Hostelworld.com

HomeBase Melville

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 165 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 165 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.8
HomeBase Melville Located at 37 - 1st Avenue, Melville, Johannesburg.
HomeBase Melville
South Africa
Johannesburg Gauteng 2092 37 - 1st Avenue, Melville
88% 165
-26.1783600 28.0024840
HomeBase Melville
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
10th Apr 2016
8.3

Only stayed for one night as a stop over but would definitely stay again. The guy was literally so nice and so helpful. The dorm is really spacious and there's lockers in the room too which is good (bring your own padlock). Don't have any complaints at all it was great! Oh and the fake grass in the room was a nice touch too!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Apr 2016
10.0

I enjoyed my stay at Homebase Melville, every thing you need is close by...especially a variety of shops for food. I stayed in the girls dorm, which was very pretty in pink. I liked that you get to meet lots of people from different countries as the travel thru the country. The place had this homey vibe to it, very comfortable and open. I will definitely be going back in my next visit to Johannesburg. My friends couldn't believe what I was describing for only R160 per night!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Apr 2016
9.7

We really enjoyed our stay at the hostel. Really friendly and helpful staff and a good location (Close to all the bars). Also a very relaxed atmosphere!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
1st Apr 2016
8.9

Really well run backpackers, Bruce the guy running it just gets it, understands what a backpackers should be. Great location as well, really safe, really cool place to be. Highly recommended. Also the fit sassy receptionist is a great addition.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
26th Mar 2016
9.1

Staff really gentle. People who are looking for nice atmosphere, that's the place. Mini bar close to the pool.. Really nice to interact with other guests.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
22nd Mar 2016
7.7

Nice hostel in a chilled out neighborhood. Reaching the city centre is not too hard. Very nice and commited staff. Calm and peaceful atmosphere. It needs a laundry service though!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
10th Mar 2016
6.9

Home base is in the cool neighborhood of Melville, yet still a 5-10 minute walk from the action, which is good for quite sleeping but bad for walking home at night from a bar. The hostel itself is average. It's nice that they offer a free breakfast, but it ends too early at 9:30. I stayed in the large dorm and could hear a conversation through the thin walls in the room next door. This wasn't pleasant when next door they woke up at 5am and have a conversation at full volume.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Feb 2016
9.1

We stayed for two days on a weekend at Homebase Melville and did enjoy our stay there. The staff was friendly, the facilities were nice and the location was good (a few blocks away from 7th street, where most bars and restaurants of the neighborhood are located). A small negative point was that our room (double room with access to the garden/terrace where the exterior common area is) was not very good isolated so that we could hear everything that was happening outside on the terrace.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Jan 2016
10.0

I had a great time at Homebase, definitely outstanding!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jan 2016
10.0

Melville has been one of the best hostels to stay at and I have returned here many of time, the staff are nothing but extraordinary. There are no words for how amazing staying here is.. I love the staff and love how open and welcoming everyone is as well as the standards for the room!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.