X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Hostal Akumal Reviews

Av. 16 de Septiembre #33 Barrio de Mexicanos, entre Guatemala y Venezuela.., San Cristobal de las Casas, Mexico

Reviews & Ratings Explained

92%

Rating
151 Total Reviews
  • 93%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 97%Location
  • 97%Staff
  • 93%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 87%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

The atmosphere was extraordinary, Eric, Timon and Manu were soo friendly and caring. Thank you guys for the very nice stay!!


100%

very recommendable! The staff is very friendly, the breakfast excellent and the atmosphere is great. We planned to stay two days and stated for almost a week. Loved it!

  • 22nd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

What a chill spot! The staff will make you feel like you're spending the night in San Cristobal de 'mi casa'. Will never forget my stay there!

  • 19th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Really nice hostel to spend some time in San Cristobal! The staff is amazing and helps with all problems and requests instantly! The hostel is rather small, so you find time to relax and just enjoy your time! Definitely recommended :)


91%

Great location and Erick is a great host! We had the double room with a bathroom; very clean, mega comfortable bed and good shower! The room has its own access to the balcony / terrace area which we didn't use as the weather wasn't great. The only downside were the rickety stairs up to the room and the slightly awkward door / lock system. Location is probably the best out of any hostel in San Cristobal.


100%

Don't bother looking any further, this is a great hostal. The owner is there virtually all the time to ensure you're happy, I know you won't be able to complain if you stay here... Even for you people that whine about everything! You WILL love it here, I guarantee it!


86%

Very nice staff - feels more as a shared flat than a regular hostel

  • 2nd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

We stay in the hostel akumal for a cuple of nights and it was very nice, the staff is really cool, the owner and his girlfriend they are really nice people, also the other guest were super cool, the hostel is clean, well located, exellent environment, I really recomend the hostel Akumal

  • 28th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Overall great place, loved our stay there. Erick cooks some amazing breakfasts too, and the atmosphere was very cozy and homely. Thank you!


63%

Erik was very helpful and location is very good

  • 16th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Que tal seã'or. La prã"xima vez, cheque bien donde reserva vino a un hostal. Por lo que veo es su primer comentario. O mejor reserve en un hotel, seguridad tenemos en el hostal estoy todo el dãa cuidando, el ambiente no se porque lo califico bajo si solo estuvo una hora en el hostal y la facilidades todas estãn al nivel de un hostal no de un hotel. Le recomiendo que reserve en hoteles seã'or.

94%

The best staff ever! Became friends with the owners overnight, extremely hospitable, great guides, and made some amazing complimentary breakfast feasts every night!!

  • 9th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

That's the place to be in San Cris! Superfriendly hosts, excellent tourist-advice, very central location, outstanding breakfast, best-equipped kitchen, sweet+cozy house, amazingly hot showers, beautiful patio,terrace and rooftop, playful cutie dog and and and... all this leads to an unbeatable atmosphere where you feel like at home while chatting, chilling and enjoying the time with other guests. Beware: It will be really hard to leave since this is a very joyful hostel-experience!


86%

Although not the cleanest or most modernly equipped of hostels, the staff compensated for this and as everyone else mentions, the breakfast was great! We recommend if you're on a tight budget and want a chilled atmosphere. San Cristobal is an amazing place and definitely work a visit!

  • 22nd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malta
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

This place is a smaller hostel with a whole bunch of character. The staff here were really nice and the place felt incredibly homely. The breakfast I ate in the morning was really good.


89%

Such a lovely, friendly, homely hostel. Eric is a fantastic photographer with a real sense of warmth, a beautiful fresh breakfast every morning and yummy coffee. Can highly recommend for anyone!


97%

I had a really great stay at the hostel, the atmosphere is really familiar. The owners Erik and Cinzia will help you with tours, the best restaurants and bars and will make you feel like in a home away from home. They serve really tasty homemade breakfast everyday...also check out the rooftop terrace with a great view of San Cristobal!

  • 12th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

everytime i'm in san christobal,i stay in this very lovely hostel.the location is great,the owners are amazing people and the feeling in the hostel is like a little family.it's clean and the breakfast with selfmade bread is a really nice start of each day. come here,you will enjoy :)

  • 2nd Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Had an amazing stay at Hostal Akumal, ended up staying over a month! Made friends with the staff and other travellers immediately and it was all down to the incredibly friendly and relaxed atmosphere. The manager Erik was extremely knowledgable of the area and gave some great suggestions of some of the many things San Cristobal has to offer! This hostel has more of family friendly vibe to it, so if you like a nice relaxed hostel with a thriving social side then this is the best place to stay!!

  • 18th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

This is the most particular hostel I have ever been. It is not just a hostel, it is a small community, a small family for the time of your stay. If you are a solo traveller, in the magic city of San Cristobal, this is the place to be. And amazing cooked breakfast!


100%

Brilliant place to stay, we have been travelling for a few months and this was by far the best. Great people who made it feel like home, awesome advice, brilliant breakfast and homemade bread everyday. We loved it and couldn't recommend it highly enough.


« first « Prev 1 2
(24 results)


View all San Cristobal de las Casas Hostels

Please give us your feedback