X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Hostal Akumal Reviews

Av. 16 de Septiembre #33 Barrio de Mexicanos, entre Guatemala y Venezuela.., San Cristobal de las Casas, Mexico

Reviews & Ratings Explained

91%

Rating
128 Total Reviews
  • 91%Value For Money
  • 94%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 96%Staff
  • 93%Atmosphere
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 87%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

everytime i'm in san christobal,i stay in this very lovely hostel.the location is great,the owners are amazing people and the feeling in the hostel is like a little family.it's clean and the breakfast with selfmade bread is a really nice start of each day. come here,you will enjoy :)

  • 2nd Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Had an amazing stay at Hostal Akumal, ended up staying over a month! Made friends with the staff and other travellers immediately and it was all down to the incredibly friendly and relaxed atmosphere. The manager Erik was extremely knowledgable of the area and gave some great suggestions of some of the many things San Cristobal has to offer! This hostel has more of family friendly vibe to it, so if you like a nice relaxed hostel with a thriving social side then this is the best place to stay!!

  • 18th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

This is the most particular hostel I have ever been. It is not just a hostel, it is a small community, a small family for the time of your stay. If you are a solo traveller, in the magic city of San Cristobal, this is the place to be. And amazing cooked breakfast!


100%

Brilliant place to stay, we have been travelling for a few months and this was by far the best. Great people who made it feel like home, awesome advice, brilliant breakfast and homemade bread everyday. We loved it and couldn't recommend it highly enough.


94%

We extended our stay in San Cristobal and stayed 10 days at the hostel. The hosts Erick and Cinzia are very friendly, helpful and wonderful people. They know so much about the city and are eager to help you make your stay enjoyable. We had the private room that opens out to the roof terrace. It was great in the morning when the sun came out and you could lie in the hammock and read. Erick makes his own bread which is delicious and his breakfasts are very hearty. Loved the dog, Chandra.


100%

Hotel manager is a great person. Very friendly and helpful. Cooks up a mean breakfast. Hostel is quaint and intimate, family atmosphere. What more could you ask for.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thnks alot for you nice vibes!! Enjoy Oaxaca!!

71%

Our stay at Akumals was ok, but didnt really live up to the 92% reviews. We had a private room but there were no windows so it quickly developed a stange smell and was freezing cold. The water went off daily and hot water ran out quickly. The breakfasts was good but if your an earlier riser and want breakfast before about 9am you will have to eat out because the kitchen is closed until 10am and the provided breakfast wont be ready until past 9am. The dog barked v.loud at every guest arrival.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Normally we have the same vibes of all our guests sometimes not it depends the persons, I told you that room doesnt have windows and thats why there are curtains, to keep it open and fresh thats your decision. San Cristobal is cold we are at 2120meters above sea level and its winter. the nice breakfast we have it from 830 to 10am. And our cute dog its very friendly but it's a dog. Also we have a nice room with queen size for the next time you come you have a discount. depends on your budget

94%

Akumal is not a tipical hostel, it's a smaller colourful chilled out place where friendly people and a dog awaits you. Eric and Cinzia are running it with dedication and love, chilled atmosphere, creative breakfasts (home made bread), non-stop delicious caffe, great assistance, interesting graffitis, Erics photos and posters. Suite up is very bright, feels like an apartment, good mattres, clean private bathroom. We felt like at home in a day and stay longer than expected, aprociate hospitality!

  • 31st Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Lo mejor de "trabajar" en el hostal es conocer a buenos amigos de siempre que no conocía, y con ustedes fue así. La verdad fue un placer tenerlos y los extrañamos esperamos volverlos a ver pronto un gran abrazo!!!! GRACIAS.

97%

Hostel Akumal has been definitely the best one i have stayed in so far. Eric, the owner is very kind and talkative and you feel that running his hostel is not just a job for him. I stayed in a double room with private bathroom, it was spacious and clean and bed was comfortable. One night i stayed in a dorm, it was perfect too and extra blankets without problem. Staying in hostel Akumal with Eric and his funny dog Chandra is like staying with at friends house. And a breakfast is delicious!

  • 30th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thnks a lot, hope you come again =), big hug. Thnks

97%

Great value for money! The breakfast is prepaired freshly in the morning by the owner. Really yummy. Coffee all day long :) Chilled and family atmosphere. And i loved the dog. When you arrive, he barks at you, after one day he`s your best friend and want to play with you and his frisbee.

  • 27th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
hehehehe thnks for your comment, safe trip!!! thnks

83%

I had a great time. Eric is an amazing host and the hostel has a very home-like feeling. Highly recommended!

  • 22nd Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Great breakfast in the morning. A very chill atmosphere.


83%

Met good people traveling thru San Cristobal, and the staff at Hostal Akumal were cool people as well; who help with tours, shuttles & suggested good places to visit . Only stayed one night but wish I would have stayed longer. Good value for your money, location isn't great in relation to the sites in town but isn't bad either..nothing to complain about really. I would recommend.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thnks u need to come back and stay more days =) !!! yeah we are note in front of the main square but we are 4 blocks away from it, better than the other hostels!!! safe trip and thnks!!

100%

I loved this hostel. Eric and Cinzia, the couple who are running it, really make you feel welcome and enjoy your stay. The place is tiny and there is a really warm feeling to it - it really feels like home. The breakfast is divine and there is a lovely dog. Eric and Cinzia are happy to help you organize day trips, yoga class, massage etc.. everything runs really smoothly. Great energy! Had a lovely christmas here.

  • 23rd Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Had a fantastic stay, Eric made me feel right at home. Convenient location, close to the center yet quiet. Would certainly stay again!

  • 29th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Feels like a home away from home. Small hostel, communal kitchen, super cute and friendly dog. Thank you for such a comfortable stay!


100%

Honestly? This is the most beautiful hostel I've ever stayed at (after travelling the world for 1 year)!!! The moment you enter this place you're overwhelmed with the warm and homey atmosphere. The owner is so nice and has an amazing sense for hospitality :he'll give you all the information you need to have a great time in this awesome city and he makes fantastic breakfast. The house itself is very cosy + charming: in little time, I felt like living in a home with friends! THANK YOU AKUMAL!!!


100%

Wow, it's an excellent place to stay in San Cristobal, Erick & Cinzia are the best managers ever. You feel, like home.And the breakfast Erick prepares every morning, has all the taste of mexican food!

  • 27th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

- A dog is living in the house, maybe not everybody is happy about that (and this doesn't help to improve cleaness too). -The bunk beds in the dorm a very noisy what Ididn't like. -The bathrooms were not very clean. -Anyway: the guy who runs the hostel is a nice guy. I don't why the hostel has such a high rating at Hostelworld (> 92 %). This does not reflect the current situation there!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks you are a nice guy to. Yeah not everybody is happy with our dog, thats a shame, i try to keep it clean the house in the moment i can do it, because if you didnt realize that i do everything in the house, breakfast, beds, cleanliness and give info. to everybody, when its full it harder but i try my best so, thats why the hostel have a high raitng, pepole notice that. Thankyou i will still try my best in my house =).

54%

Kitchen was not clean, sleeping room had a moldy smell, bathroom and toilette are not seperated and so it was very often occupied.

  • 18th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hola gracias por tus comentarios y estaremos trabajando para mejorar los detalles. solo me gustaría aclarar que tu y tu compañera no estuvieron la mayor parte del día en el hostal, y dejaron su cuarto cerrado durante todo el día y eso crea humedad, me sorprende que digan que la cocina estaba sucia, porque es mi casa y la de mi pareja y es nuestra cocina y la mantenemos limpia, primero para nosotros y luego para nuestros invitados. Si no les gusta algo lo correcto seria decirlo en el momento.



View all San Cristobal de las Casas Hostels

Please give us your feedback