Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Home at The Mansion

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 2050 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 2050 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
23rd Jun 2017
10.0

Home at the Mansion has great people to meet ! Friendly employees, a big shared comfy living space, and a big space. Would highly recommend to stay

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
21st Jun 2017
9.7

Brilliant hostel, friendly staff, clean rooms and bathrooms, each room has tv! Only thing is, it says free wifi but actually you only get 500mb a day, slighty misleading when booking, it should say limited to 500mb a day! Apart from that was one of the best hostels I've stayed in! Good location also

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jun 2017
4.6

We decided to book to stay at Home at The Mansion based on positive reviews, however we unfortunately did not have the same experience. Upon entering the corridor to our room on the top floor (a lot of steps!), we were met with the most disgusting and overwhelming smell right in front of our room. It smelt like something had been rotting for a month. It was extremely concerning to us that nothing had been done to remove this smell, so we had to end up checking in at a nearby hotel.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
10th Jun 2017
8.9

I really enjoyed my stay although only for one night. As a solo traveller I found the hostel extremely friendly despite many long term stay guests and it was really easy to get to know people. Yes the floor boards are really noisy but if you want somewhere to meet people and feel at home I would definitely recommend it.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jun 2017
8.9

Overall a great stay! Bath room and toilets are way too clean for a hostel! Made you feel like home - that you would like to keep the toilets clean as well! Walking distance to free tram stand to main city circle area. We literally walked all the way to Chinatown and Flinders Street!! Thats what tourists do yea? =)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
1st Jun 2017
8.0

My main complaint is how loud the floorboards were. If someone's asleep and you walk in you will definitely wake everybody up. Also the fact that there isn't much common space to hang outside of the room was a little annoying. But the bar right outside was a MAJOR plus!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • devonrosemarie
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
31st May 2017
7.1

Great location, 2 minute walk from the Free Tram Zone, & near a lot of cool sights. Don't stay in this hostel if you're a traveller in for only a few nights looking for a social environment. Most people seem to be long-term guests who haves cliques & aren't open to meeting ppl passing through. ALSO, 2 of the front desk girls were horrid.. Asked one of them questions about the city, another about the shuttle to the airport, & they both responded "I don't know, I'm new".. Maybe train staff first?

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your feedback, it is always welcome :-) We do our best to train our staff to the highest level as we believe customer service is paramount . One of the girls is still settling in and it's extremely difficult to train her on everything to do in Melbourne. I've been in Melbourne for 10 years and still find myself learning every day :-) The other staff member works between 11pm and 7am so would generally deal with late check-ins and keeping the place clean and secure. In both cases they are extremely kind and helpful people! Safe travels! Rich

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th May 2017
10.0

Such a great place to say - its central and I was able to walk everywhere or there's the trams! The rooms are well kept, bathrooms were the best from any hostel I've stayed in. The staff are very helpful and lovely and the atmosphere in the hostel is fantastic, a lot of people staying longer term so it's more of a family that are welcoming to everyone.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
23rd May 2017
10.0

Very cosy hostel just a brisk walk or short tram ride from the city centre. Friendly atmosphere with on sight bar/cafe which is great for meeting people. Staff are very friendly and approachable. Probably my favourite hostel in Melbourne.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Austria, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
20th May 2017
9.4

Good hostel within the free tram area and in walking distance to most interesting places. Probably it was because of the time I've been here, but there were many staying for longer term which might feel a little bit strange if you're looking for other solo travelers.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.