Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostal Akumal

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 270 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 270 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.4
Hostal Akumal Located at Av. 16 de Septiembre #33 Barrio de Mexicanos, entre Guatemala y Venezuela.., San Cristobal de las Casas.
Hostal Akumal
Mexico
San Cristobal de las Casas Chiapas 29240 Av. 16 de Septiembre #33 Barrio de Mexicanos,, entre Guatemala y Venezuela..
90% 270
16.7414994 -92.6385319
Hostal Akumal
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
5th Jan 2017
9.7

Very homely hostel with a calm atmosphere and a wonderful breakfast cooked by welcoming staff. I would reccommend Hostal Akumal if you're looking for a quiet and friendly experience :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Dec 2016
8.3

Great staff very helpful, great location, and great environment. We stayed in the private 3 person room, bed sheets were very clean, bed was comfortable, BUT room was extremely moldy and smelled damped.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th Dec 2016
4.3

Do not stay here. Not sure about the dorms but double room with ensuite was horrible. Mould all over the walls and ceiling, the smell unbearable, a big hole in the wall of the bathroom that connected to shared bathroom, no curtains on big sliding door facing straight into common area so no privacy. Worse than the cheapest hostel in Parahganj in Delhi or the biggest dive in Koh San road. Avoid!!!!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
24th Nov 2016
8.9

Angel and his team have gone above and beyond to help us on our trips in San Cristobal. Very comfy beds, fast internet, in a nice cosy setting. Relaxed environment. Would recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
6th Nov 2016
10.0

This is the place to stay in San Cristobal. For a couple of backpackers it met every demand we had, warm comfy beds, hot clean showers, a huge delicious cooked breakfast with excellent coffee and tea and most of all superb customer service from the owners Angel and Luis. I really felt like this place was home the owners were there all day every day offering advice, reccomendations and interesting conversation. If I am ever lucky enough to return to San Cristobal, I'll be straight back here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th Nov 2016
9.1

Accommodation and facilities aside, Hostel Akumal's true strength is its staff. They bend over backwards for their guests. For example, my girlfriend and I left a very important item at the hostel when we left for our next stop. In under 24 hours, they had found it and shipped it to our next stop without us having to lift a finger. Thank you all again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
22nd Aug 2016
9.7

Really nice hostel well positioned and reasonably priced. The breakfast was unbelievable. The staff are nice and very helpful and the place has a friendly vibe. Kitchen is well equiped and bathrooms are nice. There is even hot water which came as a shock! Wifi is also good.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Aug 2016
9.7

I really loved Akumal hostel! The staff was really nice and helpfull, the breakfast is delicious and it's a really nice place to stay! The only negative things for me were the bed that was a little bit unconfortable and that the bathroom was outside the house. But I absolutely recomend this place, and would stay there again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
11th Aug 2016
9.1

Hostel Akumal is a lovely small hostel. The breakfast was delicious with scrambled eggs one morning and pancakes the other we stayed there. Lockers available. Only one bathroom, but wasn't too much of an issue when I stayed there. Would stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Jul 2016
9.1

Small but homely hostel, friendly staff, bohemian atmosphere, fantastic breakfast.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.