Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

HomeBase Melville

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 199 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 199 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 7.7
HomeBase Melville Located at 37 - 1st Avenue, Melville, Johannesburg.
HomeBase Melville
South Africa
Johannesburg Gauteng 2092 37 - 1st Avenue, Melville
83% 199
-26.1783600 28.0024840
HomeBase Melville
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
13th Nov 2016
9.4

Great staff, perfect location in a safe neighborhood. The atmosphere was relaxed and fun, it was easy to get to know the other guests. Even though there was an electrical problem the staff still made sure all guests had what they needed in terms of light and possibility to charge phones/laptops. There was safe parking inside the premises and easy to learn the route to the hostel. A short walk away there's also a street with lot's of cafés, restaurants and some pubs and a supermarket.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th Nov 2016
6.9

Staff is helpful, cleanliness is ok and the hostel is located in a beautiful neighbourhood in Johannesburg, not so far from the touristic spots. But breakfast is incredibly meager. And above all, the atmosphere is too quiet, even a library can be more cheerful. No bar, no music. When I was there, unfortunetaly there was an energy shortage that lasted from Friday night until I left on Monday morning. We had to resort to cold showers all this period. Not a good experience at all.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Sep 2016
8.9

Lovely people, great location.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
8th Sep 2016
8.9

I enjoyed my time here as it wasn't over crowded or full of people at the time so I had complete access to the nicer bathrooms and when I arrived they were nice enough to put me in my own room for the same price! Wifi good and place was clean.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
26th Aug 2016
10.0

Hombase was a fantastic hostel to stay in. My partner and I stayed in a dorm and a double room. Both were clean and tidy along with the communal areas. The hostel is really fun and the staff work very hard to keep everyone entertained in the evening. Bruce managed to get us a safari organised at the last minute over the weekend and really made our trip amazing. Chenai is absolutely wonderful and so so friendly. Would highly recommend this hostel to anyone!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
28th Jul 2016
8.0

Very cool hostel with fun staff! There are plenty of restaurants and bars in walking distance. Tours are bookable through the reception.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
26th Jul 2016
7.4

We enjoyed our stay very much. The area is very safe (even had to go to the doctor, which was a better and more reliable experience than in europe), has some shopping, some nice and hip cafes and atms in safe surroundings. We went to Joburg in July, this time of the year there is winter, so it was pretty cold and our room did not have any heating. so we needed to sleep in our sleeping bags, which was ok. The staff is great, funny and very helpful!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
24th Jul 2016
8.6

Stayed 3 nights. Great location. The guy in charge was great. Lacked the hostel vibe though.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • vicenzoarendt
  • Brazil, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
12th Jul 2016
4.0

DISGUSTING!!!!! AVOID AT ALL COSTS... MY SHEETS HAD BLOOD STAINS AND SMELLED LIKE OTHER PEOPLE HAD JUST SLEPT ON IT... KITCHEN HAD COCKROACHES EVERYWHERE!!!!!! STAFF CHARGES A RIDICULOUS OVERPRICED RATE FOR TOURS...

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
7th Jul 2016
9.7

Great place. Friendly staff and best value for your money in town by far.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.