X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Home at The Mansion Reviews

66-90 Victoria Parade, Melbourne, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
1435 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

There was no activities :(

  • 20th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Great experience for the money and such a short stay!

  • 15th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

One of the best hostels i've stayed at in AUS. Staff was really good without seeming pushy about tours and everything. The only thing to point out is that the wifi is expensive..


100%

One of the best hostels! Great location. Friendly and helpful staff who will make you feel at home and also throw in some great banter. Would definitely recommend and stay here again. Big up Rich n Saskia xxx


60%

The hostel was good value for our money. My only two comments would be: 1. the floors are very creeky (the building is very old so I do understand that this is just a fact of life) so this might make it hard for light- sleepers in shared accommodations. 2. it would really be an added benefit to have screens on the windows so that windows can be left open without unwelcome bugs sneaking in on hot nights.

  • 7th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

The staff were all extremely friendly ans welcoming and a fantastic place to meet people in a safe environment. Would definitely stay again.

  • 7th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Really good hostel especially compared to what australia has to offer! We had no problems and the additional activities put on are very good, I.e free drink etc.

  • 6th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

Hostel was great! Such an unique building. The inside was very clean. No deposits required for keys or blankets. Very clean rooms and cleanest bathrooms I've seen in Australia.

  • 5th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

The hostel is close to the tram, to the art part of Melbourne and really nice. You get one drink for free in the bar downstairs (no worries the bar close at ten). You have to pay for the internet ;(


94%

Not sure if the storage for leaving your luggage is very secure.

  • 30th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Very good hostel for location and staff are really helpful and friendly. Atmosphere was just not there, no communal area making it difficult to socialise with new people. Overall stay ok if you a just wanting a quick stay in the city and a good location.

  • 26th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Although I occupied a room above the downstairs cafe/bar (where there was lively music) I was pleasantly relieved when the place closed at 11. Very reasonable time to allow those who needed to to sleep.Clean, safe, friendly. Liked having an opening window, fan and tv supplied too.Thank you

  • 23rd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

Really awesome hostel! Staff are all super friendly and the bar downstairs is great. Really good showers and rooms and daily activities. The only down side is the expensive wifi.


91%

The best hostel I've ever stayed in! The staff is soooo friendly, and incredibly helpful, location is good, bathrooms are amazing. Clean and quiet. Not a party hostel at all. If you are looking for a good night sleep, Home at the mansion is the best!

  • 19th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

would go back there anytime, beats some sterile hotel room for 3x the price staff went out of their way to be nice and helpful, wish i had known about it earlier


71%

I actually didn't like this hostel, even though it's clean, has good facilities, and is in a good location, because it has very little personality. I thought a mansion would be more glamorous or funky or have some sort of hook, but the walls were practically all bare (and chipping), and the place felt uncared for and impersonal. It's also too big to really bring solo travelers together; I would only recommend this place if you're already travelling with others and just want a clean, close place.


100%

Really good hostel, one of the best in Melbourne!


69%

First Hostel where had to pay for wifi. Disappointing.


83%

I stayed at this hostel for 2 weeks. I was in a 4 bed dorm, the bed were very clean and comfortable and there was a very big window in the room, so it was well ventilated. Bathrooms were very good! Individual shower rooms, with shower door, hanging hooks, stool and mirror. The kitchen was quite big and full furnished! The staff was great, really helpful and friendly!!

  • 15th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

I really liked the hostel and people there but some things came up to my mind which I missed here. Free wifi would have been nice. I found it quite expensive to pay $ 4 per hour for using the computer. There is a possibility to do laundry and there are drying machines but I still wish there were clotheslines somewhere. There is a very good atmosphere and even people who have lived there before come to visit because they have met so nice people there. You always feel welcome to go there. :)

  • 15th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(56 results)


View all Melbourne Hostels

Please give us your feedback