X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

HomePlus Hostel Reviews

Balassi Bálint utca No27, Budapest, Hungary

Reviews & Ratings Explained

88%

Rating
1771 Total Reviews
  • 90%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

71%

Stay was okay. You get what you pay for. Location was great, short walk to everything.. Place wasn't that clean and no place for privacy. Showers are literally next to the kitchen. Staff tried to tell us no credit cards for a bunch of BS reasons. Last reason upon our leave was that they were out of receipt paper. When we said well we are leaving we have a plane to catch, they ran our card and magically there was paper in the machine. Shocker


100%

Amazin staff, very cool FACILITIES, like walking tour, dinner, breakfast or pub crawl. Always nice music in the chilling area and also clean bathrooms. I will definitely come back to Budapest, and no other hostel than this will be on my list! BEST EVER! THANKS!

  • 20th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear traveler, Thank you for rating and commenting us. This review is one of the reasons that all of us likes to work in this hostel. We get a feedback that we do well what we do. We are proud of our facilities, our staff does a pretty decent walking tour, we always cook a fair dinner and a self service breakfast is served every morning. Thank you for staying at us and see you next time!:)

54%

Small and only two bathrooms which wasn't cleaned and got busy in the morning. Couldn't locks down not even close the door to the room which made it bang because of the open window. A bit far from the city centre

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear travaler, Thank you for rating and commenting us. We have the bathrooms cleaned every day of course, but they can get dirty very quickly because there's a lot of people staying here. I think our location is pretty good since we are next to Parliament, Margaret Island and so on. If you just close the door it locks itself and then it doesn't bang because of an open window.:) Thank you for staying at us and see you next time!

80%

More of a party hostel than a place for a backpacker. Staff were very friendly and helpful, close to main Centre (20-30min walk) and near to shops and restaurants. Tram stops right outside so great access from the rail stations. Rooms are a little cramped and the place could do with more than 2 loos.


89%

Beds have curtains, gives you a bit of privacy. Bathrooms weren't too clean but I guess that just guest as they did clean every morning. Breakfast was okay very standard. Staff were helpful helped us with tickets to baths. Free dinner was a very good surprise :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear traveler, Thank you for rating and commenting us. We always pay attention to bathrooms but unfortunately they get dirty very quickly because of the number of people staying at us. We always try to make the breakfast and dinner simple and filling. We are glad to hear that you liked us. Thank you for staying at us and see you next time!:)

91%

Honestly the best hostel I've ever stayed in; bedrooms were large, clean and comfortable. Wifi sometimes a bit dodgy but nonetheless, worked. Free breakfast every day and free dinners 3 times a week which was a lovely bonus. Great location - 10 mins from nearest metro and 15 min walk to places such as the government building. Staff were very lovely and helpful and the atmosphere of this hostel was nice as I met so many people there. Only downside is that the kitchen is very small.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear traveler, Thank you for rating and commenting us. Reviews like this are the reason why we love to work in a hostel. We are glad that you felt yourself good at us. Thank you for staying at us and see you next time!:)

69%

Staff were very friend and helpful. Free breakfast and dinner every second night was really helpful. Room was hot... Very hot

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear traveler, Thank you for rating and commenting us. It's good to hear that you found the dinner and breakfast helpful. Those are meant to be simple and filling meals. We have air conditioning during the daytime, sorry if the room was to hot for you. Thank you for staying at us and see you next time!:)

97%

You guys are amazing homeplus staff! Shout out to lilla, gabor, bella for a wicked time, im sorry if ive missed out people but what a good time with y'all xxx

  • 9th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear traveler, Thank you for the kind words. We are really glad that you liked us. Hope to see you next time dude!:)

74%

Nice place, but it's a bit difficult to find the first time. Split into two buildings, but it's close to the Parliament building and a metro station. A few restaurants and things nearby too. Beds were comfy and rooms were decently cool at night. Bathrooms could get a bit nasty though. Wifi only works in the common area.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear traveler, Thank you for rating and commenting us. It could be a bit difficult to find for the first time but we offer help almost instantly if you ask us. We always pay attention to bathrooms however they can get dirty very quickly due to the fact that a lot of people stays at us. We are working on the wifi issue. Thank you for staying at us and see you next time!:)

91%

Really enjoyed staying here! They were very accomodating and helpful when we had some difficulties getting there on the first night! Very quick to respond to my email :) Very nice and welcoming staff! Provided a small breakfast for us every morning and dinner some nights which was lovely. Very easy to get to from the train station & very local to everything! Beds were nice - each bed had a personal lamp, power plug and curtain for some privacy! Loved it!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear traveler, Thank you for the kind words. It's a really awesome feeling to get a review like this. That's why we love working in a hostel. Thank you for staying at us and see you next time!:)

83%

I can't say anything but positive things about the staff. They were very friendly and exceedingly helpful when I had an issue the first night. I liked the people and the atmosphere of the hostel. The pub crawl was great and the free dinners/breakfasts were nice touches. The one suggestion I might have for the future is bath mats. The showers could get slippery and mats would take care of the wet floor problem. It would also add to the homey feeling. Would definitely stay again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear traveler, Thank you for the positive words. We are glad that you liked being here. We used to have mats couple months ago, but they are always wet and get dirty very easily. It's way more hygienic if we don't have mats. Thank you for staying at us and see you next time!:)

97%

This has been my favourite hostel- it has a real family feel with a communal kitchen to chill around. The bedrooms are big and each bed has its own curtains which gives privacy. Location wise, it's by Parliament square which has the train links whilst 2 minute walk from the main tram stops. The clubs are on the main road, a five minute walk away and therefore really accessible. I would advice booking tickets through the hostel whenever possible to save queuing time

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear traveler, Thank you for rating and commenting us. We are really glad that you felt yourself good here. What kind of tickets do you mean? Unfortunately, public transportation tickets are only available to buy at the ticket machines, train tickets are only available at the offices, we don't have permission to sell these. Thank you for staying at us, see you next time!:)

91%

Small hostel but staff are very helpful and friendly and facilities are well kept. Slightly out of the way to the North but good tram links/


91%

Lovely lady at the reception - place is a little confusing as it is made up of 3 buildings with 2 receptions... My room was weird but cool because it was a single private


89%

The name says it all! HomeHostel is definitely a second home away from home considering it's over all ambiance and structure. There is only one common area to mingle, of which everyone is able to meet everyone. Only issue I had was that they were understaffed at times and the facilities were not the greatest. Besides that, great location and great vibes.


100%

This was by far the best hostel I have ever stayed at. The privacy curtains around the beds created a perfect space for individual time if wanted, but if you entered the common room/kitchen you were certain to meet many other travelers excited to talk. It is an easy hostel to both stay in or go out at, as both types of people are present. Just a warning, one of the rooms is right next to the tram, which can get loud. But seeing as that is the only complaint I can find, definitely stay here!


100%

Extremely friendly staff and a very cosy hostel with a range of good facilities

  • 25th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Really awesome place, go there, best hostel, loads of fun which hostel offers you to do... Go to labourintus the broken english is hilarious, i actually managed to loose knowledge, i know less about than i did before, also act


94%

Great hostel. Felt like I was actually living in Budapest. Free dinner was great! Staff was extremely helpful, met tons of great people. Walking tour was poor, but met people during the tour which made it better.


80%

Lockable drawers in the rooms would be good


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(127 results)


View all Budapest Hostels

Please give us your feedback