Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hospedaje Dodero

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 876 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.7
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 876 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.7
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th May 2017
5.1

Our 'private room' that was $23 online (and a deposit taken out) was changed to over $25. Looked like a shared cell and was located directly in the middle of the kitchen/hang out area so people were siting outside our door chatting all morning/night. Door didn't close properly so bugs were crawling in all night. Kitchen was one of the grossest I've ever seen. Only stayed overnight waiting for morning bus thank god. Never

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for writing a review. We are sorry you did not have a positive experience during your stay. We would like to address some of your concerns, particularly the price you paid. Online prices do not include the Costa Rican sales of 13% and this is clearly stated in the "Things to Note" section, Policies section, purchase confirmation page before you make payment and your email confirmation. We wish you had brought this up at your check in so it could have explained to you. Quite time in the hostel is 11pm to 6am and the lights are turned out in that area at that time. There should not have been someone talking in that area or outside your room during those hours. As for your door and insects, your door closes and locks properly but this will not keep out the flying ants in this season. For a few weeks at the start of rainy season, they are driven out of their burrows by the rain and are literally everywhere. They are also what can make the sink area of the kitchen messy as they land in the water and get stuck to everything. It is unavoidable at the start of the rainy season but annoying none the less. Again, we apologize for your negative experience and hope you enjoyed there rest of your trip.

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th May 2017
8.9

Really appreciate this convlenient comfortable place, great vibes, new matresses, friendly staff, sweet dog and cat. Thank you highly recommended

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for writing a review. We are pleased to hear you found the hostel conveniently located, comfortable and with good vibes! We are also happy to hear you enjoyed the new mattress, friendly staff and hostel pets. Have a great trip!

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
2nd May 2017
9.7

Great Place , clean, friendly staff, easy to meet people in the nice backyard, very secure.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for writing a review. We are happy to hear you found the hostel clean and secure, the staff friendly and the common areas a good place to meet fellow travelers. Enjoy your trip!

1st May 2017
8.6

Not bad for night .

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Apr 2017
10.0

Jesus was very helpful He helped me plan my entire trip from Liberia Where to go and what methods of transportation is best for each trip Saved me lots of moneys and a chance to see lots of places in Costa Rica in a week time frame

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for writing a review. We are so pleased your found the staff friendly and helpful in planning your onward travel in Costa Rica. We hope you enjoyed your trip!

28th Apr 2017
10.0

Dr. Jesus, the owner and Sandra, his assistant, attended to each and everyones needs. Liberia has nothing to offer and serves as a location hub for people going to other places in Costa Rica or Nicaragua - and Jesus makes your stay in Liberia worthwhile by providing information on the places that you can visit nearby while waiting for your next leg of your travel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • leighminuk771
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
27th Apr 2017
8.0

Location is great for those planning to travel through Costa Rica by bus—steps away from the bus station! Security was decent, with a locked gate at the front that you had to buzz in and out for. We would have enjoyed lockboxes if they had been available. Great Wi-Fi, and very helpful staff! Main reason for the rating was the price is relatively high for what you get, but this seems to be pretty standard for CR.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for writing review. We are pleased to hear you found the hostel secure and conveniently located. It is true that Costa Rica is a bit more expensive than its neighbors but it is great to know our friendly staff helped you find economical and fun things to do in the area so you could extend your stay by 2 days with us. Pura Vida!

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Apr 2017
10.0

Jesus is very helpful. Perfect first stop after arriving in Liberia.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are happy to hear you found the staff helpful and enjoyed your stopover in Liberia. Have a safe trip!

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
25th Apr 2017
8.0

Dodero is the perfect place if you just stay for a night to change busses. It's just 2 minutes walking to the bus station where you can also get food cheaply at the market opposite of it. The hostel doesn't really have atmosphere and the staff was very stressed out for some reason. We booked 2 dorm beds and had our own room in the end which was nice :)

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for writing a review. It is nice to hear you found the hostel well located and enjoyed your room. It is true that the atmosphere ebbs and flows depending on the types of guests staying with us and whether they are just passing through, as you were, or they around for a few days to enjoy Rincon de la Vieja National Park. Llanos de Cortez Waterfall or a local beach. We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels!

  • roberta13111
  • Hungary, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 32 reviews
22nd Apr 2017
9.4

I tend to stay in the nicest hostels that usually have super friendly and helpful staff. Jesus at Hospedaje Dodero still stands out. The rest is also true: location is convenient, it is safe, secure and clean. Good value for money.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is fantastic to hear wear staff stands out even among the nicer hostels you have stayed in. We are pleased to hear you found the hostel conveniently located, secure, clean and great value. Have a wonderful trip. Pura Vida!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.