Hostelworld.com

Hostal Chasqui

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 313 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 313 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
17th Feb 2017
10.0

This place is wonderful. I will say that it feels more like a hotel than a hostel, so if you're looking for that hostel 'vibe', this isn't the place for you. Roberto, the owner, is great and spent some time talking me through the map and what to do around town. He invited me to treat the place like my home and that's what it felt like. A real plus was that each room has a smart TV - I'm not ashamed to say that I enjoyed the luxury of sitting in bed and watching Netflix (in English!).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
13th Jan 2017
9.4

Great location and super cheap!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
13th Jan 2017
9.7

Really great hostel, I had a private room with ensuite. Bed was really comfortable, rooms were really clean. Cute little terrace with great views. Easy to get everywhere in town. Great value for money

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th Jan 2017
2.0

It was closed for renovations.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Jan 2017
9.7

Owner was super helpful! We had a big, clean room with a private hot shower. It isn't quite as close to the market, bars, etc as some of the other hostels but that's also an advantage because you don't hear all of the noise from the city and the roof has an amazing view of the whole city!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
17th Dec 2016
10.0

I loved the interesting layout of this hostel. It had great views of the city (which is also a great place) and Roberto is simply the best host ever. He laid out two perfect days for us in the city when we got there and was a great help for how and where to get to our next destination. I would love to bring family and friends to Otavalo in the future and would definitely stay here as my first option.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
17th Dec 2016
10.0

Hostel Chasqui is amazing. A home away from home. Very comfortable and beautiful. Roberto is an amazing host and was so helpful! He goes above and beyond to make sure you are comfortable and enjoying your stay there. I would highly recommend this place.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
16th Dec 2016
9.4

Great hostel just on the edge of town

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Dec 2016
8.0

Very old, somewhat crumbling building that would have been wonderful in its original incarnation. Convoluted layout, built on a steep hill, with about 6 miradors to view Cotacachi and the city. Several blocks from centre. Host Roberto, whose English is pretty good, is very nice & very helpful. Room with 1 single & 1 double bed was cramped, beds ok. Kitchen fairly adequately equipped, with lovely big windows on 3 sides. No drinking water onsite. Shower was hot, with ok pressure. Reasonably clean.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
29th Nov 2016
10.0

I had originally planned to stay only one night and ended up staying for six. The owner, Roberto, is a great guy, very helpful, makes everyone feel quite welcome. The place is in a good location and is in good condition. The kitchen was definitely cleaner than some other hostels I stayed at during my trip, and the terrace views are excellent. The room was clean and comfortable, and there's free wifi. I hope to make it to Otavalo again sometime, and if I do, I'll definitely book here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.