Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hongdae Birdsnest Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 161 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 161 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.5
Hongdae Birdsnest Hostel Located at 561-34 Yeonnam-dong, Mapo-gu, Seoul.
Hongdae Birdsnest Hostel
South Korea
Seoul Mapo-Gu, Seoul 561-34 Yeonnam-dong, Mapo-gu
86% 161
37.5610316 126.9212669
Hongdae Birdsnest Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
11th Nov 2016
10.0

Will be staying here if I return! Definitely a great time!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th Nov 2016
10.0

Accommodating and helpful. Affordable place to stay in Seoul.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
3rd Nov 2016
4.6

Pros of this place- It is close to the station and bus stops and the local markets and downtown scene. It has a full functioning kitchen and they provide tiny little bath towels. Thats about as far as the positives go. Cons- the temp is not regulated in the rooms- the beds are hard- there is no communal space to meet people- breakfast is crackers- the showers are awful with no pressure and not very hot. Out of all the potential hostels in Seoul and even this area, the hostel was nothing special

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Sarah As you can see on hostelworld we dont provide breakfast i guess you ate someone elses stuff :( We are always here to help if you inform us of course i will try to make it better but you didnt say anything.For room and water temperature everybody needs different temperature.its not possible to make it perfect for everybody but you didnt say anything i am just reading from your review.And accually i would like to hear more about "communal space" because usually we having fun together on common area

1st Nov 2016
10.0

Super friendly staff, comfortable living space.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
30th Oct 2016
8.3

Liked the place. Good location and great staff.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
22nd Oct 2016
8.3

It has a western atmosphere with mainly of guests are westerners. Overall, it is good for the price. Good neighbors; Hongdae is lively and youthful. Easy to take the Airport Express line. Cons and areas for improvement: A bit far from subway and bus station. I don't like to do the bed sheet. They should provide shampoo Towels for the shower are too small and coarse like sandpapers. The mandatory e-mail reply for booking confirmation is so hostile.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
22nd Oct 2016
4.9

We were really disappointed. The beds were really bad and small, my boyrfriend trying to get to the upper bunk bed almost threw the whole thing down. No pillow cases, no sheets. The bathrooms weren't very clean, and there were many times when the water was not nearly hot....also no water pressure at all. Staff was not welcoming nor helpful. Also, it is not allowed to drink in the hostel but 1 of our roomates drank quite a lot, farted, burped and behaved horribly bad and the staff did nothing.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
22nd Oct 2016
3.4

Woah this place is a huge disappointment. Considering the reviews I suspect the previous manager left and now it's a shambles. The bathroom wasn't cleaned, with hair clogging the drains, and hot water only occasionally working in the shower upstairs and the bathroom downstairs was always grotty. No breakfast. The security is dubious at best. No lockers, no locks on individual dorm rooms, and the 'secure' door was open wide until after 2am. Much better hostel options nearby for the same price!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
12th Oct 2016
5.1

Quite far from station, especially when you bring two heavy backpacks in your shoulder. Staff busy making plan with another staff, don't involve the guest at all. Bathroom is a nightmare, one bathroom separated into two bathroom using partition. No lock for bathroom door, You can't have any privation while taking shower. Bed os hard as rock and thin as paper. The staff will do your laundry but can't handle it well. My dress got broken after they laundry it.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
6th Oct 2016
7.1

PROS: Wifi good. Location good. About 10 min walk to Hongdae Station. Some local restaurants nearby. Air conditioner good. Laundry service was ok- they forgot about our clothes, so we had to go make sure our clothes was hung out to be dried. CONS: the front door is left open throughout the day. Anyone could walk in and out of the hostel. Mosquitoes were in our room and the commons area all nights we were there. Our room smelled like old wet clothes. Overall, it was a good place to just get by.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.