X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hospedaje Dodero Reviews

100 mts north and 25 mts west of the principal bus, Liberia, Costa Rica

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
320 Total Reviews
  • 88%Value For Money
  • 94%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 90%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

Located just 5 min. walk from the bus-station and supermarket and maybe 15 min. to the city-center, this hostel offers clean dorm- and bathrooms, out-door-kitchen and garden. Beds are comfy, lockers big and security perfect (front-door always closed). Wifi is stable and fast. It feels less like a hostel and more like a guest-house. Not a party-place, mind you. The owners give good and correct information. Didn't go on any tours but they offer that too. A good choice if you stay in Liberia.


83%

super helpful owners, very close to the bus station. we only stayed for one night but had use of the outdoor kitchen to make dinner and room was comfortable.


77%

Our stay of one night in la Hospederia Dodera was really nice even if short. Jesus welcomed us very well, the room was clean and convenient. We were able to park our car safely and Jesus offered to keep our luggage the all day we were away. Good value for money and nice restaurant nearby (Marie Juana).


80%

All was good, it was safe, clean, friendly, etc. The only deceiving point is that we were expecting an AC and there was only a fan. It was really hot, but we were there only 1 night so it was ok!

  • 2nd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for writing a review. We are happy you enjoyed the hostel. I wanted to address the point about whether you reserved a room with AC or fan. I checked and your room was a double bed with fan. I wish you would have asked if you were concerned upon arrival. We could have given you the option to switch to a room with AC for $4 more. It is true that Liberia is quite hot and that is why we offer fan or AC to guests depending on their budget. Happy travels!

83%

Great stay. Very helpful and kind staff. I would recommend for everyone.

  • 15th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

Hospedaje Dodero was awesome! The staff are super friendly, as well as their little dog Cleo. The place is secure, with locked gates. The backyard is the cutest little thing and very relaxing with the hammocks and lighting. The location isn't too great because there is nothing to do in Liberia so you have to bus or catch a ride to places you'd like to see. It was neat to cook outside in the kitchen! Overall, great hostel!


100%

Super nice hostel with very good owners. Very comfortable.


66%

You have to ring the doorbell when you want to get in the hotel, leave the hotel, or want to speak to someone from the staff. This is annoying. Especially when people want to leave early and you are trying to sleep.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for writing a review. This issue has been addressed many times and the majority of clients understand and appreciate the necessity of this security measure. I am sorry you found it an inconvenience. Happy travels!

100%

Nice place, has everything you need and the staff really care. The little garden in the back is cool too.

  • 4th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Perfect hostel if you're looking to just stay while travelling through Liberia for a night. Cheap and clean, but workers aren't very nice.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for writing a review. We are happy you found the hostel reasonably priced and clean but we are concerned about your comment about the staff. Normally, we receives high marks for friendliness and helpfulness. We wish you would have added more detail so that we could address a specific issue if there is one. Happy travels!

100%

Awesome place for layovers. Hostel owners are around and super helpful to help you in any way they can.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We are so pleased you enjoyed the hostel and found the staff helpful. Good luck on your around the world concert tour!!!

100%

Great place to stay - Jesus and Shawn were lovely hosts with loads of information - we stayed on four different nights over the course of a week and it got to feel like we were part of the Hospedaje Dodero family in a way, and welcomed in with open arms each time! The hostel was very clean and the places to hang out were set up well. The hostel is also very quiet and felt like a tranquil space to hang out. Thanks for everything!

  • 28th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for writing a review. We are happy you felt welcome and part of the family. You are! We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip and are able to come back soon. Happy travels!

97%

My stay here has proven to be a good decision. The staff are truly passionate about providing good service. Every important detail, as far as I can see, has been seen to and the place runs like a fine machine. Gracias y adios Dr. Dodero and Senor Shawn!

  • 28th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

This place served its purpose. We needed a place to sleep for one night and an early morning departure. It was clean and safe.


91%

Nice small dorms with a fan. Property is locked at all times, have to get staff to let you out as well as in. Outdoor kitchen. Cold showers. Friendly and helpful owner and staff. Great hostel.

  • 23rd Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Staff is awesome. This was a family trip with my husband, son (24), daughter (21). The guests were a lot of fun as well. A very personable place. Our hosts took us out sight seeing to see some beautiful amazing waterfalls and canyons that we would never have known existed on our own. Then in the evening we enjoyed a delicious supper and watched the sunset. They even taught us how to Salsa dance. It was great fun. Top notch!

  • 10th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for writing a review. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and the River and Waterfall tour. We had a lot of fun that day! We hope you enjoyed there rest of your stay and learned how to surf in Tamarindo. Happy travels!

71%

cheap and easy hostel, close to bus station. fine for a night or two, probably wouldn't stay longer-term. right on a really noisy road. transport to airport can be arranged- around $20


86%

You get what you pay for. Yet I have absolutely nothing negative to say about this hostel. Very friendly and informative staff!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for writing a review. We are happy you found the hostel a good value for the money. We hope you enjoy the rest of your trip. Pura Vida!

100%

Wonderful owners! Very friendly, gave us a map of LIberia, and taught us how to salsa & merengue! Very clean as well.

  • 4th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

Shawn was very hospitable and super kind! I was traveling alone and he made me feel quickly comfortable with the place and the other people staying there. He took us all out in the city which is walking distance. There was a fiesta that night and we all had a good time. A shuttle service is offered from the airport (20$) which is very convenient for people who don't want to deal with buses, but otherwise for about 1.50$ a bus can get you there. Shower was a bit cold for those who care.


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(50 results)


View all Liberia Hostels

Please give us your feedback