Hostelworld.com

Hootananny Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
7.5
Very Good 1,164 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 6.3
  • Facilities 7.1
BOOK NOW
7.5
Very Good 1,164 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 6.3
  • Facilities 7.1
Hootananny Hostel Located at 95 Effra Road, Brixton, London.
Hootananny Hostel
England
London SW2 1DF 95 Effra Road, Brixton
75% 1164
51.4553172 -0.1135969
Hootananny Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Romania, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Apr 2016
9.4

All I need to say is you gett the best experience a hostel could offer :x

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Mar 2016
9.1

I chose the hoot because of its location near the Brixton o2 academy, which was indeed handy. But it was also cool to stay over a pub/music venue, which I went to with some of the other people who were staying in the hostel (some kinda long-term). There was a good atmosphere, spent a lot of time chilling in the common room with friendly people. :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
5th Mar 2016
8.0

Friendly staff, excellent facilities - including kitchen and communal area with balcony. The Hootananny is an awesome music venue/ bar with a great atmosphere so it is great that the hostel is situated right above it! The hostel isn't squeaky clean, but if you're choosing this kind of accommodation you never know who you're going to be sharing a dorm with! I recommend this hostel to anyone looking for decent location (10 minute walk from Brixton amenities and the Victoria Line) at a cheap price.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there - thanks so much for leaving such a kind and thorough review. I'm so glad you had a good time and please come back soon! Happy travels ^_^

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Feb 2016
6.9

I only needed the hostel for one night's sleep so I must admit I didn't exercise facilities like the showers (communal) or kitchen (also communal, naturally). The multiple door codes made me feel safe (as possible when you're bunking with strangers). It was pretty clean, kinda like a normal house, but I'll blame the kitchen mess on the more long term residents! Other hostellers were friendly and the guy on the front desk was super nice and helpful. It did the job, I'd use Hoots again for

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey there, thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. Glad you enjoyed your stay, please do come again soon! Happy travels

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
20th Feb 2016
6.3

The hostel is not the cleanest one, the whole building is run-down, the rooms are smelly, bath room was in a bad condition.But the staff was friendly (I just got to know one person). The location is not too bad if you like to go out in Brixton (what we did), the Electric Brixton is just nearby.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Heya! Thanks for taking the time to review us. Glad you enjoyed Brixton. Just letting you know we're currently renovating the hostel, including new bathrooms! So if you come back hopefully you will enjoy it more :) Kind regards

  • Anonymous
  • Senegal, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Feb 2016
6.9

Still a way to go before we get the it or study or pray rooms in this space The downstairs club has a heavy bearing on the restful time Not for hard workers . More for fun times like summer or holiday

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
13th Feb 2016
6.3

The hostel has a good staff. The place is well served (about 10 minute walking from Brixton tube station). Unfortunately the second day one fridge stopped to work so we had to move all our food in the next one. As consequence, it was overloaded and it was quite difficult to find our food. I haven't found any paper rolls in the kitchen, so it was difficult to clean a table pick up something from the floor. On the whole it is a quite nice and cheap place for short staying.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey there, thanks for leaving us a review, and so sorry about the fridge malfunction!! I know it was super annoying. You'll be pleased to know it's all fixed now.. :) Happy travels and hope to see you again

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
1st Feb 2016
7.1

people were very friendly, felt like a home, only critisism is the toliets and shower cubical are minging, so make sure you bring flip flops

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Dec 2015
5.1

The hostel is old and the bathrooms and toilet smelly. I didn't want to use the kitchen much because I found it dirty. And there were no lockers where to keep you luggage.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Dec 2015
8.3

For the first time I stayed at hostel and this hostel is good example that just being in hostel doesn't mean that it has to be horrible. I stayed for two days and I love it, hostelers was fine, staff was friendly and wiling to help and everything was at some point clean, only what I would appreciate is higher space between beds, I hit my head so many times when I woke up :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.