Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hospedaje Dodero

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 944 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 944 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • alexbultitude60
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Aug 2017
10.0

This was such a great find for an overnight in Liberia on my way from Nicaragua toward la fortuna. The hostel is one block from the bus terminal and is a great place to stop and break up the journey. Jesus who runs the place is very kind and friendly and has the best map I've been given at a hostel. It details common bus routes which made the journey to la fortuna by public bus so easy! Rooms and bathrooms are very clean and the shared kitchen has everything you need. Great place thanks!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is wonderful to hear your found the hostel well located and clean and the staff friendly. We are pleased you found our bus schedules and city maps helpful. Enjoy the rest of your travels! Pura Vida!

8th Aug 2017
8.9

Great spot to stay if you want to visit Rincon National Park or waterfalls in the area. They are a wealth of info and have many maps for things to do. The set up for the six bed dorm with A/C is odd. The mattress touches the other with no buffer between you and someone else. I highly recommend a different room type.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • em99892302
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
29th Jul 2017
8.6

Jesus was amazing at helping us find places to go etc. The hostel was incredibly clean and they keep the door locked at all times. It is a short walk to the supermarket and bus terminal to the beaches and down to San Jose. We stayed in the 6 bed dorm and it had air con. The showers were cool which was nice after a hot day exploring. The garden has cooking utensils and hammocks to chill in. A nice place to stay in Liberia.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you writing a review. We are happy to hear you found the hostel clean, secure and well located and the staff helpful. Enjoy the rest of your trip!

25th Jul 2017
8.0

The owners are sticklers for cleanliness and the hostel is securely locked down! Found it a bit odd that we didn't have a key to the gate and had to ring anytime we wanted to leave or come into the hostel but it was definitely safe. Two minutes from the bus station, hammocks in the back with an open air kitchen, and clean bathrooms. The very, very quiet vibe was not for me but if you're a serene traveller who likes to chat lightly/do your own thing, this would be the place for you.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for writing a review. We are happy to hear you found the hostel clean, quiet, well located and safe. Those are really our priorities but it sounds like you were looking for a bit more of a party hostel like one finds at the beaches. Being in a less touristy and urban environment, we really focus on providing a safe place for backpackers to rest and meet fellow travelers while planning their next adventure. We encourage drinks, dining and socializing in our garden and open air kitchen, but we do have a quiet time of 11pm so those that want to sleep can. There is no curfew and many local and lively bars nearby if one wants to be a night owl. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip!

23rd Jul 2017
8.0

Decent place but little atmosphere unless people in your dorm are up for a good time. PROS: Very close to main bus stations. Decent kitchen, nice small garden, excellent advice on tours and how to get around costa rica by owners. Beds good. Staff and owners nicr. CONS: No hot showers and no atmosphere. Hostel could correct this by organising group activities. Tends to attract couples and people staying for one night. Overall decent hostel with room for some improvement as mentioned.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for writing a review. It is great to hear you found the hostel well located, the beds comfortable and the staff helpful. We will look into arranging some group activities; thanks for the advice. Please enjoy the rest of your travels. Pura Vida!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
23rd Jul 2017
8.3

Sandra was very helpful. Very secure, quiet, clean hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased you found the hostel secure, quiet and clean. We are also happy to have this positive feedback to give to Sandra. Enjoy your trip! Pura Vida!

20th Jul 2017
9.4

This was a nice hostel. The staff was very helpful and provided us with a map and activities to do during our stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for writing a review. We are glad to hear the staff was helpful and you made good use of our free city map. Enjoy your trip!

19th Jul 2017
7.7

Very basic, though functional, hostel accommodations. It was extremely clean, and the staff were quite helpful once we got there (not super communicative by email before we arrived). It was crowded, so if you are looking for a lively backpacker scene it is probably a good fit. It was quite loud until about 11, when it quieted down, though we could still hear noise from the road and the doorbell anytime anyone came or went.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for writing a review. We are pleased to hear you found the hostel clean and the staff helpful. We are, however, confused about your concern about communication before you arrived. I personally answered all your emails, arranged your pick up from the airport and your shuttle to Monteverde. All this was done in advance of your arrival so I am not sure how the communication could possibly be improved. We have a quiet time of 11pm so that is why the hostel died down at 11pm. This in place so that everyone can get a good night's sleep.

15th Jul 2017
8.0

Was a good place to stay. Was fairly close to anything we wanted to do. Staff was great. Got up at 4:30am to drive me to the airport. Can't ask for much more than that. Enjoyed my stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased your found the hostel well located and the staff helpful and friendly. We hope you had a safe trip home!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jul 2017
7.1

The distance to the bus station was the best aspect for us. The staff were helpful; asking if we need recommendations etc. However, they did come in and out of the room a lot which wasn't the best for privacy. Shower was very cold but it was a very hot day! Overall though a clean good night stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for writing a review. We are glad you found the hostel clean and well located and the staff friendly. We are, however, confused about your concern of staff coming in your room. Your room was a dorm and we must enter frequently when new guests arrive, check your ensuite bathroom and turn the AC on at 9pm and off at 7am. For the "best of privacy", we would recommend a private room as dorms are frequently entered by staff and other guests. Have a safe trip. Pura Vida!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.