Hostelworld.com

Hongdae Pencil Guesthouse & Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
9.4
Superb 593 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 9.3
BOOK NOW
9.4
Superb 593 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 9.3
Hongdae Pencil Guesthouse & Hostel Located at 113-32, donggyo-dong, Mapo Gu, Seoul.
Hongdae Pencil Guesthouse & Hostel
South Korea
Seoul 121-816 113-32, donggyo-dong, Mapo Gu
94% 593
37.5600110 126.9254617
Hongdae Pencil Guesthouse & Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
6th Jun 2016
9.4

Great place! The location is right by the subway and Hongdae is a great neighborhood to walk around at night (great street food and buskers). Very clean place. My only issue was having to share 1 bathroom with 3 other people. Somehow we all ended up wanting to shower at the same time. Also I had a cold shower the first might not realizing the temperature control was outside the bathroom.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
31st May 2016
9.7

Pretty neat place in a top location close to restaurants, bars and shopping, but in a very quiet area. I booked a single room, but got a large twin room which was very clean with big windows leaving in a lot of light. The breakfast was basic and self service. I really enjoyed the location!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
30th May 2016
10.0

I've had to stay at Pencil multiple times, usually after hours and the staff has made it smooth and convenient each time. Conveniently located next to Hongik Univ terminal, I've made it to both downtown Hongdae and Incheon airport with ease. Rooms are equipped with the essentials which make traveling light possible. Overall great hostel and experience!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
22nd May 2016
7.4

Nothing flashy but a nice clean hotel in a good location very close to the station. Really enjoyed staying in Hongdae. Lots of cafes, bars, shopping and a relaxed university vibe.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
11th May 2016
10.0

This place is a 10. First of all Abby is super nice and helpful. Great breakfast every morning (they even had chunky peanut butter). Clean rooms, comfy beds and your own bathroom. The location is AMAZING. Right in the middle of trendy Hongdae, a single train ride from the airport. You can't ask for more.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your nice review You are so nice and kind It will be really helpful to us Thanks a lot Good luck!!

10th May 2016
10.0

very nice place

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th May 2016
9.7

Great room and location for this place. All staff members in every shift are friendly and help a lot for all info i've asked them. Lovely owner

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Apr 2016
10.0

i liked the breakfast, the room, the surrounding and the guesthouse itself. thanks for the very pleasant stay! see u again in the future!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
19th Apr 2016
10.0

It was awesome. My friends and I like this place. We sure gonna repeat this place again. I highly recommend Pencil. The price is affordable to what they offered.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Apr 2016
10.0

I stayed there with other few friends. And Im super glad and satisfied with what Pencil had to offer. What I like the best is the breakfast provided. Its marvelous! And they also have free bike for rental even though I dont have the chance to try it. The night life Hongdae provided is the best ever. After enjoying the night life, went back to Pencil and got a very good sleep until the next morning. The location is nice, pretty near to the subway exit and connected to the airport line too.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.