Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostal Chawi

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 155 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 7.5
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 155 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 7.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
3rd Jul 2017
10.0

Coroico is definitely worth visiting! Beautiful views, hikes and waterfalls. The hostel is beautiful, too: the garden is amazing. Charlie (the owner) was super helpful and gave us lots of information about the area and things to do. Our room was really beautiful, comfortable and we had an amazing view from our door. The bathrooms were really nice and clean and the showers were hot. Great breakfast: different every day (Omelette & pancakes) + fresh local coffee! Great place to stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
27th Jun 2017
7.7

Pros: The owner is a really great guy; The breakfast varied daily; Great view from the dining hall Cons: The dorm room smelled mouldy (although everything appeared to be clean); there is no WiFi (or cable internet) available at the property; there is no kitchen that can be used by guests; breakfast is a fixed portion of food (so you can't eat until you are full); there is no door bell (so be prepared to yell if the entrance door is locked when you arrive

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
26th Jun 2017
7.7

A brilliant place to stay and explore Coroico! Definitely worth the money: double room was big, the shower had good water pressure and warm water, breakfast portions were tasty and different every morning, everything was clean, view is awesome and the place is safe, the owner was very welcoming and able to give advice on where to go and what to do. There was no wifi though so had to use the cafes&restaurants for internet.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Jun 2017
8.9

Good location very close to the centre of the town. Lovely staff, very helpful. Nice breakfast. Only drawback was the non existing internet. I understand it is important to connect with other travellers and detox from our digital world, but motst of the time, it is crucial for travellers to stay in touch with their families, friends and be able to make arrangements, bookings and research the next leg of their trip. Choroico didnt seem to have many hostels at all with wifi on closer inspection.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
3rd Jun 2017
8.9

We got a private room and dorm bed for my son. Private was huge, 7 windows for fabulous mountain views, ok bath en suite, giant terrace w seating and huge views. Great for sunbathing and yoga. Dorm smelled musty but was clean w decent bedding. One neg - right on main road, some noise. Good Breakfast with brewed coffee. The owner, Diane, who was largely absent and a little strange, made us dinner one night for 40B and it was YUM!! Some strange and nitpicking rules, just ignore and enjoy views!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Jun 2017
8.6

A short 5min walk to the center (save to walk) Dorm room was nice (partly seperated by wall so doesnt feel like 9 bed dorm). Breakfast is at 8.45 am for all guests which is nice to meet up with other guests. (Eggs/pancakes/coffe) Niiice n hot shower. Toilets super clean. Nice place to spend a long weekend in coroico.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
28th May 2017
9.1

Hostel Chawi, and coroico itself, are definitely worth a stay. The view from the room and the common terrace area is spectacular and alone justifies a stay here. Charlie is ever the polite and gracious host providing ample info about the town and its surrounds. Personalised communal breakfast prepared by Charlie, which changes each day, is a nice touch and builds a little community between guests. We would stay again:)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
16th May 2017
9.4

This place is LOVELY! The beds were so comfy, the staff was so kind, and breakfast was awesome- with real, delicious coffee! We had an awesome stay here- would recommend to anyone, and would certainly go back myself- even if just for the view

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
10th May 2017
9.4

Had a lovely few days here. Charlie was really helpful with local knowledge. The breakfast was also delicious and different each day. The hot powerful shower was also a bonus!! Would recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Austria, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
7th May 2017
6.9

I would highly recommend to go to Coroico. If you are a couple, go for this hostel - the rooms are great. I was travelling alone and to be honest for one night I had a great sleep in the bed, but the dorm in general could be more clean - there is not really an athmosphere in this room and there are no lockers. It seemed to be quite quiet in this hostel and I could not find this lovely outside area what you will see on the first picture if you take a look at this hostel. Breakfast top!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.