X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hootananny Hostel Reviews

95 Effra Road, Brixton, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

70%

Rating
1056 Total Reviews
  • 73%Value For Money
  • 75%Security
  • 75%Location
  • 72%Staff
  • 70%Atmosphere
  • 60%Cleanliness
  • 66%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

63%

The location is great; just a few minutes walk into Brixton centre. It's above a bustling pub so don't expect a peaceful stay. The hostel is extremely secure and security is taken very seriously. Codes, codes and more codes! The bed sheets provided are pretty ropey, as are the bathrooms. But it's a hostel, not the Ritz. Oh, and don't converse with the beardy guy called Neil. He's a creepy personification of the Oedipus complex and will bombard hostellers with his insipid guitar playing.

  • 23rd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


66%

It's a nice place if you only are seeking a bed to sleep. The free breakfast is nice, but the cleanliness of the showers, toilets and kitchen (from noon) were questionable.


83%

Great as always but sadly had to leave day early

  • 28th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

Nice hostel, very easy to find. The only problem is the noise.

  • 18th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

I actually loved this place! I haven't stayed an many hostels so I don't really have a basis for comparison. But I found the place and the people and the venue downstairs totally charming. Especially for folks who are looking for an active nightlife. Looking forward to coming back and maybe performing one day.

  • 17th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


77%

Friendly place to stay relaxed bed comfy room a bit cramped but was sharing with some nice girls from around the world. Kitchen was OK. shower room could do with a curtain in the window. Good cheap location to explore London as quite near tube

  • 11th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


46%

The toilets are usually filthy and you often find males using the female toilets. The bathroom has three showers - the shower doors are painted but the bathroom has one huge clear window and there is nowhere to get changed but in the bathroom or the toilet because the showers are too small to dry and dress in. You can often smell weed drifting through the windows. The music at night is deafening. The bed covers are washed but the blankets and pillows are not (they are yellow with old sweat).


29%

The ratings I read about this hostel before I came must have been about the bar/music venue located beneath hootananny. Which became very annoying when music was blasting until 3 am every night.... My friend and I were not comfortable with the location. Brixton is not the place to be walking around at night.

  • 2nd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


54%

Though the bartender was really nice, I didn't know who was part of the staff and who wasn't. Also there were a lot of people actually living in the hostel and it wasn't clean. I never went to a hostel so I didn't have anything to compare with, but now I know this is not a good hostel. It is more like a café, also there were parties going on down at the café so it was impossible to sleep. If you don't care about luxury and you are open-minded, then this it's a fine hostel. It was for me.

  • 2nd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


23%

Spent a week there. Noisy dorm with worn linen and weird awful nasty creepy roommates who might perhaps live there for good. Only one toilet which is absolutely inadequate. Hot shower which could almost burn your skin. Few slices of bread is not what I expected for an included breakfast and nobody is gonna clean up a bit after use. One wouldn't find any proper way to get there unless sneaking in passing through those garbage carts. Anything good? Reasonable price for longer stay.

  • 28th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

after searching for a hostel to stay at in london I thought the hootenanny seemed like an interesting place. there is a live music venue/pub downstairs, but it did not prevent my rest at all, and I was able to sleep in quite easily. a cleaning lady comes every morning, cleaning and tidying all the common spaces. friendly and helpful staff answered many questions I had, and were a pleasure to talk with in the large kitchen which is available to everyone. I'll definitely be coming back!

  • 25th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


1 2 Next » last »
(31 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback