Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Homeikan

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 1,063 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 1,063 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 8.6
Homeikan Located at 10-5 Hongo, 5-Chome, Bunkyo-Ku, Tokyo.
Homeikan
Japan
Tokyo 1130033 10-5 Hongo, 5-Chome, Bunkyo-Ku
90% 1063
35.7111862 139.7563397
Homeikan
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Nov 2016
10.0

Loved this place. Loved the staff. Clean facilities. It was a little outbid the way but only about a 10-15 min walk from the train station.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Nov 2016
8.6

Splendid--a genuine ryokan experience!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Oct 2016
8.0

Lovely old building & serene traditional garden Staff pleasant, helpful, room large & clean, share bathroom, toilet Hot tub very nice. Hard to find, directions not very correct, laneway not marked, but is the one before the post office, coming from Hongo station, about 10 minute walk from station. Would stay again, out of the way of bustle of busy city Tokyo.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Oct 2016
10.0

Very authentic, nice area, easy access nice staff, very clean, delicious Japanese breakfast, good value. If you are looking for an authentic Japanese ryokan experience at a good preice in Tokyo then I would recommend strongly.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
21st Oct 2016
9.4

We booked a triple room, which was spacious since only 2 of us ended up staying at this hostel. The hostel was a typical Ryokan with tatami flooring and futon beds. The staff were great and really helpful and accommodating of our requirements. The hostel has a lovely garden area, hot tubs and Japanese breakfast and other meals can be ordered. The location can be difficult to find and you need a good map or GPS. Overall a plesant and relaxing stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Oct 2016
9.4

The staff was super accommodating and friendly! I arrived at the wrong location for the hostel and they kindly drove me to the correct one! The room was super traditional and the communal bath was fine! I ended up being in the bath alone when I was there. The room was what I was looking for but it was slightly musty. Would recommend this place if you're looking for communal shared spaces and an experience with a traditional Japanese room.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Sep 2016
9.4

Bloody marvellous.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

You gave us "Fantastic rating". Million thanks.

4th Sep 2016
8.6

My boyfriend and I enjoyed staying here during our last night in Japan and getting to experience a traditional ryokan. After traveling for two weeks it was nice to stay somewhere quiet. We stayed at the annex location which I wish we had known in advance. Kind of hoping we were staying at the one with the garden but there didn't seem to be much of a choice ahead of time. Staff was incredibly friendly and let us into our room a little early which was much appreciated! True Japanese experience

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your stay and your comment.

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Mixed Group, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Aug 2016
10.0

Sehr schön! Hab mit meinen zwei jugendlichen Kindern eine tolle Zeit verbracht. Zu Fuss ist man schnell im Ueno Park, schnell auch bei der U-Bahn,. Es liegt auch wunderschön, im alten Universitätsvirtel von Tokyo, tolle Essmöglichkeiten rund herum. Ich kann es nur weiterempfehlen.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Aug 2016
9.7

I loved the 'old-world Japan' nature of Homeikan. If you want a Ryokan without frills, an old wooden house, with the sweetest people imaginable running it, then look no further. It is near the subway, in a lovely quite neighborhood but very near very many restaurants and cafes. Everyone was so kind and helpful to us. If you are looking for a room with a private toilet, then this is not the ryokan for you. but if you are looking for authenticity at an extremely good budget price, then stay here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.