X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hostal Casillas Reviews

Hortaleza 4, Madrid, Spain

Reviews & Ratings Explained

69%

Rating
34 Total Reviews
  • 68%Value For Money
  • 76%Security
  • 76%Location
  • 72%Staff
  • 56%Atmosphere
  • 68%Cleanliness
  • 64%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

63%

We reserved in that hostal and we told that we would arrive late. However, we arrive and were moved to other place, three blocks away from our original destination. My scores are for actual place we stayed called hostal Barja.

  • 8th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
The credit card which the guest did the booking with, was invalid and they didn't arrive at the scheduled time, but they will arrive after midnight when the booking was cancelled already. That´s why they could stay in Hostal Casillas, but we take them to another hostel and they could stay in a room with the same conditions that the room initially booked and for the same price. Nothing changed, except for the place, that was in the same neighbourhood (just four blocks). The best solution!

20%

This is one of the worst hostels I've seen in years of traveling. I can only assume the high rating is due to the owners artificially boosting their reviews, as the high score is mind boggling. It is dirty, smelly and the staff is entirely unhelpful. Don't trust the false advertising regarding AC (there was none in any of the 3 rooms we booked) and the misleading photos - the place is really dark, stuffy, and utterly disgusting. There are countless better options in this great city.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Some rooms has AC in Hostal Casillas. I tried to explain to the guests that they booked a room with fan (Without AC and cheaper), but they didn't want to understand, despite it was written in the booking conditions. It's impossible that they can do a truly opinion of the hostel because they just were in our hostel half an hour without see the rooms and decided to leave, because of the rooms with AC was full. (it was summer). They also spoke each other disrespecting and insulting the staff.



View all Madrid Bed and Breakfasts

Please give us your feedback