Hostelworld.com

Hostal Chalupa

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 232 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 232 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.2
Hostal Chalupa Located at Av. Tulum con crucero Av. Coba, , Tulum.
Hostal Chalupa
Mexico
Tulum Quintana Roo 77780 Av. Tulum con crucero Av. Coba
82% 232
20.2135961 -87.4533605
Hostal Chalupa
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th Apr 2016
8.0

There was air-conditioning, which was nice but it would sometimes get very cold in the room (need more blankets or to vary the temperature of the AC). Beds are really nice! - the only hostel I have ever had with a double bunk bed! A large box to lock your stuff in - don't forget your lock! Breakfast is included - cereal, bread, coffee, fruit. It is OK and appreciated but could be even better (like Candelaria in Valladolid :D). Overall good experience, thanks!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • sarahcarroll91
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
12th Apr 2016
7.1

Mixed feelings about this hostel, we stayed for 6 nights in total, in 3 different rooms. The place is well located and it was nice having a room with max 5 people and huge double sized beds even in dorms. Our first room stunk of sewerage and we only had itchy blankets to sleep with but our request to move was handled professionally and promptly. Loads of potential but could do with a little more atmosphere. Private room was nice where we had sheets on our bed. An ok stay for the price.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
7th Apr 2016
5.1

Totally OK hostel. Nothing more or less. The location is a bit of the main area (still the city tho) and the atmosphere is nothing much. Wouldn't recommend it for solo travellers looking to meet people. Concerning that they do allow people in without getting their details, one guy got all his stuff stolen (even his jeans) and the people didn't know who did it. Beds are awesome tho, huge! But there's better and cheaper places around.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • armeers6335
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
17th Mar 2016
9.1

Hostel Chalupa was great! Easy to find (right next to 7-Eleven on Avenida Coba), and was in a great central location to the beach and to town. We had a private en suite room and it was very comfortable and cleaned every day. There is someone at the desk 24 hours and there is a gate that's locked after 11p, so you definitely feel safe! I loved the decoration, and the fact that there's a pool to lounge at in the shade!! Enjoyed drinking some wine one evening in the communal area, too! Thank you!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
27th Feb 2016
10.0

excellent friendly staff, huge beds, very very good wifi

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Feb 2016
8.0

We just stayed for a night before heading to the airport. Very central to either town, airport or going to the beach. Cool vibe even if the rooftop bar was closed..

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
27th Jan 2016
8.0

Big and comfortable beds,hot showers and a good self-service breakfast. The pool was a nice addition when you didn't want to lug yourself down to the beach.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
26th Jan 2016
7.7

Very nice hostel, good aircon. Big rooms and big beds in the 5-dorm room (appr. 1,4m wide), shower was fine. If you rent a bike you can cycle to the beach (15 min), Tulum ruins (15 min) and the city centre (2 min - also easy to walk). Free breakfast in the morning, which was pretty nice. We also stayed a night at una noche mas en Tulum and I liked chalupa wayyyy better!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
15th Jan 2016
9.7

Very great atmosphère ,thé dorm are spacy which is wonderful ,thé best breakfast ,Thank you

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th Jan 2016
7.7

Decent hostel. The atmosphere wasn't what I was looking for as there weren't a lot of people to meet. The staff was as helpful as you'd expect. Showers were hot, WiFi was good, and bed was comfy. The free breakfast was simple (cereal and banannas) but good.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.