Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostal Chalupa

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.0
Fabulous 259 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.0
Fabulous 259 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.8
Hostal Chalupa Located at Av. Tulum con crucero Av. Coba, , Tulum.
Hostal Chalupa
Mexico
Tulum Quintana Roo 77780 Av. Tulum con crucero Av. Coba
80% 259
20.2135961 -87.4533605
Hostal Chalupa
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
6th Aug 2016
8.9

All in all a real nice hostel. The rooms are big and the bathroom is big enough as well. Our two bedroom had lockers in it for security - but the room was able to lock perfectly and staff was there 24 hours! It was very clean! We think the pool is just there to be there - it doesn't seem to be fun be in there. Air conditioning was working very good at night with a perfect climate - but you are not allowed to turn it on earlier than 9pm - even at 8:35pm they knocked and forbid it ..

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
11th Jul 2016
8.3

Clean room, comfy beds and aircon was great over night. Bit of a walk to the main area of Tulum with restaurants and bars but still in a decent location on the way out of town towards the beach.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
31st May 2016
8.6

The people were very nice and the room was clean. Although the hostel is on the edge of the main Tulum avenida, it is on the way to the beach and very easy to get to the beach from there by bike.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
16th May 2016
7.4

Nice room, decent shower and kitchen. Not so great breakfast, and slightly weird atmosphere without proper communal areas.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
10th May 2016
8.0

To be honest all we did here is sleep! The air conditioning is on from 9pm-9am, so we tried not to be in the room otherwise. They provided a large fan, but it was still hotter inside the room than out. At night the room was delightfully dark and eventually cooled off and noise was not an issue. It is located between the town and the beach, so I think in the future we will commit to either direction instead of the middle. I would still recommend to others though!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
5th May 2016
6.9

One of the cheaper hostels in Tulum, and it's nice enough. Not a great place to meet people though, the atmosphere was very lacking. If you want atmosphere, stay at Mama's Home instead. They say they're a newish hostel, but the rooms seem a bit run down. The doors are hard to close, and look in poor condition, and other details like that. The included breakfast was pretty minimal, but I thought it was good - cereal, toast and fruit. Awesome restaurant out the front, try the marlin tostada!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • lottejay
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
2nd May 2016
6.9

Good location - just outside of Tulum town (3min bike ride) and at the start of the road to the beach (approx. 15 min bike ride). All beds were double size, including bunks. Unfortunately, the rooftop bar is no longer there which is quite misleading from the photos, and may have contributed to the lack of atmosphere. Staff were friendly but did not go out of their way to provide info on the area etc. Only 3 powerpoints for 4 beds. A good place to stay to chill and relax in the pool :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
17th Apr 2016
7.7

The place was clean with a vegetarian kitchen (though I didn't really use it) and an open plan setting. The beds were great! Double beds, top and bottom bunk, if not a stand alone bed. I have to admit the mattresses were great! Every room has lockers, and you receive a key for your room. It is around a 20min walk from the ADO Bus Station The staff didn't really help much, and the check was very brief. I like it when the staff are eager to tell you about the area. Overall it was a good hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th Apr 2016
8.0

There was air-conditioning, which was nice but it would sometimes get very cold in the room (need more blankets or to vary the temperature of the AC). Beds are really nice! - the only hostel I have ever had with a double bunk bed! A large box to lock your stuff in - don't forget your lock! Breakfast is included - cereal, bread, coffee, fruit. It is OK and appreciated but could be even better (like Candelaria in Valladolid :D). Overall good experience, thanks!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • sarahcarroll91
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
12th Apr 2016
7.1

Mixed feelings about this hostel, we stayed for 6 nights in total, in 3 different rooms. The place is well located and it was nice having a room with max 5 people and huge double sized beds even in dorms. Our first room stunk of sewerage and we only had itchy blankets to sleep with but our request to move was handled professionally and promptly. Loads of potential but could do with a little more atmosphere. Private room was nice where we had sheets on our bed. An ok stay for the price.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.