Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostal Akumal

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 278 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 278 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Austria, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th Jan 2017
8.6

Small hostel, very central. Helpful and friendly staff, great breakfast. Everything is clean. Cons: there is only one bathroom and the bed is a bit uncomfortable. Good value for money!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
13th Jan 2017
7.7

Nice hostel overall, small and cozy, the breakfast is good as well. There is only one bathroom in use across the courtyard and there wasn't much going on at night. Maybe not the best place to meet people in low season at least. The room is comfortable though and the rooftop terrace is cool.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
5th Jan 2017
9.7

Very homely hostel with a calm atmosphere and a wonderful breakfast cooked by welcoming staff. I would reccommend Hostal Akumal if you're looking for a quiet and friendly experience :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Dec 2016
8.3

Great staff very helpful, great location, and great environment. We stayed in the private 3 person room, bed sheets were very clean, bed was comfortable, BUT room was extremely moldy and smelled damped.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th Dec 2016
4.3

Do not stay here. Not sure about the dorms but double room with ensuite was horrible. Mould all over the walls and ceiling, the smell unbearable, a big hole in the wall of the bathroom that connected to shared bathroom, no curtains on big sliding door facing straight into common area so no privacy. Worse than the cheapest hostel in Parahganj in Delhi or the biggest dive in Koh San road. Avoid!!!!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
24th Nov 2016
8.9

Angel and his team have gone above and beyond to help us on our trips in San Cristobal. Very comfy beds, fast internet, in a nice cosy setting. Relaxed environment. Would recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
6th Nov 2016
10.0

This is the place to stay in San Cristobal. For a couple of backpackers it met every demand we had, warm comfy beds, hot clean showers, a huge delicious cooked breakfast with excellent coffee and tea and most of all superb customer service from the owners Angel and Luis. I really felt like this place was home the owners were there all day every day offering advice, reccomendations and interesting conversation. If I am ever lucky enough to return to San Cristobal, I'll be straight back here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th Nov 2016
9.1

Accommodation and facilities aside, Hostel Akumal's true strength is its staff. They bend over backwards for their guests. For example, my girlfriend and I left a very important item at the hostel when we left for our next stop. In under 24 hours, they had found it and shipped it to our next stop without us having to lift a finger. Thank you all again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.