Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hospedaje Dodero

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 893 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.7
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 893 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.7
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
17th Jun 2017
8.9

Great for a quick stopover. Super comfortable bed and very well equipped kitchen. Very close to the bus station and supermarket. The showers were the coldest I have had in Central America, but the bathrooms were very clean. Our room was right next to the communal area so guests kept us up and woke us up very early. Hosts very friendly.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th Jun 2017
7.1

It was okay but there is nothing to do in Liberia so only stay here if you can't get to your destination that day/night. The room we stayed in was also really hot with no AC or real window ventilation and awkward placement of the one fan.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for writing a review. We wish you had asked for a room with AC as there were a couple available the night you stayed and the price is just a few dollars more. It would have been more comfortable especially if you don't like the heat as Liberia is a very hot place. As for things to do in Liberia, the city itself is a great place to authentic Costa Rican life as it is not a tourist city but also has amazing things to see around it. There are waterfalls, rivers, volcanos, beaches and hot springs. That is why the hostel is close to the bus station so that our guests can easily and economically visit these natural wonders. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip.

9th Jun 2017
9.1

I decided to stay there because I rented a car and went and back to many places, I wasn't´t interesting in Liberia itself.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Jun 2017
7.4

The good things first: Staff was very friendly and helpful; Location is great, about 100m from the bus terminal and 200 m from the Pulmitan (where Ticabus stops). Some things I wish I would have known before: - the room was rather clean but smelled horribly (like feet sweat). Sandra, an employee of the Hostel, was eager to help with it, but the thought was not great. - towels not included in the price - the aircon was very very loud. - in general the Hostel was quite noisy.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
31st May 2017
9.7

A perfect hostel for an overnight in Liberia. Friendly staff, great facilities with kitchen, garden, wifi, shower (no hot water but not really necessary), travel books, luggage storage, comfy beds and AC. Very safe with staff opening and closing the door everytime someone enters/exits the hostel. And correct price for Costa Rica standards. Would definitely stay again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for writing a review. We are happy you found the hostel safe, a good value, comfortable and with great facilities and a friendly staff. We hope you come back to stay again! Pura Vida!

27th May 2017
8.6

This place is great as a stop over in Liberia. Nice outdoor kitchen area, good beds, and clean

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for writing a review. It is wonderful to hear you found the hostel clean, the beds comfortable and enjoyed the outdoor kitchen and common area. Enjoy your travels! Pura Vida!

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
22nd May 2017
7.4

Fine hostel for an overnight stay on your way in or out of Liberia. Comfortable and clean enough. Lots of Soda's near by to eat at. No hot water. Cute dog but barked late into the night and then started again at about 5am,.. not sure if this is a nightly thing.. but its kind of a noisy street as well so bring earplugs.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for writing a review. We are happy you found the hostel clean, comfortable and well located. The hostel dog, Cleo, could not have been the guilty party as she sleeps snuggled up with my every night. There are actually multiple guilty parties though as folks in the this part of the world fancy there dogs as doorbells and security systems. They actually encourage them to be noisy.... :/ Anyway, we hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels! Pura vida!

  • Anonymous
  • Colombia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th May 2017
8.6

The staff is so friendly, the rooms are very tiny and the main washroom smelled so bad, I think they just need to change the shower curtain since the smell came from that. Close to the supermarket, bus station and few restaurants. Liberia is nice just not around where the hostel is located.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th May 2017
5.1

Our 'private room' that was $23 online (and a deposit taken out) was changed to over $25. Looked like a shared cell and was located directly in the middle of the kitchen/hang out area so people were siting outside our door chatting all morning/night. Door didn't close properly so bugs were crawling in all night. Kitchen was one of the grossest I've ever seen. Only stayed overnight waiting for morning bus thank god. Never

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for writing a review. We are sorry you did not have a positive experience during your stay. We would like to address some of your concerns, particularly the price you paid. Online prices do not include the Costa Rican sales of 13% and this is clearly stated in the "Things to Note" section, Policies section, purchase confirmation page before you make payment and your email confirmation. We wish you had brought this up at your check in so it could have explained to you. Quite time in the hostel is 11pm to 6am and the lights are turned out in that area at that time. There should not have been someone talking in that area or outside your room during those hours. As for your door and insects, your door closes and locks properly but this will not keep out the flying ants in this season. For a few weeks at the start of rainy season, they are driven out of their burrows by the rain and are literally everywhere. They are also what can make the sink area of the kitchen messy as they land in the water and get stuck to everything. It is unavoidable at the start of the rainy season but annoying none the less. Again, we apologize for your negative experience and hope you enjoyed there rest of your trip.

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th May 2017
8.9

Really appreciate this convlenient comfortable place, great vibes, new matresses, friendly staff, sweet dog and cat. Thank you highly recommended

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for writing a review. We are pleased to hear you found the hostel conveniently located, comfortable and with good vibes! We are also happy to hear you enjoyed the new mattress, friendly staff and hostel pets. Have a great trip!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.