Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Homeikan

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 1,041 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 1,041 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.4
Homeikan Located at 10-5 Hongo, 5-Chome, Bunkyo-Ku, Tokyo.
Homeikan
Japan
Tokyo 1130033 10-5 Hongo, 5-Chome, Bunkyo-Ku
90% 1041
35.7111862 139.7563397
Homeikan
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Aug 2016
9.7

I loved the 'old-world Japan' nature of Homeikan. If you want a Ryokan without frills, an old wooden house, with the sweetest people imaginable running it, then look no further. It is near the subway, in a lovely quite neighborhood but very near very many restaurants and cafes. Everyone was so kind and helpful to us. If you are looking for a room with a private toilet, then this is not the ryokan for you. but if you are looking for authenticity at an extremely good budget price, then stay here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
10th Aug 2016
9.4

Great, very Japanese place to stay for good money. Location is a bit difficult to find but otherwise no complaints.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Aug 2016
9.7

Awsome place. Makes you really feel like you are in Japan. Great price! Theres a private shower and a shared bath room with thermal waters if you really want the Japanese hot bath experience. Sleeping in the feels great and the people working there are really nice.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
25th Jul 2016
10.0

We wanted to stay at a traditional Ryokan, and Homeikan was the perfect location to choose. Staff were friendly and couldn't have been more helpful, transporting our bags to our room after a long journey and showing us the best locations for food and sightseeing. The communal baths were very clean and well kept, as were the rooms (which are equipped with safes in each room, not simply a communal one at reception). There was a common room in the basement with refreshments and laundry, too.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Jun 2016
10.0

Great staff and cozy place. The friendly and helpful staff really helped to make our stay fun.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
12th Apr 2016
10.0

Homeikan was the most incredible place to kick off our month in Japan. Everything pales in comparison to this beautiful, beautiful place. We arrived at our next accomodation, turned to eachother and said "Let's go back home(ikan)!" Everything is perfection: from the people, to the picturesque pond and gardens, to the dreamy onsen and spacious rooms. The bento breakfast is the cherry on top! We will be telling all our friends and family to always stay here in Tokyo!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
12th Apr 2016
10.0

This place may be a short walk from th station, but it's well worth the journey. Our room was clean with futon already made for us. They even had hot water for tea and Okashi ready for us to enjoy! The staff spoke great English and we were able to communicate with ease. We got breakfast which is a must. Convenient, delicious, filling!!! The baths are clean and hot, perfect for a day spent on your feet. To not stay at Homeikam is a tragedy. Best in Tokyo.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Apr 2016
10.0

I stayed at Homeikan with a friend and we were delighted with everything. We thought it was absolutely charming and we loved the garden and feeding the fish. The staff were really helpful - the introductory tour was very useful. Best of all was the lovely breakfast, carefully matched to our dietary needs - and delicious! Thank you to everyone Note: there is a rather steep road to reach Homeikan

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
12th Mar 2016
9.1

I had a lovely single room to myself here. Very traditional Japanese, and a very good place for travellers who want to experience a ryokan stay. The atmosphere is fantastic and very calming after a busy day of sightseeing and shopping. The neighbourhood is fairly quiet, with a lot of coffee shops, restaurants and bars with student prices and some beautiful little art galleries. Fairly easy access to several train lines and the rest of Tokyo and regional areas.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.