Hostelworld.com

Hostal El Momento

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 490 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 490 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • wayneburke1a5808
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
20th Feb 2017
9.1

Great communal areas, decent dorm, helpful staff with lots of great trips to do at good prices and good location close to the centre but nice and quiet. Only negative the dorm was very warm, the main room fan was very noisy when switched on so had to rely on individual fans which didn't really make a big difference.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
9th Feb 2017
10.0

Perfect hostel!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
2nd Feb 2017
8.9

Good location and decent facilities. We stayed in the 3 person room with ensuite and it was very good. Staff weren't the most approachable but no huge complaints. A good base for activities and two good nights out at the Treehouse :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
30th Jan 2017
8.3

Stayed in the 10+ bed dorm which was huge and still felt like you had your own space. Hostel itself is nice, has a good location, friendly staff, huge and clean bathrooms, and amazing breakfasts and coffee each morning. Only cons were the kinda slow wifi, the horrible smoking in the common open area so you cannot really go hang out there if you don't like smoking, and no soap in the bathrooms.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review and the staff will be informed that they keep the place clean and that you enjoyed their friendliness and the breakfasts. The night that you spent we have a problem with the internet company who fixed it the next day, this can happen and is out of our hands, our wifi speed is fast. We do have only 1 smoking area and there are lots of other areas to hang out where you cannot smell the smoke. The bathroom does have soap, not in the dispenser but in the soap dishes.

  • Anonymous
  • Austria, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
25th Jan 2017
9.7

Great hostel with a perfect location! Nice common areas for relaxing. Spacious beds and bathrooms. Food was ok and wifi was acceptable. Staff was really friendly and helpful.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
23rd Jan 2017
8.0

Hostal El Momento is a great spot for the mature backpacker. The place has a peaceful vibe and quiets down relatively early. If you like, there is also an option to have a breakfast added for $1 USD per day. My only critique from personal experience is that I did not find this to be a very socially oriented spot to meet other people.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • jenniferdeaderick122533
  • USA, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
23rd Jan 2017
8.6

We stayed one night and thought it was a nice hostel for the cost. The room was clean and the safety was good. The bathroom was a bit dirty and we ate dinner in the restaurant that wasn't great. The staff was lovely and really helpful however. It is a good place to stay and right off the main plaza overall.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay completely, we did not charge you for your dinner and did offer you another meal as we aware of the mistake. The bathroom is a communal one so directly after someone has showed it will not look so clean until our staff clean it again which we do throughout the day. I will inform the staff you enjoyed their company.

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Jan 2017
9.7

Great staff, excellent location & fantastic food. Highly recommend this spot!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
16th Jan 2017
8.6

We stayed in a dorm for one night. Bottom bunks are much bigger than standard. Bathrooms were big and clean. Location is excellent right by the square. Breakfast average, dorm was hot and we got woken up early as we were right by the bathroom (but someone has to be!). Also weird bed bug rules about putting bags near beds which was a bit off putting. Overall good value though.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review and pointing out that the bathrooms are clean and we have great location. Let me explain about the bags near the beds,bed bugs have made a comeback around the world and Nicaragua has the, we don't wont them !! A hotel can be bed bug free until a guest brings them into the hotel...how, in their bags and the first thing a guest likes to do is put their bag on top of the bed. We have a open and closed lockers away from the beds for the bags, we do not get bed bugs. If a hotel all of sudden gets bed bugs who gets the blame..the hotel does so we have to be proactive. Our policy helps us and helps you, hope this explains why.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
11th Jan 2017
9.7

Can't complain

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.