Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostal Casa Areka

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 495 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 495 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
24th Jun 2017
9.7

Very nice and friendly staff ! Just the AC a little bit cold ! Clean ! And comfortable , relax !

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
16th Jun 2017
9.1

Helpful staff Cleanliness 11/10 for bathrooms + hot water and a lot of pressure. Good a/c Not THAT noisy at night, I'm a light sleeper and slept very well. Super99 24/7 market right across the street is perfect for traveler's on a tight budget. (Bring and cook your own food)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
5th Jun 2017
8.0

Spent 2 nights here either side of a San blas trip which the hostel organised at ease. I arrived on he night bus from bocas at 4am and they let me stay on the sofas until the morning and let me have breaking and use the showers! However, when I arrived the door was just left unlocked and I walked straight in and there were no night staff. There are also no keys for the rooms so make sure you have a lock for the lockers. Staff were super friendly and helpful

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
17th May 2017
8.0

A hostel of hit or miss; PRO; The female staff member at night was awesome and super helpful. There is cold AC in dorms. There is a pool, and some lounging spaces and a kitchen to use, and you are super close to the supermarket. CONS: male staff member totally not helpful, beers are overpriced (and of course they discourage BYO). Cold shower. The vibe in the hostel is just.. weird. Its not quite social, but it has the capacity to be. Something is needed to make this place memorable

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
3rd May 2017
10.0

I had a fantastic time in Casa Areka. If you are a solo traveler, it's a great space to make new friends/travel buddies. Pancakes every morning was fun, and I definitely felt like an expert by the end of my stay. The staff was very friendly and helpful, I actually feel a bit bad because I was in such a rush to catch my ride to the airport that I forgot to say goodbye! Thanks for making my stay in Panama City such an enjoyable experience!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Apr 2017
10.0

Had a great time, social and friendly atmosphere

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
21st Apr 2017
8.3

Good location with a 24 hour decent supermarket opposite. Very chilled nice atmosphere. It would seem they had a bug problem as they evacuated the hostel to spray it one day we were there but I assume this is sorted now. Also it says breakfast included but it's a case of making your own pancakes

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • kathleensheahan2769
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 20 reviews
18th Apr 2017
8.3

Pros : great free breakfast, very clean rooms and nice pool and area to hang out. Also well equipped kitchen right opposite a major supermarket Cons: music was played so ridiculously loud and changed all the time so hard to relax

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
18th Apr 2017
7.7

Just way too many people for that kitchen!! Had to wait over 2 hours for some room. If it rains be prepared to get cozy with everyone. Beds were comfy, shower in the room was awesome.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
17th Apr 2017
9.4

Pretty nice hostel. Booked last minute. Met some good people there. Noise was never a problem for me. I am a heavy sleeper though, aye. Handy to catch the airport bus down the road as well. Otherwise I may have picked Casco Viejo as a better part of town to stay in. But price and pool were sweet as.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.