X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hospedaje Dodero Reviews

100 mts north and 25 mts west of the principal bus, Liberia, Costa Rica

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
226 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 92%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 79%Atmosphere
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Quiet time is 11pm-6am. This policy is strictly enforced as in you need to be quiet at 11 and noise starts at 6am.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for writing a review. I see from the numerical rating you that you enjoyed the hostel but I am confused about your comments. I assume that you preferred to stay up later and sleep in longer. The policy is in place so that everyone can get a good nights sleep but people can still be up and talking or watching TV but at low volumes. We cannot stop fellow guests from disturbing one another throughout the day but we do our best at those hours. Most guests appreciate this. Happy Travels

83%

Ok for a 1 night stay, nothing to see in the city....

  • 5th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for writing a review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay. It is true that there is not much to see in town but it is a great place to absorb authentic Costa Rican culture as there are not many tourists. The real treasures lie just outside the city such as Llanos De Cortez waterfall, Rio Colorado and Rincon de la Vieja volcano. This makes Liberia a good base from which to explore these places. Happy travels!

86%

All good really, no complaints. Clean, secure, good value for money, good location for the bus stations.

  • 4th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

The staff is very helpful and the treks,hikes they offer great value for money, If you go there, don't miss it! we saw so much wildlife in a few hours, The owner came with us and gave us lots of info about the nature you see. Thank you !

  • 29th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for writing a review. We are happy you enjoyed the hostel and out hike at Rincon volcano. Enjoy the rest of your trip!

86%

Very good location close to bus station, supermarket etc. Clean and secure and the use of the kitchen was a bonus. Nice garden to sit out in. The only real negative point was the very noisy airconditioning (worked very efficiently but sounded like a jet engine - sadly not only your own unit but other people,s too. Otherwise very good place to stay.


86%

There is a kitchen which you can use and generally it is arranged to the family atmosphere. There are only 2 bad things. The first is if you pay for common dormitory (which is for 4 people) it is too small if you imagine that you are there with 3 strangers. The second bad thing is that you can't leave and come to the hostel alone.Always need to use bell and the owner sometimes has face like it is bothering him(even though it is his system) but otherwise he is very kind person :)

  • 13th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

A real hostel, where you get real travel informationen. Jesus was a nice host and the hostel was very clean. Perfect location, when coming/going by bus.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We are glad that we could help you with your travels and that you found the hostel clean, comfortable and convenient. Have a safe trip!

89%

An easy walk from the main bus terminal really makes this hostel great. The owner took us on an amazing waterfall tour but the weather closed in halfway through. We were tired from travelling so this was fine for us, and we only got charged half price for the tour. Comfortable beds for the right price, great way to settle into costa rica and use as a jumping off point to start your travels! Will stay here again if we get the chance.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for writing a review. We are glad you found everything clean and comfortable. Its too bad the weather did not cooperate with us during the Rivers and Waterfalls tour but at least we all had a nice nap while listening to the rain! Have a safe and trip and come back soon!

80%

It's a place to stay overnight near the bus station. Clean, secure, quiet, bed was comfortable enough and all for a good price. Nothing special, but perfect for your layover in Liberia

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for writing a review. We are happy you found the hostel clean, quiet, safe and a good value. Have a safe journey!

89%

Nice staff, clean bathrooms and kitchen. Good location, close enough to the centre and yet far enough from the noise. We splurged on a room with TV and ac. A nice break from the usual.

  • 24th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for writing a review. We are so glad you enjoyed your our hostel and that you stayed a few extra days. Happy travels!

63%

The room was okey, but it was hard to sleep because of the road that went beside our room. Staff was not friendly at all, we had a feeling that we were not welcome. Location was near the busstation and that was good. The family's child was really cute :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We are happy the room was acceptable and the location convenient. Unfortunately, Jesus and I, the owners, were not present for your stay due to appointments in San Jose. I hope the sense of unfriendly staff was due to her shyness because of her limited English. Typically, guests find her friendly and charming and, as you noted, her son adorable! Either way, we will speak to her and see if there is something we can improve. Happy travels!

94%

I really appreciated all the maps and sugestions on places to go and see in the Guancaste region, and I found the hostel very charming, especially the beautiful backyard with the hammock and chair!

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay even though it was much too short. Let us know when you are coming back to Costa Rica for a longer stay and we can help you with plans to see the rest of the country. Happy travels!

94%

Very nice clean hostel. Isabella was amazing always there to help and offer assistance whatever the time. Her son is adorable and very friendly/playful - made himself at home watching Finding Nemo in our room with his dog lol

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay, found the hostel clean and the staff helpful. Yes, little Sebastian and Cleo, the dog, make themselves right at home here. We are glad you enjoyed their company. Happy travels!

100%

Easy to find! Host are awesome! Close to everything! Clean! Nothing bad about this Hostel!

  • 19th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for writing a review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and found the accommodations clean and convenient. The dance lessons and night on the town were great fun. ;-) Happy travels!

80%

Very conveniently located for connecting buses, staff knowledgeable and helpful in arranging onward travel and tours

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for writing a review. We are pleased we could help with your planning and travel arrangements. We hope you enjoy the rest of your stay in Costa Rica. Happy travels!

89%

Good place to stay when wanting to catch the bus from Liberia!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for writing a review. We are pleased you found our location convenient. Happy travels!

97%

Great place to stay. We felt very welcomed before even arriving with the offer of a bus to pick us up at the airport. Friendly and incredibly helpful and knowledgeable staff gave us excellent advice for our first few days in a different town.

  • 11th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and felt welcomed. We hope you enjoy the rest of your trip. Happy travels!

100%

Loved it! Would stay here again!

  • 9th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for writing a review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and that you keep coming back. Hope to see you guys again soon!

57%

Ok location, unsafe. Even the staff advised us against going out to get groceries at 6pm. The bathroom and shower was however quite clean. Close to the local bus station. Would not recommend staying here if you are female.

  • 6th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for writing a review. We are so happy you found the hostel clean and conveniently located near the bus station and market. We are a little confused about your concerns for safety in the area though. We have never advised anyone that it is unsafe to walk to the market at 6pm. 6pm is sunset year round in Costa Rica and the streets are full of families walking home, to eat or to shop at that hour. Perhaps something was lost in translation. Happy travels!

80%

Perfect hostel if you are passing through. Staff very helpful in helping you get to your next stop.

  • 3rd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Costa Rica
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for writing a review. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay. Happy travels!

« first « Prev 1 2
(21 results)


View all Liberia Hostels

Please give us your feedback