X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hostal Casa Areka Reviews

Calle T. Duque y 55, frente al super 99, Paitilla, Panama City, Panama

Reviews & Ratings Explained

80%

Rating
251 Total Reviews
  • 79%Value For Money
  • 79%Security
  • 80%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

Overall, a great place to stay. Clean, large room w/private bathroom, AC (!!), a lovely pool and patio, and helpful and friendly staff. A few drawbacks: -The included breakfast was pancakes you make yourself in the shared kitchen, so it's not all that filling -Although there are locks on the room doors, the front door is kept propped open. -It's close to the airport (Tocumen), but not so close to Casco Viejo or other sights.


94%

Great place, very friendly staff, nice atmosphere, awesome hung out area with pool, very clean and kitchen has all you need! :)

  • 2nd Feb 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

The staff was very helpful! Our bathroom didn't appear to have been cleaned and didn't have soap or a hand towel, but that was the only complaint. The rest of the room and the hostel was very nice. We stayed only one night, and felt we got a great value for the money, and a good location within the city, with very helpful service.

  • 29th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

The hostel is very welcoming, the atmosphere is great, the staff always there to help you out and the house very comfortable. The swimming pool area with the palmtrees is like an oasis in the city. The hostel is clean and there is pancake breakfast. Had fun meeting people playing pool,... The house is clean and in a very safe neighbourhoud. Close to public transport, supermarket in front and close to the sights. Definatelly recommend it to everybody!! Thanks for everything


100%

I really enjoyed my stay at Casa Areka. This hostel is very clean, has a wonderful friendly atmosphere with a staff who are just great. They are friendly, kind and always ready to help out with questions and directions.

  • 20th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

This hostel is cool! staff really welcoming and helpful the place is really chilled out, there's a pool table and a swimming pool, pancakes for breakfast 😀, lockers. Had a great stay and would definitely recommend the place!!


94%

Good hostel, swimming pool, near merket open 24h and near the bus station to the airport (1,25$).


94%

Even though we only stayed at Casa Areka one night, we felt like we could have spent more days at this beautiful and trendy hostel. Shortly after our arrival, the owner personally greeted us and helped us book the most awesome trip to San Blas. He had contacts there and even called/booked it for us. The hostel itself is clean, well managed and has a supermarket right across the street for all our food and beverage needs. Would definitely recommend this place if you're in that part of town.

  • 15th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Extremely helpful and very friendly staff!

  • 12th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

This is a really chill hostel with staff always there to help with anything you need. The owner is also a great guy who is there fairly often making sure everything is good. There was a bigger/better private room available when I arrived and he gave it to me, which was pretty cool. In a great area outside Casco Viejo if you're looking to try out a new part of town. The pool table and small pool were nice to hang out at, and $1 beer ain't bad either. Great stay, will be back. Thanks!


86%

We had a great stay at Cass areka!! We came here to meet some friends and all had a great time. The pool is a great size and a nice treat in a city centre hostel. The whole hostel feels welcoming and they have used the space very well. There is a supermarket opposite the hostel and a lot of sites within walking distance, it is also easy to reach from the main bus terminal (15minutes by bus).


100%

Great location, super friendly staff.


23%

The staff here don't seem interested in helping their customers and my private room was really just a window-less closet with a tiny bed in it. The bathrooms were gross and the sheets on my bed had holes and stains. I had to ask for a key to my room and they were kept in a drawer in the kitchen where anyone could access them. Anyone can just walk in and out of the hostel and it doesn't seem secure at all. Yes, it's cheap, but it's because it's not well kept in the least.

  • 29th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

I especially recommend Hostel Casa Areka if you're looking for a friendly, helpful staff and the opportunity to meet people. Oswald the owner was fantastic; he spent time making recommendations that really enhanced my 8-day visit to Panama. The entire staff is friendly and the location is great. It was convenient to taking public transportation around town and to and from the airport, which saved money. A 24-hour supermarket across the street could not be more convenient. Very relaxed vibe.


26%

The hostel is full with latino families and lack of backpackers atmosphere. Also because of the kids and families it is hard to have a nice welcoming feeling. Two of my things were missing in this hostel and from what I heard it's common there.

  • 19th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Israel
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

great place to stay for a night.


40%

Staff were lazy, bathroom and kitchen filthy, rooms unable to be locked.

  • 10th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Very friendly and good staff who helped as much as they could! Good memories


86%

Staff was awesome. Very cool place, wish I was there longer


80%

Noisy and loose beds. Breakfast was not served until 8:30, when we left to the airport. Staff was also not there this the whole time we waited for the breakfast.


« first « Prev 1 2
(37 results)


View all Panama City Hostels

Please give us your feedback