X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hostal Caracol Reviews

Hector Calvo 371, Cerro Bellavista, Valparaiso, Chile

Reviews & Ratings Explained

76%

Rating
366 Total Reviews
  • 73%Value For Money
  • 80%Security
  • 73%Location
  • 77%Staff
  • 73%Atmosphere
  • 70%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

57%

Although there were signs posted repeatedly throughout the hostel that there was no smoking allowed inside, the family that lived at and operated the the place continuously smoked inside the building. It was pretty miserable. If you are looking to meet other travelers, this probably isn't the hostel. One night I was the only person there.

  • 22nd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
80%

Hostel is nice, clean and has welcoming, home feeling. The staff are so lovely but don't speak English which is hard at times for basic needs. The man was so nice though he dropped us down to the bus station in his truck, just because he is good hearted! The walk to down town via the stairs is not safe and the location is a little out of the way. Breakfast is good!


77%

We had some problems with water in thebathroom. Besides, I think breakfast should be more complete


63%

location is good. the american girl at the reception is really friendly and very helpfull but as soon as she has left in the late afternoon, no one in the hostel speaks any english and no one really seems to care or make any effort to try to communicate with you somehow in case you have questions or problems. cleanliness could really be improved especially in bathrooms and showers. also the kitchen could need some renewal but no one really seems to care about many things.


89%

Anne was a wonderful host full or useful tips about Valpo. A thoroughly enjoyable stay.

  • 21st Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


71%

Lovely patio/garden. Big kitchen + big living room. Comfy beds. Wifi in living room works well. Closed from city center if you use stairs (15/30 min).Very basic breakfast included (do not expect too much). Small bathrooms without light. Not very clean (garbage still full, many stuff on the floor, bedsides not cleaned, ... but beds OK), so I had to clean myself and/or ask the cleaning lady to finish her undone work !! Hotel owner and all staff will change in January 2014, so all this may change.


94%

Staff in this hostel were absolutely incredible. The administrator was fantastic. Franco was also great and showed us around the city, giving us plenty of tips. The hostel itself is great and in a very good location. The city is hilly, and the hostel is on top of a big hill which was a bit dodgy to walk up at night but it's very central. Only fault is that the bedrooms are around the common area so you can't really stay up late talking or the other guests get a bit annoyed as the walls are thin.


80%

We were the only people staying there, so there wasn't much atmosphere, but the dorms are big and comfy, there's lots for breakfast, showers run hot, wifi works well. Be warned though, it's in a great street for art but it's on top of a hill, it's a workout with a pack on your back.


91%

nice place to stay, you even get to use a patio with grill facilities if you want to. we came for a half marathon starting early in the morning and they rescheduled breakfast time for us.

  • 27th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Chile
  • All Male Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

Excellent staff, beautiful place.

  • 11th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

I loved my time here. I originally planned to stay only a couple days but that turned into a week. My stay was during low season so most of the time it was myself and a couple others, which i really liked because it gave me the opportunity to get to know the staff in a relaxed environment. Some may not like the location because it isn't directly in the heart of the most popular spots but it gives you the chance to explore new areas of valpo. Mostly the staff was awesome. Highly recommend!

  • 15th May 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Good hostel, good beds, great bathrooms and kitchen, staff is so helpfull, but a good 20 min walk to the town is not handy at night


91%

Had a great stay here. All of the staff are lovely and so helpful. Easy relaxed atmosphere and good breakfast. Had a great stay.


77%

Were not provided with towels at all. Breakfast was not till 9am which is later than normal when you have limited time to visit. Otherwise, a pleasant place to stay

  • 12th Mar 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

The location is not perfect, especially because at night you shouldn't take the stairs that lead directly to it. Staff was really nice, we arrived early in the morning and were allowed to take an extra breakfast for free. Our room was spacious so all beds were single-beds and not bunk-beds, liked the lockers!

  • 9th Mar 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

Really nice beds, and footlockers are a great idea. Really not much going on here though, seems the staff just hang out in a little group and not many travellers here, no one speaks!


74%

Youth hostel type of establishment. Great for young backpakers.

  • 27th Feb 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


63%

We booked a double room by Hostelworld and when we arrived they told us that there was an overbooking. They immediately solved it by giving us a super nice apartment 2 blocks away, with a spectacular terrace and all the facilities we can get at the hostel but internet. We stayed for three days and they never cleaned, not even to pick the garbage from the bathroom.


91%

very good atmosphere, nice place to meet other travellers. A little bit noisy but cheerful

  • 24th Feb 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


77%

Avoid the room by the front door if you're interested in sleeping...people coming and going all hours of the night...


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(248 results)


View all Valparaiso Hostels

Please give us your feedback