Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hongdae Pencil Guesthouse & Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.2
Superb 643 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.7
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 9.7
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
9.2
Superb 643 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.7
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 9.7
  • Facilities 8.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Mar 2017
8.6

adorable place and really awesome location! close enough to everything but also quiet area.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Barbados, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
8th Mar 2017
10.0

Very pleased with my stay

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Jan 2017
10.0

Great location and amazing staff! Within walking distance of the number 2 subway line which will take you anywhere you need to go in Seoul with other connecting lines. I would definitely return if I were to come back to Seoul :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Jan 2017
10.0

Had a great stay at the Pencil guesthouse. The location is perfect, a short walk into the bustling streets of Hongdae, but nestled in amongst a collection of quaint cafes and restaurants. The staff were very helpful in giving me general advice, booking excursions, and some great tips for where to eat good Korean food. The rooms with ensuite are clean and comfortable, and the communal area is a great place to chill after a long day sightseeing, plus breakfast! Great hostel

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
3rd Dec 2016
9.1

Really nice and quite, close to where you want to be without the noise 👍🏾

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
2nd Dec 2016
9.4

Great place! So convenient to get to。The rooms were super clean and quite nice。 They even have a fridge and kettle in the room。Staff were accommodating, and were super helpful with guiding me through my self check-in (No staff after 11pm)。Breakfast even included an egg option, which is more than most other hostels。

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Nov 2016
10.0

I really loved my stay at Pencil Guesthouse! It was relaxed, peaceful, clean and cute which is everything that I was looking for. The location is also good, I would recommend staying here if you are visiting Seoul.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • YasminM
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
22nd Oct 2016
7.4

The hostel was in a good location in Hongdae. Very clean and safe. Breakfast options were good. No elevator so those staying on the upper floors must have light luggage! My room had very little storage space at all. This was more of a long term guesthouse stay for some occupants, otherwise there were groups travelling. I didn't find it social as a solo traveller. If you are a Western traveller, bring a towel as the one provided is more of a hand towel!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
4th Oct 2016
9.4

Very clean, nice rooms and bathroom (had ensuite), facilities and location. We stayed at 5th floor which was nice and quiet. Very secure with codes and WiFi everywhere. We didn't see many in common rooms which wasn't the most cosy but maybe it is low season? Anyway Great stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
29th Sep 2016
8.6

You can't beat the location of this hostel. It's in a back alley so it's a little hard to find, but it's literally a 3 min walk from the metro and in a super cute area. Better directions: go out exit 3, cross grassy area. When you are a store called Eye Catchers turn right, keep going til you see the hostel on your left. It's clean and the staff are super helpful, but I wish the lockers were in the room. There wasn't much of a vibe or people to talk to, but I was out all day anyway.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.