Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostal Chalupa

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 308 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 308 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Israel, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Aug 2017
6.3

Stayed in a private twin room. The hostel and room felt pretty run-down, with no charm. The location is convenient to the beach but on the edge of town. The room was a bit stuffy, poorly lit, and the a/c was weak. The staff spoke little to no English. Breakfast was very basic - some bananas, cornflakes, and bread with jam. We like stying in hostels to meet other travelers. But the place was half empty (during peak season) and people seemed to mostly keep to themselves.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
22nd Jul 2017
8.9

It is great to have the convenience stores so close by and you can hire bikes for cheap and the beach is only a 15 minute bike ride away as well as the ruins and cenotes. The pool was brilliant and the rooftop was excellent to hang out and meet people. It is definitely a quiet hostel where you can easily relax. The beds are incredible! Each one is a double bed for one person, absolutely brilliant. The people were quite strict, but they were very helpful. If you want to party probably don't stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Lithuania, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jul 2017
8.0

Nice hostel at a good location. Big shop is very nearby for a lot of things - food etc. Breakfast was quite nice, simple but nice. Staff was also friendly, and helped us with all the questions. Beds are very big, it seems like it is double bed, so this was very good. Air conditioning is working well, you can keep it on between 5pm-12pm, so it is perfect. The kitchen is vegetarian, so you cant cook meat or fish in there, but as we didnt use it, it wasnt a problem for us. Overall - safe and nice!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Croatia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
11th Jul 2017
9.4

Big beds, good location, very nice staff, good breakfast, calm hostel - recommend it!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
22nd Jun 2017
9.4

Good location in the town. Pool is great to beat the heat. The guy at reception was really helpful. It was nice that they rented bikes.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Jun 2017
10.0

Beautiful hostal with a helpful and friendly staff. We rented bikes for 60 pesos a day and enjoyed the free breakfast. Would definitely stay again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th May 2017
8.3

We stayed here in a private room. It was very clean and the beds were comfortable. Javier was very nice, helpful and had great taste in music. Good location to discover tulum itself but it is 15min from the beach at least. If you are rather interested in a beach holiday I would recommend you get a car or stay at the strip. Breakfast was very basic but you can go to the supermarket up the road and make your own.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • pumas_jl8073
  • Mexico, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
30th Apr 2017
9.4

I stayed here for 2 nights with a friend of mine and spent a real good and relaxed time in this hostel. Its a vegetarian hostel so this is an important topic to know before hand. The room I stayed in was very clean, they only enable the AC from 9pm to 9am so you probably have to take that into account. There is a pool in the middle at the hostel which you can use all day & all night long if you want to as long as you are quiet and you can also rent a bike here to go around tulum.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.