X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Homeikan Reviews

10-5 Hongo, 5-Chome, Bunkyo-Ku, Tokyo, Japan

Reviews & Ratings Explained

90%

Rating
957 Total Reviews
  • 89%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 82%Location
  • 94%Staff
  • 92%Atmosphere
  • 93%Cleanliness
  • 88%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Traditional atomesphere and great service, great value

  • 23rd Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Nice features are: All rooms provided with towels, yukatan, phone, TV, A/C. Issues are: The staff has very limited English skill and the toilet areas are not air conditioned.


69%

The room was nice but the staff could have been friendlier. Plus I couldn't book the room for only one person, so I paid double.


100%

It is the best place to stay in Tokyo and have a real Japanese experience. Our room was very beautiful, clean and quiet. We could enjoy Japanese tea in the morning. Taking a shower was also a relaxing experience even though I didn't get in the bathtub, the cleanness, quietness and hot water shower was very good. The staff is very polite and attentive. I would stay here again if I come back to Tokyo. I strongly recommend this hotel.


100%

This is the best Hotel I have ever stayed in. Great room, fantastic atmosphere, wonderful baths, friendly and helpful staff.


94%

Great place to stay. We liked it.

  • 27th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

The building felt old, but not necessarily in a bad way. It added to a traditional feel.

  • 21st May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

Amazing experience - very traditional Staff was very friendly and explained how everything worked On the negative side: It's a bit out of the way but close to metro and therefore easy to reach any part of town you want to visit. The area is very very quiet though. Wifi wasn't good at all

  • 17th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

Beautiful: the staff were great and accommodating, walking distance from ueno and asakusa with good transport links to the other main sites in Tokyo, lovely breakfast. The standard and quality is just absolutely amazing. Thank you for making my visit to Tokyo!


91%

Staffs are very friendly. Need instructions is English as well.

  • 19th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


71%

Great for a cheaper option for a ryokan. Would be great if they had actual shower facilities-- have a communal bath and family bath (both with a wall of handheld shower fixtures). Didn't like the fact that the doors can't lock from the inside (at least mine couldn't). All in all, good place to stay for the traditional atmosphere.


94%

The staff were very helpful and polite. The building is lovely and the baths were a great way to wind down the day. The room was cleaned when we were gone. The breakfast in the morning for 1000円 was great and brought to our room on time. If you're using the JR pass, the closest station (suidoubashi) is about 20mins walk away. Close to Tokyo dome city and a variety of stores.


80%

it's a traditional Ryokan.

  • 13th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


57%

After booking online I was expecting to pay the amount stated (as with other online bookings in Japan) but tax was added and this should have been mentioned when reserving. Also expected the price to include 2 meals as the norm with Ryokans. Food was available at additional cost but we as we arrived at after 11am we could not order dinner. Historical aspects of building lovely although the washing facilities needed refurbishment. Only 1 shower facilities/sento for all accommodation.

  • 10th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

A very classic hotel. Very pleasant staff. Good place to stay.


74%

5 min. walk to nearest subway station (but it's a Tokei line) and 20 min. walk from JR station. Room, facilities are impeccable.


100%

The best place I have ever stayed - authentic, a wonderfull bathroom, very kind staff and lovely atmosphere.


80%

Very pleasant stay. A bit far from the touristic places. No much restaurant around. But a very pleasant ryokan, with the japanese spirit. We enjoyed our stay.

  • 4th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your stay at us. The phrase, Japanese spirt sounds very encouraging for us. Yes, we preserve our tradition in the cener of this modern city Tokyo.

97%

Nicest place i've stayed in Japan. Traditional atmosphere, rooms are clean, the little garden is so cute, beautiful details all over the place. And helpful staff. I really enjoyed being there.


89%

Superb staff and food, and an excellent traditional old Japanese feel. We stayed in the second house which was lovely.


« first « Prev 1 2
(28 results)


View all Tokyo Hostels

Please give us your feedback