Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hongdae Pencil Guesthouse & Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.2
Superb 649 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 9.1
BOOK NOW
9.2
Superb 649 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 9.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • toizin9831
  • Brazil, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
29th Apr 2017
10.0

Awesome place to stay in Seoul! Great location, very close to Hongik st., cleanand safe.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
28th Apr 2017
9.7

It was a bit pricier than other places we stayed in Korea, but it was worth it. Room was nice with enough space to move around, and the staff was friendly and helpful. The location is convenient just about a 5 minute walk from the University Station, and about 40 minutes from Gimpo airport. In a neighborhood with a lot of little cafes and bars, and a short walk to the busier and louder main Hongdae area.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
27th Apr 2017
8.6

I really enjoyed my stay at Pencil. I was there for about a week. What kept me there was the incredible location and the comfortable, quiet room. The room was also spacious and had a refrigerator and a TV. What I found missing was a nice communal gathering space. There's one small room but it lacks ambience and no one hangs out there much. I also wish the bunk beds allowed for a little more privacy. Read: no curtains. Last, I was hoping the hostel staff would recommend things to do.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
27th Apr 2017
8.0

This is an alright hostel. It is a few minutes walk from train station. There's no lift to the room, the reception is often unmanned, no one hangs out at the common area beyond breakfast time. My mattress sinks in the middle (my room-mate likes hers though). No lockers, however my dorm has a medium sized fridge which doesn't work. I stayed in another hostel (zzzip Guesthouse) and I felt more welcomed and the owner hangs around the reception all day ready to interact with everyone.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Mar 2017
8.6

adorable place and really awesome location! close enough to everything but also quiet area.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
23rd Mar 2017
8.0

좋은장소이에요. 이 기속사 를 또 머물요. 잘가요.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Mar 2017
9.4

I stayed in a private room with my fellow travelers. Location: superb. Staff: exceedingly friendly and accommodating. Room: lovely, comfortable, quiet, and squeaky clean -- and it came with a refrigerator. Lounge: nice enough, although not really conducive to meeting fellow travelers, except perhaps during breakfast (or maybe it just isn't high time). Overall? Stop looking and book it already.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Mar 2017
8.3

Stayed in mixed dorm and private rooms. Both where comfortable, clean, And reasonably priced. Couldn't imagine a better location within Seoul.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Barbados, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
8th Mar 2017
10.0

Very pleased with my stay

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Jan 2017
10.0

Great location and amazing staff! Within walking distance of the number 2 subway line which will take you anywhere you need to go in Seoul with other connecting lines. I would definitely return if I were to come back to Seoul :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.