Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostal Chimenea

  • Luis A. Martínez y Rafael Vieira, Baños - Tungurahua - Ecuador, Banos, Ecuador

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 122 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 122 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jul 2017
10.0

What a wonderful weekend and great value! We would definitely stay again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Jul 2017
8.0

It felt more like a hotel than a hostel. Our family room was nice and had a view of the waterfall. Pretty quiet and the breakfast you can purchase upstairs is great.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jun 2017
8.9

This hostal met our needs in Banos, It was very rainy and the room stay very damp, the only air circulation was an open window (no screen). We had to keep the window closed because of mosquitos. We wiped up spilled coffee on the step w/a room towe (so no one would slip and fall)l, when we asked for a clean towel they said we had to pay $10 because we soiled the towel. The breakfast staff was very unfriendly and never smiled. Hostal gave us a clean place to sleep.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • helenclemmow
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
8th Jun 2017
5.4

There's no decent communal area in this Hostel which means the atmosphere isn't great. Pool wasn't even filled with water. Wifi was ok. Location was ok - a bit out of the centre but didn't matter too much.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
5th Jun 2017
9.1

Fantastic value for money! Everything is within walking distance and the owner makes you feel at home. The rooms are very spacious and you have a roof terrace to enjoy the good weather. Excellent choice!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
25th May 2017
6.9

If everything they offered was in working condition, it would of been more enjoyable ... they had a hot tub full of cold water, and when I asked if they could warm it up, they said no. The pool was very cold too. The internet was very week, and didn't get any of it in the room. I had no tour of the place at all, and didn't even know their was a kitchen until halfway through the second day. It was for the most part clean except for all the cob webs. All in all, probably wouldn't go back.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • ney1234567894315
  • Ecuador, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Apr 2017
8.3

Has a pool !

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
17th Mar 2017
7.7

Clean, well located out of the party zone but still close to everything, helpful staff. I enjoyed the balcony butbthe wifi didnt really work in the room

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Chile, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
7th Mar 2017
6.0

The bad thing was the Kitchen, we couldn't use it always, there was a timetable for using and it started at 12.00 until 21.00 hrs and all the staff for cooking or glasses were ugly....

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Mar 2017
9.1

Great location near the falls and the most popular thermal bath. Easy walk to anything else. I had a double with private bath that had a terrace which overlooked the waterfall. Exceptionally clean! Easy to meet other travelers in the shared kitchen / dining room and rooftop patio. The shared kitchen is only open from noon - 10PM. Breakfast can be purchased for $3 - $4). Wish they offered free coffee refills with your paid breakfast.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.