Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostal Chasqui

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 320 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 320 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
8th Apr 2017
8.9

Roberto is amazing, also had a lovely private room with a balcony! Shower wasn't great but for one night and $15 it was well worth it. Thanks!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Mar 2017
10.0

This hostal lived up to all the great reviews. It was a charming place and Roberto was an excellent host. My only regret was only staying one night.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
17th Feb 2017
10.0

This place is wonderful. I will say that it feels more like a hotel than a hostel, so if you're looking for that hostel 'vibe', this isn't the place for you. Roberto, the owner, is great and spent some time talking me through the map and what to do around town. He invited me to treat the place like my home and that's what it felt like. A real plus was that each room has a smart TV - I'm not ashamed to say that I enjoyed the luxury of sitting in bed and watching Netflix (in English!).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
16th Feb 2017
10.0

Whew, what a hostel. From Roberto, the lovely, very helpful owner, to the balconies and large kitchen, this hostel is fantastic and possibly undercharging for its great services and building. Be aware that the Wi-Fi is pretty slow and sometimes choppy, but it works.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Feb 2017
10.0

I absolutely loved staying here & will definitely be returning whenever I am back in Otavalo! The place has great value for the cost. There are several terraces with gorgeous views of Otavalo. The rooms are fantastic (I stayed in a private room for a change from the dorm hostel life and it was so nice having my own balcony, bathroom, & tv!). The people running the hostel are SO awesome & very helpful. They've even made their own detailed map for their guests of Otavalo and the surrounding area!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
13th Jan 2017
9.4

Great location and super cheap!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
13th Jan 2017
9.7

Really great hostel, I had a private room with ensuite. Bed was really comfortable, rooms were really clean. Cute little terrace with great views. Easy to get everywhere in town. Great value for money

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th Jan 2017
2.0

It was closed for renovations.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Jan 2017
9.7

Owner was super helpful! We had a big, clean room with a private hot shower. It isn't quite as close to the market, bars, etc as some of the other hostels but that's also an advantage because you don't hear all of the noise from the city and the roof has an amazing view of the whole city!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
17th Dec 2016
10.0

I loved the interesting layout of this hostel. It had great views of the city (which is also a great place) and Roberto is simply the best host ever. He laid out two perfect days for us in the city when we got there and was a great help for how and where to get to our next destination. I would love to bring family and friends to Otavalo in the future and would definitely stay here as my first option.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.