X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Hostal Barrera Reviews

Calle de Atocha 96, 2�, Madrid, Spain

Reviews & Ratings Explained

93%

Rating
195 Total Reviews
  • 94%Value For Money
  • 96%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 99%Staff
  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 98%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

This hostel was immaculate! Even though the room was small it was charming and all that I required. Very secure, quiet, and the room temperature was comfortable. The staff were also welcoming and helpful. I would highly recommend Hostel Barrera.

  • 30th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, All staff at Hostal Barrera appreciate your time sharing your experience and also your positive comments about our hostal. Happy to know you found your room immaculate and you had everything you needed. We will be very happy to accommodate you in your next trip to Madrid. Warm regards.

97%

An amazing place! I really enjoyed my stay. I had a single bed and it was kept very clean. I used their laundry service and found no problems. I personally loved the ambiance of the area and I felt safe since it was in quite central, near the main station Atoche. For me, Biggest pro: very close to Hop on/off bus near the Jardin Real (10mins walk). Small con: the tv doesn't really work, but that didn't affect my stay at all :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Reading your comment, we are grateful to you and that our work is fulfilled ,you have enjoyed your stay. This is our main goal, and we are glad to hear that you enjoy your visit to Madrid and we are part of it. We wish you the best and hope to host you again in the near future. Best regards

94%

My daughter and I spent 4 days at the Hostel Barrera in late June and can highly recommend it! The location is fantastic... We walked EVERYWHERE! Atocha station 10 minutes, La Latina 10 minutes, the restaurants and bars of Huertas just 2 minutes away. Nieves and all the staff were wonderfully friendly, helpful and ( despite the fact they all speak perfect English) VERY patient and supportive as we practised our limited Spansih with them! Many thanks, Lisa and Lucy Dean

  • 26th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • All Female Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

This is more of a hotel than hostel but we didn't mind too much as we'd been travelling a lot and liked a bit of quiet. Location was excellent, so close to train station, metro and airport bus. Place was very clean and staff were helpful - especially with restaurant recommendations! Would definitely stay here again!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Appreciatte your comments about the staff and the cleanliness of the rooms. Yes, our location is convenient to visit the city, we are in the art neighbourhood so main museums are just a walk , but also city center, train station and bus and train to airport. Thank you very much and hope to accomodate you again

97%

We booked a twin room, it was spotlessly clean and towels/shower gel, soap etc were provided. The staff were absolutely brilliant, really friendly and helpful. We would definitely recommend this Hostel as value for money and only 10 minutes walk from the city centre. The Uvepan Café 1 minute walk away for breakfast was excellent too.

  • 6th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, We really appreciate you pointed out the cleanliness of our rooms and the work of the reception staff. We are happy to wellcome our guests and help them to enjoy Madrid, a beautiful city. And besides, our location helps to visit the town by foot , and this offers the oportunity to explore the city . Thank you for your words. You will be welcome at Hostal Barrera any time you visit Madrid again. Sincerely

100%

We loved our stay at Hostal Barrera,stayed there 3 times.Rooms are clean and nicely decorated.The staff is so pleasant and helpful.It's a 10 minute walk from Atocha train station, in a very cool part of Madrid. Prado is a 10 minute walk along a beautiful tree lined boulevard. Great restaurants nearby for all tastes. Handy convenience stores for wine, water or snacks. We arrived in Madrid by plane, car and train. Shuttle bus to Atocha station from airport.Car rental at Atocha too. Great location!

  • 28th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Nice to hear you had a confortable stay at our Hostal. We all are happy to know you enjoyed yous visit to Madrid and you found our hostal with a good location and rooms clean and nicely decorated. Appreciatte your comment and hope to accomodate you in near future. Warm regards.

77%

My most serious complain about the facilities is that cigarette smoke from another room seeped into my room so badly that it felt like someone was smoking right beside me! Occasionally there was also a smell of sewage coming from somewhere in the bathroom. I've experienced this in older buildings in older neighborhoods.

  • 20th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, First of all I would like to apologize for the trouble with the smoke. All our rooms are non smoking rooms but sometimes, and very rarely ,though we always advise smoking guests about it, and we have this information in our website and also it is shown in the rooms, some people do not respect it. I do understand your complain and I am very sorry about it. Hope next time you choose our hostal again . Your sincerely, Nieves Mollo

91%

The location was ideal for us since we were coming by train from Barcelona- everything was walkable from Hostel Barrera. I think it was a great value. Our room was very clean and comfortable, but small.While the process for ringing from outside to gain access was a little awkward initially, it was not an issue and contributed to a feeling of security. There was little atmosphere, but plenty of that when you hit the streets, which we did the majority of our time there! Would stay again for sure.

  • 16th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your comments. We are happy to know that our location helped you to visit the city, that you found your room clean and comfortable, and ringing the bell was finally secure for you. Hope to accommodate you next time. Warm regards.

100%

Amazing hostel! Felt more like a sweet little B&B. The staff were very helpful, perfect location! Cannot fault!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear, Happy to know you had a good time in Madrid and felt confortable at our hostal. We all appreciate your words and wish we can help you next time you visit Madrid. Warm regards from all the people at Hostal Barrera

97%

A wonderful hotel, close to the city centre and all the amenities!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for share your experience at Hostal Barrera with other travelers. We are happy to hear you found our hostal wonderful and it was easy for you to visit the city. This is true as main attractions in town are just a walk. And the ones that are furhter you are walking through the old town , so you visit the city . Hope we can accomodate you again in the future. Warm regards, Hostal Barrera

91%

Good place to stay. Close to the Atocha train station and a stone's throw from the Museum of Modern Art. My first night was in a very tiny room but the other two nights the rooms were much nicer. Friendly, helpful staff (although the older man on the night desk does not speak a lick of English.)


89%

A delightful hotel; welcoming and helpful staff make this a pleasant place to be. The cleanliness is impeccable.

  • 1st Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guests, Thank you for sharing your experience at Hostal Barrera. We are happy to know you had a good stay and you found it clean. And so gratefull you appreciatte the work of the staff. Hope to accomodate you in the future Best regards, Hostal Barrera

91%

The location was easy to find and is in close proximity to the Metro. If travelling by Metro, I would recommend getting off at Anton Martin rather than Atocha, especially if you have luggage with you as the walk to the hostel is downhill from there. The staff, particularly Josefa were very very nice and had a lot of good advice on where to go/where to eat/where to shop. Josefa even lent us an umbrella because we forgot to bring one as we were headed out for a walk. Highly recommended!!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for your kind comments about us and our Hostal . We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us . We´ll be pleased to have you with us again , if you happen to visit Madrid in the future Warm Regards, Josefa Fernández Hostal Barrera



View all Madrid Bed and Breakfasts

Please give us your feedback