Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hospedaje Dodero

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 844 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 844 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
19th Apr 2017
9.4

The folks at the hostel are awesome! I could not have asked for anything more. They were always eager to please and to offer advice of what to do or where to go. The atmosphere is warm and friendly and quite easy to make new friends and share experiences at the different areas in the country. This was my first time in Costa Rica and because of all of the above, I was able to have an enjoyable and memorable stay even though short.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • nickcote218296
  • Canada, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Apr 2017
8.6

The staff was super friendly and accommodating. The hammock area was very relaxing. It was a good stay all around!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • VitorGalveia
  • Portugal, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
18th Apr 2017
9.1

Staff are nice and the hostel is excellent for the price. The lounge area is very cosy and good to make friends.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Apr 2017
9.1

The staff are very friendly and accommodating. Before I arrived they set up an itenenary for my stay. They also worked to fit my accommodation to suit my short stay in San Jose during my stay and I was very appreciative of that.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Apr 2017
8.0

Hostel itself is great. Clean and nice. Didn't like the atmosphere though. Everything is very stiff and too organized (e.g. you have to ring the bell when you want to go out, the toilet paper is in a special device so that nobody might steal it). And they don't provide towels, only 1$ rental. Staff is friendly but kind of stiff and overseeing as well.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for writing a review. We are happy you found the hostel nice and clean. We are disappointed to hear you did not like the atmosphere but, unfortunately, to keep the hostel nice and clean requires some oversight of guests. But, as you noted, we are always friendly and respectful of guests. Also, there is no security device to keep people from stealing toilet paper. It is simply the holder for the large commercial size role you might find in any hotel, restaurant, gas station, etc. Happy travels!

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Apr 2017
10.0

Jesus was a huge and wonderful help!! Great first stop in Costa Rica!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
10th Apr 2017
10.0

Great location, very clean and Sandra who is working in the front desk was very professional helpful. Highly recommended!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Apr 2017
8.9

The staff was great. The Hostel is quiet and has a cute space in the back with a kitchen, hammocks, and a table to hang out. The private room was clean and spacious. Also, the bed was amazing. The only real complaint was the bathrooms smelled horrible. They were clean. But the trash had not been taken out which left a lingering smell.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Apr 2017
8.0

We arrived late at the airport in Liberia. We were taking a bus out early in the morning for Nicaragua. This was a good spot to lay our heads for the night. Close to the supermarket and the bus station. They arranged transportation from the airport for us for $20USD. Our driver, Mario, was great. Pretty basic spot but I would say worth the money.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is wonderful to hear you found the hostel conveniently located and a good value. Enjoy your travels! Pure Vida!

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
2nd Apr 2017
7.1

Okay place for an overnight before the flight. However my room faced the street and was VERY LOUD at 5 am. Would only stay again in a room away from the street

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.