Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostal Casa Areka

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 458 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 458 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Apr 2017
10.0

Had a great time, social and friendly atmosphere

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
18th Apr 2017
7.7

Just way too many people for that kitchen!! Had to wait over 2 hours for some room. If it rains be prepared to get cozy with everyone. Beds were comfy, shower in the room was awesome.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
17th Apr 2017
9.4

Pretty nice hostel. Booked last minute. Met some good people there. Noise was never a problem for me. I am a heavy sleeper though, aye. Handy to catch the airport bus down the road as well. Otherwise I may have picked Casco Viejo as a better part of town to stay in. But price and pool were sweet as.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Apr 2017
6.9

I felt safe. But the front door is open all day. So, I will not say it's top notch security. What really annoyed me with the smell in the dorm room. It was a strong unpleasent odor like sweat or something. There is a/c but seriously I would prefer fans and open windows. In the end I didn't sleep very well. All in all it's a nice hostel. Plenty common rooms, big kitchen and a nice outdoor area with a pool.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • phow6
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Apr 2017
10.0

Very helpful and kind staff. The 9 dollar tour guide was an amazing kind soul

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Apr 2017
7.7

One more toilet would be nice.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
2nd Apr 2017
6.3

The staff was super nice and exceptionally helpful. However, my room stank and all of the bathrooms were just nasty (smelly, dirty, mildewy). Everything else was fine - pancakes were good. But the grossness of the rooms and bathrooms really killed it for me.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
30th Mar 2017
7.7

Breakfast is just powder so that you can make your own pancakes. Nice pool and aircon

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
28th Mar 2017
7.7

Really helpful staff as they let us print our boarding passes at the hostel and booked us a taxi for 3am. Well stocked kitchen and breakfast is included!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
19th Mar 2017
10.0

Loved my stay here!! The staff is amazing, super friendly and helpful! The beds are comfy and the showers and wifi are good! Kitchen is nice and clean with lots to use.. pool is great. The vibe here is really mellow but social and close to grocery store and facilities and walking distance to buses and metro. Definitely recommend staying here!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.