Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hongdae Birdsnest Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 141 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 141 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.9
Hongdae Birdsnest Hostel Located at 561-34 Yeonnam-dong, Mapo-gu, Seoul.
Hongdae Birdsnest Hostel
South Korea
Seoul Mapo-Gu, Seoul 561-34 Yeonnam-dong, Mapo-gu
90% 141
37.5610316 126.9212669
Hongdae Birdsnest Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Sep 2016
9.4

Best place to stay! :) It is very easy to meet new people and the staff is very open and friendly. I'll stay there next time again! :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
25th Aug 2016
3.4

The instructions for finding it were ambiguous so that wasn't a great start. There are lots of locals that 'hang out' there that aren't necessarily staying or working there. They had showers and toilets although not enough and not all had locks on. Also they were mixed. There were a variety of strange things happening while we were here. We were also offered drugs by a drunk local that came in at 6am as we were getting up who said he used to work there, not all that secure. xx

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
5th Aug 2016
9.7

This was my first time staying in a hostel, and it was an amazing experience! Mateja the former manager is awesome and super accomodating, but she's unfortunately not here anymore :( The people staying in the hostel with me were super awesome, the facilities are great, the hostel is very secure, and Hongdae is a fantastic place in Seoul for tourists/foreigners to be. I have basically no complaints of this place and would absolutely recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
28th Jul 2016
8.9

Say hi to Mareja for me!! Loved exploring Seoul here. Ate a lot of free toast and used a lot of free towels so it was very good for me

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Jul 2016
9.7

This hostel is amazing! The staff is extremely welcoming. You essentially stay in their house and that's how they treat you, like guests in their own home. If I end up back in Seoul, I will 100% stay here again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
13th Jul 2016
10.0

Easily one of my favorite hostels. The moment I arrived I felt very welcome by the management and everyone staying there. They were extremely flexible and did everything possible to make sure I was comfortable. Very clean and well kept areas. Extended another week. Will be coming back if I return to Korea. Also a great location to see the younger Korean lifestyle. So many options for food and easy to get anywhere from the hostel. Highly recommend it for a long or a short stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
6th Jul 2016
9.1

Nice place to stay in Séoul ! Close to Hongdae and Hongik university Station, the house was clean, my room was confortable and the staff was very cool and friendly.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
2nd Jul 2016
9.1

Great location and nice little house with a very homey feeling. Has everything you need - free towels to use everyday put in the common area (never seen this before), kitchen, hairdryer, dressing table in common area, fast reliable wifi. Showers and toilets were clean, bed was comfortable and doors were locked with passcode at night which made it feel more secure. I didn't really hang out with people because I had alot of plans already but felt that it would be pretty easy to meet people!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Sao Tome And Principe, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
25th Jun 2016
9.4

This is probably the best hostel I've ever stayed in. The location is extremely convenient to get around, but you'll soon find yourself wanting to have lazy days at *home*. The beds are comfortable, the place is clean and safe. There is free bread, tea, jam, coffee, rice, travel brochures... The atmosphere and the staff are what I liked the most. I totally recommend it if you're a solo traveler. The best memories I'll have of Seoul are because of the people I met at Birdsnest.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
23rd Jun 2016
9.7

Great location and very close to everything you might need in Seoul. Very clean and well maintained. The manager Mateja does a great job making sure everyone feels at home. Excellent facilities for a long or a short term stay, eg kitchen, fridge, microwave. It would be good if the place had bigger lockers for storing luggage. I would definitely stay again at this hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.