Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostal Chimenea

  • Luis A. Martínez y Rafael Vieira, Baños - Tungurahua - Ecuador, Banos, Ecuador

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 103 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 103 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
5th Jun 2017
9.1

Fantastic value for money! Everything is within walking distance and the owner makes you feel at home. The rooms are very spacious and you have a roof terrace to enjoy the good weather. Excellent choice!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
25th May 2017
6.9

If everything they offered was in working condition, it would of been more enjoyable ... they had a hot tub full of cold water, and when I asked if they could warm it up, they said no. The pool was very cold too. The internet was very week, and didn't get any of it in the room. I had no tour of the place at all, and didn't even know their was a kitchen until halfway through the second day. It was for the most part clean except for all the cob webs. All in all, probably wouldn't go back.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • ney1234567894315
  • Ecuador, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Apr 2017
8.3

Has a pool !

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Chile, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
7th Mar 2017
6.0

The bad thing was the Kitchen, we couldn't use it always, there was a timetable for using and it started at 12.00 until 21.00 hrs and all the staff for cooking or glasses were ugly....

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Mar 2017
9.1

Great location near the falls and the most popular thermal bath. Easy walk to anything else. I had a double with private bath that had a terrace which overlooked the waterfall. Exceptionally clean! Easy to meet other travelers in the shared kitchen / dining room and rooftop patio. The shared kitchen is only open from noon - 10PM. Breakfast can be purchased for $3 - $4). Wish they offered free coffee refills with your paid breakfast.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
28th Feb 2017
9.1

Wonderfully quiet, comfortable beds, really clean. Not as centrally located, but still very centrally located. Would definitely come back and stay there again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
6th Feb 2017
9.1

the add said you could pay with a credit card. That is not true, you have to pay cash. Otherwise it was a great place to stay.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Jan 2017
7.4

Our concern with this property has to do with money that we believe is missing after using the lockbox system that was offered to us in the lobby. We were requested to leave the key with the desk and were told that the key would be monitored at all times. When we contacted them after leaving and discovering that money was missing they have been unresponsive

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
1st Jan 2017
8.0

Good hostel. Not a lot of atmosphere but the hammocks were nice as was the rooftop restaurant. Wish the Jacuzzi was working!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
30th Dec 2016
6.0

Not a bad place but really bad security. At times front door open, no one at desk and room keys laying out on desk for anyone to take. Cheap on toilet paper. Ran out every morning. Jacuzzi not filled. Tried to charge me Hostel World fee again.as part of payment. Kept on insisting untill I showed them a screenshot of invoice.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.