X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hospedaje Dodero Reviews

100 mts north and 25 mts west of the principal bus, Liberia, Costa Rica

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
210 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

I really appreciated all the maps and sugestions on places to go and see in the Guancaste region, and I found the hostel very charming, especially the beautiful backyard with the hammock and chair!

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay even though it was much too short. Let us know when you are coming back to Costa Rica for a longer stay and we can help you with plans to see the rest of the country. Happy travels!

94%

Very nice clean hostel. Isabella was amazing always there to help and offer assistance whatever the time. Her son is adorable and very friendly/playful - made himself at home watching Finding Nemo in our room with his dog lol

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay, found the hostel clean and the staff helpful. Yes, little Sebastian and Cleo, the dog, make themselves right at home here. We are glad you enjoyed their company. Happy travels!

100%

Easy to find! Host are awesome! Close to everything! Clean! Nothing bad about this Hostel!

  • 19th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for writing a review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and found the accommodations clean and convenient. The dance lessons and night on the town were great fun. ;-) Happy travels!

80%

Very conveniently located for connecting buses, staff knowledgeable and helpful in arranging onward travel and tours

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for writing a review. We are pleased we could help with your planning and travel arrangements. We hope you enjoy the rest of your stay in Costa Rica. Happy travels!

89%

Good place to stay when wanting to catch the bus from Liberia!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for writing a review. We are pleased you found our location convenient. Happy travels!

97%

Great place to stay. We felt very welcomed before even arriving with the offer of a bus to pick us up at the airport. Friendly and incredibly helpful and knowledgeable staff gave us excellent advice for our first few days in a different town.

  • 11th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and felt welcomed. We hope you enjoy the rest of your trip. Happy travels!

100%

Loved it! Would stay here again!

  • 9th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for writing a review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and that you keep coming back. Hope to see you guys again soon!

57%

Ok location, unsafe. Even the staff advised us against going out to get groceries at 6pm. The bathroom and shower was however quite clean. Close to the local bus station. Would not recommend staying here if you are female.

  • 6th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for writing a review. We are so happy you found the hostel clean and conveniently located near the bus station and market. We are a little confused about your concerns for safety in the area though. We have never advised anyone that it is unsafe to walk to the market at 6pm. 6pm is sunset year round in Costa Rica and the streets are full of families walking home, to eat or to shop at that hour. Perhaps something was lost in translation. Happy travels!

80%

Perfect hostel if you are passing through. Staff very helpful in helping you get to your next stop.

  • 3rd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Costa Rica
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for writing a review. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay. Happy travels!

74%

I stayed in Hospedaje Dodero when I first arrived to Liberia. The staff is nice and professional, they will give you information to whatever activity you want to do. I had the private room with shared bathroom. The shared bathroom isn't as clean as I would expect it to be but it was fine. Overall I enjoyed my stay there and I would recommend it. It's good for its price.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for writing a review. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and we apologize that the shared bath was not as tidy as you would have liked. We have a schedule so that the bathrooms are regularly inspected and cleaned but sometimes, particularly mornings or when everyone comes back sandy from the beach, it can be challenging to keep up with the traffic. We will speak with the staff to ensure the schedule is being adhered to. Thank you for the feedback and happy travels!

94%

Staying at the hostel was great. It was convenient to shops and transportation. The staff was nice and helpful...Sean

  • 12th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for writing a review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and our little trip to the beach. Happy travels!

60%

The location of the hostel was great-- less than 5 minutes from the main bus stations and a supermarket. The hostel itself was average. There was no hot water and the bathroom looked clean, but did not smell clean. The room was very noisy from the traffic and the door bell. There is no way to enter or exit the hostel without ringing the doorbell, so you hear it ring at all hours of the night and morning. The staff seemed aloof and sometimes directions given to us by them were not very clear.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for writing a review. We are sorry you did not find the free national, regional and city maps we provide sufficient to find what you needed. Most of our guests really appreciate and utilize our city maps in particular due to them being personalized with services, markets, stores, post offices, ATMs, etc; all the things our guests ask about. As for the doorbell and needing to ring to enter or exit, the reason for this has been addressed numerous times in other responses. Happy travels!

100%

I absolutely loved staying at Hospedaje Dodero! Not only was the room and location great for travel around Liberia and neighboring cities, but the hosts are AMAZING! They go out of their way to help everyone find the BEST places around town and throughout Costa Rica. We stayed here for a couple of nights and got to visit so many hidden treasures of Costa Rica that we definitely would not have found without their help! & even spent a beach day with us, we will definitely revisit! -Irving & Denise

  • 3rd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

i was very inpressed with management they whent out of there way to help me .they have one of the best city mapes i have sean and they helped me with my bus conections. the next time i go to costa rico i will go there. thanks very much william

  • 30th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

The hostel was real cozy i liked the outdoor kitchen ,bring some earplugs if your sleeping in the room beside the road real noisy with the car driving past the hostel at night , the staff seam to look irritaited when they have to open the door fore u when u buzz the door bell geting in or out of the hostel , dering the day they should keap the door unlock ,great location things are real clean i recomend this hostel .

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for writing a review. We are happy you enjoyed the hostel and found it clean and conveniently located. We are sorry that you perceived a staff member annoyed by needing to unlock the front gate for you to enter or exit. I assure you nothing is further from the truth. We have tried different scenarios with the gate; leaving it unlocked, giving the guests a key, etc. By trial and error, we have purposefully chosen this approach to keep guests and their belongings safe. Happy travels!

60%

I passed through Liberia and stayed here a couple of nights. The young girl working there was helpful enough, but it's honestly not in the nicest part of town, and it's nothing special as far as hostels go. They have fans, but it's not enough to help with the heat. However, the one big upside is that this is a very quiet, clean hostel that's a good fit for those trying to avoid the party hostels.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are happy you found the hostel clean and quiet and our staff helpful. Unfortunately, I, the owner, was not present during your stay due to a surgery. I help guests find all the hidden jewels around the city. The city is a sleepy town with little to do but lots to see outside of town. That is why the location is near the bus station; easy bus trips to rivers, waterfalls, etc. Liberia is extremely hot so an AC room is advisable for those more adverse to heat. The price difference is nominal.

89%

Rooms, bathrooms and kitchen are kept very clean. Although the location is not great for some activities, it's great for airport and bus station access. The hostel staff can connect you with someone who will shuttle to the airport for $11 - ask about him!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for writing a review! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay. One clarifying point for future guests; we are able to get a shuttle to the airport for $18, not $11. The standard flat rate from the city to the airport in a taxi is $20 and we have negotiated a 10% discount for our guests. Thanks again and happy travels!

89%

Helpful staff, good kitchen. Location is only convenient for going to the bus stop, everything else is 15 minutes away. Very loud in the morning because the front door is always locked and early leavers have to ring the bell to be let out

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for writing a review. We are happy you found the location convenient and our staff helpful. Happy travels!



View all Liberia Hostels

Please give us your feedback