Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hongdae Pencil Guesthouse & Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 664 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.9
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 9.7
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 664 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.9
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 9.7
  • Facilities 8.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
28th Jul 2017
10.0

Tremendous hostel - clean and great location. I stayed at the Kimchee hostel in the same area and it this blows it out of the water.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
20th Jul 2017
8.0

this my third time stay in zz pencil. nice place and better than hotel. cosy. but the price is costly.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th Jul 2017
8.9

Perfect location in Hongdae. You have plenty of restaurants around and coffee shops. NEGATIVE: - Only bathroom in your room. This is unfortunate if you are in the common areas.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
12th Jul 2017
10.0

A clean, fairly new hostel with a bathroom in each room. Good stuff!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
3rd Jul 2017
10.0

Perfect for acclimating to Seoul after a long flight. My desires were quite basic; easy access for the airport, clean, comfortable but most of all, quiet. Pencil exceeded my expectations. I was lucky, they weren't busy and my share was only with a woman who had an early flight. I had a great sleep in a comfortable bunk. The neighborhood was fantastic for eating. The desk gave excellent directions for getting to the city tour bus and the subway to the airport. I loved Seoul thanks to Pencil

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Jun 2017
7.1

Good AC, in a good location, although I prefer Itaewon location because Hongdae is university area so lots of young students. Cheap cool bars and cafes though and happening vibe. Close to metro so that was nice. The staff are nice but not overly helpful, some had limited English. There were no lockers from what I could find and so I just locked my bag zipper and nothing got stolen but I still think it's unsafe. There were lockers but hey we're unlockable so it was just a tease. Towels too small.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
22nd May 2017
9.7

Wow, what a fab location. It is nestled away in a small patch of greenery in the heart of the city.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th May 2017
10.0

I cannot commend nor recommend this hostel enough. Usually, a hostel excels in some components and is deficient regarding others; but, over the course of two stays here, I couldn't find a single fault, really. Not one. The location is supreme, immersed in the wonderful alleyways of Hongdae, but two alleyways back from the thriving main thoroughfare. The rooms are intimate enough to encourage conversation, but not so large as to ever seem crowded or overwhelming. Comfy beds and breakfast as well.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • toizin9831
  • Brazil, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
29th Apr 2017
10.0

Awesome place to stay in Seoul! Great location, very close to Hongik st., cleanand safe.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
28th Apr 2017
9.7

It was a bit pricier than other places we stayed in Korea, but it was worth it. Room was nice with enough space to move around, and the staff was friendly and helpful. The location is convenient just about a 5 minute walk from the University Station, and about 40 minutes from Gimpo airport. In a neighborhood with a lot of little cafes and bars, and a short walk to the busier and louder main Hongdae area.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.