Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Home at The Mansion

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 1,899 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 1,899 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.3
Home at The Mansion Located at 66-90 Victoria Parade, , Melbourne.
Home at The Mansion
Australia
Melbourne Victoria 3002 66-90 Victoria Parade
88% 1899
-37.8083344 144.9736332
Home at The Mansion
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
29th Nov 2016
8.9

The staff are welcoming and very helpful with any information you need. The hostel is very big and you do get a fair amount of room in the dorms. The shower rooms are clean and quite big too. I was travelling alone and I think I may have been unlucky with the other people in the room either not wanting to talk or being too tired to talk from being there to work. The jobs board is great and the kitchen is ok but can be a bit of a squeeze at busy times.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
25th Nov 2016
8.3

A good place, away from the chaos of some hostels in the centre. A lot of long term guests in here.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Nov 2016
7.7

Great staff, comfy bed. Very basic rooms in a very old building with creaky floorboards. Huge lack of common areas, not very social. The location is by far the best part, so easy to get around & use as a base. Also the whole place including bathrooms & kitchen we're spotless

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Nov 2016
10.0

Very friendly and helpful staff, clean rooms and everything easy to find, public transport was so close and free in the cbd

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
6th Nov 2016
10.0

Another great Melbourne hostel. Overheard a room-mate say, it was the best hostel she had been in. 12 room dorm with surprising amount of space even has it's own little ensuite. Victoria's Secret, a licensed cafe, part of the hostel, is a great place to chill out. Quite a few good B/P's around Melbourne. This is definitely one of them.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Nov 2016
8.0

Pros: many movies to watch,hair straightener, no fee to pay w/card & large clean showers. Cons: staff needs training. As some are not trained in registering guests, the disinterested night front desk girl told us to book at another hostel as she did not know how to use the system to sell us a bed (even tho beds were available) When it's 1130pm & dead tired, the last thing I want is to search for somewhere else & have to lug my bag around when you have availability! I'd think you'd want my $$.?

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Oct 2016
9.4

Perfectly situated on the border of the city centre and some really cool areas such as fitzroy. Great facilities, modern, hot, clean showers (nothing worse than a grimmy cold shower in my books). We stayed in a private double and the room was really nicely decorated, it could have been a little boutique hotel! The only down side was that the room over looked a very busy road and the noise was very loud, even at night.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • zshuttleworth
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
5th Oct 2016
9.4

Lovely atmosphere and loved that they had a cafe/bar next to it. Great to meet people as it is huge! Staff were wonderful!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
4th Oct 2016
8.6

Awesome place to stay, right in the free tram zone too! Great atmosphere, bar is cool and has a real cozy feel to it. Definitely recommended!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
3rd Oct 2016
8.0

The hostel is really nice, the staff are amazing and the bathroom facilities are great. The kitchen is very lacking however. There is no oven, two sets of 4 hobs and limited equipment. You get 500mb of free wifi per day which is usually enough. The whole place is kept very clean. There's no security cameras around the hostel but all rooms have door locks and lockers in them. I would stay here again

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.