X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hostal Akumal Reviews

Av. 16 de Septiembre #33 Barrio de Mexicanos, entre Guatemala y Venezuela.., San Cristobal de las Casas, Mexico

Reviews & Ratings Explained

88%

Rating
161 Total Reviews
  • 89%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 94%Staff
  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Amazing brekky cooked by he lovely Manu, loads of ambiance! Such a cool place to kick it and see san cristobal from! Very personal and homey- best hostel ever!

  • 14th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

this place is definitely good value for money! one of the best features is definitely the location, its like 100m from the city center. Manu was super nice, helped us out with tours and everything we needed and made a fantastic breakfast. the place has a homey feel, more of a house than a hostel.


71%

Very loud hostel, Manu was great and the brekky was pretty good but absolutely not worth the money they charge for the double room. Bed was pretty manky. If you stay here head away from the main square when you leave the door and you will find an amazing local market.


83%

Generally all good. Nice breakfast, hot showers, 5 mins fromthe mainplazaand friendly/helpful staff!


100%

Great atmosphere, don't miss the sunsets on the rooftop!

  • 28th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

The atmosphere was extraordinary, Eric, Timon and Manu were soo friendly and caring. Thank you guys for the very nice stay!!


100%

very recommendable! The staff is very friendly, the breakfast excellent and the atmosphere is great. We planned to stay two days and stated for almost a week. Loved it!

  • 22nd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

What a chill spot! The staff will make you feel like you're spending the night in San Cristobal de 'mi casa'. Will never forget my stay there!


91%

Really nice hostel to spend some time in San Cristobal! The staff is amazing and helps with all problems and requests instantly! The hostel is rather small, so you find time to relax and just enjoy your time! Definitely recommended :)


91%

Great location and Erick is a great host! We had the double room with a bathroom; very clean, mega comfortable bed and good shower! The room has its own access to the balcony / terrace area which we didn't use as the weather wasn't great. The only downside were the rickety stairs up to the room and the slightly awkward door / lock system. Location is probably the best out of any hostel in San Cristobal.


100%

Don't bother looking any further, this is a great hostal. The owner is there virtually all the time to ensure you're happy, I know you won't be able to complain if you stay here... Even for you people that whine about everything! You WILL love it here, I guarantee it!


86%

Very nice staff - feels more as a shared flat than a regular hostel

  • 2nd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

We stay in the hostel akumal for a cuple of nights and it was very nice, the staff is really cool, the owner and his girlfriend they are really nice people, also the other guest were super cool, the hostel is clean, well located, exellent environment, I really recomend the hostel Akumal

  • 28th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Overall great place, loved our stay there. Erick cooks some amazing breakfasts too, and the atmosphere was very cozy and homely. Thank you!


63%

Erik was very helpful and location is very good

  • 16th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Que tal seã'or. La prã"xima vez, cheque bien donde reserva vino a un hostal. Por lo que veo es su primer comentario. O mejor reserve en un hotel, seguridad tenemos en el hostal estoy todo el dãa cuidando, el ambiente no se porque lo califico bajo si solo estuvo una hora en el hostal y la facilidades todas estãn al nivel de un hostal no de un hotel. Le recomiendo que reserve en hoteles seã'or.

94%

The best staff ever! Became friends with the owners overnight, extremely hospitable, great guides, and made some amazing complimentary breakfast feasts every night!!

  • 9th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

That's the place to be in San Cris! Superfriendly hosts, excellent tourist-advice, very central location, outstanding breakfast, best-equipped kitchen, sweet+cozy house, amazingly hot showers, beautiful patio,terrace and rooftop, playful cutie dog and and and... all this leads to an unbeatable atmosphere where you feel like at home while chatting, chilling and enjoying the time with other guests. Beware: It will be really hard to leave since this is a very joyful hostel-experience!


86%

Although not the cleanest or most modernly equipped of hostels, the staff compensated for this and as everyone else mentions, the breakfast was great! We recommend if you're on a tight budget and want a chilled atmosphere. San Cristobal is an amazing place and definitely work a visit!

  • 22nd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malta
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

This place is a smaller hostel with a whole bunch of character. The staff here were really nice and the place felt incredibly homely. The breakfast I ate in the morning was really good.


89%

Such a lovely, friendly, homely hostel. Eric is a fantastic photographer with a real sense of warmth, a beautiful fresh breakfast every morning and yummy coffee. Can highly recommend for anyone!




View all San Cristobal de las Casas Hostels

Please give us your feedback