Hostelworld.com

Homeikan

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 1,028 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 1,028 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 8.7
Homeikan Located at 10-5 Hongo, 5-Chome, Bunkyo-Ku, Tokyo.
Homeikan
Japan
Tokyo 1130033 10-5 Hongo, 5-Chome, Bunkyo-Ku
91% 1028
35.7111862 139.7563397
Homeikan
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Jun 2016
10.0

Great staff and cozy place. The friendly and helpful staff really helped to make our stay fun.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
12th Apr 2016
10.0

Homeikan was the most incredible place to kick off our month in Japan. Everything pales in comparison to this beautiful, beautiful place. We arrived at our next accomodation, turned to eachother and said "Let's go back home(ikan)!" Everything is perfection: from the people, to the picturesque pond and gardens, to the dreamy onsen and spacious rooms. The bento breakfast is the cherry on top! We will be telling all our friends and family to always stay here in Tokyo!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
12th Apr 2016
10.0

This place may be a short walk from th station, but it's well worth the journey. Our room was clean with futon already made for us. They even had hot water for tea and Okashi ready for us to enjoy! The staff spoke great English and we were able to communicate with ease. We got breakfast which is a must. Convenient, delicious, filling!!! The baths are clean and hot, perfect for a day spent on your feet. To not stay at Homeikam is a tragedy. Best in Tokyo.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Apr 2016
10.0

I stayed at Homeikan with a friend and we were delighted with everything. We thought it was absolutely charming and we loved the garden and feeding the fish. The staff were really helpful - the introductory tour was very useful. Best of all was the lovely breakfast, carefully matched to our dietary needs - and delicious! Thank you to everyone Note: there is a rather steep road to reach Homeikan

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
12th Mar 2016
9.1

I had a lovely single room to myself here. Very traditional Japanese, and a very good place for travellers who want to experience a ryokan stay. The atmosphere is fantastic and very calming after a busy day of sightseeing and shopping. The neighbourhood is fairly quiet, with a lot of coffee shops, restaurants and bars with student prices and some beautiful little art galleries. Fairly easy access to several train lines and the rest of Tokyo and regional areas.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Feb 2016
8.9

This hostel is very nice, location is convenience as they have 4 different metro line around the area. Staff are friendly and polite. Price are affordable compare to regular hotel. If you want to have a feel of a ryokan, try this place! The only downside to this hostel is that the wall are very thin and you can hear people talking next door. It was very annoying as there is a group of people gather in a room every night and start chatting and laughing at 11pm-1am ish.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Feb 2016
9.4

We very much enjoyed our stay at Homeikan. Comfortable Ryokan atmosphere. Easy to reach several subway lines for transportation around the city. Would stay here again anytime and recommend to friends.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Dec 2015
8.3

Spacious, traditional place with history. Staff was extremely courteous and helpful to me.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
30th Dec 2015
10.0

Traditional Japanese rooms. Unique experience.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
29th Dec 2015
6.3

Staff were polite and helpful. Many things in the ryokan looked like the place had been closed for the last 30 years and reopened specifically for us. Several things in the room were broken, worn out and included the most ugly and least tasteful decoration i have ever seen in a traditional japanese room. The place wasn't terrible but quite disappointing considering the other reviews and other ryokan we stayed in for similar prices.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.