Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hongdae Pencil Guesthouse & Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.3
Superb 628 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 9.8
  • Facilities 9.4
BOOK NOW
9.3
Superb 628 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 9.8
  • Facilities 9.4
Hongdae Pencil Guesthouse & Hostel Located at 113-32, donggyo-dong, Mapo Gu, Seoul.
Hongdae Pencil Guesthouse & Hostel
South Korea
Seoul 121-816 113-32, donggyo-dong, Mapo Gu
93% 628
37.5600110 126.9254617
Hongdae Pencil Guesthouse & Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
4th Oct 2016
9.4

Very clean, nice rooms and bathroom (had ensuite), facilities and location. We stayed at 5th floor which was nice and quiet. Very secure with codes and WiFi everywhere. We didn't see many in common rooms which wasn't the most cosy but maybe it is low season? Anyway Great stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
29th Sep 2016
8.6

You can't beat the location of this hostel. It's in a back alley so it's a little hard to find, but it's literally a 3 min walk from the metro and in a super cute area. Better directions: go out exit 3, cross grassy area. When you are a store called Eye Catchers turn right, keep going til you see the hostel on your left. It's clean and the staff are super helpful, but I wish the lockers were in the room. There wasn't much of a vibe or people to talk to, but I was out all day anyway.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
23rd Sep 2016
8.6

Pencil house was nice. The staff was very helpful, even though one of them got me lost hahaha. Rooms were a bite small and not enough space for 4 people. Other than that, I had a pleasant experience.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
17th Sep 2016
9.4

The staff member who greeted us (I think her name was Sue?) was super lovely and helpful. The electronic security features were also very cool and gave us peace of mind. The hostel is a less than 5 minute walk from Hongik University station, and centrally located in a vibrant area with plenty of shops and restaurants nearby. We had a peaceful sleep regardless. Breakfast was great, good variety. I wish the towels were bigger though!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th Sep 2016
9.1

It's not a place to meet people if you're traveling alone (at least in my experience). The rooms and bathrooms were nice and clean. Breakfast nothing special. Common area nice and a computer for everyone to use. The staff was extremely helpful and kind.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th Sep 2016
9.7

Pencil is actually very close to everything. The location is perfect. Staff were really friendly and helpful. The door was really secured required a pin. However, be careful when coming back to hostel late at night. My friend and I came back at 3am after a night out in Hongdae and some guy followed up and decided to take off his pants.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Sep 2016
10.0

Great location, friendly staff. The lobby area was comfortable, the rooms were clean with toilet/fridge and tv inside

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Sep 2016
8.9

GREAT place to stay, I really enjoyed it and even stayed on two occasions. I will say, however, that the electronic lock for the door didn't work one night after a late night out. A bunch of different people piled up outside and couldn't get it to work. After 10-15 minutes, it worked for some reason. Also, the second time I stayed, I sent them a message, and some woman rudely told me she was the Seoul Station location (not Hongdae). All I wanted to know was if I could check in after 10PM.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Sep 2016
10.0

Good location close to hongik university subway station. Nice hangout place nearby at the park where you can drink and eat at night. Staff are helpful and place is always clean.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Sep 2016
8.6

i like the place. i live single bed room. i prefer one big bed than 2 single bed in my single bed room.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.