Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostal Akumal

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.3
Superb 250 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.5
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.4
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
9.3
Superb 250 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.5
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.4
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 8.8
Hostal Akumal Located at Av. 16 de Septiembre #33 Barrio de Mexicanos, entre Guatemala y Venezuela.., San Cristobal de las Casas.
Hostal Akumal
Mexico
San Cristobal de las Casas Chiapas 29240 Av. 16 de Septiembre #33 Barrio de Mexicanos,, entre Guatemala y Venezuela..
93% 250
16.7414994 -92.6385319
Hostal Akumal
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
22nd Aug 2016
9.7

Really nice hostel well positioned and reasonably priced. The breakfast was unbelievable. The staff are nice and very helpful and the place has a friendly vibe. Kitchen is well equiped and bathrooms are nice. There is even hot water which came as a shock! Wifi is also good.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Aug 2016
9.7

I really loved Akumal hostel! The staff was really nice and helpfull, the breakfast is delicious and it's a really nice place to stay! The only negative things for me were the bed that was a little bit unconfortable and that the bathroom was outside the house. But I absolutely recomend this place, and would stay there again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
11th Aug 2016
9.1

Hostel Akumal is a lovely small hostel. The breakfast was delicious with scrambled eggs one morning and pancakes the other we stayed there. Lockers available. Only one bathroom, but wasn't too much of an issue when I stayed there. Would stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Jul 2016
9.1

Small but homely hostel, friendly staff, bohemian atmosphere, fantastic breakfast.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
22nd Jun 2016
8.0

Good location in the city; small calm hostel with decent beds. Bath-shower was a little odd when the floor was bouncy. Breakfast was good, omelette as well as cereal, toast, coffee and fruit

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
10th Jun 2016
10.0

Great hostel. Great staff. Good wifi.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
29th May 2016
8.6

This hostel deserves an overall 'thumbs up' in terms of everything mentioned in other reviews and above. **However, when I went to have a shower on night #1 and realised no water came out the shower or taps, this was disappointing. We patiently waited for it to be resolved. BUT it happened AGAIN on night #2, midway through a shower. Much more frustrating. They simply should have informed us before arriving that they had a water problem and to expect this.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • zbanicek4484
  • Croatia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
5th May 2016
9.4

Quite and small hostel just 1 block away from the busy walking central street. Lockers are big enough for bigger backpack. Breakfast changes every day and it is great. It is not party hostel, but you'll meet great people to party at bars in San Cristobal. I would definitely stay at this place.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
20th Apr 2016
9.7

It was such a nice place to stay! The breakfast was very delicious, and you get the chance to talk to all the other guests while eating.. The fact that it's such a small place makes it easy to get to know everyone.. Splendid atmosphere and location! Oh, and then Leticia is simply an amazing host!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
27th Mar 2016
10.0

This hostel has a great vibe and a perfect size to get to know the people there. Breakfest was also delicious. Staff was always helpful and welcoming.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.