Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hospedaje Dodero

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 582 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 582 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.0
Hospedaje Dodero Located at 100 mts north and 25 mts west of the principal bus, , Liberia.
Hospedaje Dodero
Costa Rica
Liberia Guanacaste 100 mts north and 25 mts west of the principal bus
85% 582
10.6320332 -85.4448151
Hospedaje Dodero
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Aug 2016
8.9

The staff were amazing and incredibly helpful. They helped my boyfriend and I rent a car and treated us as if they were helping family. They were extremely helpful and hospitable.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Aug 2016
8.6

Great place! Highly recommend! Was a bit hot without air conditioning, but def worth the price!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for writing a review. We are happy you enjoyed the hostel and would recommend it. As a FYI to future guests, we have rooms available with AC for just a few dollars more. Something for everyone!

  • mhagzie1505
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
17th Aug 2016
8.0

Kitchen counters needed to be wiped down and there were flies everywhere. In my dorm room the beds were clean, no sheet provided to sleep under. There was a strange smell so I opened one locker send there was rotting fruit in a plastic be from a previous guest. Owner was nice. You have to ring the doorbell to go in or out which is very loud. Great location very close to bus stop and supermarket.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for writing a review. We are pleased to hear you found the location convenient and the staff/owner friendly. We apologize that someone overlooked items left in a locker but the kitchen is another matter. The kitchen is thoroughly cleaned once a day by staff and touched up periodically but washing dishes and cleaning up after one's self is the responsibility of guests. Also, flies are quite a nuisance during the rainy season; its just part of the season. Enjoy the rest of your trip!

  • belgradista
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
12th Aug 2016
8.0

Good hostel for passing through. There is not much to do in Liberia! Very secure! Every time you go in or out you have to ring the bell. It's good that the place is so close to the bus station but on the other hand you will hear the noise of the buses in the morning because it's directly on the street where the busses go. Unlike the name suggests it's not owned by locals but by Americans. However, nice people.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for writing a review. We are glad you found the hostel secure and conveniently located. You are partially correct about the ownership of the hostel. One owner is American and the other is Costa Rican. The name of the hostel comes from the Costa Rican's family which has Italian heritage. Not sure why it matters but we just wanted to clarify. Thanks!

  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Aug 2016
7.1

We loved the location and the staff. however, the owner seem to be really sassy with us, I think because we where a gay couple, but over all it was ok. We had a choice of coming back but we didn't.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for writing a review. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed the staff and location but are extremely concerned about your impression of "the owner". (I put that in quotes because neither of the owners were present during your stay so it must have been a staff member you encountered.) Regardless, we are very gay friendly, promote the hostel as such online and have gay staff. We sincerely apologize if someone seemed sassy. This would not be tolerated with any guest. Have a safe trip!

2nd Aug 2016
8.9

Nice place, pretty secure. Beds and rooms are clean and the staff is friendly. Would stay here again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for writing a review. We are pleased that your found the hostel secure and clean and the staff friendly. Come back and see us!

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Jul 2016
8.9

Located in a neighborhood that isn't fancy, they still deliver on security, staff, atmosphere, cleanliness, value and quality facilities. The owners need to step up and provide two employees per shift...or do the work themselves. One is simply not enough. People aren't slaves. The four nights I was there, I saw one young man work so hard (by himself) that he kept getting confused about what he was doing. In short, too much work for one person to do alone. Make the changes. Thanks

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

While we appreciate your review, but you are uninformed. One or other of the owners is here 24 hours a day 7 days a week. Unfortunately, during your stay we both needed to be away due to doctor's appointments and other commitments in San Jose for 3 days. This time was set aside due to low number of reservations but one never knows how many people will arrive at the door. The employee you are referring to asked to be here alone and work double shifts so he could earn enough to take care of obligations he had. I suppose looking in from the outside this may have appeared unfair or odd but we have a very good relationship with our employees. Enjoy the rest of your trip!

  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
26th Jul 2016
6.9

Average. The armosphere is not too chill.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
26th Jul 2016
8.6

Overall a nice, clean, hostel that is conveniently located to the bus station although it is a bit of a walk from where most restaurants are located. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Security system (ring doorbell anytime you want to go in or out) is effective but inconvenient. Also my room did not have an external lock or a locker inside so I was considered about my valuables but did not have anything stolen during my stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for writing a review. We are pleased that you enjoyed the hostel. Just a comment about the room you stayed in; that dorm was just finished with the anticipation it would start to slow down so we could finish the lockers. Fortunately, the hostel has continued to be busy but this has made it impossible to install the lockers yet but we are looking for our first opportunity. Until then, we are locking anything sensitive that guests have in the office. Have a great trip!

  • Anonymous
  • Austria, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Jul 2016
6.9

Everything except the staff was great. Location and rooms. But the staff was just horrible. They were extremley arrogant and it seemed like everything they did (e.g. Open the door for you as it was looked) was a huge favour to us. They didn't even had the manners to say hello in the morning nor any intention to help us with questions. That's the reason the stay felt really uncomfortable. Wouldn't recomend it at all. But hey you don't have to talk to them, enjoy the clean room :)

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for writing a review. We are certainly happy you found the hostel clean and secure but are very concerned about your interaction with the staff. It is rare to have such a bad review of the staff but it occasionally happens. We strive to provide a friendly atmosphere and spend hours each day answering questions, drawing maps and giving directions. It seems strange that you would feel ignored or as though you were an inconvenience. We certainly apologize and hope you enjoy the rest of your trip!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.