Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

HomeBase Melville

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 181 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 181 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.3
HomeBase Melville Located at 37 - 1st Avenue, Melville, Johannesburg.
HomeBase Melville
South Africa
Johannesburg Gauteng 2092 37 - 1st Avenue, Melville
87% 181
-26.1783600 28.0024840
HomeBase Melville
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • vicenzoarendt
  • Brazil, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
12th Jul 2016
4.0

DISGUSTING!!!!! AVOID AT ALL COSTS... MY SHEETS HAD BLOOD STAINS AND SMELLED LIKE OTHER PEOPLE HAD JUST SLEPT ON IT... KITCHEN HAD COCKROACHES EVERYWHERE!!!!!! STAFF CHARGES A RIDICULOUS OVERPRICED RATE FOR TOURS...

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Israel, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Jul 2016
9.7

Great place. Friendly staff and best value for your money in town by far.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
14th Jun 2016
8.0

Incredibly helpful staff, great atmosphere, just a little bit run-down and could do with a renovation that especially focuses on the rooms.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
8th Jun 2016
9.1

You feel like home, they stay in a big cool house in a safe neighborhood with two shopping mall, supermarkets and restaurants close. They have a really well equipped kitchen. Rooms are comfortable and clean. Staff is helpful and friendly.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
29th May 2016
8.0

The hostel was in a perfect location, very quiet, round the corner from great bars, cafes, and supermarket. I was staying at double room to myself but I think it was space enough for one person. There was a nice kitchen, comfortable living room. Bathroom was a little bit old but it was clean. The wifi needs to be improved to reach the rooms I think...

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st May 2016
8.6

Really nice hostel, nice atmosphere, helpful people.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
20th May 2016
9.4

Safe location, close to 7th street with bars and restaurants. Very nice staff make me happy, I love them very much. Locker for each bed. Clean hostel. Swimming pool available. Free kitchen. You can boil water to drink at any time, no need to buy water. TV in common area. Free breakfast available. It would be better to have a more stable wifi connection and key to lock room door for my 8 beds room.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
14th May 2016
9.7

It was cold and rainy while I was there, so we didn't get to use the pool, but it looked great. The toilets were clean, the showers had piping hot water in the early morning. There is a locked gate with a 24/7 security feed to reception. Lockers and locking storage room make it all seem very secure. The location is just a bit out of the way from the CBD/airport, but there are two shopping centers and lovely restaurants just a few blocks away. The staff are quite lovely.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th May 2016
9.7

Great location, knowledgeable staff, comfy beds, fun atmosphere. Always a party going on somewhere in or around HomeBase. Definitely recommended!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
10th Apr 2016
8.3

Only stayed for one night as a stop over but would definitely stay again. The guy was literally so nice and so helpful. The dorm is really spacious and there's lockers in the room too which is good (bring your own padlock). Don't have any complaints at all it was great! Oh and the fake grass in the room was a nice touch too!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.