Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

HomeBase Melville

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 193 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 193 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.0
HomeBase Melville Located at 37 - 1st Avenue, Melville, Johannesburg.
HomeBase Melville
South Africa
Johannesburg Gauteng 2092 37 - 1st Avenue, Melville
85% 193
-26.1783600 28.0024840
HomeBase Melville
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Sep 2016
8.9

Lovely people, great location.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
8th Sep 2016
8.9

I enjoyed my time here as it wasn't over crowded or full of people at the time so I had complete access to the nicer bathrooms and when I arrived they were nice enough to put me in my own room for the same price! Wifi good and place was clean.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Aug 2016
10.0

Hombase was a fantastic hostel to stay in. My partner and I stayed in a dorm and a double room. Both were clean and tidy along with the communal areas. The hostel is really fun and the staff work very hard to keep everyone entertained in the evening. Bruce managed to get us a safari organised at the last minute over the weekend and really made our trip amazing. Chenai is absolutely wonderful and so so friendly. Would highly recommend this hostel to anyone!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
28th Jul 2016
8.0

Very cool hostel with fun staff! There are plenty of restaurants and bars in walking distance. Tours are bookable through the reception.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
26th Jul 2016
7.4

We enjoyed our stay very much. The area is very safe (even had to go to the doctor, which was a better and more reliable experience than in europe), has some shopping, some nice and hip cafes and atms in safe surroundings. We went to Joburg in July, this time of the year there is winter, so it was pretty cold and our room did not have any heating. so we needed to sleep in our sleeping bags, which was ok. The staff is great, funny and very helpful!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
24th Jul 2016
8.6

Stayed 3 nights. Great location. The guy in charge was great. Lacked the hostel vibe though.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • vicenzoarendt
  • Brazil, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
12th Jul 2016
4.0

DISGUSTING!!!!! AVOID AT ALL COSTS... MY SHEETS HAD BLOOD STAINS AND SMELLED LIKE OTHER PEOPLE HAD JUST SLEPT ON IT... KITCHEN HAD COCKROACHES EVERYWHERE!!!!!! STAFF CHARGES A RIDICULOUS OVERPRICED RATE FOR TOURS...

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Israel, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Jul 2016
9.7

Great place. Friendly staff and best value for your money in town by far.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
14th Jun 2016
8.0

Incredibly helpful staff, great atmosphere, just a little bit run-down and could do with a renovation that especially focuses on the rooms.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
8th Jun 2016
9.1

You feel like home, they stay in a big cool house in a safe neighborhood with two shopping mall, supermarkets and restaurants close. They have a really well equipped kitchen. Rooms are comfortable and clean. Staff is helpful and friendly.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.