Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostal Casa Areka

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 413 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 413 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • zsolti0523414
  • Hungary, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
15th Feb 2017
10.0

Great place! I stayed for 4 night and had a really good time. Close to a 24 hrs supermarket and several shopping malls. The staff are great and very helpful. They have brand new confortable bunk beds and a nice swimming pool where you can spend your lazy afternoon.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
13th Feb 2017
6.3

The staff and the vibe are quite above average, but that's about the only thing that is. The location is okay: good because it's close to a 24hr supermarket but bad because it's on a pretty busy road and far from anything of interest... There was some suspicious black mold on the ceiling by my bunk, and the bathroom needs some attention. It has the potential to be big party hostel but my nights there were quiet aside from the wailing siren of the nearby ATM early in the morning.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
11th Feb 2017
7.7

This is a hardy partying group. It didn't get quiet until 3am, so if you're an early-to-bed type, it may not be right for you. It felt quite crowded while we were there in mid-February.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
10th Feb 2017
10.0

Very helpful staff, booked taxi's for us and suggested good sights to see nearby, very friendly vibe

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Feb 2017
8.3

The staff were very friendly but they gave me wrong info about the bus times which lead me to miss the last bus to Bocas Del Toro as it left 6 hours before they told me it would finish. The bunk beds were very wobbly and noisy, any move either person made while laying down made a loud noise and shook the beds.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
27th Jan 2017
9.7

This was such a fun place to stay! I really enjoyed the guys who ran the hostel. I stayed in the women's dorm, felt safe, no problem. There was air conditioning which definitely made sleeping easier. The guys who worked the desk could help arrange shuttles to airport, tours to other sites in Panama, etc. Pancakes were easy to make in the morning and the coffee was good. I will definitely stay here if I return to Panama City for another visit.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
26th Jan 2017
9.7

Great location well deserved by buses. The staff was really nice and helpful. Nice pool and swimming pool!! Only the air conditionning very too cold but otherwise it is a very good hostel for the price!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
22nd Jan 2017
7.7

We stayed here 2 nights in a double room with ensuite. The room was spacious & bright. The hostel itself is nice with good common areas. The kitchen is well equipped. The hostel was really noisy on our 2nd night. People were out drinking by the pool blaring music & shouting constantly. Our room backed onto the pool so the noise was unavoidable. The noise continued until approx 4am and we were up at 5am for an early flight. While hostels are of course social places, 4am is somewhat unacceptable.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
17th Jan 2017
8.6

Cool little hostel with super friendly staff and a refreshing pool out the back. Plenty of chill out spots and a pool table too. There's a huge supermarket 2 mins walk away although for most other Panama City attractions you'll pay $2-$3 for an Uber. Plenty of info available on stuff to do - just ask the guys. Breakfast pancakes come with a little fruit and wifi is decent. Only real criticisms are the freezing AC in the bedrooms and more lockers needed per floor!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
9th Jan 2017
9.4

Really cool vibe and decor. Grocery store across the street and huge mall is walking distance. Really gokd value for the money and Saul was a great host. Recommend to stay here a few nights

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.