Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hospedaje Dodero

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 596 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 596 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.0
Hospedaje Dodero Located at 100 mts north and 25 mts west of the principal bus, , Liberia.
Hospedaje Dodero
Costa Rica
Liberia Guanacaste 100 mts north and 25 mts west of the principal bus
85% 596
10.6320332 -85.4448151
Hospedaje Dodero
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
9th Sep 2016
6.3

Meh. Despite a very friendly and helpful staff, this place doesn't quite cut it. It is lacking in a few basic things that make a stay there kind of awkward. Not enough common space for the number of beds. No place to sit down for everyone. Kitchen is ill-equipped. Not even enough cutlery. Also no plug ins anywhere. And no hand soap in the bathroom - gross guys, that stuff is cheap.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for writing a review. We are so happy you found the staff friendly and helpful. We were concerned about your assessment of the rest of the hostel so we did an accounting to see if we were lacking. In the common areas we counted 24 places to sit while our capacity is 22: (front porch) 2 wrought iron chairs, 2 hammock chairs, 2 persons bench, hammock; (atrium) 4 wooden deck chairs; (garden/open-air kitchen) 2 wrought iron chairs, 2 tables with 4 chairs, 3 stools, 1 folding lounge chair and 3 hammocks. As for the outlets, the dorm bed you booked has 2 outlets and a power strip with 6 more outlets for a total of 8 outlets for a 4 person room. In the kitchen, we found plates, glasses and cutlery for 16 persons, 2 butchers knives, 3 cutting boards, 2 spatulas, 2 large cooking spoons, 4 pots, 6 skillets, cheese grater, vegetable peeler, microwave, refrigerator, rice cooker, blender and table top stove. There is not cutlery for every single person because never is every client using the kitchen at the same time. As for hand soap, we have never seen this in a hostel and the reason is it would go from cheap to expensive very quickly when it was used for body gel, shampoo and laundry soap to wash clothes in the sink. A hostel is a more basic, DIY type of accommodation but we apologize we did not meet your expectations.

9th Sep 2016
9.1

This hostel does a great job, highlighted by their extremely friendly and helpful staff. Highly recommend stopping by Hospedaje Dodero if you are coming through Liberia. They help organize tours in the area and have plenty of information on transportation, including bus schedules. Keep up the good work!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for writing a review. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed the hostel and found the staff friendly and helpful. Also, thank you for recommending us to other travelers. We hope you enjoy the rest of your trip. Pura Vida!

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 60 reviews
8th Sep 2016
8.0

Pretty polarising aspects to this Hostel! Pros: Facilities are what you need, info on tours, good location & friendly staff. Cons: 1) The main entrance is locked & the worker needs to come & let you in. No hastle if they're free but huge issue if they aren't. We came back from a tour, wanted to drop our bag & go out for tea, it took over 15mins for him to let all in then us back out, madness, totally unreal!. 2) Staff only speak Spanish so couldn't get too much help with some things.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for writing a review. We are pleased you found what you needed, found the staff friendly and the location good. We were concerned about your delay being let in and out and spoke with the staff member on duty that day and checked the surveillance footage. When you arrived he was checking guests in and you waited approximately 45 seconds for him to open the gate for you. You then dropped off your bags and waited around for him to finish with the guests before you asked to be let out. This is the 15 minutes you referred to and is "accurate" but if you had asked to go right back out, he would have gladly complied. He had no way to know you wanted back out until you asked so your review of him is a bit of a misrepresentation. We will assume this was a misunderstanding and not as "unreal" as portrayed. Happy travels!

7th Sep 2016
8.9

Plusses: Free pancake breakfasts! Helpful staff, lockers in dorms, hot showers, great garden to hang out in, within walking distance of downtown, supermarket, bars and restaurants nearby Minuses: a car with a horn kept honking on and off all day on a property behind the hostel. Thankfully it didn't happen at night. Hostel is a little far from the bus stations, but some of them can be walked if you wish (not recommended at night, though).

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We have read your review and think it must be a mistake since we do not have a pancake breakfast and are just one block from the bus station. We realize that when you are traveling and staying in several places it can be confusing when you receive several requests from HostelWorld to review multiple hostels. We can only assume you enjoyed your stay with us since you came back and stayed another 2 days. Good luck and enjoy your trip!

30th Aug 2016
10.0

Great facilities. Helpful staff. Perfect location.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for writing a review. It is wonderful to hear you thought the location convenient, the staff helpful and the facilities great! What more can one ask for? Have a wonderful trip!

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Aug 2016
8.9

The staff were amazing and incredibly helpful. They helped my boyfriend and I rent a car and treated us as if they were helping family. They were extremely helpful and hospitable.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for writing a review. We are so pleased you found the staff helpful and they made you feel like family. That is the atmosphere we strive for! We hope the rest of your trip was amazing. Pura Vida!

21st Aug 2016
7.1

Close to bus stations. Incredibly small rooms

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for writing a review. We are pleased to hear you found the location convenient to public transportation. Our rooms vary depending depending on price. Smaller rooms are a bit cheaper while larger rooms are a bit more. Your stay was in a dorm which is a more cramped accommodation but significantly cheaper. Happy travels!

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Aug 2016
8.6

Great place! Highly recommend! Was a bit hot without air conditioning, but def worth the price!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for writing a review. We are happy you enjoyed the hostel and would recommend it. As a FYI to future guests, we have rooms available with AC for just a few dollars more. Something for everyone!

  • mhagzie1505
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
17th Aug 2016
8.0

Kitchen counters needed to be wiped down and there were flies everywhere. In my dorm room the beds were clean, no sheet provided to sleep under. There was a strange smell so I opened one locker send there was rotting fruit in a plastic be from a previous guest. Owner was nice. You have to ring the doorbell to go in or out which is very loud. Great location very close to bus stop and supermarket.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for writing a review. We are pleased to hear you found the location convenient and the staff/owner friendly. We apologize that someone overlooked items left in a locker but the kitchen is another matter. The kitchen is thoroughly cleaned once a day by staff and touched up periodically but washing dishes and cleaning up after one's self is the responsibility of guests. Also, flies are quite a nuisance during the rainy season; its just part of the season. Enjoy the rest of your trip!

  • belgradista
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 20 reviews
12th Aug 2016
8.0

Good hostel for passing through. There is not much to do in Liberia! Very secure! Every time you go in or out you have to ring the bell. It's good that the place is so close to the bus station but on the other hand you will hear the noise of the buses in the morning because it's directly on the street where the busses go. Unlike the name suggests it's not owned by locals but by Americans. However, nice people.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for writing a review. We are glad you found the hostel secure and conveniently located. You are partially correct about the ownership of the hostel. One owner is American and the other is Costa Rican. The name of the hostel comes from the Costa Rican's family which has Italian heritage. Not sure why it matters but we just wanted to clarify. Thanks!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.