Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostal Chasqui

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.6
Superb 323 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.8
  • Security 9.8
  • Location 10.0
  • Staff 9.8
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.5
BOOK NOW
9.6
Superb 323 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.8
  • Security 9.8
  • Location 10.0
  • Staff 9.8
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
20th Jun 2017
9.4

Roberto is one of the friendliest hosts I've met in the 18 months of my RTW trip. His rates are very low. He should be charging much more! The building is huge. I didn't even get a chance to explore it all. I missed the weekend, so perhaps it is much livelier then... but the place was pretty empty. Great description and details of things-to-do in the area. Excellent wifi.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jun 2017
10.0

Great place! Roberto was super friendly and helpful, he knows a great deal about Otavalo and everything to do there and is happy to advise. Clean, private rooms for a good price with fast internet.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
16th Jun 2017
8.9

Excellent accommodation in Otavalo! The owner is fabulous and makes you feel at home. The room was of a good size and the bathroom had hot water. This is not a party hostel but excellent value for money and great location. A big bonus was the t.v. with Netflix

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
8th Apr 2017
8.9

Roberto is amazing, also had a lovely private room with a balcony! Shower wasn't great but for one night and $15 it was well worth it. Thanks!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Mar 2017
10.0

This hostal lived up to all the great reviews. It was a charming place and Roberto was an excellent host. My only regret was only staying one night.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
17th Feb 2017
10.0

This place is wonderful. I will say that it feels more like a hotel than a hostel, so if you're looking for that hostel 'vibe', this isn't the place for you. Roberto, the owner, is great and spent some time talking me through the map and what to do around town. He invited me to treat the place like my home and that's what it felt like. A real plus was that each room has a smart TV - I'm not ashamed to say that I enjoyed the luxury of sitting in bed and watching Netflix (in English!).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
16th Feb 2017
10.0

Whew, what a hostel. From Roberto, the lovely, very helpful owner, to the balconies and large kitchen, this hostel is fantastic and possibly undercharging for its great services and building. Be aware that the Wi-Fi is pretty slow and sometimes choppy, but it works.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Feb 2017
10.0

I absolutely loved staying here & will definitely be returning whenever I am back in Otavalo! The place has great value for the cost. There are several terraces with gorgeous views of Otavalo. The rooms are fantastic (I stayed in a private room for a change from the dorm hostel life and it was so nice having my own balcony, bathroom, & tv!). The people running the hostel are SO awesome & very helpful. They've even made their own detailed map for their guests of Otavalo and the surrounding area!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.