Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hospedaje Dodero

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 630 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 630 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.0
Hospedaje Dodero Located at 100 mts north and 25 mts west of the principal bus, , Liberia.
Hospedaje Dodero
Costa Rica
Liberia Guanacaste 100 mts north and 25 mts west of the principal bus
84% 630
10.6320332 -85.4448151
Hospedaje Dodero
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Nov 2016
9.7

Hosts are so lovely and sweet!! Very helpful and very clean rooms comfy beds. Easy walk to restaurants And shopping

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
28th Nov 2016
8.9

If you're coming by bus to Liberia, this hostel is perfect as it is only a few blocks away. Very clean, kitchen available and hammocks and hang out areas. Be forewarned; the front door is always locked so you need to ring to have one of the owners let you in. Also, apparently Costa Rica has very strict no smoking laws, so you have to go outside on the street (which means every time you want to smoke you have to ring to be let out, stand in the street to smoke. And then ring to be let back in)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Nov 2016
10.0

Dodero was great. The atmosphere is very relaxing and very safe. The hostel is also right next to the bus station which made getting to Monteverde very easy. However, what made the experience so pleasant was the hospitality of Jesus and Shawn. Jesus went out of his way to accomodate any questions or concerns we had. He arrainged for rides, gave detailed maps of how to get around and gave wonderful suggestions through out.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
22nd Nov 2016
6.9

Well located. The owner is very responsive. Just ring the bell and he helps you whatever you need! Whether you want to enter, or leave, just ring. And without it is not possible to leave the premise at all. The big brother is watching you! Plus he wears a neutral mask and his sincere feelings and personality is hidden behind. If you like to be welcomed by a ghost, this is your destiny.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are pleased you found the hostel well located. Our hostel is in an urban environment and as such, you must ring in and out. I am not sure why this is found to be odd as I have backpacked the world (all of Europe, Asia, Central and South America) and find this to be the norm in any urban environment for security purposes. Your comments about "big brother", "masks" and "ghosts" are just utter nonsense and will not be addressed.

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Nov 2016
9.1

If you're landing at Liberia Airport this is an excellent hostel to stay at for your first night in the country & last night before you leave. I booked the double bed private room for $3.50 on my credit card & arranged to be picked up at the airport & taken to the hostel for $20 US. Don't pay the driver tip him (1000 C) Once I arrived at the hostel I paid $20 for the taxi & $25 for the private room which was perfect. Kitchen & bathrooms were clean & the staff were helpful. I suggest this hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th Nov 2016
8.9

We stayed in a private room during our stay. Pros: A/C, TV with cable in room, new mattress on bed, near bus stations, supermarket, and food, Knowledgeable staff. Cons: Very cold shower, no soap in bathroom, small bathroom, someone had to come unlock the door to let you in and out of the hostel which made you feel like an inconvenience. Overall: would recommend this hostel. Solid value for money. Bathroom/shower sitution not ideal but doable.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
12th Nov 2016
7.7

The hostel was fine and the staff were very helpful. Everyone has to be buzzed in and out, so I highly recommend ear plugs. I was in the room right next to the door so had lots of noise from the buzzer and street. Other than that all was fine. Room was very clean but the bathrooms had hair on the floor--though of course that depends on who is staying there!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for writing a review. We are pleased you found the hostel clean an the staff helpful and friendly. Yes, I would always recommend earplugs when hosteling as it is communal living and other guests are coming and going at all hours. We hope you enjoyed your trip. Pura Vida!

12th Nov 2016
8.0

Tout etais super à part un peu la cuisine qui est desuete. Manque d'ustensiles pour cuisiner et seulement 2 serviettes pour essuyer la vaisselle de tous. Mais en gros c'est très bien. Le stafff est très gentil et accommodant. Si vous avez besoin d'aide il sont la. Merci encore a Al Super gentil :-)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
10th Nov 2016
8.3

Fine for an overnight stay but consider getting a private room - the 6 bed dorm is very cramped if full. Great location close to bus stations & supermarket. Kitchen is helpful. The guy working when I stayed spoke little English so getting info about onward travel was tricky. He was very friendly though!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for writing a review. We are pleased you found the location convenient, the staff friendly and the kitchen helpful. Yes, the dorm can get a bit cramped, especially if the guests do not use the lockers under the beds. As you mentioned, a private single is always an option and for just a few dollars more. Pura Vida!

31st Oct 2016
8.6

This is a quiet hostel with a good kitchen, welcoming and helpful owners (I liked that I got maps and info for both Liberia and my next destination when I checked in), and a location very close to the bus terminal. It's pretty basic, I woudn't like it as much for a longer stay, but it was a great place for a one-night stopover.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.