Hostelworld.com

Hostal Akumal

Prices
map
reviews
9.4
Superb 235 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.5
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 9.0
BOOK NOW
9.4
Superb 235 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.5
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 9.0
Hostal Akumal Located at Av. 16 de Septiembre #33 Barrio de Mexicanos, entre Guatemala y Venezuela.., San Cristobal de las Casas.
Hostal Akumal
Mexico
San Cristobal de las Casas Chiapas 29240 Av. 16 de Septiembre #33 Barrio de Mexicanos,, entre Guatemala y Venezuela..
94% 235
16.7414994 -92.6385319
Hostal Akumal
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • zbanicek4484
  • Croatia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
5th May 2016
9.4

Quite and small hostel just 1 block away from the busy walking central street. Lockers are big enough for bigger backpack. Breakfast changes every day and it is great. It is not party hostel, but you'll meet great people to party at bars in San Cristobal. I would definitely stay at this place.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
20th Apr 2016
9.7

It was such a nice place to stay! The breakfast was very delicious, and you get the chance to talk to all the other guests while eating.. The fact that it's such a small place makes it easy to get to know everyone.. Splendid atmosphere and location! Oh, and then Leticia is simply an amazing host!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
27th Mar 2016
10.0

This hostel has a great vibe and a perfect size to get to know the people there. Breakfest was also delicious. Staff was always helpful and welcoming.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Mar 2016
9.7

Great staff, really! Alwaya friendly and smiling, always willing to help you. Nice and small hostel, good vibes.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
23rd Mar 2016
8.0

Did not stay the night. We arrived and were unable to get into the hostel as the front door was locked. Staff had an emergency to attend to. Ended up staying elsewhere so only lost the deposit. We got in contact with the hostel and they were very apologetic and helpful. In fairness it sounds like a great hostel and was well located. Would definitely try it out next time we're in San Cristobal. Above rating is thus based on our experience only.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
8th Mar 2016
10.0

I only stayed one night in Akumal, but I really enjoyed my stay! This hostal is like a home...and that was exactly what I needed after my long bus trip. The bed was very comfy, the bathroom very clean and the breakfast delicious! :) I also enjoyed just chilling in the living room and the hammock on the terrace. The location is also good, because it´s close to the market and one of the main streets. Angel, the owner is the heart of the hostal and he gained a bonus by taking me Salsa dancing! :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
7th Mar 2016
10.0

chilled place and so friendly people ...

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Lukesegrave
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
23rd Feb 2016
6.3

We stayed here and at Rossco and this was no where near as good. We were in a 4 bed dorm which was incredibly small, and the staff slept in the other beds - they were up and down all night and had a tendency to snore, which considering how close the 2 bunks were to each other was an issue. The main host got up early and cooked a unique breakfast option every morning which was a great twist but didn't make up for the grotty bathroom and lack of security throughout. Rossco was cheaper and nicer

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
11th Feb 2016
10.0

Angel was the coolest host I've ever had during 10+ years of hostelling. Just a great guy with tons of great info and help. He helps set this hostel apart from all others. Thanks Angel for the great visit!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Jan 2016
10.0

Beautiful hostel with nice paintings, very well located and an excellent host Angel who know to entertain everybody. Without a doubt one to go back to! Thanks for everything!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.