Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostal Casa Valparaiso

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 644 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 644 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
22nd Feb 2017
5.7

This hostel was in a great location, but not worth the trade off for cleanliness. The whole building smelled overwhelmingly of mold. The kitchen and bathrooms were in dire neglect of cleaning. We also found a flea in the bedsheets. Pass on this one.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
18th Feb 2017
6.6

Great location but hostel is rather neglected or patched up - floor in the room was pretty dirty and shared bathroom not great (overflowing bins) - nowhere to hang a towel - no lockers in rooms - rooms had locks but shakey doors didn't give confidence - and glazed doors didn't give privacy in private rooms

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • salexmich6974
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
15th Feb 2017
7.7

Best aspect is location. Some of the staff weren't the best, but Carlos was helpful. Nice little common space to chat with others. Sometimes there were limitations due to number of bathrooms. Enjoyed the breakfast. A bit loud in the street outside the 4 bed dorm and noise carries throughout the open house. Overall a nice stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Feb 2017
9.7

Would highly recommend. Best location. So dope!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
12th Feb 2017
6.9

The private room smelled really badly, but otherwise it was nice and comfy. The staff could have been friendlier - I think the new staff needed a lot more training, my check in was very confusing and we were blamed for not making a booking even after we showed two pieces of evidence. Everything was sorted out in the end, but I continued to receive some unfriendliness from certain staff. I stayed in two other hostels in valpo, and this was the worst one.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
12th Feb 2017
9.4

I really enjoyed my time at Hostal Case Valparaiso. The staff we're friendly and there was a really nice atmosphere. Depending on who made the eggs, breakfast was good haha it's a 30 minute walk from the bus station and up a very long flight of stairs. Great location though in regards to the street art

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
10th Feb 2017
8.3

Cool place. The dorm door squeaked pretty bad and made it hard to sleep when people were coming in and out. Otherwise no real complaints. I'll probably stay somewhere else next time just because.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
10th Feb 2017
9.4

Excellent hostel with a great chilled vibe. Has kitchen, good wifi and the location can't be better (right in the middle of the beat neighborhood, easy to explore the city from there). Met a lot of cool people as a solo traveller and would definitely go back again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Feb 2017
9.1

The common area is pretty small but the atmosphere and location makes up for it, great hostel! Only complaint is that breakfast doesn't start until 9:30 and it seemed to be a problem to grab the bread sitting out 10 minutes early to catch a bus.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • FloraWilliams
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
7th Feb 2017
7.1

Nice hostel with a good atmosphere in a nice location. Good for solo travellers. Slightly unorganised in general but doesn't affect the stay really.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.