Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostal Chawi

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 144 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 7.0
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 144 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 7.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
10th May 2017
9.4

Had a lovely few days here. Charlie was really helpful with local knowledge. The breakfast was also delicious and different each day. The hot powerful shower was also a bonus!! Would recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Austria, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
7th May 2017
6.9

I would highly recommend to go to Coroico. If you are a couple, go for this hostel - the rooms are great. I was travelling alone and to be honest for one night I had a great sleep in the bed, but the dorm in general could be more clean - there is not really an athmosphere in this room and there are no lockers. It seemed to be quite quiet in this hostel and I could not find this lovely outside area what you will see on the first picture if you take a look at this hostel. Breakfast top!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • thelisaphillips
  • Australia, Couple, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
29th Apr 2017
7.4

We had a lovely 4 day stay. A perfect, peaceful getaway after La Paz. Great access to walks. Plus: Good location. Lovely view. Charlie very knowledgeable with plenty of local tips. Nice communal breakfast to meet friends. Improvements: shower water could be warmer. No wifi. No communal indoor area.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • mattcarter27
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Apr 2017
9.7

We had an absolutely amazing stay at Hostal Chawi. Charlie is like a walking encyclopedia on the area and will tell you everything you need to know about what to do in Coroico; you won't need wifi! Beautiful views and gardens, hot showers, delicious food and we loved the fact that everyone has breakfast at the same time. It felt very homely and we really got to know everyone else in the hostel during our much-longer-than-planned stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
16th Apr 2017
9.1

Booked 2 nights initially and ended up staying 4!! Owner was VERY helpful with hikes to do in the area. He was a wealth of knowledge and so kind. Breakfast varied slightly each day with amazing fresh brew coffee. Only 5min walk to main plaza, great location. Would definitely stay again if back in the area. Hot showers too.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
12th Apr 2017
10.0

Beautiful location, we booked a couple of days ended up staying for 5. There's really nice walks in the area. Breakfast was good, they gave us something different to everyone else because we're vegan.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
5th Apr 2017
7.4

Nice place in Coroico and the best showers we had in Bolivia. Not very cheap but rooms were big and comfortable. The owner gave heaps of local info. No common areas so not great to meet people. Breakfast was good (fab coffee!!) but it is served at 8:45 sharp, so isn't great if you're an early riser or need to catch a bus early. Otherwise, solid option.. would stay again.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
23rd Mar 2017
10.0

Can't fault this place. The owner was so helpful and friendly. Amazing views over the valley. Great breakfast (homemade pancakes). The place is very beautiful with loads to do. Definitely recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
31st Jan 2017
5.1

While this place has a great view, it feels as is if peaked long ago and that having guests is a nuisance for the owners. This place has far too many rules! Breakfast is served at an exact time and you must be there for it (we were not given an option of time), you need to ask to have a shower, you are not allowed in any other rooms of the hostel (meaning that you can only use your room and there is no common space) and you are not allowed to wash your clothes. A very strange hostel...

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 32 reviews
24th Jan 2017
6.3

The hostel has an amazing view and the dorm is very nice. It's a little walk out of town which is quite dark at night. Breakfast is nice but at a set time. You also need to ask for the hot water to be turned on for showers, but this is happily accommodated.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.