X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hostal Casa Valparaiso Reviews

Galvez 173., Cerro Concepcion, Valparaiso, Chile

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
509 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 78%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

Nice hostel and well located in cerro concepcion on the doorstep of some great things . Probably too few showers when it's busy which can take some time in the morning.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your opinion, we are recently remodeling the house so our guests can have even a better experience in our beautiful house! Good luck in your journey!

74%

Perfect for a short stay. Breakfast is delicious and the beds comfortable though quite squeaky. There is no one in reception in the early hours of the morning so if you are arriving early make sure to let someone know. Big kitchen but often in use by the staff. Only 3 bathrooms and 2 showers so it can get busy and there will be a queue. Great location though. Try to stay on a weekend as there is a lot more to do in valpo then.


57%

I expected my stay at this hostel to be much more entertaining and comfortable than it was. The location was pretty good, although it could have been more convenient. The hostel itself was boring and didn't embody the spirit of Valparaiso. The bathrooms and furniture were kind of dirty and needed maintenance. There was also not enough hot water for all of us to shower.

  • 2nd Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry you did not have fun in the hostel, but from 2nd to 4th October, the town was celebrating with Thousand Drums Carnival, where the streets found yourself with more than 600,000 people. Made no sense organize activities in the hostel, because the fun was on street. We are sorry you didn`t like the hostel, but if you see the opinions of other guests, these are very different. Thank you for your opinion. Good luck in your journey!

100%

Excelent hostel. Well located. Staff very friendly.


86%

Stayed here for 3 nights, hostel is in an excellent location, close to main plaza and 8-10 mins away from bars/restaurants. Rooms cleaned daily and the late free breakfast (9:30-12:00) is helpful so you can sleep in! It can be get busy with the showers in the morning as there are only two in the building but it has hot water. I would stay here again.


71%

A little over rated on Hostalworld. The free pisco sours don't exist anymore which was devastating. The hostel had a well equipped kitchen, and the breakfasts were awesome for Chilean standards--eggs served with bread, jam, butter, and juice freshly made every morning. Staying in the bottom floor dorm room was noisy. However, most importantly, the hostel doesn't have a good common room or terrace where you can chill and meet people making the atmosphere worse.

  • 23rd Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Staying in this hostel was awesome had such a good times meeting wonderful people fully recomend it


91%

Good social hostel. Easy to meet other travelers. Perfect location in the middle of a quiet pedestrian street. Not enough lockers in the dorm room, and with only 2 showers you might have to wait in the morning. Otherwise a great place.


89%

Employees there were amazing! I got terrible food poisoning from a restaurant and they were so kind and helpful while I was ill. Totally recommend!

  • 15th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Hostel staff was great and very welcoming. The breakfast was great, fresh eggs that tasted delicious. At night, free pisco sours that were also very good. Hot showers and a nice kitchen. Buena onda, thanks!


100%

Really loved our stay here. It's a great size so there's constantly a nice atmosphere without being too crowded. The breakfast is amazing and the staff are so friendly and helpful. The free pisco sours we had on a couple of nights there were genuinely the best we've had in South America. I would definitely recommend staying here if you're visiting Valparaiso.


100%

This place is awesome! The staff is amazing and the location is perfect for views of the city, incredible street art and murals. Sergio is extremely knowledgable about the best places to go in Chile and all of the staff is very friendly, helpful, hardworking and accommodating. Also, the breakfast here is the best breakfast I have encountered at any hostel in Chile so far.

  • 6th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

The breakfast will make your soul sing. You will develop feelings for the breakfast.


97%

Great hostel, highly recommend. Would love to stay again.

  • 1st Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Great hostel in one of the best parts of the city. Close to everything and amongst the beautiful streets. Breakfast was good too. Staff were friendly. They even left us out some breakfast when we left early in the morning.


100%

This hostel is a great base to explore the city from. The staff were helpful and the breakfast was excellent (including freshly made juice and eggs!).


1 2 Next » last »
(36 results)


View all Valparaiso Hostels

Please give us your feedback