X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hospedaje Dodero Reviews

100 mts north and 25 mts west of the principal bus, Liberia, Costa Rica

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
350 Total Reviews
  • 88%Value For Money
  • 96%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Very nice stay with wonderful hosts. It is a very very clean place with a small garden to chill in a hamock.

  • 24th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Just excellent. Thank you very much for all the service, care, advices and hospitality :-)

  • 27th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Slovakia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for writing a review. We are so happy you enjoyed the hostel and that you spent the last days of your trip with us. Come back soon!

80%

Positive: Clean, cheap, near the bus stops, comfortable bed, cool courtyard, kitchen Negative: I am a light sleeper and slept badly both nights because of traffic noise, a loud fan, and a barking dog. (My roommate sleeps more soundly and was fine, though. Other rooms may be better.) The bathroom across from my room inexplicably smelled very weird, to the point where I avoided using it and went to the one by the courtyard instead. Didn't know ahead of time that i had to pay in cash

  • 24th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed the hostel. I would like to address the issue of noise. Unlike many sleepy tourist towns, we are located in Liberia, the capital of the Guanacaste, and thus an urban area. Close neighbors and traffic are inherent to urban areas but there are positives as well such as convenience, an international airport, direct buses to nearly anywhere, etc. The best way to deal with urban noise is earplugs, especially for a light sleeper. Happy travels!

83%

It was a really nice stay, the staff is friendly and a great way to begin and end our triptrip( close to Liberia airport).


66%

The staff is very flexible with booking en re-booking. Our short stay (1 night) maybe has given us a wrong impression about the hostel. We always feel comfortable in hostels where the staff give us the feeling to be welcome. I don't know why we didn't have this with hospedaje dodero.

  • 20th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hola! Thank you for writing a review. We are deeply concerned that you did not feel welcome at Hospedaje Dodero. We strive to give each guest a proper welcome and tour of the hostel so that they feel at home. It may be as you said, that your stay was too short. You arrived quite late and left first thing in the morning so possibly we did not get to interact much. We hope that the rest of your trip is wonderful. Happy travels!

83%

This was a nice hostel, with good kitchen facilities, a laundry and an outdoor area with hammocks for relaxing and space for socializing. The communal dinner we had was a highlight. If I returned to Liberia I would stay here again.


71%

Perfect for a stay to catch a flight or to go to playa del coco but not to much to do in liberia.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We are glad you found the hostel a perfect launching and landing point in Costa Rica. It is unfortunate that you were unable to enjoy the authentic Costa Rican culture you can find in Liberia. It is not a town that has been overrun with tourist culture so one is able to see how the average Costa Rican lives. Also, some of the best rivers, waterfalls, hot springs, beaches and volcanos are just a short bus ride away! Maybe next time. Happy travels!

89%

Lovely owners who were very helpful, and went out of their way to make sure we were happy. The only downside was the noise - the road outside is super noisy. Take your earplugs!


86%

Nice, helpful staff, a good kitchen, clean facilities, and very close to the bus terminal. No toilet or sink in the en suite room, just a shower. Pleasant and comfortable.

  • 11th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

Really Nice hostel :) the staff is really helpfull, we had great time there!

  • 8th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

The hostal was basic but fine and assistant friendly. But the front room is on the road and noisy from traffic, the doorbell and bright security light. Maybe other rooms are better....

  • 3rd Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

Shawn and Jesus were very friendly and helpful! They went out of their way to help us plan our time in Liberia and get wherever we needed to go. The hostel, although small, was comfortable and homely. We had a wonderful experience here and couldn't ask for anything more!

  • 16th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Great friendly place; felt like home. Please consider closing the kitchen at night - the late night drunken guests with the 'munchies' kept us awake cooking.


83%

Located just 5 min. walk from the bus-station and supermarket and maybe 15 min. to the city-center, this hostel offers clean dorm- and bathrooms, out-door-kitchen and garden. Beds are comfy, lockers big and security perfect (front-door always closed). Wifi is stable and fast. It feels less like a hostel and more like a guest-house. Not a party-place, mind you. The owners give good and correct information. Didn't go on any tours but they offer that too. A good choice if you stay in Liberia.


83%

super helpful owners, very close to the bus station. we only stayed for one night but had use of the outdoor kitchen to make dinner and room was comfortable.


77%

Our stay of one night in la Hospederia Dodera was really nice even if short. Jesus welcomed us very well, the room was clean and convenient. We were able to park our car safely and Jesus offered to keep our luggage the all day we were away. Good value for money and nice restaurant nearby (Marie Juana).


80%

All was good, it was safe, clean, friendly, etc. The only deceiving point is that we were expecting an AC and there was only a fan. It was really hot, but we were there only 1 night so it was ok!

  • 2nd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for writing a review. We are happy you enjoyed the hostel. I wanted to address the point about whether you reserved a room with AC or fan. I checked and your room was a double bed with fan. I wish you would have asked if you were concerned upon arrival. We could have given you the option to switch to a room with AC for $4 more. It is true that Liberia is quite hot and that is why we offer fan or AC to guests depending on their budget. Happy travels!

83%

Great stay. Very helpful and kind staff. I would recommend for everyone.

  • 15th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

Hospedaje Dodero was awesome! The staff are super friendly, as well as their little dog Cleo. The place is secure, with locked gates. The backyard is the cutest little thing and very relaxing with the hammocks and lighting. The location isn't too great because there is nothing to do in Liberia so you have to bus or catch a ride to places you'd like to see. It was neat to cook outside in the kitchen! Overall, great hostel!


100%

Super nice hostel with very good owners. Very comfortable.


« first « Prev 1 2
(31 results)


View all Liberia Hostels

Please give us your feedback