Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hongdae Birdsnest Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.2
Superb 137 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 9.1
BOOK NOW
9.2
Superb 137 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 9.1
Hongdae Birdsnest Hostel Located at 561-34 Yeonnam-dong, Mapo-gu, Seoul.
Hongdae Birdsnest Hostel
South Korea
Seoul Mapo-Gu, Seoul 561-34 Yeonnam-dong, Mapo-gu
92% 137
37.5610316 126.9212669
Hongdae Birdsnest Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
5th Aug 2016
9.7

This was my first time staying in a hostel, and it was an amazing experience! Mateja the former manager is awesome and super accomodating, but she's unfortunately not here anymore :( The people staying in the hostel with me were super awesome, the facilities are great, the hostel is very secure, and Hongdae is a fantastic place in Seoul for tourists/foreigners to be. I have basically no complaints of this place and would absolutely recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
28th Jul 2016
8.9

Say hi to Mareja for me!! Loved exploring Seoul here. Ate a lot of free toast and used a lot of free towels so it was very good for me

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Jul 2016
9.7

This hostel is amazing! The staff is extremely welcoming. You essentially stay in their house and that's how they treat you, like guests in their own home. If I end up back in Seoul, I will 100% stay here again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
13th Jul 2016
10.0

Easily one of my favorite hostels. The moment I arrived I felt very welcome by the management and everyone staying there. They were extremely flexible and did everything possible to make sure I was comfortable. Very clean and well kept areas. Extended another week. Will be coming back if I return to Korea. Also a great location to see the younger Korean lifestyle. So many options for food and easy to get anywhere from the hostel. Highly recommend it for a long or a short stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
6th Jul 2016
9.1

Nice place to stay in Séoul ! Close to Hongdae and Hongik university Station, the house was clean, my room was confortable and the staff was very cool and friendly.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
2nd Jul 2016
9.1

Great location and nice little house with a very homey feeling. Has everything you need - free towels to use everyday put in the common area (never seen this before), kitchen, hairdryer, dressing table in common area, fast reliable wifi. Showers and toilets were clean, bed was comfortable and doors were locked with passcode at night which made it feel more secure. I didn't really hang out with people because I had alot of plans already but felt that it would be pretty easy to meet people!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Sao Tome And Principe, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
25th Jun 2016
9.4

This is probably the best hostel I've ever stayed in. The location is extremely convenient to get around, but you'll soon find yourself wanting to have lazy days at *home*. The beds are comfortable, the place is clean and safe. There is free bread, tea, jam, coffee, rice, travel brochures... The atmosphere and the staff are what I liked the most. I totally recommend it if you're a solo traveler. The best memories I'll have of Seoul are because of the people I met at Birdsnest.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
23rd Jun 2016
9.7

Great location and very close to everything you might need in Seoul. Very clean and well maintained. The manager Mateja does a great job making sure everyone feels at home. Excellent facilities for a long or a short term stay, eg kitchen, fridge, microwave. It would be good if the place had bigger lockers for storing luggage. I would definitely stay again at this hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
14th Jun 2016
8.3

Fun and friendly! The staff there were warm and made me feel right at home. The location was great -- right near Hongik University -- and the private room I got was modest but clean. It seemed a bit expensive for what it was, but I guess it's not that expensive for Seoul? One thing to be aware of is that there is a washing machine on the premises, but not a dryer, so you'll need to sun-dry your clothes (weather permitting). Fortunately, there's also a coin-op laundromat not too far away.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
3rd Jun 2016
7.7

Everything was good. from location, cleanliness, atmoshpere and facilities. They even provide you luggage storage even you are done with your stay! The only thing I would like to point out is that the staff forgot to give my change. When she doesnt have enough change on the day I arrived, she told me she will list it down and give it to me the next day. But it didnt happen and we both forgot it until I leave. It's my fault at the same time i guess. Other than that, everything is good.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.