Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Homeikan

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 1,085 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 1,085 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 8.8
Homeikan Located at 10-5 Hongo, 5-Chome, Bunkyo-Ku, Tokyo.
Homeikan
Japan
Tokyo 1130033 10-5 Hongo, 5-Chome, Bunkyo-Ku
90% 1085
35.7111862 139.7563397
Homeikan
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Jan 2017
8.9

Great location near Tokyo University! Close to just about everything via train. The staff is extremely kind and made sure everything was accommodating. Only con is that the facilities are a bit old.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your stay at us. >> The facities are a bit old,,,, You are right. Honkan was built in 19th century ,Daimachi Bekkan was built 5 years after WW2, Morikawa Bekkan was buitl in 1955. We try to improve some of them for years. But, for some parts, it seems very hard to reach to Today's level.

3rd Jan 2017
9.1

Overall, a very enjoyable experience! We felt very welcomed by the staff! It was the first during our trip where we felt at home and comfortable as opposed to the traditional Western hostel environment that we've been staying at. The maids took care of everything and set up our beds and served us breakfast the next morning. A few downfalls would be the cold breakfast food and creepy hallways. Best parts would be the private onsen and living in a traditional Japanese Inn!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Jan 2017
10.0

Beautiful and amazing piece of paradise.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
30th Dec 2016
5.1

Booked this hostel because it was the only one left that had room for 2 people. When I searched with Hostelworld I selected 2 guests and it showed a private room. When we got there all was good and they showed us to our room and everything was nice. However as we checked out they scammed us telling us that it was double the rate as we booked on hostelworld since we had 2 people. They said what we booked on Hostelworld was for 1 person only and they should have told us the new rate right away.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Dec 2016
7.4

There's a difference between historical and poorly maintained. This Ryokan is tending towards the latter.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Dec 2016
9.1

We had a great time staying here for the New Year's weekend! We got 2 rooms as a family of 7. Everyone really enjoyed our stay. The hostel is located in a quiet college town, just a 5-10 min walk away from the train station. Staff was so kind. Cleanliness was good, considering the hotel is quite old. There was a bit of mold along the sliding doors of the bath but other than that everything was clean. Our keys opened each other's room but there was also a safe in the room. We would stay again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Dec 2016
9.4

Wonderful staff and facilities! It was great to experience the feeling of a traditional ryokan, including sleeping in cozy futons on the tatami floor.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Dec 2016
9.7

I loved my 4 night stay at this Ryukan! Wonderful staff with great rooms and facilities. The bath rooms were well kept and traditional. The toilets were always clean. Great attention to detail. The location is up on a small hill in a residential area with a less than 5 minute walk to a subway; perfect! I cannot recommend this place enough!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
23rd Dec 2016
10.0

Old world charm and amazing services describe this place best. If I get back to Tokyo, I'll be back here!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
19th Nov 2016
10.0

I would recommend highly,

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.