Hostelworld.com

Hongdae Pencil Guesthouse & Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 570 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 9.0
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 570 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 9.0
Hongdae Pencil Guesthouse & Hostel Located at 113-32, donggyo-dong, Mapo Gu, Seoul.
Hongdae Pencil Guesthouse & Hostel
South Korea
Seoul 121-816 113-32, donggyo-dong, Mapo Gu
91% 570
37.5600110 126.9254617
Hongdae Pencil Guesthouse & Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Apr 2016
10.0

It was such a cute, and well placed location. The staff is wonderful and very helpful. I would love to stay here again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • InkaPriska
  • Indonesia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
26th Mar 2016
9.7

The location is excellent, just 5 minutes to Hongik University Station, staffs were helpful, room was clean and breakfast was great. Highly recommended!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
13th Mar 2016
10.0

Perfect in in every way, close to the party area

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Mar 2016
8.3

They staff was very nice and accommodating. The facilities were clean and a great value for the price. I enjoyed my stay there.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
1st Mar 2016
9.4

This is the second time I've stayed at this hostel and I wasn't disappointed. It's walking distance from one of Seoul's best neighbourhoods and is about 50 minutes away on one line from Incheon International Airport on the Airport Railroad. We stayed in a private double room and the bed was comfortable. Ensuite bathroom was great. Breakfast consisted of coffee, juice, cereal, toast. The hostel is currently renovating its communal area, but was great when I stayed here last time.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Feb 2016
8.9

I like this hostel, clean and good location and staffs were nice! However, they use too much disposable products for breakfast and usually, so personally, if they make some washing place in kitchen or near kitchen and make people use ordinary utensil instead of disposable products, it would be nice. I think after breakfast, the staff need to wash dishes but the rest of time, let guest use the utensil and let them wash dishes which they used. it would be nice and protect environment.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
29th Jan 2016
8.3

Location is excellent: 5 minute walk from Hongik University Station (exit 3); walking distance from the loud and rowdy Hongdae nightclubs; in a quiet enough area that clubbers will not disturb your sleep. The immediate neighbourhood surrounding the hostel is quiet, classy, modern, and very chic. There is a very good Italian bistro just next door. The 4-bed mixed dorm is quite small, so don't expect luxury. Good enough for backpackers, maybe not so much for those willing to pay for more space.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
25th Jan 2016
6.6

this is my 23rd hostel. The hostel is down tiny streets much like Tokyo. Ask a local who will be happy to guide you or in my case, walk me there. The restaurant area is close by and the range of food is superb. The area is one of the many university precincts so you are sure to find others in the young age group. Love South Korea.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
13th Jan 2016
9.4

Excellent location, staff, clean rooms, and facilities.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Jan 2016
9.1

This hostel is awesome. It's very easy to go to the subway Hongik station gate 3. The facilities are full of function and the breakfast is great for me (egg and cereal). Thanks for my good memory here.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.