locker for everyone. Quiet nights sleep and a good atmosphere, both party animals and people that preferred a quiet night in. Some of the long termers said they found the other longer stayers cliquey, but you wouldn't realise this is you're only there a few nights. Decent location, tonnes of tram stops around and plenty to do in walking distance. All round very friendly staff and room mates!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.